DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner notes that the limitation rejected by the Anttila reference has been removed, therefore the Examiner has entered a new grounds of rejection using the Friedrich and Thomas prior art references, wherein Friedrich has been applied to reject the new claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-18 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,290,784 in view of Britt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0192234). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in ‘784 Patent.
Referring to claims 1-5 and 7-15 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘784 Patent.
In regards to the independent claims, the ‘784 Patent fails to teach that the event includes an episode of a specific media content.
Britt discloses that an event can include an episode of a specific media content (see Paragraphs 0021 and 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media obscuring system, as taught by the ‘784 Patent, using the identification of an additional media source to access the same content in the form of an SD version of the same program, as taught by Britt, for the purpose of allowing simultaneous user selection of two or more STBs in the subscriber site 104 to re-allocate even more bandwidth away from the multiple currently active STBs (see Paragraph 0049 of Britt).
Referring to claims 16-18 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘784 Patent.
Referring to claims 21-23 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘784 Patent.
Claims 1-5, 7-18 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,575,060. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in ‘060 Patent in view of Britt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0192234).
Referring to claims 1-5 and 7-15 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘060 Patent.
In regards to the independent claims, the ‘060 Patent fails to teach that the event includes an episode of a specific media content.
Britt discloses that an event can include an episode of a specific media content (see Paragraphs 0021 and 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media obscuring system, as taught by the ‘060 Patent, using the identification of an additional media source to access the same content in the form of an SD version of the same program, as taught by Britt, for the purpose of allowing simultaneous user selection of two or more STBs in the subscriber site 104 to re-allocate even more bandwidth away from the multiple currently active STBs (see Paragraph 0049 of Britt).
Referring to claims 16-18 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘060 Patent.
Referring to claims 21-23 of the instant application, see claims 1-13 of the ‘060 Patent.
Claims 1-5, 7-18 and 21-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,762,972. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are broader than the claims in ‘972 Patent in view of Britt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0192234).
Referring to claims 1-5 and 7-15 of the instant application, see claims 1-12 of the ‘972 Patent.
In regards to the independent claims, the ‘972 Patent fails to teach that the event includes an episode of a specific media content.
Britt discloses that an event can include an episode of a specific media content (see Paragraphs 0021 and 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media obscuring system, as taught by the ‘972 Patent, using the identification of an additional media source to access the same content in the form of an SD version of the same program, as taught by Britt, for the purpose of allowing simultaneous user selection of two or more STBs in the subscriber site 104 to re-allocate even more bandwidth away from the multiple currently active STBs (see Paragraph 0049 of Britt).
Referring to claims 16-18 of the instant application, see claims 1-12 of the ‘972 Patent.
Referring to claims 21-23 of the instant application, see claims 1-12 of the ‘972 Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0191999) in view of Thomas et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,038,929).
Referring to claim 1, Friedrich teaches receiving a request to render the media stream (see Paragraph 0019 for allowing the user to select a channel to view and Paragraph 0059 for the user tuning into a football game at a later time in the football game), wherein the media stream is accessed through a first media source selected by a user (see Figure 1 for the television signals being accessed from satellite/broadcast source).
Friedrich also teaches identifying a scheduled start time of an event in the media stream (see Paragraph 0048 for receiving a current date and time of the media stream currently being viewed), the request to render the media stream received after the scheduled start time (see Paragraph 0059 for requesting to the view the football after the football game has already started), wherein the event includes an episode of a specific media content (see Paragraphs 0041 and 0052-0053 for the event being a television series that includes multiple episodes).
Friedrich also discloses identifying that the specific media content of the event (see Paragraphs 0041 and 0052-0053) is accessible through a second media source (see Figure 5 and Paragraph 0059 for giving the user to option to start watching the football game from the beginning of the football game stored on the DVR source and the additional example provided at Paragraphs 0048-0049, 0051, 0056 and 0074 for detecting if episode 2 of a series is currently being requested or viewed and stopping display of episode 2 and outputting episode 1 so that episode 1 will not be spoiled for the viewer). The Examiner further notes Figure 5 for displaying a third option to choose a different program from a different channel/source, therefore the system must determine/identify that source as an option to present in the GUI of Figure 5.
Friedrich also discloses determining whether the scheduled starting time of the event and a current time are within a predetermined time period (see Paragraph 0029 and Paragraph 0048 for using the current time and the scheduled start and end time of a title in EPG data to determine a program and once programs are determined, displaying the GUI of Figure 5 (see Paragraphs 0055-0056)).
Friedrich also discloses that in an event that the scheduled starting time of the event and the current time are within the predetermined time period, rendering the media stream in the first media source (see Figure 5 and Paragraph 0048 for determining a program using the current time and scheduled start time and then if the program is not determined to be a spoiler proceeding to step 716, which renders the media stream from the first broadcast media source and further note Figure 5 for allowing a user to render the media stream (first option)).
Friedrich also discloses that in an event that the scheduled starting time of the event and the current time are outside the predetermined time period, generating a notification that the specific media content of the event is accessible through the second media source (see Paragraph 0053 for determining that the television series includes an episode that has been recorded that is before a first episode of the television series that will not spoiler the second episode, wherein Figure 5 provides a second option to view a first episode before a second episode).
Friedrich and fails to teach that the episode of the specific media content is identifiable on a single-channel specific media stream during a specific time.
Thomas discloses that an episode of the specific media content is identifiable on a single-channel specific media stream during a specific time (see the Game of Thornes channel 124 in Figure 1 and Column 8, Lines 8-18).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the identification of a second media source, as taught by Friedrich, using the episode EPG channel, as taught by Thomas, for the purpose of allowing a user to visualize and consume multiple episodes of a series using a virtual channel and further allowing a user to binge watch a program series (see Column 1, Lines 19-23).
Referring to claim 2, Friedrich also discloses generating the notification as an overlay over visual rendering of the media stream and muting an audio rending of the media stream (see Paragraphs 0063-0064).
Referring to claim 3, Friedrich also discloses that obscuring the media stream includes performing obstructing (see Paragraph 0063).
Referring to claim 4, Friedrich also discloses that obscuring the media stream includes muting (see Paragraph 0064).
Referring to claim 5, Friedrich also discloses that the notification is a visual notification (see Figure 5).
Referring to claim 7, Friedrich also discloses identifying that specific media content of the event is accessible through a third media source (see Paragraph 0059) and rending the media stream from the third media source in the notification (see option 2 in Figure 5 for allowing the user to view the recorded program).
Referring to claim 8, Friedrich also discloses identifying that specific media content of the event is accessible through a third media source (see Paragraph 0059) and rending the media stream from the third media source as a picture-in-picture (see Figure 3).
Referring to claim 9, Friedrich also discloses identifying that specific media content of the event is accessible through a third media source (see Paragraph 0059) and automatically rendering the event from the third media source from a beginning of the event (see Paragraph 0059).
Referring to claim 10, Friedrich also discloses identifying that specific media content of the event is accessible through a third media source and that the third media source includes a storage medium (see Paragraph 0059).
Referring to claim 11, Friedrich, Britt and Thomas discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as well as Friedrich teaching delaying the access to the media stream for a predetermined time (see Figure 5 for the options in the user interface relying on a user to select the option, therefore an inherent delay exists if the user chooses to wait to select one of the options in the user interface), but fails to teach providing access to the media stream if a command to switch to the second media source is not received within the predetermined time.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that a user interface may remove options for user selection if the user fails to select an option within a predetermined period of time.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the user interface, as taught by Friedrich, Britt, Thomas and Anttila, using the user interface removal functionality, as taught by the Examiner’s statement of Official Notice, for the purpose of allowing a second user in the room to enjoy the video program if a first user forgets to select an option in the user interface obscuring the video program.
Referring to claim 12, Friedrich also discloses receiving a command to access the event through the second media source (see option 510 in Figure 5).
Referring to claim 13, Friedrich also discloses receiving a command to unobscured the rending of the media stream (see option 506 in Figure 5).
Referring to claim 14, Britt discloses receiving a command to record the event from the second media source at the later time (see step 202e in Figure 2 and Paragraph 0040).
Referring to claim 15, Friedrich discloses that the second media source includes a second television channel from a second broadcast station (see the last option in Figure 5 that allows a user to select a different channel to view).
Referring to claims 16-18, see the rejection of claims 1-2 and 11, respectively.
Referring to claims 21-23, see the rejection of claims 1, 14 and 9, respectively.
Conclusion
/Jason Salce/Senior Examiner, Art Unit 2421
Jason P Salce
Senior Examiner
Art Unit 2421
February 17, 2026