DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 250, depicted in Figures 2 and 5-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-11, 13-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris et al. (US 20210228430 A1, hereinafter “Farris”) in view of Edsinger et al. (US 9512912 B1, hereinafter “Edsinger”)
Regarding Claim 1 , Farris discloses an exosuit (Paragraph 0071, FIG. 24 is a drawing depicting an exemplary knee-ankle-foot orthotic (KAFO) device 150, which incorporates the actuator system 10 in accordance with embodiments of the present invention) comprising:
a proximal portion (See Annotated Figure 24), a distal portion (See Annotated Figure 24), (Paragraph 0008, The present invention provides an actuation system for joints for powered orthotic devices, and KAFO and HKAFO [hip-knee-ankle-foot-orthoses] devices in particular, that can be readily integrated with standard orthotic bracing that can be customized to user body type), and a joint coupling the proximal and distal portion (Figure 24, driven joint member 80), wherein the joint enables rotation of the distal portion about an axis with respect to the proximal portion (Paragraph 0072, The cable sheaths 52 and 54 extend downward to the driven joint member 80. The frame 158 includes a first joint bar 160 that extends downward from the thigh support 156, and a second joint bar 162 that extends upward from the calf support 154. The actuator system 10 further is connected to the brace components by connecting the first joint bar 160 of the frame to the second attachment recess 114 (not visible in this view) of the driven joint member 80, and by connecting the second joint bar 162 of the frame to the first attachment recess 100 of the driven joint member 80 such that the driven joint member 80 is positioned at the user's knee during use);
Annotated Farris Figure 24
a motor coupled to the proximal portion (Figure 5, motor 18), a transmission configured to apply force from the motor to actuate the joint, (Paragraph 0046, FIG. 6 is a drawing depicting a top view of the portion of the actuator system that includes the components as depicted in FIG. 5. In these views, the actuator housing 14 is removed so as to depict the actuator assembly components. Generally, the actuator assembly components include a motor 18 and a transmission system 20 that operates to drive the joint member 16);
the transmission comprising a spool (Figure 7, shaft 40, third sprocket 40) arranged to be driven by the motor (Paragraph 0051, The shaft 40 is commonly attached to a rotating member, such as for example another relatively small diameter third sprocket 42 […] The third sprocket 42 acts as an input portion of the second stage of speed reduction that is linked to the output (second sprocket 24) of the first stage of speed reduction),
a first cord segment (Figure 7, transmission cable portions 50) extending from the spool to the distal portion (Paragraph 0051, The teeth of the third sprocket 42 interact with a second roller chain 44 having opposing ends that are fitted with respective fittings 46 and 48, which may be configured as crimp fittings. The crimp fittings 46 and 48 are attached to respective ends of the roller chain 44 and receive respective ends of transmission cable portions 50 and 51 to attach the first and second cable portions to the actuator assembly),
and a second cord segment (Figure 7, transmission cable portions 51) extending from the spool to the distal portion (Paragraph 0051)
and an assembly comprising
a first pulley (Figure 7, second sprocket 24), (Paragraph 0049, As an alternative configuration of the first stage of the transmission system 20, the first stage may be configured as a belt/pulley stage instead of a sprocket/chain stage. In such embodiment, the first stage of the transmission system 20 includes a relatively small diameter first stage pulley that is attached to an output shaft of the flat profile brushless motor 18) to engage the first cord segment such that tension in the first cord segment applies a force in a first direction (Paragraph 0048, the transmission system 20 includes a relatively small diameter first sprocket 22 that is attached to an output shaft 23 of the flat profile brushless motor 18. The first sprocket 22 thus receives the output shaft 23 of the motor. The small diameter sprocket 22 transmits power to a relatively large second sprocket 24 via a first transmission member 26 to form the first stage of speed reduction), and
a second pulley to engage the second cord segment such that tension in the second cord segment applies a force in a second direction opposing the first direction (Paragraph 0052, The transmission Bowden cable portions 50 and 51 are then routed through respective opposing Bowden cable sheaths 52 and 54, and the transmission cable portions 50 and 51 are attached to a relatively large cable pulley 56 of the driven joint member 16 to form the output portion of the second stage of speed reduction. In other words, for appropriate speed reduction a diameter of the cable pulley 56 is larger than a diameter of the third sprocket 42).
Farris teaches the actuator assembly further including sensing mechanisms (Paragraph 0054, integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10. In exemplary embodiments in which the actuator assembly is driven by a brushless DC motor, magnets in proximity to or coupled to the motor shaft may be provided with embedded sensors to sense the motor shaft rotation. The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system).
However, Farris does not explicitly disclose a load cell assembly comprising a load cell and pulleys located at opposite sides of the load cell or the cord segments applying a force on the load cell in opposing directions.
Edsinger does disclose a load cell assembly (Figure 1C, differential pulley actuator 100) comprising a load cell (Figure 1C, force sensor 128) and pulleys (Figure 1C, drive gear 102, output pulley 106, timing belt pulley 108, idler pulley 110) located at opposite sides of the load cell (Column 6, lines 38-48, In FIG. 1C, the differential pulley actuator 100 is also shown to include a force sensor 128 coupled to the output pulley 106. In other examples, tensile force sensors could be placed between the holder 116a and the tension-bearing element 114 and between the holder 116b and the tension-bearing element 114 to measure a tension of the tension-bearing element 114. The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sensing components taught by Farris with the specific force sensor arrangement taught by Edsinger to provide precise control of actuator assembly (Edsinger, Column 6, lines 46-48,to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120)
Regarding Claim 2, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Edsinger further discloses wherein the load cell is configured to provide an output indicative of a combination of forces transmitted on the pulleys by the first cord segment and the second cord segment (Column 6, lines 38-48, In FIG. 1C, the differential pulley actuator 100 is also shown to include a force sensor 128 coupled to the output pulley 106. In other examples, tensile force sensors could be placed between the holder 116a and the tension-bearing element 114 and between the holder 116b and the tension-bearing element 114 to measure a tension of the tension-bearing element 114. The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example), (Column 13, lines 9-13, Example functions include determination of motor current based on sensed tension in timing belts, output torque, and optionally angular displacements of output pulleys based on a control loop or other feedback mechanism to determine desired output torques).
Regarding Claim 6, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Farris further discloses: wherein the transmission provides a speed ratio of between 10:1 and 400:1 (Paragraph 0053, In an exemplary embodiment, the actuator system has a total transmission ratio of approximately 62.21:1).
Regarding Claim 7, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Farris further discloses: wherein the transmission provides a speed ratio of between 20:1 and 200:1 (Paragraph 0053, In an exemplary embodiment, the actuator system has a total transmission ratio of approximately 62.21:1).
Regarding Claim 8, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Farris further discloses: further comprising a control unit configured to control the operation of the motor based on signals from the load cell (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10. In exemplary embodiments in which the actuator assembly is driven by a brushless DC motor, magnets in proximity to or coupled to the motor shaft may be provided with embedded sensors to sense the motor shaft rotation. The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system).
Edsinger also discloses a control unit configured to control the operation of the motor based on signals from the load cell (Column 6, lines 44-48, The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example)
Regarding Claim 9, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8. Edsinger further discloses: wherein the control unit is configured to activate the motor based on the signals from the load cell to reduce reflected inertia presented to a wearer of the exosuit (Figure 8, A tension or force sensor 808 determines a tension sensor measurement, Fid, and outputs the tension sensor measurement to a controller 810 […] The differential pulley actuator 806 may be controlled by the motor amplifier 810 that receives as inputs Θm, the motor angle, the tension sensor measurement, Fid, and optionally Θj, the joint angle, and outputs a commanded motor winding current, I, as a function of these inputs according to a control law module 814. The motor winding current, I, causes the motor 804 to drive the differential pulley actuator 806 for an output torque, Tq, that is applied to a load 816).
Farris also discloses reduc[ing] reflected inertia presented to a wearer of the exosuit (Paragraph 0008, Such actuation system provides a smaller and lighter solution for powering wearable orthotic systems, which should also require less torque that is more suitable for orthotic devices as compared to more comprehensive exoskeleton systems in which joint actuation systems previously have been employed. The present invention addresses the deficiencies of conventional configurations by minimizing the size of the driven joint, and by allowing the drive unit to be located remotely relative to the driven joint, transmitting power via flexible cabling such as for example Bowden cables), (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10 […] The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system)
Regarding Claim 10, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8. Farris further discloses: wherein the control unit is configured to:
detect force applied by a wearer of the exosuit using the signals from the load cell (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10 […] The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system),
and drive the motor to reduce resistance of the exosuit to the force applied by the wearer (Paragraph 0008, Such actuation system provides a smaller and lighter solution for powering wearable orthotic systems, which should also require less torque that is more suitable for orthotic devices as compared to more comprehensive exoskeleton systems in which joint actuation systems previously have been employed. The present invention addresses the deficiencies of conventional configurations by minimizing the size of the driven joint, and by allowing the drive unit to be located remotely relative to the driven joint, transmitting power via flexible cabling such as for example Bowden cables).
Regarding Claim 11, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8. Edsinger further discloses: wherein the control unit is configured to use a feedback loop to drive the motor to balance forces on the load cell (Column 11, lines 55-61, the control law module 814 may operate as a known proportional integral derivative (PID) module, for example. A PID controller may include a control loop feedback mechanism that calculates an error value as a difference between a measured process variable and a desired set point. The PID controller attempts to minimize the error by adjusting process control outputs), (Column 13, lines 9-13, Example functions include determination of motor current based on sensed tension in timing belts, output torque, and optionally angular displacements of output pulleys based on a control loop or other feedback mechanism to determine desired output torques).
Regarding Claim 13, Farris discloses A method comprising: providing, by an exosuit, powered support to a wearer of the exosuit, the exosuit comprising (Paragraph 0071, FIG. 24 is a drawing depicting an exemplary knee-ankle-foot orthotic (KAFO) device 150, which incorporates the actuator system 10 in accordance with embodiments of the present invention) comprising:
a proximal portion, (See Annotated Figure 24), a distal portion (See Annotated Figure 24), (Paragraph 0008, The present invention provides an actuation system for joints for powered orthotic devices, and KAFO [knee-ankle-foot-orthoses] and HKAFO [hip-knee-ankle-foot-orthoses] devices in particular, that can be readily integrated with standard orthotic bracing that can be customized to user body type), and a joint coupling the proximal and distal portion (Figure 24, driven joint member 80), wherein the joint enables rotation of the distal portion about an axis with respect to the proximal portion (Paragraph 0072, The cable sheaths 52 and 54 extend downward to the driven joint member 80. The frame 158 includes a first joint bar 160 that extends downward from the thigh support 156, and a second joint bar 162 that extends upward from the calf support 154. The actuator system 10 further is connected to the brace components by connecting the first joint bar 160 of the frame to the second attachment recess 114 (not visible in this view) of the driven joint member 80, and by connecting the second joint bar 162 of the frame to the first attachment recess 100 of the driven joint member 80 such that the driven joint member 80 is positioned at the user's knee during use);
controlling a motor (Figure 5, motor 18) of the exosuit based on sensed force measured (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10. […[ The sensing components […] may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system)
and transmitting force from the motor to the distal portion of the exosuit using a transmission (Paragraph 0046, FIG. 6 is a drawing depicting a top view of the portion of the actuator system that includes the components as depicted in FIG. 5. In these views, the actuator housing 14 is removed so as to depict the actuator assembly components. Generally, the actuator assembly components include a motor 18 and a transmission system 20 that operates to drive the joint member 16) comprising
a spool (Figure 7, shaft 40, third sprocket 40) arranged to be driven by the motor (Paragraph 0051, The shaft 40 is commonly attached to a rotating member, such as for example another relatively small diameter third sprocket 42 […] The third sprocket 42 acts as an input portion of the second stage of speed reduction that is linked to the output (second sprocket 24) of the first stage of speed reduction),
the spool being configured to wrap and unwrap a first cord segment (Figure 7, transmission cable portions 50) and a second cord segment (Figure 7, transmission cable portions 51) on the spool (Paragraph 0051, The teeth of the third sprocket 42 interact with a second roller chain 44 having opposing ends that are fitted with respective fittings 46 and 48, which may be configured as crimp fittings. The crimp fittings 46 and 48 are attached to respective ends of the roller chain 44 and receive respective ends of transmission cable portions 50 and 51 to attach the first and second cable portions to the actuator assembly) to vary the position of the distal portion of the exosuit with respect to the proximal portion of the exosuit (Paragraph 0068, for extension the extension cable portion 50 is drawn by rotation of the third sprocket 42 such that the lateral cap 82 rotates counter-clockwise relative to the medial cap 84 about the radial bearing 86, which swings the first attachment recess 100 in the counter-clockwise direction. An orthotic joint component that is connected to the first attachment recess would rotate commensurately […] Similarly, for flexion the flexion cable portion 51 is drawn by rotation of the third sprocket 42 such that the lateral cap 82 rotates clockwise relative to the medial cap 84 about the radial bearing 86, which swings the first attachment recess 100 in the clockwise direction);
and an assembly comprising
a first pulley (Figure 7, second sprocket 24), (Paragraph 0049, As an alternative configuration of the first stage of the transmission system 20, the first stage may be configured as a belt/pulley stage instead of a sprocket/chain stage. In such embodiment, the first stage of the transmission system 20 includes a relatively small diameter first stage pulley that is attached to an output shaft of the flat profile brushless motor 18) to engage the first cord segment such that tension in the first cord segment applies a force in a first direction (Paragraph 0048, the transmission system 20 includes a relatively small diameter first sprocket 22 that is attached to an output shaft 23 of the flat profile brushless motor 18. The first sprocket 22 thus receives the output shaft 23 of the motor. The small diameter sprocket 22 transmits power to a relatively large second sprocket 24 via a first transmission member 26 to form the first stage of speed reduction), and
a second pulley to engage the second cord segment such that tension in the second cord segment applies a force in a second direction opposing the first direction (Paragraph 0052, The transmission Bowden cable portions 50 and 51 are then routed through respective opposing Bowden cable sheaths 52 and 54, and the transmission cable portions 50 and 51 are attached to a relatively large cable pulley 56 of the driven joint member 16 to form the output portion of the second stage of speed reduction. In other words, for appropriate speed reduction a diameter of the cable pulley 56 is larger than a diameter of the third sprocket 42).
Farris teaches the actuator assembly further including sensing mechanisms (Paragraph 0054, integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10. In exemplary embodiments in which the actuator assembly is driven by a brushless DC motor, magnets in proximity to or coupled to the motor shaft may be provided with embedded sensors to sense the motor shaft rotation. The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system).
However, Farris does not explicitly disclose a sensing force using a load cell assembly in the exosuit, the load cell assembly comprising a load cell and pulleys located at opposite sides of the load cell or the cord segments applying a force on the load cell in opposing directions. Farris also does not disclose controlling a motor of the exosuit based on sensed force measured by the load cell
Edsinger does disclose: a sensing force using a load cell assembly, the load cell assembly comprising (Figure 1C, differential pulley actuator 100)
a load cell (Figure 1C, force sensor 128)
and pulleys (Figure 1C, drive gear 102, output pulley 106, timing belt pulley 108, idler pulley 110) located at opposite sides of the load cell (Column 6, lines 38-48, In FIG. 1C, the differential pulley actuator 100 is also shown to include a force sensor 128 coupled to the output pulley 106. In other examples, tensile force sensors could be placed between the holder 116a and the tension-bearing element 114 and between the holder 116b and the tension-bearing element 114 to measure a tension of the tension-bearing element 114. The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example).
and controlling a motor of the exosuit based on sensed force measured by the load cell (Column 6, lines 44-48, The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sensing components taught by Farris with the specific force sensor arrangement taught by Edsinger to provide precise control of actuator assembly through an art-recognized means of force measurement.
Regarding Claim 14, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Edsinger further discloses wherein the sensing the force comprises providing an output indicative of a combination of forces transmitted on the pulleys by the first cord segment and the second cord segment (Column 6, lines 38-48, In FIG. 1C, the differential pulley actuator 100 is also shown to include a force sensor 128 coupled to the output pulley 106. In other examples, tensile force sensors could be placed between the holder 116a and the tension-bearing element 114 and between the holder 116b and the tension-bearing element 114 to measure a tension of the tension-bearing element 114. The processor 124 may receive outputs of the force sensor 128 (e.g., which may be a capacitive sensor, a tension sensor, etc.) to control an input to the motor 104 based a force or tension in the tension-bearing element 120, for example), (Column 13, lines 9-13, Example functions include determination of motor current based on sensed tension in timing belts, output torque, and optionally angular displacements of output pulleys based on a control loop or other feedback mechanism to determine desired output torques).
Regarding Claim 16, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Farris further discloses: wherein the transmission provides a speed ratio of between 10:1 and 400:1 (Paragraph 0053, In an exemplary embodiment, the actuator system has a total transmission ratio of approximately 62.21:1).
Regarding Claim 17, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Edsinger further discloses: wherein the controlling the motor comprises activating the motor based on the force sensed by the load cell to reduce reflected inertia presented to a wearer of the exosuit (Figure 8, A tension or force sensor 808 determines a tension sensor measurement, Fid, and outputs the tension sensor measurement to a controller 810 […] The differential pulley actuator 806 may be controlled by the motor amplifier 810 that receives as inputs Θm, the motor angle, the tension sensor measurement, Fid, and optionally Θj, the joint angle, and outputs a commanded motor winding current, I, as a function of these inputs according to a control law module 814. The motor winding current, I, causes the motor 804 to drive the differential pulley actuator 806 for an output torque, Tq, that is applied to a load 816).
Farris also discloses reduc[ing] reflected inertia presented to a wearer of the exosuit (Paragraph 0008, Such actuation system provides a smaller and lighter solution for powering wearable orthotic systems, which should also require less torque that is more suitable for orthotic devices as compared to more comprehensive exoskeleton systems in which joint actuation systems previously have been employed. The present invention addresses the deficiencies of conventional configurations by minimizing the size of the driven joint, and by allowing the drive unit to be located remotely relative to the driven joint, transmitting power via flexible cabling such as for example Bowden cables), (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10 […] The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system)
Regarding Claim 18, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 8. Farris further discloses: wherein controlling the motor comprises:
detecting force applied by a wearer of the exosuit using the signals from the load cell (Paragraph 0054, The actuator assembly further may include integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10 […] The sensing components may operate as a Hall-effect sensor with connections to processor circuitry in the control electronics to measure the motor operation, which in turn may be used to determine the resultant positioning of the driven joint member 16. In this manner, accurate positioning of the joint member is achieved for precise controlling of the actuator system),
and driving the motor to reduce resistance of the exosuit to the force applied by the wearer (Paragraph 0008, Such actuation system provides a smaller and lighter solution for powering wearable orthotic systems, which should also require less torque that is more suitable for orthotic devices as compared to more comprehensive exoskeleton systems in which joint actuation systems previously have been employed. The present invention addresses the deficiencies of conventional configurations by minimizing the size of the driven joint, and by allowing the drive unit to be located remotely relative to the driven joint, transmitting power via flexible cabling such as for example Bowden cables).
Regarding Claim 19, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Edsinger further discloses: wherein controlling the motor comprises operating a feedback loop to drive the motor to balance forces applied by the first cord segment and the second cord segment on the load cell assembly Column 11, lines 55-61, the control law module 814 may operate as a known proportional integral derivative (PID) module, for example. A PID controller may include a control loop feedback mechanism that calculates an error value as a difference between a measured process variable and a desired set point. The PID controller attempts to minimize the error by adjusting process control outputs), (Column 13, lines 9-13, Example functions include determination of motor current based on sensed tension in timing belts, output torque, and optionally angular displacements of output pulleys based on a control loop or other feedback mechanism to determine desired output torques).
Regarding Claim 20, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13. Farris further discloses wherein providing powered support to the wearer comprises providing force to actuate or stabilize a knee, shoulder, ankle, hip, or shoulder of the wearer (Paragraph 0004, The simplest form of such a device is a passive non-powered orthotic device with long-leg braces that extend over the knees and incorporate a pair of ankle-foot orthoses to provide support at the ankles, which are coupled with the leg braces to lock the knee joints in full extension (referred to in the art as “knee-ankle-foot-orthoses” or “KAFOs”). In another configuration, the leg brace further may be connected to a hip component that provides added support at the torso (referred to in the art as “hip-knee-ankle-foot-orthoses” or “HKAFOs”). The hips are typically stabilized by the tension in the ligaments and musculature on the anterior aspect of the pelvis), (Figure 24, Paragraph 0008, The present invention provides an actuation system for joints for powered orthotic devices, and KAFO and HKAFO devices in particular, that can be readily integrated with standard orthotic bracing that can be customized to user body type)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris (US 20210228430 A1) in view of Edsinger (US 9512912 B1), further in view of Kornbluh et al. (US 20140277739 A1, hereinafter “Kornbluh”).
Regarding Claim 4, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Edsinger discloses a variety of possible sensor devices that could be utilized in the pulley actuator system (Columns 12-13, lines 65-3, Example sensors include an accelerometer, gyroscope, pedometer, light sensors, microphone, camera, or other location and/or context-aware sensors that may collect data of the differential pulley actuator (e.g., motion of timing belt pulleys or idlers) and provide the data to the data storage 906 or processor 908)
Similarly, Farris broadly discloses integrated control electronics within the actuator system (Paragraph 0054, integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10)
However, neither Edsinger nor Farris explicitly disclose wherein the load cell is a piezoelectric load cell.
Kornbluh does disclose wherein the load cell is a piezoelectric load cell (Paragraph 0136, The load cell and encoder 445 are configured to measure the force transmitted through and the rotation of the second end 435 twisted string 430. The load cell could include piezoelectric elements, strain gauges, or other elements configured to transduce the force transmitted from the second end 435 of the twisted string 430 into the transmission tube 420 and actuator head 410 into a signal or value able to be used as an indicator of that transmitted force (e.g., an electrical voltage))
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Kornbluh into the load cell and sensor arrangement taught by Farris and Edsinger, as it is an art-recognized example of a type of sensor element implemented in exosuits and actuator systems.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris (US 20210228430 A1) in view of Edsinger (US 9512912 B1), further in view of Andrianesis (US 20170203432 A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
Edsinger discloses a variety of possible sensor devices that could be utilized in the pulley actuator system (Columns 12-13, lines 65-3, Example sensors include an accelerometer, gyroscope, pedometer, light sensors, microphone, camera, or other location and/or context-aware sensors that may collect data of the differential pulley actuator (e.g., motion of timing belt pulleys or idlers) and provide the data to the data storage 906 or processor 908)
Similarly, Farris broadly discloses integrated control electronics within the actuator system (Paragraph 0054, integrated control electronics that are encompassed within the actuator housing. The control electronics may include a battery, sensors, and electronic circuit boards that control operation of the overall actuator system 10)
However, neither Edsinger nor Farris explicitly disclose herein the load cell comprises a spring and a potentiometer
Andrianesis does disclose: wherein the load cell comprises a spring and a potentiometer (Paragraph 0052, In some preferred embodiments, tensile force is measured using a concept based on Hooke's law, whereby the extension of a spring, placed in series with the actuating element 216, is measured using a position sensor (e.g., a potentiometer or a hall-effect sensor). Alternatively, the tension sensor 290 may be a force sensor (e.g., strain gauge or force sensing resistor) in a suitable arrangement known in the art).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Andrianesis into the load cell and sensor arrangement taught by Farris and Edsinger, as it is an art-recognized example of a type of sensor element implemented in exosuits and actuator systems.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris (US 20210228430 A1) in view of Edsinger (US 9512912 B1), further in view of Gregg et al. (US 20180325713 A1, hereinafter “Gregg”).
Regarding Claim 12, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 11.
Edsinger teaches a PID controller and other feedback mechanisms that can be used to determine desired output torques, but does not explicitly disclose wherein, in at least one operating mode, the feedback loop attempts to maintain zero net force on the load cell
Gregg does disclose: wherein, in at least one operating mode, the feedback loop (Paragraph 0043, In the torque control system schematic illustrated in FIG. 6, θj represents joint angles, F1 and F2 are ground reaction forces, Tr is torque reference, Tf is actuator torque output feedback, Ir is current reference, and Iq is motor active current. The phase selector detects the stance and swing phase. The stance and swing controllers produce the torque reference. The actuator drive system contains two closed-loop PI controllers. The inner loop is the current PI controller, which controls the motor's current. The outer loop is the torque PI controller to compensate for the actuator's torque error. Additionally details of a control system that may be used with the present disclosure may be found in Application No. PCT/US2016/065558 […] incorporated herein by reference, and filed herewith) attempts to maintain zero net force on the load cell (Paragraph 0049, The command torque for both joints was set to zero for the passive walking test. The subject began this test with active torque compensation enabled, e.g., using the double-closed-loop torque controller. After several steps, the user released the safety button and deactivated the actuator. The torque sensor, located at the actuator's output shaft, measured the torque between the human and the orthosis during walking on the treadmill), (Paragraph 0059, a low torque of 3 Nm was set to preload the actuator and minimize the influence of mechanical backlash. Finally, a torque of 50 Nm was commanded, maintained for 5 seconds, and then set back to zero)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gregg’s operating mode for the sensor with the existing controller and processor systems disclosed by both Farris and Edsinger. Adjusting the parameters of net force applied to the load cell to zero could be achieved through routine experimentation, and Gregg provides specific testing scenarios in which zero force is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 3 and 15, Farris in view of Edsinger discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1.
However, none of the prior art of record (applied individually or in combination) teaches the following load cell arrangement, nor does the prior art render said limitation obvious:
wherein the load cell assembly has a first end and a second end,
wherein the first end of the load cell assembly is anchored to the proximal portion of the exosuit, and wherein the second end of the load cell assembly is free
the pulleys being located at the second end of the load cell assembly and are coupled to move with the second end of the load cell assembly relative to the proximal portion.
Walsh et al. (US 20210039248 A1) discloses a soft exosuit that incorporates a pulley and load cell assembly (Paragraph 0159, In accord with at least some aspects of the present concepts, a force sensor is used to continuously measure the tension in each Bowden cable 142. An idler pulley 232 (see, e.g., FIG. 8) is biased against the Bowden cable 142 and a load cell 234 (see, e.g., FIG. 8) is used to sense the cable 142 tension. Alternatively, other means of sensing cable tension, or more generally flexible transmission element tension, may comprise a load cell disposed at a point at which the cable or flexible transmission element applies force to the soft exosuit. These measurements are logged and used to automatically tension the soft exosuit to an appropriate level), but does not disclose the pulleys being located at the second end of the load cell assembly and are coupled to move with the second end of the load cell assembly relative to the proximal portion.
The load cell and general sensor arrangements disclosed do not involve both an anchored and free end to the device that allows it to move with the pulleys. Modifying any of the above prior arts or a particular combination of them in order to incorporate the specific claimed functions would not be an obvious modification. As such, no prior art rejection was made for Claims 3 or 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Lerner et al. (US 20210378904 A1) discloses a cable-actuated exoskeleton with a sensor and feedback modality for controlling the device
Kentin et al. (US 20220125662 A1) discloses a flexible exosuit with an actuator and support structures for assistive mobility
Brock et al. (US 20020138082 A1) discloses a surgical instrument that utilizes a pulley mechanism and a load cell assembly to sense cable tension
/MISHAL ZAHRA HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785