DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed June 25, 2026, which amends claims 137, 160, and 161. Claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed June 25, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 as set forth in the Office action mailed March 20, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 137 has been amended to include the following, “wherein if the first compound is homoleptic, then the second compound has the following formula:
; wherein each X is independently C or N; wherein RA, RB, and Rc each independently represents mono to the maximum allowable number of substitutions, or no substitution; wherein each RA, RB, and Rc is independently a hydrogen or a substituent selected from the group consisting of deuterium, halogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heteroalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, boryl, arylalkyl, alkoxy, aryloxy, amino, silyl, germyl, boryl, selenyl, alkenyl, cycloalkenyl, heteroalkenyl, alkynyl, aryl, heteroaryl, acyl, carboxylic acid, ether, ester, nitrile, isonitrile, sulfanyl, sulfinyl, sulfonyl, phosphino, and combinations thereof; and at least one of the following conditions i) or ii) is true:i) at least one X is C; or ii) at least one RA, RB, or Rc that bonds to the carbon ring atom that is para to the trigonal planar nitrogen atom that forms three single bonds to its adjacent atoms is independently a hydrogen or a substituent selected from the group consisting of deuterium, halogen, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heteroalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, boryl, arylalkyl, alkoxy, aryloxy, silyl, germyl, boryl, selenyl, alkenyl, cycloalkenyl, heteroalkenyl, alkynyl, acyl, carboxylic acid, ether, ester, nitrile, isonitrile, sulfanyl, sulfinyl, sulfonyl, phosphino, and combinations thereof”. This newly added proviso is not simply just carving out one single compound or a readily envisaged negative limitation, but is instead a complex exclusion based on specific combination of variables. The fairness of a new matter rejection hinges on whether that specific “carve-out” was every contemplated or if it creates a “newly claimed sub-genus”. While MEPE 2163.05(i) allows negative limitations to overcome the prior art, an Applicant cannot simply add a negative limitations that is created through the picking and choosing form multiple variable selections to create a sub-genus that was not originally identified. The originally filed disclosed does not provide any direction that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to make the specific selections of variable to arrive at the compound to be excluded. The Applicant is essentially stitching together an exclusion from disparate parts of the specification to cover the compounds disclosed in the prior art. The specific list of conditions would lead to a proviso not disclosed in any reasonable manner to suggest that the Application had possession of the exclusion.
Claims 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claim 137.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuznetsov et al. (Chem. Commun. 2017, 53, 4830-4833) (hereafter “Kuznetsov”) in view of Adachi et al. (US 2015/0048338) (hereafter “Adachi”), and Forrest et al. (US 6,310,360) (hereafter “Forrest”) as referenced by Lennartz et al. (US 2016/0315274) (hereafter “Lennartz”).
Regarding claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161, Kuznetsov teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, and a cathode (page 4833 Fig. 4). Kuznetsov teaches that the light emitting layer comprises
as the material in the light emitting layer (page 4830 Scheme 1 and page 4833 Fig. 4). The compounds of Kuznetsov which is the applicant’s second compound and is an acceptor and a TADF material . Kuznetsov teaches electroluminescent device structure was not optimized and better performance could be obtained by optimizing the structure (page 4833 left column second paragraph). Kuznetsov teaches that the electroluminescent device can be sued in a consumer product (abstract).
Paragraph [0099] of the instant application states that “The N or B atoms forming three single bonds to its adjacent atoms in aromatic system help the second compound to have its lowest energy excited state that is not T1 energy”. The compound of Adachi has this structure and would meet the limitation according to the teaching of the applicant.
Kuznetsov does not teach were the device comprises an electron transporting layer or host materials in the light emitting layer or where the light emitting layer comprises a sensitizer material.
Adachi teaches a similar electron luminescent device comprising light emitting material that is similar to structure to the compounds of Kuznetsov. Adachi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transpiring layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0086] and [0087]). Adachi teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (paragraph [0087]). Adachi teaches that the host can be
or
(paragraph [0072]). Adachi teaches that the dopant can be
, which is the applicant’s second compound and is an acceptor and a TADF material (paragraphs [0043] and [0086]). Adachi teaches that the devices formed have good electroluminescent properties (paragraph [0090]).
Forrest teaches the use of sensitizers in the light emitting layer of electroluminescent devices (column 9 lines 2-18). Forrest teaches that the sensitizer can be phosphorescent materials, such as Ir(ppy)3 (
) (column 9 lines 2-18 and column 13 lines 16-50). Forrest teaches that adding the sensitizer material to the light emitting layer comprising fluorescent dopants leads to an improvement efficiency of the dopant and light emitting device (column lines 2-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuznetsov to have the device structure, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transpiring layer, and a host material in the light emitting layer, as taught by Adachi. Kuznetsov teaches that the device can be optimized and Adachi teaches a device for similar light emitting materials and teaches that the resulting device display electroluminescent properties. The motivation would have been to improve the electroluminescent properties of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kuznetsov in view Adachi to include the Ir(ppy)3 as the sensitizer material as taught by Forrest. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of the device. The claimed energy properties would naturally flow from the combination given the compounds meet the applicant’s claimed formulas and the applicant does not give specific examples of the compounds that meet the energy limitations.
Lennartz shows that Ir(ppy)3 inherently has a S1-T1 energy gap is about 200 meV (paragraph [0242]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759