DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed February 27, 2026, which amends claims 137, 143, and 151, cancels claims 138, 142, 152, and 153, and adds claims 158-161. Claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed February 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 137-157 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in the Office action mailed December 1, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed February 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 143 and 151-153 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as set forth in the Office action mailed December 1, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed February 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 137, 142, 151, and 154 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duan et al. (US 2018/0175294) as set forth in the Office action mailed December 1, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed February 27, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 138 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (US 2015/0048338) (hereafter “Adachi”) in view of Forrest et al. (US 6,310,360) as set forth in the Office action mailed December 1, 2025. The applicant cancels claim 138; therefore, the claim is no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that rejection is silent on the limitation “a second compound whose lowest-energy excited state is not a lowest excited triplet state T1”, the Office points out that paragraph [0099] of the instant application states that “The N or B atoms forming three single bonds to its adjacent atoms in aromatic system help the second compound to have its lowest energy excited state that is not T1 energy”. The compound of Adachi has this structure and would meet the limitation according to the teaching of the applicant. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adachi et al. (US 2015/0048338) (hereafter “Adachi”) in view of Forrest et al. (US 6,310,360) (hereafter “Forrest”) as referenced by Lennartz et al. (US 2016/0315274) (hereafter “Lennartz”).
Regarding claims 137, 139-141, 143-151, and 154-161, Adachi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transpiring layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0086] and [0087]). Adachi teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (paragraph [0087]). Adachi teaches that the host can be
or
(paragraph [0072]). Adachi teaches that the dopant can be
, which is the applicant’s second compound and is an acceptor and a TADF material (paragraphs [0043] and [0086]). Adachi teaches that the second electroluminescent device can be used in a consumer product (paragraph [0082]).
Paragraph [0099] of the instant application states that “The N or B atoms forming three single bonds to its adjacent atoms in aromatic system help the second compound to have its lowest energy excited state that is not T1 energy”. The compound of Adachi has this structure and would meet the limitation according to the teaching of the applicant.
Adachi does not teach where the light emitting layer comprises a sensitizer material.
Forrest teaches the use of sensitizers in the light emitting layer of electroluminescent devices (column 9 lines 2-18). Forrest teaches that the sensitizer can be phosphorescent materials, such as Ir(ppy)3 (
) (column 9 lines 2-18 and column 13 lines 16-50). Forrest teaches that adding the sensitizer material to the light emitting layer comprising fluorescent dopants leads to an improvement efficiency of the dopant and light emitting device (column lines 2-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Adachi to include the Ir(ppy)3 as the sensitizer material as taught by Forrest. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of the device. The claimed energy properties would naturally flow from the combination given the compounds meet the applicant’s claimed formulas and the applicant does not give specific examples of the compounds that meet the energy limitations.
Lennartz shows that Ir(ppy)3 inherently has a S1-T1 energy gap is about 200 meV (paragraph [0242]).
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759