DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1: claim language includes “IE” on line 2 which should be “information element (IE)”; “IP” on line 6 which should be “Internet protocol (IP)”.
Regarding claim 2: claim language includes “IPv4” on line 2 which should be “Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4)”.
Regarding claim 3: claim language includes “IPv6” on line 2 which should be “Internet protocol version 6 (IPv6)”.
Regarding claim 7: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 9: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reasons as claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: claim language includes “each bit indicating the outer header to be created” which introduces ambiguity as to whether one or both of (“each bit” of a “bitmask”) and (“instructions to create an outer header”) is/are related to the creation. Further, “each bit” has not been clearly tied to “bitmask” and thus, does not provide clarity as “encoded and containing instructions” implies “bits”. In light of the specification, the limitation is interpreted as being similar to each bit of the bitmask determining a type of outer header to be created. Further, line 4 includes “the outgoing packet”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation. Further, lines 5-6 includes “creation of an IP header, a source IP address is included in an IP header of an outgoing packet” and lines 7-8 includes “sending the outgoing packet including a source IP in the newly added outer IP header” which introduces ambiguity as to any relationship between the elements. In light of the specification, the limitation is interpreted as being similar to a source IP address is determined, and the determined source IP address is either added to an IP header that encapsulates a packet, or replaces (thereby an outer IP header being created) an existing IP address in an IP header.
Regarding claim 2, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, ultimately dependent upon claim 1, is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 9: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding claim 10: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding claim 11: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding claim 12: the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2022/0377043 A1) hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method for creating an outer header for a packet (create an outer header; para. 119), comprising: receiving an outer header creation IE type (user plane (UP) function instructed (receiving) Information Element (IE) create outer header for IP header modification; para. 72 and para. 119) encoded (create outer header encoded with instructions; para. 119) and containing instructions to create an outer header (create outer header contains instruction to create outer header; para. 119), an outer header creation description field taking a form of a bitmask (outer header creation description in form of bitmask; para. 120-121), each bit indicating the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet (each bit indicates the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet; para. 120-121); wherein when the outer header creation packet creation IE requests creation of an IP header (create outer header instruction for IP address / IP header; para. 119-121 and para. 133-134, UP function performs IP header modification; para. 79), a source IP address is included in an IP header of an outgoing packet (replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53); and sending the outgoing packet including a source IP in the newly added outer IP header (replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein when the outer header creation packet creation IE requests creation of an IPv4 header (outer header creation description for creating IPv4 header; para. 119-122), a source IPv4 address is included in an IPv4 header of an outgoing packet (outer header creation description for instructions for IPv4 address; para. 119-122, replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein when the outer header creation packet creation IE requests creation of an IPv6 header (outer header creation description for create IPv6 header; para. 119-122), a source IPv6 address is included in an IPv6 header of an outgoing packet (outer header creation description for instructions for IPv6 address; para. 119-122, replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein the packet is a Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway (PGW) uplink packet (packets being UL packets by Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway (PGW); para. 121 and para. 125-126).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions, when executed (processor executing program in memory; para. 255).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0147272 A1) hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the packet is a Serving Gateway (SGW) downlink packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu teaches wherein the packet is a Serving Gateway (SGW) downlink packet (for outer header creation, serving gateway (SGW) for data forwarding; para. 139-142).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhu to the system of Yang, where Yang’s forwarding for UP (para. 09 and para. 49 and para. 65) along with improved forwarding solution for UP (para. 07-08) improves efficiency of system resources.
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the packet is a Serving Gateway (SGW) uplink packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu teaches wherein the packet is a Serving Gateway (SGW) uplink packet (for outer header creation, SGW for uplink (UL) data forwarding; para. 139-142).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhu to the system of Yang, where Yang’s forwarding for UP (para. 09 and para. 49 and para. 65) along with improved forwarding solution for UP (para. 07-08) improves efficiency of system resources.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ORANGE et al. (S2-1903863) discloses proper naming of the reference point between two UPFs for direct routing.
Yang et al. (US 2022/0150166 A1) discloses methods and apparatuses for supporting a local area network (LAN).
Wu (US 2021/0127271 A1) discloses methods for support of user plane separation and user plane local offloading for 5G non-3Gpp access.
Martinez et al. (US 2022/0353336 A1) discloses functions and methods for handling pre-configured profiles for sets of detection and enforcement rules.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit
/MICHAEL THIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474