DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 02/27/2026:
Claims 1, 3, 6, 12, 13 and 15-17 have been amended.
Claims 8, 10, 14 and 20 have been canceled.
Claims 21-24 have been newly added.
The previous prior art has been applied. All changes made are necessitated by the amendment. Thus the action is final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2026.The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-13, 16-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0112072 to Schmitt.
With respect to claim 1, Schmitt teaches an electric battery, comprising: a battery housing 10 partially surrounding a housing interior and including at least one housing opening that is sealed via a cooling plate 5;
the cooling plate 5 including a coolant path 25 through which a coolant is flowable, the coolant path 25 extending from a path inlet 92 to a path outlet 91;
at least one battery cell module 2 arranged in the housing interior for storing electric energy, the at least one battery cell module 2 arranged on the cooling plate 5;
a portion of connections 92 and 91 (a coolant supply and discharge) disposed outside of the battery housing 10 and through which the coolant is flowable, the coolant supply and discharge, fluidically separated from the housing interior, communicating with the coolant paths 25; and
a sealing mechanism 13 and 21 arranged between the cooling plate 5 and the battery housing 10 such that the sealing mechanism 13 and 21 seals both the housing interior as well as a transition from the portion of the connections 92 and 91 (the coolant supply and discharge) to the coolant path 25 against external surroundings of the battery housing 10 (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Schmitt further teach the battery, wherein the coolant supply and discharge includes: a cover attached to the battery housing and arranged on the cooling plate 5; a coolant supply channel fluidically communicating with the path inlet 92; a coolant discharge channel fluidically communicating with the path outlet 91(Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Schmitt does not specifically teach the battery, the cover attached to an exterior of the battery housing; wherein the coolant supply channel and the coolant discharge channel are each at least partially defined by and between the cover and the battery housing. Schmitt further suggests that the coolant supply channel and the coolant discharge channel are formed under both the cover and the battery housing and at least a portion of them are in between the cover and the battery housing.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified to the cover attached to an exterior of the battery housing, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Newin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177 (BdPatApp&Int 1969).
The particular rearrangement of the coolant supply channel and the coolant discharge channel was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Both the claims and the specification do not show the criticality of having the particular rearrangement.
With respect to claim 2, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein the portion of the connections 92 and 91 (the coolant supply and discharge) includes: a common coolant distributor channel in fluid communication with the coolant supply channel; and a common coolant collector channel in fluid communication with the coolant discharge channel (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 4, Schmitt does not teach the electric battery, wherein the sealing mechanism 13 formed in one piece. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the sealing mechanism formed in one piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
With respect to claim 5, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein the sealing mechanism 13 and 21 includes: a main portion 13 arranged between the cooling plate 5 and the battery housing 10; and two sub-portions 21 arranged at least partially at the transition between the cooling plate 5 and the coolant supply and discharge (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 6, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein: the main portion 13 has a rectangular shape with two narrow sides and two wide sides; the two sub-portions 21 each have an angular geometry; and each of the two sub-portions 21 is connected indirectly to a narrow side of the two narrow sides (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Schmitt does not teach a respective linear intermediate portion.
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have a respective linear intermediate portion to connect the main portion and the two sub-portions via a respective linear intermediate portion, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
With respect to claim 7, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein: the main portion 13 of the sealing mechanism, in a plan view of the cooling plate 5, surrounds a top side of the cooling plate 5 facing the battery housing 10 along an outer edge of the cooling plate 5; a first sub-portion 21 of the two sub-portions of the sealing mechanism, in the plan view, surrounds the path inlet 92 of the cooling plate 5; and a second sub-portion 21 of the two sub-portions of the sealing mechanism, in the plan view, surrounds the path outlet 91 of the cooling plate 5 (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 9, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, further comprising a first plate element 23 (a thermal adapter layer) arranged between the at least one battery cell module 2 and a second plate element 24 (the cooling plate) (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 11, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein the at least one housing opening is disposed on an underside the battery housing 10, which is arranged on a frame-like crash structure (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 12, Schmitt teaches a motor vehicle comprising:
a body of the motor vehicle or a tray on the vehicle (not shown);
a securing element 8 (a frame-like crash structure); (the claim does not define any specific structure or component of the frame-like crash structure, any frame-like structure would meet the requirement)
an electric battery 1 connected to the body of the motor vehicle or a tray on the motor vehicle via the crash structure 8; (the battery is deposited on the cooling plate 5 with the securing element 8; in other words, the battery would be connected to the body of the motor vehicle via the securing element 8).
wherein the electric battery 1 includes:
a battery housing 10 partially surrounding a housing interior, the battery housing 10 including at least one housing opening;
at least one cooling plate 5 sealing the at least one housing opening, the at least one cooling plate 5 including a coolant path 25 through which a coolant is flowable, the coolant path extending from a path inlet 92 to a path outlet 91;
at least one battery cell module 2 arranged in the housing interior for storing electric energy, the at least one battery cell module 2 arranged on the at least one cooling plate 5;
a coolant supply and discharge through which the coolant is flowable, the coolant supply and discharge arranged under the cover and, fluidically separated from the housing interior, communicating with the coolant path 25 at a location disposed under the cover, which is outside of the battery housing; and
a sealing mechanism 13 and 21 arranged between the at least one cooling plate 5 and the battery housing 10 such that the sealing mechanism 13 and 21 seals both the housing interior as well as a transition from the coolant supply and discharge to the coolant path against external surroundings of the battery housing 10 (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified to the coolant supply and discharge arranged under the cover, which is on an exterior of the battery housing, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Newin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177 (BdPatApp&Int 1969).
With respect to claim 13, Schmitt teaches an electric battery, comprising:
a battery housing 10 partially surrounding a housing interior;
a plurality of battery cell modules 2 arranged in the housing interior;
the battery housing 10 including a housing opening via which the plurality of battery cell modules 2 are introducible into the housing interior;
a cooling plates 5 each sealing the housing openings;
the cooling plates 5 including a coolant path 25 of a plurality of coolant paths through which a coolant is flowable, the plurality of coolant paths each extending from a respective path inlet 92 to a respective path outlet 91;
the plurality of battery cell modules 2 each arranged on the cooling plates 5;
a coolant supply and discharge through which the coolant is flowable, the coolant supply and discharge arranged under the cover, which is on an exterior of the battery housing and on an exterior of the plurality of cooling plates, the coolant supply and discharge communicating with the plurality of coolant paths fluidically separated from the housing interior; and
a sealing mechanisms 13 and 21 each arranged between the cooling plates 5 and the battery housing 10 such that the sealing mechanism 13 and 21 seals both the housing interior as well as a transition from the coolant supply and discharge to the coolant path of the cooling plate 5 against external surroundings of the battery housing 10 (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Schmitt discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of cooling plates, plurality housing openings and plurality of battery cell modules. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the battery housing including a plurality of housing openings via which the plurality of battery cell modules are introducible into the housing interior and a plurality of cooling plates each sealing a respective housing opening of the plurality of housing openings, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Schmitt further teaches wherein the coolant supply and discharge includes:
a plurality of coolant supply channels that are each connected to the path inlet 92 of a respective cooling plate;
a plurality of coolant discharge channels that are each connected to the path outlet 91 of a respective cooling plate;
a common coolant distributor channel to which the plurality of coolant supply channels are each connected; and
a common coolant collector channel to which the plurality of coolant discharge channels are each connected (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 16, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein each of the plurality of sealing mechanisms 13 and 21 include: a main portion 13 arranged between the respective cooling plate 5 and the battery housing 10; a first sub-portion 21 arranged at least partially at the transition between the respective cooling plate 5 and the coolant supply and discharge; and a second sub-portion 21 arranged at least partially at the transition between the respective cooling plate 5 and the coolant supply and discharge (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 17, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein: the main portion 13 has a rectangular shape with two narrow sides and two wide sides; the first sub-portion 21 and the second sub-portion 21 each have a circular geometry; and the first sub-portion 21 and the second sub-portion 21 are each connected indirectly to a narrow side of the two narrow sides (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Schmitt does not teach a plurality of linear intermediate portions.
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have a respective linear intermediate portion to connect the main portion and the two sub-portions via a respective linear intermediate portion, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
With respect to claim 18, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein: the main portion 13 extends along an outer edge of the respective cooling plate 5 on a top side of the respective cooling plate 5 facing the battery housing 10; the first sub-portion 21 surrounds the path inlet 92 of the respective cooling plate 5; and the second sub-portion 91 surrounds the path outlet of the respective cooling plate 5 (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 19, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, further comprising a plurality of thermal adapter layers 80 each arranged between a respective battery cell module 2 of the plurality of battery cell modules 2 and the respective cooling plate 5 on which the respective battery cell module 2 is arranged (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
With respect to claim 22, Schmitt teaches the electric battery, wherein the common coolant distributor channel and the common coolant collector channel are each defined by and between (under both) the cover and the battery housing (Schmitt: Sections [0076]-[0116]; Figs. 1-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 15, 21, 23 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 5/29/2026