DETAILED ACTION
Official Notice
Subject matter of dependent claims 2-9 and therefore also claims 10-18 is well known and predictable and commonly used in order to adjust or control the resolution of the scanned area(As an evidence see International search report and also references in International search report.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20180275252 in view of D2 JP 2010527024 A.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
1. A lidar device comprising:
a light emitting unit(120) configured to emit at least one light;
a reflection mirror configured to reflect the light and have an asymmetrical polygonal shape of which angles of two or more reflection surfaces differ;(140+ fig. 5)[0081]
a rotation unit configured to rotate the reflection mirror; and(fig. 3 implicit)
a controller configured to control the rotation unit(implicit),
wherein the asymmetrical polygonal shape of the reflection mirror has a structure to scan an interested area of a scanned area with a resolution higher than other area.(fig. 5)
D1 does not teach but D2 teaches
wherein the interested area is changed by varying an operation frequency of the light emitting unit and a rotation speed of the reflection mirror such that a resolution of the changed interested area is higher than a resolution of the other area (page 12)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 in order to control the resolution and satisfy eye safety.
3. The lidar device of claim 1, wherein reflection surfaces having a length less than a reference length(diameter of the polygon) are sequentially disposed with different angles in the reflection mirror.(fig. 5)
Claim(s) 2, 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Official Notice.
Although D1 Does not explicitly teach all elements of claims 2,4-18 Official Notice teaches any additional elements of the claim and therefore It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by Official Notice in order to Illuminate the FOV with desired resolution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645