Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 12/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 35, 63 and 64 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee (US 20070124891 A1) in view of Krebs (US 20120151713 A1).
Regarding Applicants arguments pointed towards Lee not disclosing a floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between the rotation center and each of the plurality of wheels and the floor. Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Lee states in Para [0069] “Auxiliary wheels (not shown) may be mounted to a front end of the bottom of the base 10, for movement of the head 100. The auxiliary wheels are received in wheel recesses 12 formed in the bottom of the base 10, respectively.”, showing wheel recesses 12 Annotated Figure A (included below). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that said wheels mounted in said wheel recess would be mounted via an axle at its rotational center, and that such an axle would need to be located above the bottom planar surface of the cleaning head, in order to properly support the wheel in place. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Regarding Applicants argument with respect to the tapered forward air inlet tapering in such a floor facing plane, Examiner finds these arguments persuasive and instead brings in Krebs (US 20120151713 A1), which more clearly shows a tapered forward inlet in a floor facing plane, See at least fig. 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35-39, 41-44, 55-61 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 35, 55 and 58 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding the limitation “wherein the dirty air outlet is disposed between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet”, the instant application specification identifies the dirty air outlet as 1626, Seen in Fig. 13 and it is unclear how this dirty air inlet is disposed between a taper forward inlet and the cleaning sheet, as in the vertical direction it appears to be above both and in the horizontal direction appears to be behind the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet. Examiner does not see any persuasive evidence that applicant had possession of this limitation at the time of the filing date of the application. Claims 36-39, 41-44, 56-57, 59-61 and 63-66 are dependents of Claims 35, 55 and 58, respectively, and contain all the features of their independent claim and fail to resolve the deficiencies of their respective independent claim; therefore they are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35, 63 and 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20070124891 A1) in view of Krebs (US 20120151713 A1).
Regarding Claim 35, Lee teaches A surface cleaning head comprising: a forward portion (1) having a nozzle fluidly coupled to a dirty air outlet (210), the nozzle including a tapered forward inlet (See Fig 4, center of 11, is tapered forward), a first side inlet (See Figure 4, 11 extends to both sides of the head), and a second side inlet (See Figure 4, 11 extends to both sides of the head), the first and second side inlets being on opposite sides of the dirty air outlet (see Figure 4) and the first side inlet, the second side inlet, and the tapered forward inlet are each fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet such that air entering the nozzle through the first side inlet, the second side inlet, and the tapered forward inlet passes into the dirty air outlet (See Figures 3 and 2 showing that the dirty air outlet is the convergence point for all air flow paths as the air exits the head towards the wand 220 to the main cleaner (300)),
a plurality of wheels (12, See Para [0069] “Auxiliary wheels (not shown) may be mounted to a front end of the bottom of the base 10, for movement of the head 100. The auxiliary wheels are received in wheel recesses 12 formed in the bottom of the base 10, respectively.”) coupled to the forward portion and moveable along a floor (See Figure 5, wheels 12 are on the forward portion) a floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Annotated Figure A);
(Annotated Figure A) Fig. 4 of Lee
a rearward portion (Portion of head 13 is located on) including a platform (50) that is, spaced apart (16) and separate from the forward portion (See Para [0072] “A partition plate 16 may be arranged between the base opening 11 and the intermediate connector 50. The partition plate 16 functions to prevent steam discharged through the lower surface of the intermediate connector 50 from entering the base opening 11”);
a cleaning sheet (60) removably coupled to the platform such that the cleaning sheet (See Para [0087] “Hereinafter, the coupling between the cleaning member and the intermediate connector will be described with reference to FIG. 6. For a steam cleaning operation, the intermediate connector 50 and cleaning member 60 are coupled to each other by a second coupler, for example, including elements designated reference numerals 51 and 61.”) and the plurality of wheels (12) are both in contact with the floor during use (Wheels 12 and sheet 60 are both on the bottom of nozzle and would be in contact with the floor during use), wherein the dirty air outlet is disposed between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet (See Figure 3, outlet is below the tapered portion of 30 and above the bottom of the nozzle where the cleaning sheet would be located);
a housing (non tapered, straight part of 30) connecting the forward portion to the rearward portion (See Figure 3), the housing includes a fluid conduit that is fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet (See Para [0098] “Accordingly, air containing foreign matter (or debris) is sucked into the air suction tube 30”) and that extends over the cleaning sheet (60 see figure 3); and
a support (220) movably coupled to the rearward portion (See Fig. 2).
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the tapered forward inlet tapers within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough, the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor;
However, Krebs discloses a similar cleaner wherein the tapered forward inlet (92 and 93) tapers within a floor facing plane (See Fig. 5) in a direction of the dirty air outlet (See Fig. 5 showing debris guides 78 forming tapered forward inlets, in the direction toward outlet 38) such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough (See Para [0034] “The debris path volume converges towards the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 as the cross-sectional area between the inboard and outboard guide members 90, 88 of each debris guide set 84 decreases closer to the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 resulting in a higher working airflow velocity at the nozzle inlets 74. Accordingly, an intense, high velocity suction flow near the nozzle inlets 74 can enhance debris ingestion and overall performance of the suction nozzle.”), the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Figs. 3-6 showing the bottom of the cleaning head having a plane intersecting the wheels below a rotational center and above the floor).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head and forward air inlet to taper within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet as doing so would enhance the overall performance of the suction cleaner as suggested via Para [0034] of Kerbs.
Regarding Claim 63, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 35 and in addition discloses wherein the tapered forward inlet (See Fig. 4) is spaced apart from the dirty air outlet by an air channel (30) extending from the first side inlet to the second side inlet (See Figure 3), the air channel fluidly coupling each of the tapered forward inlet, the first side inlet, and the second side inlet to the dirty air outlet (See Para [0070] “The air suction tube 30 may communicate with a base opening 11. For example, the base opening 11 may be formed through a front end of the bottom of the base 10 when viewing in a cleaning advance direction of the cleaner.”).
Regarding Claim 64, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 63 and in addition discloses wherein the dirty air outlet (210) extends within a sidewall of the air channel such that the dirty air outlet opens in a direction of the air channel (see figures 2 and 3, 210 extends from sidewalls of 30 in the direction of the channel).
Claim(s) 36-39, 55 and 57-60, 65 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20070124891 A1) in view of Krebs (US 20120151713 A1) as modified in claim 35 and in further view of Marsh (US 20120167335 A1).
Regarding Claim 36, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 35 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the support is movable about a first axis and a second axis. However, Marsh does teach addition teaches wherein the support (14) is movable about a first axis (PA1 seen in figure 4) and a second axis (PA2 seen in figure 2, Further see 2a, 2b and 8a to see support moved about both axes).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify support of Lee to be able to pivot about multiple axis increasing the maneuverability of the cleaner head and to allow for easier use by the user of the cleaner.
Regarding Claim 37, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 36 and in addition discloses wherein the support (See 14 of Marsh) pivots about the first axis (Marsh PA1) between an upright position (shown in figure 2a of Marsh) and an in-use position (Shown in figure 2b of Marsh).
Regarding Claim 38, Lee as modified discloses all the limitation 37 and in addition discloses wherein the support (14 of Marsh) pivots about the second axis (PA2 of Marsh) between a centered position (seen in figure 8b of Marsh) and a sideways position (Seen in figure 8a of Marsh).
Regarding Claim 39, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 38 and in addition discloses wherein further comprising first (82 of Marsh) and second detents (84 of Marsh), wherein the first (82 of Marsh) and second detents (84 of Marsh) inhibit movement of the support (14 of Marsh) about the second axis second when the support is in the upright position (See Marsh Para [0030] “A latch assembly, generally designated by reference numeral 80 functions to lock the handle assembly 14 in the storage position. As illustrated in FIGS. 10a-10c, the latch assembly 80 includes a first latching cam 82 provided on the connector arm 18 and a second, cooperating latching cam 84 provided on a latch release pedal 86 that is pivotally mounted to the nozzle assembly 12. FIG. 10c illustrates the latch assembly 80 with the two cams 82, 84 engaged to lock the handle assembly 14 in the upright, storage position. The foot pedal 86 is depressed to disengage the cams 82, 84 and allow the handle assembly 14 to be inclined into an operative position (see also FIGS. 2a and 2b) when desired to conduct cleaning.”).
Regarding Claim 55, Lee teaches:
A cleaning apparatus comprising: an upright section (220); and
a surface cleaning head (100), the surface cleaning head including:
a forward portion having a nozzle (10) fluidly coupled to a dirty air outlet (210), the nozzle including a tapered forward inlet (See Figure 2, showing the cleaner head tapered forward), a first side inlet (See Figure 4, 11 extends to both sides of the head), and a second side inlet (See Figure 4, 11 extends to both sides of the head), the first and second side inlets being on opposite sides of the dirty air outlet (see Figure 4), wherein the dirty air outlet is fluidly coupled to the clean air outlet (via 30) and the tapered forward inlet are each fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet such that air entering the nozzle through the first side inlet, the second side inlet, and the tapered forward inlet passes into the dirty air outlet (See Figures 3 and 2 showing that the dirty air outlet is the convergence point for all air flow paths as the air exits the head towards the wand 220 to the main cleaner (300));
a plurality of wheels (12) coupled to the forward portion and moveable along a floor (See Para [0069] “Auxiliary wheels (not shown) may be mounted to a front end of the bottom of the base 10, for movement of the head 100. The auxiliary wheels are received in wheel recesses 12 formed in the bottom of the base 10, respectively.”) the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Annotated Figure A);
a rearward portion (Portion of head 10 that 13 is located on) including a platform (50) that is, separate (via partition 16) and separate from the forward portion (See Para [0072] “A partition plate 16 may be arranged between the base opening 11 and the intermediate connector 50. The partition plate 16 functions to prevent steam discharged through the lower surface of the intermediate connector 50 from entering the base opening 11”),
the platform being configured to removably couple to a cleaning sheet such that the cleaning sheet and the plurality of wheels are both in contact with the floor during use (See Para [0087] “Hereinafter, the coupling between the cleaning member and the intermediate connector will be described with reference to FIG. 6. For a steam cleaning operation, the intermediate connector 50 and cleaning member 60 are coupled to each other by a second coupler, for example, including elements designated reference numerals 51 and 61.” and the plurality of wheels (12) are both in contact with the surface to be cleaned during use (Wheels 12 and sheet 60 are both on the bottom of nozzle and would be in contact with the floor during use) and such that the dirty air outlet is disposed between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet (See Figure 3, outlet is below the tapered portion of 30 and above the bottom of the nozzle where the cleaning sheet would be located); and
a housing (non-tapered, straight part of 30) connecting the forward portion to the rearward portion (See Figure 3), the housing includes a fluid conduit that is fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet, (See Para [0098] “Accordingly, air containing foreign matter (or debris) is sucked into the air suction tube 30”) wherein the fluid conduit extends from the dirty air outlet and over the platform (See 30 in Fig. 3 extending over the platform);
But does not explicitly teach wherein the tapered forward inlet tapers within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough; the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor; the cleaner head having a clean air outlet, and being pivotally coupled to the upright section, the clean air outlet to be fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet.
However, Krebs discloses a similar cleaner wherein the tapered forward inlet (92 and 93) tapers within a floor facing plane (See Fig. 5) in a direction of the dirty air outlet (See Fig. 5 showing debris guides 78 forming tapered forward inlets, in the direction toward outlet 38) such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough (See Para [0034] “The debris path volume converges towards the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 as the cross-sectional area between the inboard and outboard guide members 90, 88 of each debris guide set 84 decreases closer to the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 resulting in a higher working airflow velocity at the nozzle inlets 74. Accordingly, an intense, high velocity suction flow near the nozzle inlets 74 can enhance debris ingestion and overall performance of the suction nozzle.”), the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Figs. 3-6 showing the bottom of the cleaning head having a plane intersecting the wheels below a rotational center and above the floor).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head and forward air inlet to taper within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet as doing so would enhance the overall performance of the suction cleaner as suggested via Para [0034] of Kerbs.
However, Marsh does teach a similar cleaner having a clean air outlet (44) and a cleaning head (12) pivotally coupled to an upright section (34, See figure 2b), the clean air outlet to be fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet (See Para [0024] describing the airflow path of Marsh, from suction inlet 20 to exhaust port 44).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the connection of the cleaner head and upright portion of the cleaner of Lee to be a pivoting connection as doing so would increase the maneuverability of the cleaner and ease of use for the user of the cleaner and to include a clean air outlet so as to not cause clogging and allow clean air to vent back into the atmosphere after cleaning.
Regarding Claim 57, Lee teaches: A cleaning apparatus comprising:
an upright section (220); and
a surface cleaning head (100), the surface cleaning head including:
a forward portion (100) having a nozzle fluidly coupled to a dirty air outlet (210);
forward portion having a nozzle fluidly coupled to a dirty air outlet, the nozzle including a tapered forward inlet, a first side inlet, and a second side inlet, wherein an airflow path extends from each of the tapered forward inlet, the first side inlet, and the second side inlet to the dirty air outlet and from the dirty air outlet (See Figures 3 and 2 showing that the dirty air outlet is the convergence point for all air flow paths as the air exits the head towards the wand 220 to the main cleaner (300)),
a plurality of wheels (12) coupled to the forward portion and moveable along a floor (See Para [0069] “Auxiliary wheels (not shown) may be mounted to a front end of the bottom of the base 10, for movement of the head 100. The auxiliary wheels are received in wheel recesses 12 formed in the bottom of the base 10, respectively.”) a floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Annotated Figure A);
a rearward portion (Portion of head 10 that 13 is located on), the rearward portion including a platform (50) that is separate from the forward portion (See Para [0072] “A partition plate 16 may be arranged between the base opening 11 and the intermediate connector 50. The partition plate 16 functions to prevent steam discharged through the lower surface of the intermediate connector 50 from entering the base opening 11”)
a cleaning sheet (60) removably coupled to the platform such that the cleaning sheet and the plurality of wheels are both in contact with the floor during use (cleaning sheet 60 attaches to 50, which is on the bottom of the cleaner and the same side as the wheels, meaning both wheels and sheet contact the floor at the same time); and
a housing (non-tapered, straight part of 30) connecting the nozzle to the platform (See Figure 3), the housing includes a fluid conduit that is fluidly coupled to the dirty air outlet (See Figure 3, 30 is coupled to the back dirty air outlet, further see Para [0098] “Accordingly, air containing foreign matter (or debris) is sucked into the air suction tube 30,”).
However, Lee does not teach the wherein the tapered forward inlet tapers within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough; the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor;
The upright section having a clean air outlet, the surface cleaning head pivotally coupled to the upright section wherein an airflow path extends from the dirty air outlet to the clean air outlet.
However, Krebs discloses a similar cleaner wherein the tapered forward inlet (92 and 93) tapers within a floor facing plane (See Fig. 5) in a direction of the dirty air outlet (See Fig. 5 showing debris guides 78 forming tapered forward inlets, in the direction toward outlet 38) such that the tapered forward inlet causes a convergence of air passing therethrough (See Para [0034] “The debris path volume converges towards the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 as the cross-sectional area between the inboard and outboard guide members 90, 88 of each debris guide set 84 decreases closer to the focused suction nozzle inlet 74 resulting in a higher working airflow velocity at the nozzle inlets 74. Accordingly, an intense, high velocity suction flow near the nozzle inlets 74 can enhance debris ingestion and overall performance of the suction nozzle.”), the floor facing plane intersecting each of the plurality of wheels at a location between a rotational center of each of the plurality of wheels and the floor (See Figs. 3-6 showing the bottom of the cleaning head having a plane intersecting the wheels below a rotational center and above the floor).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning head and forward air inlet to taper within a floor facing plane in a direction of the dirty air outlet as doing so would enhance the overall performance of the suction cleaner as suggested via Para [0034] of Kerbs.
Although, Marsh does teach the upright section having a clean air outlet (44), the surface cleaning head (100) pivotally coupled to the upright section (See Figures 2b showing the pivoting connection) wherein an airflow path extends from the dirty air outlet to the clean air outlet (See Para [0024] “During normal vacuum cleaner operation, the rotary agitator 22 is driven by the motor of the suction generator 26 and functions to beat dirt and debris from the nap of an underlying carpet. The suction generator 26 also functions to draw a vacuum air stream into the suction inlet 20. Dirt and debris from the carpet is entrained in that airstream, which is then drawn by the suction generator 26 into the dirt collection vessel 34 through a conduit 35. Dirt and debris are captured in the dirt collection vessel 34 while relatively clean air is drawn through an air stream conduit 42 to the suction generator 26. More specifically, that air stream then passes through a secondary fine particle filter 46 before passing over the motor of the suction generator 26 to provide cooling. The exhaust air from suction motor 26 passes through a final filter 48 such as a HEPA filter, before passing over the cord reel 25 to cool the electrical contacts (not shown). The air is then exhausted through port 44 into the environment.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the connection of the cleaner head and upright portion of the cleaner of Lee to be a pivoting connection as doing so would increase the maneuverability of the cleaner and ease of use for the user of the cleaner and to include a clean air outlet connected to the dirty air outlet so as to not cause clogging and allow clean air to vent back into the atmosphere after cleaning.
Regarding Claim 58, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of 57 and in addition discloses wherein the (inlet 30 is a part of the inlet conduit and is tapered) first side inlet extends between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet and the second side inlet extends between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet, the first and second side inlets being on opposite sides of the dirty air outlet (See figure 4, 11 extends to both the left and right and is between the platform 50 the cleaning sheet is located on and the forward inlet).
Regarding Claim 59, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 58 and in addition discloses wherein the dirty air outlet is disposed between the tapered forward inlet and the cleaning sheet (See Figure 3, 210 extends outward and is located between the inlet 30 and the bottom of the cleaning head where cleaning pad 60 is located on).
Regarding Claim 60, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claims 57 and in addition discloses wherein the fluid conduit extends from the dirty air outlet and over the platform (See Figure 3, where 30 extends across the head over the top of where the platform is located).
Regarding Claims 65, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 55 wherein:
wherein the tapered forward inlet (See Fig. 4) is spaced apart from the dirty air outlet by an air channel (30) extending from the first side inlet to the second side inlet (See Figure 3), the air channel fluidly coupling each of the tapered forward inlet, the first side inlet, and the second side inlet to the dirty air outlet (See Para [0070] “The air suction tube 30 may communicate with a base opening 11. For example, the base opening 11 may be formed through a front end of the bottom of the base 10 when viewing in a cleaning advance direction of the cleaner.”); and
the dirty air outlet (210) extends within a sidewall of the air channel such that the dirty air outlet opens in a direction of the air channel (see figures 2 and 3, 210 extends from sidewalls of 30 in the direction of the channel).
Regarding Claims 66, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 57 wherein:
wherein the tapered forward inlet (See Fig. 4) is spaced apart from the dirty air outlet by an air channel (30) extending from the first side inlet to the second side inlet (See Figure 3), the air channel fluidly coupling each of the tapered forward inlet, the first side inlet, and the second side inlet to the dirty air outlet (See Para [0070] “The air suction tube 30 may communicate with a base opening 11. For example, the base opening 11 may be formed through a front end of the bottom of the base 10 when viewing in a cleaning advance direction of the cleaner.”); and
the dirty air outlet (210) extends within a sidewall of the air channel such that the dirty air outlet opens in a direction of the air channel (see figures 2 and 3, 210 extends from sidewalls of 30 in the direction of the channel)
Claim(s) 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20070124891 A1) in view of Krebs (US 20120151713 A1) and Marsh (US 20120167335 A1) as modified in Claim 55 and in further view of Dodson (US 20070033767 A1).
Regarding Claim 56, Lee as modified discloses all the features of claim 55 suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cleaning sheet is configured to be used with a liquid (See Para [0087] “Hereinafter, the coupling between the cleaning member and the intermediate connector will be described with reference to FIG. 6. For a steam cleaning operation, the intermediate connector 50 and cleaning member 60 are coupled to each other by a second coupler, for example, including elements designated reference numerals 51 and 61”).
However, Dodson teaches a similar cleaning apparatus that utilizes a cleaning pad (See Para [0014] “In addition to vacuuming, the apparatus 10 is thus equipped to perform other cleaning functions such as wet or dry mopping, scrubbing, dusting, etc., by contact of the pad 22 with the surface to be cleaned.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cleaning pad of Marsh as modified to allow for wet cleaning or cleaning utilizing liquid in order to expand the scope of the cleaner and what it is able to clean, allowing the cleaner to effectively clean surfaces such as tile, vinyl and wood floors.
Claim(s) 41-44, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20070124891 A1) in view of Krebs (US 20120151713 A1) as modified in claim 35 and in further view of Dodson (US 20070033767 A1).
Regarding Claim 41, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 35 and but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cleaning sheet includes at least a first tab and a second tab.
However, Dodson does teach a similar cleaning sheet (80 and 20) that is attached to cleaner head and includes at least a first tab (64 of Dodson) and a second tab (66 of Dodson).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee to utilize the attachment structure of Dodson as lee teaches in Para [0091] “Thus, the coupling between the intermediate connector 50 and the cleaning member 60 may be achieved using a variety of couplers, and the present invention is not limited to the above-described examples.” and the attachment method of Lee (Velcro) and the attachment member of Dodson (tabs) are equivalents for the same purpose of attaching a cleaning sheet to the cleaning head. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding Claim 42, Lee as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 41 and in addition discloses wherein the first tab is configured to couple to the second tab (Tabs 64 and 66 are capable of connecting with each other via latch 30 in Dodson).
Regarding Claim 43, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 42 and in addition discloses wherein the first tab (64 of Dodson) and the second tab (66 of Dodson) are configured to extend along at least a portion of an upper surface of the rearward portion (see figure 1 and 2 of Dodson showing tabs attached to 30 extending forward across 30 towards each other extending across the upper surface).
Regarding Claim 44, Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 35 and in addition teaches, wherein the rearward portion includes one or more engagement members (13a) configured to releasably couple to a cleaning sheet (See Para [0080] “The side protrusions 13a are engaged in insertion grooves 53a provided at opposite side surfaces of the guide hole 53 of the intermediate connector 50. Of course, the side protrusions 13a and insertion grooves 53a may be coupled to each other by a magnetic force”).
But does not explicitly teach an upper surface of the rearward portion includes one or more engagement member.
However, Dodson does teach a similar cleaning pad and associated attachment structure, wherein the upper surface of the rearward portion includes one or more engagement members (64, 66 and 30, See Fig. 1 and 2 and further see Para [0014] “The apparatus 10 shown in FIG. 1 includes a vacuum cleaner nozzle 12 with a generally rectangular body 14 and a cylindrical neck 16. A tube 18 extends from the neck 16 to a source of suction for drawing a flow of working air through an intake opening at the bottom of the nozzle body 14. As further shown in FIG. 1, a frame 20 supports a cleaning pad 22 on the bottom of the nozzle body 14. In addition to vacuuming, the apparatus 10 is thus equipped to perform other cleaning functions such as wet or dry mopping, scrubbing, dusting, etc., by contact of the pad 22 with the surface to be cleaned.” And Para [0023] “Having wrapped the pad 22 around the frame 20 as shown in FIG. 8, the user can place the nozzle 12 forcefully downward upon those parts to snap the flange 30 on the nozzle body 14 into engagement with the locking tabs 64 and 66 on the frame 20. The edge portions 130 and 132 of the pad 22 are then clamped between the flange 30 and the locking tabs 64, 66, as shown in FIG. 1.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the engagement members of Lee with those of Dodson, as they are both methods of attaching cleaning sheets to a cleaner head, See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding Claim 61, Lee discloses all the features of claim 35 suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cleaning sheet is configured to be used with a liquid (See Para [0087] “Hereinafter, the coupling between the cleaning member and the intermediate connector will be described with reference to FIG. 6. For a steam cleaning operation, the intermediate connector 50 and cleaning member 60 are coupled to each other by a second coupler, for example, including elements designated reference numerals 51 and 61”).
However, Dodson teaches a similar cleaning apparatus that utilizes a cleaning pad (See Para [0014] “In addition to vacuuming, the apparatus 10 is thus equipped to perform other cleaning functions such as wet or dry mopping, scrubbing, dusting, etc., by contact of the pad 22 with the surface to be cleaned.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cleaning pad of Marsh as modified to allow for wet cleaning or cleaning utilizing liquid in order to expand the scope of the cleaner and what it is able to clean, allowing the cleaner to effectively clean surfaces such as tile, vinyl and wood floors.
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723