DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 4 and 8 were previously canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-22 are pending in the application. Claims 13-21 are withdrawn due to a previous restriction requirement. Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 is supported in the Specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al., (Programmable Liquid Metal Microstructures for Multifunctional Soft Thermal Composites. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2000832; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Haque”) in view of Yuan et al. (Lightweight Liquid Metal Entity. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 1910709; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Yuan”) as evidenced by Sigma-Aldrich (Gallium-Indium eutectic; https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/US/en/product/aldrich/495425?srsltid=AU7gw4Ur7jY9zLJoFfLEWHP7JRLnquoPHHjc0rN339WgicbNHcPo3RR7. Date Accessed: September 16, 2026; hereafter as “Sigma-Aldrich”).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 22, Haque teaches a soft matrix phase embedded with liquid metal particles [Abstract], corresponding to the liquid metal composition of Claim 1. Haque teaches the liquid metal composition comprises:
Styrene-isoprene-styrene [Pg. 2, Col 2], corresponding to the elastic polymer of Claim 1;
Wherein the embedded liquid metal particles [Abstract], correspond to the plurality of ellipsoidal particles dispersed in the elastic polymer of Claim 1;
Spherical liquid metal structures, such as eutectic gallium indium [Pg. 2, Col 2; Fig. 2a], corresponding to the plurality of particles each comprising a liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1, corresponding to wherein the liquid metal inclusion comprises a metal having a melting point below 100 °C of Claim 2, and corresponding to wherein the metal comprises gallium of Claim 3;
Wherein the liquid particles have an aspect ratio of about 1 at 0% strain [Fig. 2b], corresponding to wherein the ellipsoidal particles have an aspect ratio of 0.5 to 1.7 under 0% strain of Claim 1, and to wherein the aspect ratio of the ellipsoidal particles is between 0.9 and 1.1 of Claim 22.
Since spheres are a type of ellipsoid wherein the three major ellipsoid axes are the same, the spherical liquid metal structures of Haque will be interpreted to correspond to the ellipsoidal particles of Claims 1 and 22.
However, Haque does not explicitly teach a low-density phase comprising a plurality of particles suspended within the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of particles of the low-density phase comprises a plurality of microspheres of Claim 5, and wherein the plurality of microspheres comprises a plurality of hollow glass microspheres of Claim 6.
Nevertheless, Yuan teaches a liquid metal composition [Abstract], comprising:
eutectic gallium indium [Pg. 2, Col. 1], which has a density of 6.3
g
c
m
3
[Sigma-Aldrich; Properties Table], which corresponds to the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1;
low density additives such as glass microspheres to the eutectic gallium indium, wherein the glass microspheres have a density of 0.250
g
c
m
3
[Pg. 2, Col. 1; Pg. 9, Col. 1], which correspond to the low-density phase comprising a plurality of particles suspended within the liquid metal inclusion, wherein the low-density phase comprises a material having less density than a density of the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1, corresponding to the microspheres of Claim 5, and hollow glass microspheres of Claim 6.
Yuan offers the motivation that the introduction of glass microspheres into the liquid metal produces a lightweight material with high conformability, ductility and electrical conductivity [Pg. 9, Col. 1].
Haque and Yuan are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing composite materials comprising liquid metal gallium.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the glass microspheres of Yuan with the liquid metal composite of Haque, with the motivation to improve conformability, ductility and electrical conductivity, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 11-12, Haque is silent to a low-density phase, and thus, does not teach an affinity- promoting layer disposed between each of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Nevertheless, Yuan teaches the surface of the glass microbeads form a gallium oxide layer which bind to the bulk eutectic gallium indium [Pg. 2, Col. 1; Fig. 4c]. The instant Specification discloses gallium oxide as an affinity-promoting layer [instant Specification; ¶ 0036]. Thus, the gallium oxide layer on the glass microbead surface of Yuan will be interpreted as corresponding to the affinity- promoting layer disposed between each of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and corresponding to wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Yuan offers the motivation that the binding of the bulk eutectic gallium indium to the gallium oxide layer on the glass microbeads results in the linking of the otherwise loose microbeads [Pg. 2; Col. 1].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the gallium oxide layer of Yuan with the liquid metal composite of Haque, with the motivation to improve microbead connectivity, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Haque et al., (Programmable Liquid Metal Microstructures for Multifunctional Soft Thermal Composites. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2000832; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Haque”) in view of Yuan et al. (Lightweight Liquid Metal Entity. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 1910709; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Yuan”) and in further view of Bartlett et al. (High thermal conductivity in soft elastomers with elongated liquid metal inclusions. PNAS. 2017, vol. 114, no. 9; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Bartlett”).
Haque and Yuan teach the liquid metal composition, elastic polymer, plurality of ellipsoidal particles, liquid metal inclusion, low-density phase, and ellipsoidal particle aspect ratio of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
However, Haque and Yuan do not teach the wherein the elastic polymer comprises silicone of Claim 7.
Nevertheless, Bartlett teaches eutectic gallium−indium microdroplets dispersed in a highly deformable silicone elastomer [Fig. 1A-D], wherein the silicone elastomer corresponds with the silicone of Claim 7.
Bartlett offers the motivation that silicone elastomer is highly deformable [Pg.1 , Col. 1; Fig. 1A-E].
Haque, Yuan, and Bartlett are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing composite materials comprising liquid metal gallium.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicone elastomer and Ga2O3 coating of Bartlett with the liquid metal composite of Haque and Yuan, with the motivation to improve deformability, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 9-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Haque et al., (Programmable Liquid Metal Microstructures for Multifunctional Soft Thermal Composites. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2000832; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Haque”) in view of Wang et al. (A general approach to composites containing nonmetallic fillers and liquid gallium. Sci. Adv. 2021; 7 : eabe3767; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Wang”) as evidenced by NIST (Composition of GALLIUM. https://pml.nist.gov/cgi-bin/Star/compos.pl?matno=031. Date accessed September 16, 2026; hereafter as “NIST”), Chemical Book (graphene oxide. https://www.chemicalbook.com/ChemicalProductProperty_EN_CB72470899.htm. Date accessed September 16, 2026; hereafter as “Chemical Book”), and Mykolajewycz et al. (High-Precision Density Determination of Natural Diamonds. J. Appl. Phys. 35, 1773–1778 (1964); hereafter as “Mykolajewycz”).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 22, Haque teaches a soft matrix phase embedded with liquid metal particles [Abstract], corresponding to the liquid metal composition of Claim 1. Haque teaches the liquid metal composition comprises:
Styrene-isoprene-styrene [Pg. 2, Col 2], corresponding to the elastic polymer of Claim 1;
Wherein the embedded liquid metal particles [Abstract], correspond to the plurality of ellipsoidal particles dispersed in the elastic polymer of Claim 1;
Spherical liquid metal structures, such as eutectic gallium indium [Pg. 2, Col 2; Fig. 2a], corresponding to the plurality of particles each comprising a liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1, corresponding to wherein the liquid metal inclusion comprises a metal having a melting point below 100 °C of Claim 2, and corresponding to wherein the metal comprises gallium of Claim 3;
Wherein the liquid particles have an aspect ratio of about 1 at 0% strain [Fig. 2b], corresponding to wherein the ellipsoidal particles have an aspect ratio of 0.5 to 1.7 under 0% strain of Claim 1, and to wherein the aspect ratio of the ellipsoidal particles is between 0.9 and 1.1 of Claim 22.
Since spheres are a type of ellipsoid wherein the three major ellipsoid axes are the same, the spherical liquid metal structures of Haque will be interpreted to correspond to the ellipsoidal particles of Claims 1 and 22.
However, Haque does not explicitly teach a low-density phase comprising a plurality of particles suspended within the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches liquid metal composites, such as such as eutectic gallium indium, embedded with nonmetallic particles such as graphene oxide and diamonds [Abstract; Fig. 1D-E; Fig. 2A, B, D; Pg. 4, Col. 2; Pg. 10, Col. 1], wherein the graphene oxide and diamonds correspond with the low-density phase of Claim 1, (wherein the gallium has a density of 5.9-6.4 g/cm3 [NIST, Table 1], graphene oxide has a density of 1.8 g/cm3 [Chemical Book; Table 2], and diamonds have a density of 3.5 g/ cm3 [ Mykolajewycz; Abstract]) which corresponds to wherein the low-density phase comprises a material having less density than a density of the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 1.
Wang offers the motivation nonmetallic materials such as graphene and diamonds have outstanding thermal, electrical, or mechanical properties, and are excellent fillers for composite materials [Pg. 1, Col. 2].
Haque and Wang are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing composite materials comprising liquid metal gallium.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the graphene oxide and diamonds of Wang with the soft matrix phase embedded with liquid metal particles of Haque, with the motivation to improve material thermal, electrical, or mechanical properties, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Haque teaches the gallium liquid metal particles have a diameter of 40 µm [Pg. 3, Col. 1].
However, Haque is silent to a low-density phase, and thus, does not teach wherein each of the plurality of ellipsoidal particles has a diameter that is at least five times and no more than ten times a diameter of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase of Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches the diamond particles (that are embedded in the liquid metal) have a diameter of 4-8 µm [Pg. 2, Col. 2; Pg. 7, Col. 2], which is equivalent to a liquid metal particle (of Haque) size (40 µm) to diamond particle size ratio of 5-10, which corresponds with wherein each of the plurality of ellipsoidal particles has a diameter that is at least five times and no more than ten times a diameter of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase of Claim 9.
Wang offers the motivation that by adjusting the gallium particle size, diamond particles can be dispersed in the gallium, forming composites with high diamond fractions [Pg. 1, Col. 2]. Wang also teaches that larger-sized diamond particles protrude from the bulk gallium particle, creating roughness and air gaps that result in the decreased performance despite higher thermal conductivities [Pg. 7, Col. 1].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the diamond particle size Wang with the liquid metal particle diameter of Haque, with the motivation to improve diamond dispersion without decreasing material performance, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Haque also teaches a liquid metal volume loading of 50 % with respect to the total liquid metal and polymer volume [Pg. 3, Col. 2; Pg. 6, Col. 2], which is equivalent to an elastic polymer volume loading of 50 % with respect to the total liquid metal and polymer volume.
However, Haque does not teach a low-density phase, and thus does not teach the volume percentages of Claim 10.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches the liquid metal composite may comprise 32 wt. % diamonds with respect to the total weight of diamonds and liquid metal [Pg. 7, Col. 2], which is equivalent to 68 wt. % diamonds with respect to the total weight of diamonds and liquid metal. Assuming a total of
x
grams of diamond + liquid metal:
v
o
l
u
m
e
d
i
a
m
o
n
d
=
32
w
t
.
%
*
x
3.5
g
c
m
3
=
9.1
*
x
c
m
3
;
v
o
l
u
m
e
g
a
l
l
i
u
m
=
68
w
t
.
%
*
x
6
g
c
m
3
=
11
*
x
c
m
3
.
Since Haque teaches
v
o
l
u
m
e
p
o
l
y
m
e
r
=
v
o
l
u
m
e
g
a
l
l
i
u
m
,
v
o
l
u
m
e
p
o
l
y
m
e
r
=
11
*
x
c
m
3
.
The total volume is then
v
o
l
u
m
e
t
o
t
a
l
=
v
o
l
u
m
e
p
o
l
y
m
e
r
+
v
o
l
u
m
e
g
a
l
l
i
u
m
+
v
o
l
u
m
e
d
i
a
m
o
n
d
=
=
11
*
x
c
m
3
+
11
*
x
c
m
3
+
9.1
*
x
c
m
3
=
31
*
x
c
m
3
. The relative volumes are thus:
v
o
l
u
m
e
p
o
l
y
m
e
r
=
v
o
l
u
m
e
g
a
l
l
i
u
m
=
11
*
x
c
m
3
/
31
*
x
c
m
3
=
35
v
o
l
.
%
with respect to the total composition volume, which corresponds with at least 20% and no more than 80% by volume of the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 10; and
v
o
l
u
m
e
d
i
a
m
o
n
d
=
9.1
*
x
c
m
3
/
31
*
x
c
m
3
=
29
v
o
l
.
%
with respect to the total composition volume, which corresponds with no more than 75% by volume of the low-density phase of Claim 10.
Wang teaches ratio of diamonds to liquid metal effects the composite viscosity [Pg. 7, Col. 1-2]. Furthermore, Haque teaches that high volume loadings of liquid metal result in degradation of the soft mechanical properties of the final product [Pg. 1, Col. 1].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the volume ratio of Haque and Wang, with the motivation to improve material viscosity while maintaining mechanical properties, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 11-12, Haque is silent to a low-density phase, and thus, does not teach an affinity- promoting layer disposed between each of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Nevertheless, Wang further teaches the gallium particles, such as such as eutectic gallium indium, have a gallium oxide layer on the particle surface [Fig. 2A-B; Pg. 1, Col. 2; Pg. 4, Col. 1].
Wang teaches that the gallium oxide layer the gallium particles can behave as surfactants lowering the interfacial tension of gallium particles and could be responsible for the incorporation of filler particles during mixing, allowing a stable nonmetallic material–gallium oxide–gallium metal interaction [Pg. 3, Co. 1-2]. The instant Specification also discloses gallium oxide as an affinity-promoting layer [instant Specification; ¶ 0036]. Thus, the gallium oxide layer on the gallium particle surface of Wang will be interpreted as corresponding to the affinity- promoting layer disposed between each of the plurality of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and corresponding to wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Wang offers the motivation that the gallium oxide layer on the gallium particles facilitates the dispersion of nonmetallic particles into the gallium particle [Pg. 1, Col 2].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the gallium oxide layer of Wang with the soft matrix phase embedded with liquid metal particles of Haque, with the motivation to facilitate the dispersion of nonmetallic particles into the gallium particle, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Haque et al., (Programmable Liquid Metal Microstructures for Multifunctional Soft Thermal Composites. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2000832; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Haque”) in view of Wang et al. (A general approach to composites containing nonmetallic fillers and liquid gallium. Sci. Adv. 2021; 7 : eabe3767; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Wang”) and in further view of Yuan et al. (Lightweight Liquid Metal Entity. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 1910709; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Yuan”).
Haque and Wang teach the liquid metal composition, elastic polymer, plurality of ellipsoidal particles, liquid metal inclusion, low-density phase, and ellipsoidal particle aspect ratio of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
However, Haque and Wang do not teach the wherein the plurality of particles of the low-density phase comprises a plurality of microspheres of Claim 5, and wherein the plurality of microspheres comprises a plurality of hollow glass microspheres of Claim 6.
Nevertheless, Yuan teaches a liquid metal composition comprising gallium indium alloys and low density additives such as glass microspheres [Pg. 2, Col. 1; Pg. 9, Col. 1], corresponding to the microspheres of Claim 5, and hollow glass microspheres of Claim 6.
Yuan offers the motivation that the introduction of glass microspheres into the liquid metal produces a lightweight material with high conformability, ductility and electrical conductivity [Pg. 9, Col. 1].
Haque, Wang, and Yuan are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing composite materials comprising liquid metal gallium.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the glass microspheres of Yuan with the liquid metal composite of Haque, with the motivation to improve conformability, ductility and electrical conductivity, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Haque et al., (Programmable Liquid Metal Microstructures for Multifunctional Soft Thermal Composites. Adv. Funct. Mater. 2020, 30, 2000832; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Haque”) in view of Wang et al. (A general approach to composites containing nonmetallic fillers and liquid gallium. Sci. Adv. 2021; 7 : eabe3767; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Wang”) and in further view of Bartlett et al. (High thermal conductivity in soft elastomers with
elongated liquid metal inclusions. PNAS. 2017, vol. 114, no. 9; cited in the IDS submitted on 08/09/2022; hereafter as “Bartlett”).
Haque and Wang teach the liquid metal composition, elastic polymer, plurality of ellipsoidal particles, liquid metal inclusion, low-density phase, and ellipsoidal particle aspect ratio of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
However, Haque and Wang do not teach the wherein the elastic polymer comprises silicone of Claim 7, the affinity-promoting layer disposed between each of the pluraility of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Nevertheless, Bartlett teaches eutectic gallium−indium microdroplets dispersed in a highly deformable silicone elastomer [Fig. 1A-D], wherein the silicone elastomer corresponds with the silicone of Claim 7.
Bartlett offers the motivation that silicone elastomer is highly deformable [Pg.1 , Col. 1; Fig. 1A-E].
Bartlett also teaches the gallium−indium microdroplets form a self-passivating Ga2O3 coating [Pg. 2, Col. 1-2], corresponding to the affinity-promoting layer disposed between each of the pluraility of particles of the low-density phase and the liquid metal inclusion of Claim 11, and wherein the affinity-promoting layer comprises a metal oxide of Claim 12.
Bartlett offers the motivation that the Ga2O3 coating helps prevent coalescence and eliminates the need to add surfactants or other dispersing agents [Pg. 2, Col. 1-2].
Haque, Wang, and Bartlett are considered to be analogous art as the claimed invention, as all are in the same field of methods of preparing composite materials comprising liquid metal gallium.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicone elastomer and Ga2O3 coating of Bartlett with the liquid metal composite of Haque, with the motivation to improve deformability and particle dispersion, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DORIS LING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764