Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 12th, 2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The 112(b) rejection of claim 23 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections based on the Nabet et al. reference are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections based on the Xu reference are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections based over the Lee reference are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-13, 15-17, 19-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munteanu et al. (US 2013/0213478 A1) in view of Pazniak et al. (US 2021/0313120 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0165033 A1).
In view of Claims 1, 3, and 24 Munteanu et al. teaches a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer that functions as a barrier layer (Figure 16, #1624 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 that functions as a barrier layer (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Furthermore, Munteanu et al. discloses that the MXene back contact layer has a barrier function, that is preventing diffusion (Paragraph 0057), while Pazniak et al. discloses that the MXene material Ti3C2 is seen as an improvement in this regard as it increases the stability of the device by reducing diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. in Munteanu et al. back contact layer 1624 for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 4, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Pazniak et al. teaches that the MXene material comprises terminations on at least one surface, wherein the terminations comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide (Paragraph 0019).
In view of Claim 6, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022).
In view of Claim 9, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Pazniak et al. teaches that the MXene material is transparent or semitransparent (Paragraph 0003).
In view of Claim 10, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Munteanu et al. teaches a glass or plastic cover (Figure 14, #1420 & Paragraph 0044).
In view of Claim 12, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Munteanu et al. teaches that the n-type and p-type layer may be graded (Paragraph 0032).
In view of Claim 13, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of producing a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
providing a substrate (Figure 14, #1420)’
depositing a transparent conducting electrode over the substrate (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
depositing an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material over the transparent conductive electrode; depositing a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material over the n-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
depositing a back-contact layer comprising at least one MXene material directly over the p-type layer that functions as a barrier layer (Figure 16, #1624 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the MXene material comprises Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Furthermore, Munteanu et al. discloses that the MXene back contact layer has a barrier function, that is preventing diffusion (Paragraph 0057), while Pazniak et al. discloses that the MXene material Ti3C2 is seen as an improvement in this regard as it increases the stability of the device by reducing diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. in Munteanu et al. back contact layer 1624 for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 15, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches the step of depositing a back contact layer over the active layer comprises the step of spray-coating the MXene material over the active layer (Paragraph 0043). Pazniak et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to use Ti3C2 material.
In view of Claim 16, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Pazniak et al. teaches the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022).
In view of Claim 17, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 17. Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022).
In view of Claim 19, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches that the substrate comprises glass (Paragraph 0043).
In view of Claim 20, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of generating electricity, the method comprising the step of subjecting a photovoltaic device to a light source (Figure 14 & Paragraph 0003) wherein the photovoltaic device comprises:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer that functions as a barrier layer (Figure 16, #1624 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the MXene material comprises Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Furthermore, Munteanu et al. discloses that the MXene back contact layer has a barrier function, that is preventing diffusion (Paragraph 0057), while Pazniak et al. discloses that the MXene material Ti3C2 is seen as an improvement in this regard as it increases the stability of the device by reducing diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. in Munteanu et al. back contact layer 1624 for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 21, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Munteanu et al. teaches that the active layer can be n-type doped via Indium (Paragraph 0048).
In view of Claim 22, Munteanu et al., Pazniak et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Pazniak et al. teaches the MXene material comprises at least one crystal cell layer having a first crystal cell surface and a second crystal cell surface; wherein the at least one crystal cell layer has an empirical formula Ti3C2Tx with an oxide or hydroxide surface termination.
The Examiner also respectfully points out to Applicant that in the arguments submitted December 20th, 2023, Applicant discloses, “The body of scientific literature states that MXenes have the general 2-dimensional crystal structure MnXn-1Tx with two surfaces, where M is a transition metal from group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, X is a nitrogen, or a combination thereof, and T represents surface terminations on the external surfaces of the two-dimensional material which are comprised of alkoxide, alkyl, carboxylate, halide, hydroxide, hydride, oxide, sub-oxide, nitride, sub-nitride, sulfide, sulfonate, thiol, or a combination thereof.” (Applicant’s Argument 12/20/20 – Page 7, 3rd Paragraph). Accordingly, as evidenced by Applicant’s remarks, the body of scientific literature states that all MXenes would inherently have the material properties as required by the claim.
Claims 1, 3, 9-10, 12-13, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munteanu et al. (US 2013/0213478 A1) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0077329 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0165033 A1).
In view of Claims 1, 3, 21 & 23, Munteanu et al. teaches a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer (Figure 14, #1422 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
He et al. discloses a back contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0021), that has been demonstrated as a potential contact material for optoelectronic devices as it has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency of a solar cell device (Paragraph 0040), wherein Ti3C2 can be used as a metal contact that effectively extracts photogenerated electrons and thereby improves the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range (Paragraph 0038). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the back contact layer comprise the MXene material Ti3C2 as disclosed by He et al. in Munteanu et al. PV device for the advantage of having a contact material for the PV device that has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency while effectively capable of extracting photogenerated electrons and thereby improving the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 9, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. He et al. teaches that the MXene material is transparent or semitransparent (Paragraph 0021).
In view of Claim 10, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Munteanu et al. teaches a glass or plastic cover (Figure 14, #1420 & Paragraph 0044).
In view of Claim 12, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Munteanu et al. teaches that the n-type and p-type layer may be graded (Paragraph 0032).
In view of Claim 13, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of producing a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
providing a substrate (Figure 14, #1420)’
depositing a transparent conducting electrode over the substrate (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
depositing an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material over the transparent conductive electrode; depositing a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material over the n-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
depositing a back-contact layer directly over the p-type layer (Figure 14, #1442);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
He et al. discloses a back contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0021), that has been demonstrated as a potential contact material for optoelectronic devices as it has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency of a solar cell device (Paragraph 0040), wherein Ti3C2 can be used as a metal contact that effectively extracts photogenerated electrons and thereby improves the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range (Paragraph 0038). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the back contact layer comprise the MXene material Ti3C2 as disclosed by He et al. in Munteanu et al. PV device for the advantage of having a contact material for the PV device that has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency while effectively capable of extracting photogenerated electrons and thereby improving the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 15, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches the step of depositing a back contact layer over the active layer comprises the step of spray-coating the MXene material over the active layer (Paragraph 0043). Pazniak et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to use Ti3C2 material.
In view of Claim 19, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches that the substrate comprises glass (Paragraph 0043).
In view of Claim 20, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of generating electricity, the method comprising the step of subjecting a photovoltaic device to a light source (Figure 14 & Paragraph 0003) wherein the photovoltaic device comprises:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer (Figure 14, #1422);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
He et al. discloses a back contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0021), that has been demonstrated as a potential contact material for optoelectronic devices as it has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency of a solar cell device (Paragraph 0040), wherein Ti3C2 can be used as a metal contact that effectively extracts photogenerated electrons and thereby improves the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range (Paragraph 0038). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the back contact layer comprise the MXene material Ti3C2 as disclosed by He et al. in Munteanu et al. PV device for the advantage of having a contact material for the PV device that has shown advantageous in improved the fill factor and overall power conversion efficiency while effectively capable of extracting photogenerated electrons and thereby improving the external quantum efficiency in the wide wavelength range.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
Claims 4, 6, 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munteanu et al. (US 2013/0213478 A1) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0077329 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0165033 A1) in view of Pazniak et al. (US 2021/0313120 A1).
In view of Claim 4, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. He does not disclose that the MXene material comprises terminations on at least one surface, wherein the terminations comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide
Pazniak et al. teaches that the MXene material comprises terminations on at least one surface, wherein the terminations comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide (Paragraph 0019). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the terminations that comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 6, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. He does not disclose that the step of doping the MXene material.
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of doping the MXene material) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 16, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. He et al. does not disclose the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material.
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material) in Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 17, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 17. He et al. does not disclose the step of doping the MXene material,
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of doping the MXene material) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 22, Munteanu et al., He, and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. He et al. does not disclose that the MXene material comprises a crystal cell layer having a first crystal cell surface and a second crystal cell surface; wherein the at least one crystal cell layer has an empirical formula of M(n+1)XnTx; M is at least one group 3-7 metal, X is C, N, or a combination thereof, and n = 1-3, wherein the first crystal cell surface and the second crystal cell surface comprises surface terminations Tx comprise oxide or hydroxide.
Pazniak et al. teaches the MXene material comprises at least one crystal cell layer having a first crystal cell surface and a second crystal cell surface; wherein the at least one crystal cell layer has an empirical formula Ti3C2Tx with an oxide or hydroxide surface termination (Paragraph 0019). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
The Examiner also respectfully points out to Applicant that in the arguments submitted December 20th, 2023, Applicant discloses, “The body of scientific literature states that MXenes have the general 2-dimensional crystal structure MnXn-1Tx with two surfaces, where M is a transition metal from group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, X is a nitrogen, or a combination thereof, and T represents surface terminations on the external surfaces of the two-dimensional material which are comprised of alkoxide, alkyl, carboxylate, halide, hydroxide, hydride, oxide, sub-oxide, nitride, sub-nitride, sulfide, sulfonate, thiol, or a combination thereof.” (Applicant’s Argument 12/20/20 – Page 7, 3rd Paragraph). Accordingly, as evidenced by Applicant’s remarks, the body of scientific literature states that all MXenes would inherently have the material properties as required by the claim.
Claims 1, 3, 9-10, 12-13, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munteanu et al. (US 2013/0213478 A1) in view of Nabet et al. (US 2022/0085224 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0165033 A1).
In view of Claims 1, 3, 21 & 23, Munteanu et al. teaches a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer (Figure 14, #1422 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises MXene material Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Nabet et al. teaches a transparent contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 that is widely used as a contact layer in a solar cell (Paragraph 0095-0096) and that MXenes are excellent electrical conductors with metal-like carrier concentrations (Paragraph 0007), and that MXene semiconductor contacts have certain characteristics with unique Ohmic behavior (Paragraph 0009) that offer obvious advantages such as carrier transit distance and responsivity (Paragraph 0096). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Nabet et al. as Munteanu et al. back contact layer for the advantages of having a contact layer that is an excellent conductive with unique ohmic behavior that has advantages responsivity and carrier transit distance.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 9, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Nabet et al. teaches that the MXene material is transparent or semitransparent (Paragraph 0096).
In view of Claim 10, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Munteanu et al. teaches a glass or plastic cover (Figure 14, #1420 & Paragraph 0044).
In view of Claim 12, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Munteanu et al. teaches that the n-type and p-type layer may be graded (Paragraph 0032).
In view of Claim 13, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of producing a photovoltaic device (Figure 14) comprising:
providing a substrate (Figure 14, #1420)’
depositing a transparent conducting electrode over the substrate (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
depositing an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material over the transparent conductive electrode; depositing a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material over the n-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
depositing a back-contact layer directly over the p-type layer (Figure 16, #1624 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Nabet et al. teaches a transparent contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 that is widely used as a contact layer in a solar cell (Paragraph 0095-0096) and that MXenes are excellent electrical conductors with metal-like carrier concentrations (Paragraph 0007), and that MXene semiconductor contacts have certain characteristics with unique Ohmic behavior (Paragraph 0009) that offer obvious advantages such as carrier transit distance and responsivity (Paragraph 0096). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Nabet et al. as Munteanu et al. back contact layer for the advantages of having a contact layer that is an excellent conductive with unique ohmic behavior that has advantages responsivity and carrier transit distance.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
In view of Claim 15, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches the step of depositing a back contact layer over the active layer comprises the step of spray-coating the MXene material over the active layer (Paragraph 0043). Nabet et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to use Ti3C2 material.
In view of Claim 19, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Munteanu et al. teaches that the substrate comprises glass (Paragraph 0043).
In view of Claim 20, Munteanu et al. teaches a method of generating electricity, the method comprising the step of subjecting a photovoltaic device to a light source (Figure 14 & Paragraph 0003) wherein the photovoltaic device comprises:
a transparent conducting layer (Figure 14, #1486 - Paragraph 0043 & 0049);
an n-type layer comprising an n-type photovoltaic material; and a p-type layer comprising a p-type photovoltaic material (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045-0046 & 0048);
“semiconductor layer 1482 may form a p-n junction with light-absorbing layer 1440” (Paragraph 0046);
wherein at least one of the n-type layer and the p-type layer comprise CdTe (Figure 14, #1440/#1482 – Paragraph 0045 & 0048);
a back-contact layer (Figure 16, #1624 & Paragraph 0055);
wherein the n-type layer is disposed between the p-type layer and the transparent conductive electrode (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below);
wherein the p-type layer is in direct contact with the n-type layer and the back contact layer (See Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14, below).
Annotated Munteanu et al. Figure 14
Munteanu et al. does not teach that the back contact layer comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 or that the back contact layer has a thickness of 100-5000 nm.
Nabet et al. teaches a transparent contact layer that comprises the MXene material Ti3C2 that is widely used as a contact layer in a solar cell (Paragraph 0095-0096) and that MXenes are excellent electrical conductors with metal-like carrier concentrations (Paragraph 0007), and that MXene semiconductor contacts have certain characteristics with unique Ohmic behavior (Paragraph 0009) that offer obvious advantages such as carrier transit distance and responsivity (Paragraph 0096). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Nabet et al. as Munteanu et al. back contact layer for the advantages of having a contact layer that is an excellent conductive with unique ohmic behavior that has advantages responsivity and carrier transit distance.
Lee et al. teaches an MXene materials that have low optical losses for photonic applications (Paragraph 0077), wherein the MXene material can have a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers (Paragraph 0109 – hundreds of nanometers up to 1 to 10 micrometers includes values from 500 nm to 2500 nm, including specifically from 1000 nm to 2500 nm). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have the MXene material with a thickness from hundreds of nanometers even to 1 to 10 micrometers as disclosed by lee et al. for the advantage of ensuring low optical losses for a photonic application.
Claims 4, 6, 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munteanu et al. (US 2013/0213478 A1) in view of Nabet et al. (US 2022/0085224 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0165033 A1) in view of Pazniak et al. (US 2021/0313120 A1).
In view of Claim 4, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Nabet et al. does not disclose that the MXene material comprises terminations on at least one surface, wherein the terminations comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide
Pazniak et al. teaches that the MXene material comprises terminations on at least one surface, wherein the terminations comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide (Paragraph 0019). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the terminations that comprise at least one functional group selected from hydroxide and oxide) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 6, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Nabet et al. does not disclose that the step of doping the MXene material.
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of doping the MXene material) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 16, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Nabet et al. does not disclose the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material.
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of chemically modifying at least one surface of the MXene material) in Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 17, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 17. Nabet et al. does not disclose the step of doping the MXene material,
Pazniak et al. teaches the step of doping the MXene material (Paragraph 0018-0022). Pazniak et al. teaches a MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 (Paragraph 0042). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. (to include the step of doping the MXene material) in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
In view of Claim 22, Munteanu et al., Nabet et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1 Nabet et al. does not disclose that the MXene material comprises a crystal cell layer having a first crystal cell surface and a second crystal cell surface; wherein the at least one crystal cell layer has an empirical formula of M(n+1)XnTx; M is at least one group 3-7 metal, X is C, N, or a combination thereof, and n = 1-3, wherein the first crystal cell surface and the second crystal cell surface comprises surface terminations Tx comprise oxide or hydroxide.
Pazniak et al. teaches the MXene material comprises at least one crystal cell layer having a first crystal cell surface and a second crystal cell surface; wherein the at least one crystal cell layer has an empirical formula Ti3C2Tx with an oxide or hydroxide surface termination (Paragraph 0019). Pazniak et al. teaches that increasing the stability of a solar cell device is achieved by the passivation of the heterojunction boundaries and a reduction of the concentration of traps at the interfaces due to the incorporation of MXene layers with different work functions, as well as by a reduction of the diffusion of materials from the device structure layers to the bulk and their electrochemical interaction through the use of modified MXenes functioning as diffusion barrier (buffer) layers (Paragraph 0026). Pazniak et al. teaches that the use of Ti3C2 as a barrier back contact layer results in increased stability of a photoconverter (Paragraph 0042). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have an MXene material that comprises Ti3C2 as disclosed by Pazniak et al. in modified Munteanu et al. photovoltaic device for the advantage of having a photoconverter with increased stability.
The Examiner also respectfully points out to Applicant that in the arguments submitted December 20th, 2023, Applicant discloses, “The body of scientific literature states that MXenes have the general 2-dimensional crystal structure MnXn-1Tx with two surfaces, where M is a transition metal from group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, X is a nitrogen, or a combination thereof, and T represents surface terminations on the external surfaces of the two-dimensional material which are comprised of alkoxide, alkyl, carboxylate, halide, hydroxide, hydride, oxide, sub-oxide, nitride, sub-nitride, sulfide, sulfonate, thiol, or a combination thereof.” (Applicant’s Argument 12/20/20 – Page 7, 3rd Paragraph). Accordingly, as evidenced by Applicant’s remarks, the body of scientific literature states that all MXenes would inherently have the material properties as required by the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant did not submit arguments regarding Munteanu in view of Pazniak and Lee, thus the rejection was maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726