DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, it is unclear what applicant is intending to claim: wherein the force applicator further comprises a specific geometry such that the telescoping element makes contact with the specific geometry of the force applicator. The scope of “specific geometry” is indefinite.
Claim 7, further comprising a force applicator connected to the socket wall, wherein the telescoping element is anchored to the force applicator, wherein when the telescoping element translates inwardly, the force applicator produces the load on the residual limb. Please clarify connected to the socket wall; please indicate the drawing it is shown. For this action, connected to the socket wall includes directly and indirectly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pohlig (5,507,836).
Pohlig teaches an expandable wall prosthetic socket for a residual limb comprising:
a fixed retention ring 66 installed into a side of a wall of the socket 68;
and a telescoping element 64, wherein the telescoping element interacts with the fixed retention ring to allow the telescoping element to translate inwardly and outwardly through the socket wall, such that the telescoping element is producing a load on the residual limb.
Claim 2, nut 66 is fixed to the socket and is interpreted as a retention plate.
Claim 3, a force applicator 60 connected to the socket wall via the telescoping element.
Claim 4, the force applicator is interpreted as having a specific geometry such that the telescoping element makes contact with the specific geometry of the force applicator.
Claim 5, the figure above shows four different elements 64 working together interpreted as wherein the telescoping element comprises a plurality of interconnected elements.
Claim 7, a force applicator 60 connected to the socket wall via the telescoping element.
Claim 8, the figure above shows four telescoping elements.
Claim 9, Pohlig teaches three cheeks, each comprising a telescoping element, a plurality of force applicators connected to the socket wall via friction.
Claims 10-11, the method of manufacture does not differentiate the claimed device.
Claim 18. An expandable wall prosthetic socket for a residual limb, comprising: an applicator having a back plate and a front plate; wherein the back plate comprises a retention ring 66, and wherein the back plate is mounted to a wall of the socket 68 via friction; a telescoping element 64, wherein the telescoping element interacts with the retention ring to allow the telescoping element to translate inwardly and outwardly through the socket wall; wherein the front plate 60 comprises a force applicator, wherein when the telescoping element translates inwardly, the telescoping element makes contact with the force applicator such that the force applicator produces the load on the residual limb.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pohlig (5,507,836).
Pohlig teaches an expandable wall prosthetic socket for a residual limb as described above, however, it is unclear if embodiment in figure 6 uses a inner sleeve such as the embodiment of figure 1. See column 3, lines 1-8 teaching the inner sleeve 6 is flexible and removable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used an inner sleeve with the embodiment of figure 6 to provide cushioning for the amputated limb. The frictional force would result in the force applicator being attached onto said prosthetic liner.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pohlig (5,507,836) in view of Alley et al (11,382,774).
Pohlig teaches an expandable wall prosthetic socket for a residual limb as described above, however, fails to teach the retention ring comprises a rotating segment.
Alley et al teaches a similar device comprising a force applicator 101 for pressing against an amputated limb and uses a slightly different telescoping element comprising rotating segment 107 in the side wall and a threaded telescoping element 108.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art (engineer, medical doctor) to have substituted the retention ring with a rotating segment 107 which translates the telescoping element 108 inwardly and outwardly to obtain predictable results. Further, it would have been obvious that the rotating segment must installed into a side wall to provide a counter force to the force applicator. In this combination, the force applicator is fixed via additional elements to the telescoping element as shown above.
Claim 14, Pohlig teaches, as shows above, four different telescoping element working together interpreted as wherein the telescoping element comprises a plurality of interconnected elements.
Claim 15, Pohlig teaches an expandable wall prosthetic socket for a residual limb as described above, however, it is unclear if embodiment in figure 6 uses an inner sleeve such as the embodiment of figure 1. See column 3, lines 1-8 teaching the inner sleeve 6 is flexible and removable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used an inner sleeve with the embodiment of figure 6 (used in the combination rejection) to provide cushioning for the amputated limb.
Claim 16, Pohlig four telescoping elements.
Claim 17, Pohlig teaches three cheeks (12, 14, 20), each comprising a telescoping element, a plurality of force applicators connected to the socket wall via friction.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774