DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-10, and 13-21 are pending in the application. Claims 10 and 13-20 remain withdrawn from the application. Claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Zhang fails to disclose that “(i) an actuator operatively coupled to the first grasping component and configured to move it to grab chordae tendineae, and (ii) a prosthetic component comprising a stent that is separately deliverable from the grasping device”, as now required by amended claim 1. However, the Examiner disagrees as Zhang discloses that the anchoring element and valve can be separate components that can be delivered separately from one another (see paragraph [0011] denoting the valve and the anchoring element 120 can be completely separate from one another, see paragraph [0124] saying that the anchoring element and the valve can be delivered in two separate operations). Additionally, Zhang discloses an actuator (395c) operatively coupled to the first grasping component, as the first grasping component is one of the hooks and the actuator is the disclosed anchored control sleeves that are connected to the hooks that enable movement and manipulation of the hooks (see delivery system 300 and actuator 395c in Figure 11B and 11C below, see also paragraph [0133] denoting distal end of each of the anchor control sleeves 395a, 395b, and 395c can enclose or be coupled to a hook of the anchoring element 304, see also paragraph [0130] denoting that the delivery system 300 could deliver a prosthetic valve 302 that is the same as prosthetic valve 100). Zhang additionally discloses wherein the actuator is configured to actuate movement of the first grasping component to grab the chordae tendineae, as the “actuator” allows the physician to move and properly position the hooks into the annulus during the placement operation (see paragraph [0138] denoting that the hooks of the anchoring element 304 can be releasably or reversibly connected to an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and c (e.g., a hook is enclosed by an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and 395c) and the physician can move the anchoring element 304 along either the rotational or longitudinal axis in order to properly position the anchoring element 304 within the native valve annulus prior to positioning and releasing the valve component).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Applicant argues that the Office Action does not provide an articulated, evidence based rationale explaining why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zhang’s self-expanding prosthetic mitral valve system to incorporate Dixon’s actuator-driven grasping structure. The Examiner considers this argument moot in view of the new ground of rejection of claim 6 set forth below over US 20170128203 A1 (hereafter --Zhang--), and the new rejection of claim 7 set forth below over US 20170128203 A1 (hereafter --Zhang--) in view of US 20200078002 A1 (hereafter -- Hacohen--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations "the first end" and "the second end" in lines 6 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there is no “first end” or “the second end” of the arm introduced in the claim or the claim from which it depends on.
Claim 7 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170128203 A1 (hereafter --Zhang--).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a grasping device (120) for securing a leaflet component of a native mitral valve, wherein the leaflet component comprises a leaflet and chordae tendineae associated with the leaflet (see paragraph [0091]), the device comprising: a) a first grasping component (see annotated first grasping component in Figure 5 below) configured to grab chordae tendineae of said leaflet component of a native mitral valve (see paragraph [0091]); b) an actuator (395c) operatively coupled to the first grasping component (see delivery system 300 and actuator 392c in Figure 11B and 11C below, see also paragraph [0133] denoting distal end of each of the anchor control sleeves 395a, 395b, and 395c can enclose or be coupled to a hook of the anchoring element 304, see also paragraph [0130] denoting that the delivery system 300 could deliver a prosthetic valve 302 that is the same as prosthetic valve 100), wherein the actuator is configured to actuate movement of the first grasping component to grab the chordae tendineae (see paragraph [0138] denoting that the hooks of the anchoring element 304 can be releasably or reversibly connected to an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and c (e.g., a hook is enclosed by an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and 395c) and the physician can move the anchoring element 304 along either the rotational or longitudinal axis in order to properly position the anchoring element 304 within the native valve annulus prior to positioning and releasing the valve component) c) a second grasping component configured to anchor the leaflet component to a prosthetic component (see paragraph [0113], see also annotated second grasping component in Figure 5 below), wherein the prosthetic component is a stent that is independent of the grasping device (see annotated stent in Figure 5 below, see also paragraphs [0111] and [0113]) and is configured to be delivered separately from the grasping device (see paragraph [0011] denoting the valve and the anchoring element 120 can be completely separate from one another, see paragraph [0124] saying that the anchoring element and the valve can be delivered in two separate operations).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the second grasping component comprises a hook to grasp the prosthesis (see paragraph [0113]). The term “hook” is being given its broadest reasonable interpretation, and is being interpreted under the definition “a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling” (see Merriam Webster online, definition 1a). The sutures of the connecting portion 122 are “curved or bent” for holding, catching, and pulling as they connect the two components together.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the hook to grasp the prosthesis further comprises a prosthesis hook actuator and a second detachment region (see annotated prosthesis hook actuator and first detachment region in Figure 11B and 11C above, see also paragraph [0130] denoting that the delivery system 300 could deliver a prosthetic valve 302 that is the same as prosthetic valve 100), wherein the hook is actuated by the prosthesis hook actuator, wherein the hook to grasp the prosthesis, upon anchoring to the prosthetic component, detaches from the prosthesis hook actuator at the second detachment region (see Figures 11B and 11C above, denoting that the hooks that attach the grasping device and the stent are “actuated once the stent is released from the cone 330, as the stent goes into the grasping device upon release).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first grasping component comprises a grasping arm (see annotated grasping arm in Figure 5 below) comprising a memory wire disposed lengthwise and attached to a surface of the arm (see annotated memory wire in Figure 5 below, see also paragraph [0091] denoting the entire hook 200 is made of shape memory material, the arm therefore comprising “a memory wire” as that is what the entire hook is made out of, the wire being the annotated piece of wire that connects the two pieces of the hook at the tip), wherein the arm is configured to transition from a non-extended state to an extended state to a grasping state (see paragraph [0091] denoting “the hook 200 can expand toward the chordae tendineae during valve prosthesis delivery, their design with shape memory metal allows them to expand and hook between and/or around the chordae tendineae. Optionally, the hooks of the lower support 152 can be pulled toward the chordae tendineae during valve prosthesis delivery, their design with shape memory metal allows them to expand and hook between and/or around the chordae tendinea”, illustrating that the hooks are able to transition from different shapes and angles due to the shape memory material they are made out of).
The limitation “wherein transitioning from the extended state to the grasping state comprises pulling the memory wire to curl the arm such that the first end meets or overlaps the second end of the arm” is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Since it is explicitly discloses that the hook 200 (comprising of the grasping arm and memory wire) can be pulled toward the chordae tendineae during valve prosthesis delivery, as its design with shape memory metal allows it to expand and hook between and/or around the chordae tendinea (see paragraph [0091]), the grasping arm is able to be pulled on by the memory wire to curl the arm such that the first end meets or overlaps the second end of the arm.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the hook to grasp the prosthesis is disposed at a distal end of the device (see annotated second grasping component and distal/proximal ends in Figures 5 and 6 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses the device of claim 8, further comprising a second slide lock adapted to slide between a locked position and an unlocked position along the device (see annotated second slide lock 140 (skirt) in Figures 5 and 6 above, see also paragraph [0094] denoting that 140 is a “skirt”, see paragraph [0104] denoting that the skirt acts as a lock between the two “subassemblies”, meaning the stent and the grasping device), wherein the locked position closes the hook to grasp the prosthesis (see paragraph [0104] denoting that the skirt 140 acts as a lock that locks the anchor (grasping device) to the valve), and wherein the unlocked position allows the hook to grasp the prosthesis to anchor the native mitral leaflet component to the prosthetic component (see paragraph [0104] denoting that elasticity from both the fabric and the native tissue lets the hooks slip into their intended anchor points and then rebound to lock in place).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang discloses a grasping device (120) for securing a leaflet component of a native mitral valve, wherein the leaflet component comprises a leaflet and chordae tendineae associated with the leaflet (see paragraph [0091]), the device comprising: a) a first grasping component (see annotated first grasping component in Figure 5 below) configured to grab chordae tendineae of said leaflet component of a native mitral valve (see paragraph [0091]); b) an actuator (395c) operatively coupled to the first grasping component (see delivery system 300 and actuator 392c in Figure 11B and 11C below, see also paragraph [0133] denoting distal end of each of the anchor control sleeves 395a, 395b, and 395c can enclose or be coupled to a hook of the anchoring element 304, see also paragraph [0130] denoting that the delivery system 300 could deliver a prosthetic valve 302 that is the same as prosthetic valve 100) to grab the chordae tendineae (see paragraph [0138] denoting that the hooks of the anchoring element 304 can be releasably or reversibly connected to an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and c (e.g., a hook is enclosed by an anchor control sleeve 395a, 395b, and 395c) and the physician can move the anchoring element 304 along either the rotational or longitudinal axis in order to properly position the anchoring element 304 within the native valve annulus prior to positioning and releasing the valve component); and c) a second grasping component configured to anchor the leaflet component to a prosthetic component (see paragraph [0113], see also annotated second grasping component in Figure 5 below), wherein the prosthetic component is a stent that is independent of the grasping device (see annotated stent in Figure 5 below, see also paragraphs [0111] and [0113]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170128203 A1 (hereafter --Zhang--), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 20200078002 A1 (hereafter -- Hacohen-).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses the device of claim 6.
Zhang fails to disclose a first slide lock adapted to slide between a locked position and an unlocked position along the device, wherein the unlocked position of the first slide lock permits the arm to transition from the non-extended state to the extended state, wherein the locked position of the first slide lock keeps the arm in the non-extended state or the grasping state.
Hacohen discloses a grasping device (see grasping device 80 in Figure 11D below) for securing a leaflet component of a native mitral valve (see paragraph [0480]), wherein the leaflet component comprises a leaflet and chordae tendineae associated with the leaflet (see annotated leaflet and chordae in Figure 11D below), the device comprising: a) a first grasping component configured to grab chordae tendineae of said leaflet component of a native mitral valve; and b) a second grasping component configured to anchor the leaflet component to a prosthetic component (see annotated second grasping component in Figure 11D below, see also paragraph [0534] denoting that barbs or hooks can protrude from the grasping device and into the prosthesis 40 to facilitate coupling). Hacohen teaches further comprising a first slide lock adapted to slide between a locked position and an unlocked position along the device (see locked and unlocked positions and first slide lock in Figures 5B and 5D below). The word “slide” is being given its broadest interpretation by interpreting the term to mean “to change position.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the device further comprise a first slide lock adapted to slide between a locked position and an unlocked position along the device, as taught by Hacohen, as by doing so would further anchor and/or provide sealing for the prosthetic valve (see paragraph [0496]) to the native valve, as well as would seal the arm of the grasping component if applied onto it, as it is taught by Hacohen that the slide locks are closed such that what is within the locks are grasped and sealed by the slide locks (106a, 106b) (see paragraph [0494]).
The limitation “wherein the unlocked position of the first slide lock permits the arm to transition from the non-extended state to the extended state, wherein the locked position of the first slide lock keeps the arm in the non-extended state or the grasping state” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. As modified, the device of Zhang discloses a grasping arm and a memory wire attached. The first slide lock can be placed on top of the grasping arm so that when the lock is unlocked (see Figure 5B above), the two arms (and therefore the two ends of the grasping arm) of the lock are able to be opened, making the ends of the grasping arm to be extended away from each other, which can be considered “permitting” movement of the arm from an “non-extended state” to an “extended state.” When the lock is in the locked configuration (see Figure 5D above), the arms of the lock (and therefore the ends of the grasping arms) are pressed together, keeping the arm in the grasping state or non-extended state (depending on if the arms of “grasping” something or not). Therefore, since the grasping arm and slide lock have all the structural features, and since the grasping arm is able to be within the slide lock in Zhang as modified, the position of the lock is able to directly permit the transition and position of the grasping arm as claimed.
Conclusion
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/
Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774