DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 23 December 2025.
Claims 19-38 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to
claims 19-21, 32 and 34-38.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. Correction of the following is required: the specification does not provide antecedent basis for the term “cover”. “Usually the terminology of the claims present on the filing date of the application follows the nomenclature of the specification, but sometimes in amending the claims or in adding new claims, new terms are introduced that do not appear in the specification. The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.” See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cover” and “contact point” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “expansion limiting feature” in claim 27, which is described at paragraphs [0051], [0063], [0072], [0081] and [0085] of the instant specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 37 recites “device of claim of claim” which should apparently read –device of claim--. Appropriate correction is required. It appears that an extra instance of “of claim” was inserted into the claim language, though not appropriately indicated as an addition to the claim language with underlining, for instance. Applicant is requested to check claim language for conformance with the prior set of filed claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At lines 5-6 of claim 19, it is unclear if “a first magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a first magnet” is --a first magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
At line 6 of claim 19, it is unclear if “a second magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a second magnet” is --a second magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
At line 5 of claim 34, it is unclear if “a first magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a first magnet” is --a first magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
At line 7 of claim 34, it is unclear if “a second magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a second magnet” is --a second magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
Claim 34 at lines 6-7 recites the limitation "the first interlinked body encapsulating a second magnet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A suggested amendment is -- the first interlinked body, wherein the second interlinked body encapsulates a second magnet--.
At lines 17-18 of claim 34, it is unclear what recited component is “located between the first magnet and the second magnet” as the clause recited at lines 14-18 appears to be a run-on. If the “recited component” is intended to be “a contact point” then a suggested amendment to lines 17-18 of “…the second interlinked body located between the first magnet and the second magnet” is --…the second interlinked body, wherein the contact point is located between the first magnet and the second magnet--.
At line 4 of claim 38, it is unclear if “a first magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a first magnet” is --a first magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
At line 5 of claim 34, it is unclear if “a second magnet” is in addition to, or one of “a plurality of magnets” recited at line 2. A suggested amendment to “a second magnet” is --a second magnet of the plurality of magnets--.
Claim 38 at lines 14-15 recites “wherein the cover defines a contact point on the cover between the plurality of interlinked bodies…”. It is unclear if the claim is claiming a single contact point, or multiple contact points as multiple contact points could be present given the recitation of “between the plurality of interlinked bodies”. It appears that the claim could be referencing a single contact point as the claim later recites “wherein the contact point is located between the first magnet and the second magnet” however that recitation does not resolve the uncertainty. For purposes of examination, the limitation at lines 14-15 will be construed as a single contact point being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34, 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekvall et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0053874). Regarding claim 34, Ekvall et al. (hereinafter Ekvall) teaches a sphincter augmentation device (Figs. 13 and 15A-15B, [0033]; [0085], [0092]), comprising:
(a) a plurality of magnets (“magnetic elements” - [0082]-[0083]; Figs. 13 and 15A-15B);
(b) a cover (“flexible fabric or polymer-based band” as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B) that encapsulates the magnets to define a plurality of interlinked bodies (described as “housings” or pockets as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B), wherein the plurality of interlinked bodies comprise a first interlinked body encapsulating a first magnet of the plurality of magnets and a second interlinked body that is adjacent to the fist interlined body and encapsulating a second magnet of the plurality of magnets ([0075]; and [0082] – “Each housing in the array is oriented so that its respective magnetic element (e.g., magnetic element 106 (FIG. 1)) magnetically attracts the two magnetic elements that are immediately adjacent to it in the array”); and
(c) a pair of ends configured to releasably couple together to secure the bodies in a loop formation sized to fit around an internal anatomical passageway of a patient [0047];
wherein the plurality of interlinked bodies are configured to permit the device to transition between a radially contracted state and a radially expanded state (as shown in the transition between Figs. 15A and 15B and as described at [0082]-[0088]);
wherein the cover defines a contact point on the cover between a portion of the cover defining the first interlinked body and a portion of the cover defining the second interlinked body, wherein the contact point is located between the first magnet and the second magnet in the radially contracted state (Absent any showing/description of a “contact point,” the “contact point” for purposes of this claim will be construed as being present on the cover on the portions between the adjacent interlined bodies as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 15A above.) in which the device is configured to exert an inwardly directed force on the anatomical passageway to selectively limit passage of fluids therethrough (see [0085] and [0040]: “if the strong external magnetic field is removed, the magnetic elements within the medical implant may re-align, and the medical implant may return to a closed state and then resume its medical function. As the magnetic elements align, the magnetic attraction between the magnetic elements may generate a force or pressure which resumes constricting or compressing the body tissue.”).
Regarding claim 35, the pair of ends comprise a clasping feature [0047].
Regarding claim 38, Ekvall teaches a sphincter augmentation device (Figs. 13 and 15A-15B, [0033]; [0085], [0092]), comprising:
(a) a plurality of magnets (“magnetic elements” - [0082]-[0083]; Figs. 13 and 15A-15B);
(b) a cover (“flexible fabric or polymer-based band” as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B) that encapsulates the magnets to define a plurality of interlinked bodies (described as “housings” or pockets as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B),
wherein a first magnet of the plurality of magnets is encapsulated in a first interlinked body of the plurality of interlinked bodies and a second magnet of the plurality of magnets is encapsulated in a second interlinked body of the plurality of interlinked bodies ([0075]; and [0082] – “Each housing in the array is oriented so that its respective magnetic element (e.g., magnetic element 106 (FIG. 1)) magnetically attracts the two magnetic elements that are immediately adjacent to it in the array”); and
(c) a pair of ends configured to releasably couple together to secure the bodies in a loop formation sized to fit around an internal anatomical passageway of a patient [0047];
wherein the plurality of interlinked bodies are configured to permit the device to transition between a radially contracted state and a radially expanded state (as shown in the transition between Figs. 15A and 15B and as described at [0082]-[0088]) and the first interlinked body is adjacent the second interlinked body in the radially contracted state (Fig. 15A);
wherein the cover defines a contact point on the cover between the plurality of interlinked bodies (as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 15A above) in the radially contracted state in which the device is configured to exert an inwardly directed force on the anatomical passageway to selectively limit passage of fluids therethrough (see [0085] and [0040]: “if the strong external magnetic field is removed, the magnetic elements within the medical implant may re-align, and the medical implant may return to a closed state and then resume its medical function. As the magnetic elements align, the magnetic attraction between the magnetic elements may generate a force or pressure which resumes constricting or compressing the body tissue.”), wherein the contact point is located between the first magnet and the second magnet (as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 15A above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 19-24, 26, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekvall et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0053874) in view of Kappus et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0325643). Regarding claims 19 and 20, Ekvall teaches a sphincter augmentation device (Figs. 13 and 15A-15B, [0033]; [0085], [0092]), comprising:
(a) a plurality of magnets (“magnetic elements” - [0082]-[0083]; Figs. 13 and 15A-15B);
(b) a cover (“flexible fabric or polymer-based band” as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B) that encapsulates the magnets to define a plurality of interlinked bodies comprising a first interlinked body and a second interlinked body (described as “housings” or pockets as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B), wherein the first interlinked body encapsulates a first magnet of the plurality of magnets and the second interlinked body encapsulates a second magnet of the plurality of magnets ([0075]; and [0082] – “Each housing in the array is oriented so that its respective magnetic element (e.g., magnetic element 106 (FIG. 1)) magnetically attracts the two magnetic elements that are immediately adjacent to it in the array”); and
(c) a pair of ends configured to releasably couple together to secure the bodies in a loop formation sized to fit around an internal anatomical passageway of a patient [0047];
wherein the cover is configured to flexibly deform to permit the device to transition between a radially contracted state and a radially expanded state (as shown in the transition between Figs .15A and 15B and as described at [0082]-[0088]);
wherein a first portion of the cover associated with the first interlined body and a second portion of the cover associated with the second interlined body are configured to contact each other between the first magnet and the second magnet in the radially contracted state (as shown in Fig. 15A and described at [0088]: “each of the plurality of housings is in contact with its two immediately adjacent neighboring housings (e.g., housing 1512 and housing 1516 in the case of housing 1514”)),
and
wherein the device is configured to exert an inwardly directed force on the anatomical passageway to selectively limit passage of fluids therethrough while in the radially contracted state (see [0085] and [0040]: “if the strong external magnetic field is removed, the magnetic elements within the medical implant may re-align, and the medical implant may return to a closed state and then resume its medical function. As the magnetic elements align, the magnetic attraction between the magnetic elements may generate a force or pressure which resumes constricting or compressing the body tissue.”).
However, Ekvall fails to disclose explicitly that the cover is configured to elastically deform. Kappus et al. (hereinafter Kappus) teaches a sphincter/gastroesophageal assist device (see Abstract and [0042]), wherein the device is comprised of a plurality of interlinked bodies which can move relative to each other to provide an open or closed configuration on the lumen ([0043] and Figs. 1A-1B), as likewise disclosed by Ekvall. The device further comprises a silicone/biocompatible elastic tube/sheath (“cover”) overlying the links [0058], and encapsulating the magnets (“sheath…may enclose all of….the plurality of links” - [0060]), to allow for expansion thereof [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the cover encapsulating the magnets and respective interlinked bodies as taught by Ekvall, of an elastic material as suggested by Kappus, as Ekvall recognizes that the “member” attaching or linking the multiple housings together, such as the flexible fabric or polymer-based bands may be elastic to facilitate the transition from the open to closed state ([0043], [0046], [0048] and [0058]) and Kappus suggests that an elastic material facilitates expansion of the device with respect to the individual interlinked bodies [0060].
Regarding claim 21, the cover of Ekvall (“flexible fabric or polymer-based band” as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B) is considered to be “an outer jacket”.
Regarding claim 22, the “outer jacket” of Ekvall comprises a support structure given its “support” of the encapsulated magnets with respect to each other (as described at [0075] and [0082]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 23, the support structure as described in Ekvall comprises a plurality of capsules, wherein each capsule of the plurality of capsules encapsulates a respective magnet of the plurality of magnets (Ekvall: [0075]: “FIG. 13 shows housings that are sewn or otherwise held by pockets of one or more flexible fabric- or polymer-based bands”).
Regarding claim 24, the support structure further comprises a plurality of “webs” (created by flexible band member 1508 as shown in the reproduction of Fig. 15A below) that interlink the plurality of capsules (Ekvall: [0086] - “the area or position of structural features in flexible band member 1508 (e.g., areas predetermined to fold) may be determined by pre-creased or pre-crimped areas of the material that makes up flexible band member 1508”). Absent any further description of “webs,” the “pre-creased or pre-crimped areas of the material that makes up flexible band member” as indicated above in Ekvall meet the limitation of “a plurality of webs”.
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]
[AltContent: textbox (“plurality of webs”/
“contact point(s)”)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 26, Ekvall teaches that each magnet in the plurality of magnets defines a chamber defined by the pockets of the one or more flexible fabric- or polymer-based bands ([0075], [0083] and Fig. 13).
Regarding claims 36 and 37, the cover/”member” of Ekvall (“flexible fabric or polymer-based band”) connects the pair of ends together [0047] and is configured to flexibly deform as described at [0075] and [0082] and shown in Figs. 13 and 15A-15B). The cover is considered to be “an outer jacket” as indicated above. However, Ekvall fails to disclose explicitly that the cover is elastomeric. Kappus teaches a sphincter/gastroesophageal assist device (see Abstract and [0042]), wherein the device is comprised of a plurality of interlinked bodies which can move relative to each other to provide an open or closed configuration on the lumen ([0043] and Figs. 1A-1B), as likewise disclosed by Ekvall. The device further comprises a silicone/biocompatible elastic tube/sheath (“cover”) overlying the links [0058], and encapsulating the magnets (“sheath…may enclose all of….the plurality of links” - [0060]), to allow for expansion thereof [0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the cover encapsulating the magnets and respective interlinked bodies as taught by Ekvall, of an elastomeric material as suggested by Kappus, as Ekvall recognizes that the “member” attaching or linking the multiple housings together, such as the flexible fabric or polymer-based bands may be elastic to facilitate the transition from the open to closed state ([0043], [0046], [0048] and [0058]) and Kappus suggests that an elastic material facilitates expansion of the device with respect to the individual interlinked bodies [0060].
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 25 and 27-33 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
19. Applicant’s arguments filed 23 December 2025 with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered. While the objection with respect to reference character “606” and the “interfacing element” has been resolved, a “cover” must be shown as claimed, in addition to the currently recited “contact point”.
20. Applicant’s arguments filed 23 December 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 19-38 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments, however new grounds of rejection are presented above, also in light of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments filed 23 December 2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 19-38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Kugler (‘235) in view of Kappus (‘643) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments, however new grounds are presented above under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) citing Ekvall (‘874) with respect to claims 34, 35 and 38; and 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Ekvall (‘874) in view of Kappus (‘643) with respect to claims 9-24, 26, 36 and 37 in light of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791