DETAILED ACTION
2. Status of Claims
• Claims 1 and 18 are pending.
• Claims 1-6, 17 were previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2010300587A to Benzing and further in view of NPL U (“MP35N: A Superalloy for Critical Oil and Gas Applications”, by Williams (“Williams”)
5. Regarding Claim 1, Benzing discloses a nonpneumatic tire (for aerospace use (“having greater strength and durability” for use on “on planetary space surfaces “ Para 6, Para 9), comprising a plurality of helical springs (310 ”interlaced springs” Para 24, lines 5-12, Para 47 lines 4-12, claims 7 and 8, Fig 3-5, 9, 10), wherein the plurality of helical springs for are constructed of a suitable material (“a Ti-N alloy, steel, titanium, polymer, ceramic, or any other suitable material.” Benzing, Para 51, lines 7-9).
Benzing does not disclose wherein the plurality of helical springs are being constructed of a multiphase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy.
Williams (Pages 1-9) discloses a multi-phase (Page 2 Para 5-6) Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy (MP35N containing 35% Co, 35% Ni, 20% Mo, 10% Cr and 1% Titanium. Page 3 Table 2) “ i.e. a suitable material for a spring for aerospace applications” (capable of being used to form springs for aerospace applications (Page 1 line 1)], having an unmatched combination of strength and corrosion resistance, and strength beyond the capabilities of stainless steel (Page 1 Para 1-2)
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the non-pneumatic tire having helical springs and the springs formed of a multiphase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious (since Benzing teaches helical springs formed of a suitable material; and Williams teaches a multiphase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy capable of being used to form springs) to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-pneumatic tire of Benzing and the teaching of the multiphase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy used to form springs, of Williams; to modify the helical springs of Benzing to be formed of multiphase a multiphase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy (as taught by Williams);[ the combination modification being a substitution of one known element: helical springs of a Ti-N alloy, steel, titanium, polymer, ceramic, or any other suitable material of Benzing, for another know element: springs of a material Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy, a suitable material for a spring for aerospace applications of William , to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I.(B) “Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results “), with the motivation to utilize springs constructed from a material having an unmatched combination of strength and corrosion resistance, and strength beyond the capabilities of stainless steel (Williams Page 1 lines Para 1 lines 6-7, Para 2 lines 6-7), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
6. Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Benzing and Williams discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 1, wherein the plurality of helical springs are interlaced (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks 05/27/2026) with respect to claim 1 and 18 rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as addressed below. The rejections of the final of 01/20/2026, stand with clarification are included herein.
Applicant argument states:
Examiner erroneously characterizes the MP35N Alloy as taught in Williams as a Ti-N alloy”, “based on an incorrect assumption that MP35N is a titanium alloy”.
Examiner responds to Applicants arguments as follows:
In paragraph 5 of the final rejection of 01/20/2026, for the rejection of claim 1, Examiner described the teaching of Benzing for a non-pneumatic tire having helical interlaced springs “of a Ti-Ni Alloy” [which was an incomplete citation of Para 51 of Benzing], now clarified as “a Ti-N alloy, steel, titanium, polymer, ceramic, or any other suitable material.
In paragraphs following, Examiner described the teaching of the material of the springs Williams as “a Ti-N Alloy” (Table 2 Page 3 of Williams lists Ti at 1%, examiner did not intend this word choice to mean Williams taught any higher amount of Ti), and has clarified the wording to be “a suitable material for a spring for aerospace applications” [Williams Page 1 Para 1, 2], “a multi-phase Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy. The incomplete citation of materials of the spring of Benzing, and the description of the material of Williams, was not a mischaracterization or an incorrect assumption, and does not reflect a lack of teaching by the references, and does not detract from the obviousness and motivation of the combination/modification of Benzing and Williams.
The motivation and obviousness of the combination of Benzing with the teaching of the material of Williams described on Page 3 of Final relies not on any mischaracterization or incorrect assumption, but rather on teaching of the spring material compositions and desirable/suitable properties Benzing and Williams. Wherein the teaching of Benzing for a helical spring of “a suitable material” and the teaching of Williams of a spring of a material being a multi-phase (Page 2 Para 2) Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy (MP35N. Page 3 Table 2) [i.e. a suitable material for a spring for aerospace applications], having an unmatched combination of strength and corrosion resistance, and strength beyond the capabilities of stainless steel (Page 1 Para 1-2) . The combination modification being a substitution of one known element: helical springs of a Ti-N alloy, steel, titanium, polymer, ceramic, or any other suitable material of Benzing, for another know element: springs of a material Co-35Ni-20Mo-10Cr alloy, a suitable material for a spring for aerospace applications of William , to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I.(B) “Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results “ ). The clarified rejection based on the combination/modification of Benzing in view of Williams is included in Paragraph 5 of this document.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615