DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Petition for Revival filed 5/12/2026 is noted. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, and 12 (and corresponding dependent claims 4-5 and 10-11) have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2022/0377043 A1) hereinafter Yang in view of Wu (US 2021/0127271 A1, made of record as pertinent art in the OA of 5/24/2024) hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method for creating an outer header for an outgoing packet (create an outer header; para. 119), the outgoing packet based on an incoming packet received at a node (forwarding packets / network address translation (NAT); para. 08-09, node of embodiments; para. 162 and Fig. 14), comprising: receiving an outer header creation information element (IE) type at the node (user plane (UP) function instructed (receiving) Information Element (IE) create outer header for IP header modification; para. [72, 119]), including instructions to create an outer header for the outgoing packet (create outer header contains instruction to create outer header; para. 119); creating the outer header for the outgoing packet based on the outer header creation IE type (outer header creation description in form of bitmask, each bit indicates the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet; para. 120-121), wherein the outer header creation IE type instructs creation of the outer header including an Internet protocol (IP) header (create outer header instruction for IP address / IP header; para. [119-121, 133-134], UP function performs IP header modification; para. 79) having a source IP address (replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53); and sending, from the node, the outgoing packet including the newly created outer header (replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the outer header creation IE type encoded with at least one source IP address field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches the outer header creation IE type encoded with at least one source IP address field (outer header creation includes source address; para. 196).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wu to the system of Yang, where Yang’s network address translation (06-07) along with Wu’s user plane separation (para. 11-12) improves the system by protecting a private network having non-3GPP access from unlawful incursion.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein the outer header creation IE type instructs creation of the outer header including an Internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) header (outer header creation description for creating IPv4 header; para. 119-122) and a source IPv4 address (outer header creation description for instructions for IPv4 address; para. 119-122, replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein the outer header creation IE type instructs creation of the outer header including an Internet protocol version 6 (IPv6) header (outer header creation description for create IPv6 header; para. 119-122) and a source IPv6 address (outer header creation description for instructions for IPv6 address; para. 119-122, replacing original source IP address at IP header; para. 146, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein: an outer header creation description field of the outer header creation IE type includes a bitmask (outer header creation description in form of bitmask; para. 120-121) indicating fields present in the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet (each bit indicates the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet; para. 120-121); and creating the outer header for the outgoing packet based on the outer header creation IE type includes creating the outer header for the outgoing packet based on the bitmask (each bit indicates the outer header to be created in the outgoing packet; para. 120-121, modifying IP header of packets in transit across device; para. 53).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein the incoming packet is a downlink packet received at a Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway (PGW) or an uplink packet received at the PGW (packets being UL packets by Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway (PGW); para. 121 and para. 125-126, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
Yang further teaches wherein the node is a Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway (PGW) (packets being UL packets by PGW; para. 121 and para. 125-126).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions, when executed (processor executing program in memory; para. 255).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7, including system (system implementing embodiments; para. 41).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Wu, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0147272 A1) hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Yang and Wu discloses SGW, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the incoming packet is a downlink packet received at a Serving Gateway (SGW) or an uplink packet received at the SGW.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu teaches wherein the incoming packet is a downlink packet received at a Serving Gateway (SGW) (packet handling at serving gateway (SGW); para. 102, for outer header creation, SGW for downlink (DL) data forwarding; para. [112, 135-142], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or an uplink packet received at the SGW (packet handling at serving gateway (SGW); para. 102, for outer header creation, SGW for uplink (UL) data forwarding; para. 135-142).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhu to the modified system of Yang and Wu, where Yang and Wu’s modified system along with improved forwarding solution for UP (para. 07-08) improves efficiency of system resources.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Yang and Wu discloses SGW, the combination of Yang and Wu discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the node is a Serving Gateway (SGW).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhu teaches wherein the node is a Serving Gateway (SGW) (packet handling at SGW; para. 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhu to the modified system of Yang and Wu, where Yang and Wu’s modified system along with improved forwarding solution for UP (para. 07-08) improves efficiency of system resources.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muñoz de la Torre Alonso et al. (US 2023/0180311 A1) discloses session identifier handling for co-located user plane gateways.
Jain et al. (US 2018/0206275 A1) discloses a system and method to facilitate stateless serving gateway operations in a network environment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474