FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/10/2026 has been received and claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16, 18-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “filter securing portion” in claim 2.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “groove structure” in claims 1 and 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the at least one light source" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goswami (WO97/09073) in view of Hak (WO0226349).
As to Claim 1, Goswami (‘073) discloses an air purifier (see Figures 1-23) comprising:
a body including a suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) disposed on one surface thereof and a discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; at 95; 186) disposed on the other surface thereof (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12), the body having an inner space through which air is configured to flow from the suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) to the discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; opposite end from 95 past 99; 186) (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12);
a fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) having a side surface separated from an inner wall of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12);
at least one light source module (24; 98; 224) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the at least one light source module comprising at least one UV light source (24; 98; 224);
a power controller (25, 26, 62; 102, 104, 106) mounted on the inner wall of the body and physically or electrically connected to a power source to supply electric power to the at least one light source module (24) (see Figures 1 and 3); and
at least one filter (28; 85, 96; 118; 212) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12).
Goswami (‘073) does not appear to specifically teach that the air purifier also comprises a filter replacement region formed at the body to detachably couple the at least one filter to an interior of the body; or a door detachably mounted on the body to expose the filter replacement region, wherein the door includes a door guide formed at an end of a side of the door and projecting in a direction of the body to be coupled to the body, or that the body further includes a door guide groove having a groove structure to receive the door guide inserted into the door guide groove, wherein the door guide groove further includes a door securing groove, and the door guide further includes a securing protrusion that projects into the door securing groove to secure the door to the body.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on a body to expose the filter replacement region in an air purifier. Hak (‘349) discloses an air purifier (10) (see Figures 1-16) comprising:
a body (12) including a suction port (i.e. opening of 14 where 38 and 39 are located – see Figure 1) and a discharge port (i.e. opening where 106 and 108 are located – see Figure 8), the body (12) having an inner space (35) through which air is configured to flow from the suction port to the discharge port (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-8, p. 8 lines 3-5);
a fan (78) disposed in the inner space (16) of the body (12) (see Figures 6-7);
at least one light source module (86) disposed in the inner space of the body (12), the at least one light source module (86) comprising at least one UV light source (88);
a power controller (200) physically or electrically connected to a power source to supply electric power to the at least one light source module (86) (see Figures 6 and 14) and intrinsically located/mounted on the inner wall of the body (12);
at least one filter (38 – 56, 66) disposed in the inner space of the body (within 14 of 12) (see Figures 2 and 7);
a filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) formed at the body (12) to detachably couple the at least one filter (38 – 56, 66) to an interior of the body (12) (see Figure 2); and
a door (39) detachably mounted on the body (12) to expose the filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) (see entire document, particularly Figure 2),
wherein the door (39) includes a door guide (43; 49; 212) formed at a side of the door (39) to be coupled to the body (12) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 10);
wherein the body (12) further includes a door guide groove (44; 48; 216) having a groove structure (i.e. slots 44/recesses 48/slot 216 – see p. 8 lines 13 and 16, p. 16 line 6) to receive the door guide (43; 49; 212) inserted into the door guide groove (44; 48; 216) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 10, p. 8 lines 8-18, p. 16 lines 2-14),
in order to allow the door to be secured to the body, to keep the at least one filter in place and to ensure user safety (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, p. 8 lines 8-18, p. 16 lines 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on the body to expose the filter replacement region in the air purifier of Goswami as a known components of an air purifier in order to secure the door to the body so as to allow insertion/access to the at least one filter and to ensure user safety as shown by Hak.
While Hak (‘349) does not appear to specifically teach that the door guide groove (44; 48; 216) further includes a door securing groove or that the door guide (43; 49; 212) further includes a securing protrusion that projects into the door securing groove to secure the door to the body, Hak (‘349) does disclose additional door securing guide/configuration in the form guides (46) that each guide (46) includes a securing protrusion (i.e. at the end of the guides 46 pointed to by numeral 46; intrinsically as a “locking tab” features a protrusion at the end of the guide for the (self-)locking function – see p. 8 lines 14-16) that is capable of projecting into a door securing groove to secure the door (39) (see Figure 10). Thus, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also provide a securing protrusion with the door guide (43; 49; 212) along with a door securing groove for the corresponding door guide groove (44; 48; 216) in the air purifier of Goswami as modified by Hak as a known alternate door/body securing configuration in order to provide additional securing measure ensuring that the door remains in place and avoids any accidental removal or opening of the door even during any handling/movement such as a relocation of the air purifier and to accommodate the securing protrusion that projects out. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 2, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes a filter securing portion (64) disposed on the inner wall thereof to receive the at least one filter (38) inserted thereinto (via 62 – see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 9 lines 4-10).
As to Claim 3, while Goswami (‘073) discloses that the body is configured to place the fan (48; 90) in the inner space of the body in a direction parallel with the discharge port (86; outlet disposed downstream from 100) (see Figures 7-8), Goswami (‘073) does not appear to specifically teach that the body further includes a fan securing portion. However, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes a fan securing region (16, 75, 26) disposed in the inner space of the body (12) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 6-7, p. 9 line 31 - p. 10 line 7).
As to Claim 4, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes light source module grooves (96, 98, 100) disposed on the inner wall thereof to receive the at least one light source module (86) inserted thereinto (see entire document, particularly Figures 6-8, p. 11 lines 8-10).
As to Claim 5, Goswami (‘073) discloses that the at least one filter (85, 96) comprises at least one of a photocatalytic filter (96; 100) and a HEPA filter (85; 118) (see entire document, particularly p. 18 line 29 - p. 19 line 1, p. 19 lines 28-29, p. 20 line 2)
As to Claim 6, Goswami (‘073) discloses that the at least one light source module (98) is configured to emit UV light toward the photocatalytic filter (96) (see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 18 line 29 - p. 19 line 1).
As to Claim 8, Goswami (‘073) discloses that an air discharge area of the discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; at 95; 186) is different from an air suction area of the suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12).
As to Claim 9, Hak (‘349) discloses that the door (39) covers a surface of the body (12) on which the filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) is formed (see Figures 1-2).
As to Claim 10, Hak (“349) teaches that the body (12) further includes a door securing grove (48) formed on an outer wall thereof to correspond to the groove of the door guide (49) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2-4, p. 8 lines 8-18).
As to Claim 11, Goswami (‘073) discloses an air purifier (see Figures 1-23) comprising:
a body including a suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) having a first opening through which external air is configured to be suctioned into an inner space of the body, and a discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; at 95; 186) having a second opening through which the air is configured to be discharged to an outside after being subjected to sterilization inside the body (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12);
a fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) having a side surface separated from an inner wall of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12);
at least one light source module (24; 98; 224) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the at least one light source module comprising at least one UV light source (24; 98; 224) configured to emit light for sterilizing microorganisms in the air (see entire document, particularly p. 15 lines 7-9);
a power controller (25, 26, 62; 102, 104, 106) mounted on the inner wall of the body and physically or electrically connected to a power source to supply electric power to the at least one light source module (24) (see Figures 1 and 3); and
at least one filter (28; 85, 96; 118; 212) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12).
Goswami (‘073) does not appear to specifically teach that the air purifier also comprises a filter replacement region formed at the body to couple the at least one filter to an interior of the body; or a door detachably coupled to the body to open or close the filter replacement region, wherein the door includes a door guide having a groove formed at end of a side of the door to be coupled to the body.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on a body to expose the filter replacement region in an air purifier. Hak (‘349) discloses an air purifier (10) (see Figures 1-16) comprising:
a body (12) including a suction port (i.e. opening of 14 where 38 and 39 are located – see Figure 1) and a discharge port (i.e. opening where 106 and 108 are located – see Figure 8), the body (12) having an inner space (35) through which air is configured to flow from the suction port to the discharge port (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-8, p. 8 lines 3-5);
a fan (78) disposed in the inner space (16) of the body (12) (see Figures 6-7);
at least one light source module (86) disposed in the inner space of the body (12), the at least one light source module (86) comprising at least one UV light source (88);
a power controller (200);
at least one filter (38 – 56, 66) disposed in the inner space of the body (within 14 of 12) (see Figures 2 and 7);
a filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) formed at the body (12) to detachably couple the at least one filter (38 – 56, 66) to an interior of the body (12) (see Figure 2); and
a door (39) detachably mounted on the body (12) to expose the filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) (see entire document, particularly Figure 2),
wherein the door (39) includes a door guide (43; 49; 212) formed at an end of a side of the door (39) and projecting in a direction of the body (12) to be coupled to the body (12) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 10);
wherein the body (12) further includes a door guide groove (44; 48; 216) having a groove structure (i.e. slots 44/recesses 48/slot 216 – see p. 8 lines 13 and 16, p. 16 line 6) to receive the door guide (43; 49; 212) inserted into the door guide groove (44; 48; 216) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 10, p. 8 lines 8-18, p. 16 lines 2-14),
in order to allow the door to be secured to the body, to keep the at least one filter in place and to ensure user safety (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, p. 8 lines 8-18, p. 16 lines 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on the body to expose the filter replacement region in the air purifier of Goswami as a known components of an air purifier in order to secure the door to the body so as to allow insertion/access to the at least one filter and to ensure user safety as shown by Hak.
While Hak (‘349) does not appear to specifically teach that the door guide groove (44; 48; 216) further includes a door securing groove or that the door guide (43; 49; 212) further includes a securing protrusion that projects into the door securing groove to secure the door to the body, Hak (‘349) does disclose additional door securing guide/configuration in the form guides (46) where each guide (46) includes a securing protrusion (i.e. at the end of the guides 46 pointed to by numeral 46; intrinsically as a “locking tab” features a protrusion at the end of the guide for the (self-)locking function – see p. 8 lines 14-16) that is capable of projecting into a door securing groove to secure the door (39) (see Figure 10). Thus, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to also provide a securing protrusion with the door guide (43; 49; 212) along with a door securing groove for the corresponding door guide groove (44; 48; 216) in the air purifier of Goswami as modified by Hak as a known alternate door/body securing configuration in order to provide additional securing measures ensuring that the door remains in place and avoids any accidental removal or opening of the door even during any handling/movement such as a relocation of the air purifier and to accommodate the securing protrusion that projects out. Only the expected results would be attained.
As to Claim 12, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes a filter securing portion (64) disposed on the inner wall thereof to receive the at least one filter (38) inserted thereinto (via 62 – see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 9 lines 4-10).
As to Claim 13, while Goswami (‘073) discloses that the body is configured to place the fan (48; 90) in the inner space of the body in a direction parallel with the discharge port (86; outlet disposed downstream from 100) (see Figures 7-8), Goswami (‘073) does not appear to specifically teach that the body further includes a fan securing portion. However, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes a fan securing region (16, 75, 26) disposed in the inner space of the body (12) (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 6-7, p. 9 line 31 - p. 10 line 7).
As to Claim 14, Hak (‘349) discloses that the body (12) further includes light source module grooves (96, 98, 100) disposed on the inner wall thereof to receive the at least one light source module (86) inserted thereinto (see entire document, particularly Figures 6-8, p. 11 lines 8-10).
As to Claim 15, Goswami (‘073) discloses that the at least one filter (85, 96) comprises at least one of a photocatalytic filter (96; 100) and a HEPA filter (85; 118) (see entire document, particularly p. 18 line 29 - p. 19 line 1, p. 19 lines 28-29, p. 20 line 2)
As to Claim 16, Goswami (‘073) discloses that the at least one light source module (98) is configured to emit UV light toward the photocatalytic filter (96) (see entire document, particularly Figure 7, p. 18 line 29 - p. 19 line 1).
As to Claim 18, Goswami (‘073) discloses that an air discharge area of the discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; at 95; 186) is different from an air suction area of the suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12).
As to Claim 19, Hak (‘349) discloses that the door (39) covers a surface of the body (12) on which the filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) is formed (see Figures 1-2).
Thus, Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-19 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Goswami (‘073) and Hak (‘349).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goswami (WO97/09073) in view of Hak (WO0226349) and Beam (7166259).
Goswami (‘073) discloses an air purifier (see Figures 1-23) comprising:
a body including a suction port (37, 38, 39, 40; 84; 184) having a first opening through which external air is configured to be suctioned into an inner space of the body, and a discharge port (30, 32, 34, 36; 86; at 95; 186) having a second opening through which the air is configured to be discharged to an outside after being subjected to sterilization inside the body (see Figures 1, 7-8 and 11-12);
a fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the fan (84, 85; 48, 90; 148) having a side surface separated from an inner wall of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12);
at least one light source module (24; 98; 224) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12), the at least one light source module comprising at least one UV light source (24; 98; 224) configured to emit light for sterilizing microorganisms in the air (see entire document, particularly p. 15 lines 7-9);
a power controller (25, 26, 62; 102, 104, 106) mounted on the inner wall of the body and physically or electrically connected to a power source to supply electric power to the at least one light source module (24) (see Figures 1 and 3); and
at least one or a plurality of filters (28; 85, 96; 118; 212) disposed in the inner space of the body (see Figures 1, 7-8, and 11-12).
Goswami (‘073) does not appear to specifically teach that the air purifier also comprises a filter replacement region formed at the body to couple the at least one or plurality of filters to an interior of the body; or a door detachably coupled to the body to open or close the filter replacement region, wherein the door is not configured to expose the at least one light source module when the door is opened, or that the at least one light source module is positioned within the body after the plurality of filters and before the fan with respect to a flow direction of the air from the suction port to the discharge port.
As to the limitations that a filter replacement region formed at a body to couple the plurality of filters to an interior of the body and a door detachably coupled to the body to open or close the filter replacement region, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on a body to expose a filter replacement region in an air purifier. Hak (‘349) discloses an air purifier (10) (see Figures 1-16) comprising:
a body (12) including a suction port (i.e. opening of 14 where 38 and 39 are located – see Figure 1) and a discharge port (i.e. opening where 106 and 108 are located – see Figure 8), the body (12) having an inner space (35) through which air is configured to flow from the suction port to the discharge port (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-8, p. 8 lines 3-5);
a fan (78) disposed in the inner space (16) of the body (12) (see Figures 6-7);
at least one light source module (86) disposed in the inner space of the body (12), the at least one light source module (86) comprising at least one UV light source (88);
a plurality of filters (38 – 56, 66) disposed in the inner space of the body (within 14 of 12) (see Figures 2 and 7);
a filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) formed at the body (12) to detachably couple the plurality of filters (38 – 56, 66) to an interior of the body (12) (see Figure 2); and
a door (39) detachably mounted on the body (12) to expose the filter replacement region (14 - i.e. opening which is covered by 39) (see entire document, particularly Figure 2),
wherein the door (39) is not configured to expose the at least one light source module (86) when the door (39) is opened (see entire document, particularly Figures 2 and 7-8),
in order to allow the door to be secured to the body, to keep the at least one filter in place and to ensure user safety (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, p. 8 lines 8-18, p. 16 lines 11-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filter replacement region and a door detachably mounted on the body to expose the filter replacement region in the air purifier of Goswami as a known components of an air purifier in order to secure the door to the body so as to allow insertion/access to the at least one filter and to ensure user safety as shown by Hak.
As to the limitation that the at least one light source module is positioned within the body after the plurality of filters and before the fan with respect to a flow direction of the air from the suction port to the discharge port, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one light source module after at least one filter and before a fan with respect to a flow direction of the air from a suction port to a discharge port in an air purifier. Beam (‘259) discloses an air purifier (10) (see Figures 1-4) comprising:
a body (12, 14) including a suction port (16) having a first opening through which external air is configured to be suctioned into an inner space of the body (12, 14), and a discharge port (18) having a second opening through which the air in the inner space is configured to be discharged to an outside after being subjected to sterilization inside the body (12, 14);
a fan (70) disposed in the inner space of the body (12, 14), the fan (70) having a side surface (i.e. surface facing 72) separated from an inner wall of the body (12, 14) (see Figure 1);
at least one light source module (46) disposed in the inner space of the body (12, 14) (see Figures 1-2), the at least one light source module (46) comprising at least one UV light source (48) configured to emit light for sterilizing microorganisms in the air;
a power controller (20) mounted on the inner wall of the body and physically or electrically connected to a power source to supply electric power to the at least one light source module;
at least one filter (28) disposed in the inner space of the body;
a filter replacement region (22, 24, 30, 32, 34) formed at the body (12, 14) to couple the at least one filter (28) to an interior of the body (12, 14) (see Figure 1); and
a door (14) detachably coupled to the body (12) to open or close the filter replacement region (30 of 22) (see entire document, particularly Figure 1, Col. 6 lines 6-10),
wherein the at least one light source module (46) is positioned within the body (12, 14) after the at least one filter (28) and before the fan (70) with respect to a flow direction (15) of the air from the suction port (16) to the discharge port (18) (see Figure 1),
in order to remove contaminants such as particulates in the air flow prior to irradiation/purification with UV light (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-2, Col. 4 lines 26-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the at least one light source module after the plurality of filters and before the fan with respect to a flow direction of the air from the suction port to the discharge port in the air purifier of Goswami as modified by Hak as a known alternate configuration of components in order to pretreat the airflow to remove particulate contaminants prior to irradiation and purification by the at least one light source module as shown by Beam.
Thus, Claim 20 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Goswami (‘073), Hak (‘349), and Beam (‘259).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1 and 11 on p. 8 of Remarks, examiner points to the new ground of rejection as set forth in paragraph 11 above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758