DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/19/2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The rejection of claims 2-9 and 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained and the cancellation of claims 1 and 10 has been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claims 17 and 18 (previously claims 1 and 10), applicant argues the combination of Shimizu and Tanaka does not teach/suggest a coating along the edge of an insulating tape wherein the coating does not contact the current collector and points to an embodiment of Tanaka showing a coating contacting a current collector.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the combination of Shimizu and Tanaka does not show the claimed coating, tape and electrode combination of claims 1 and 10. The primary reference, Shimizu, discloses the current collector coated in an active material onto which an insulating tape is applied (see previous rejection and Fig. 3 of Shimizu). As is well known in the art, this insulating tape is positioned, at least in part, to prevent short circuits (see last paragraph of column 5 in Shimizu). Tanaka teaches a coating to prevent delamination of short-circuit preventing tapes (and active material layers) by application of a coating at the edge of the material which tapers down to the adjacent flat surface. In the case of Shimizu, the tape is adjacent to a positive electrode material and the coating layer would naturally taper onto the positive electrode material. Tanaka shows in the reference embodiment the coating is fully compatible with positive electrode layers and in no way suggests current collector attachment is required. For at least these reasons the arguments are not persuasive and the basis of the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US6391488B1), and further in view of Tanaka (US20120058375A1).
Regarding claim 17, Shimizu discloses a secondary battery comprising a wound electrode body (i.e. electrode assembly, page 10 col. 1 lines 29-31), a long positive electrode sheet (i.e. cathode 12, see belt, Fig. 2, page 11 col. 1 lines 34-36), a positive electrode active material layer formed on a current collector (page 11 col. 1 lines 40-46), a long negative electrode sheet (i.e. anode 13, Fig. 2), a negative electrode active material (i.e. lithium sheet) on a negative electrode current collector (page11 col. 1 lines 50-52), a separator interposed between (14, page 11 col. 1 line 36) and a non-aqueous electrolyte (i.e. organic electrolyte, page 11 col. 1 lines 24-26).
Shimizu also discloses an insulating tape (i.e. insulating film 17, page 11 col. 1 lines 60-61) that covers an end portion of the positive electrode current collector together with an end portion of the positive electrode active material layer (page 11 col. 1 lines 65-67, Fig. 3, where cathode 12 represents both current collector and positive electrode active material); and
is directly attached to the end portion of the active material layer (see Fig. 3 with tape on surface of cathode which is the active material) but does not disclose a coating layer along the edge of the insulating tape or wherein the coating is provided only on the positive electrode active material layer along the edge of the insulating tape.
Tanaka teaches a coating (i.e. alumina-containing layer, Fig. 1, ¶[0030]) which decreases in thickness along the plane of the positive electrode. The coating is inactive to battery reactions in that it does not function as an active material (see instant specification definition ¶[0034]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized providing the coating of Tanaka at the edge of the insulating tape of Shimizu where the tape meets the active material and directly attached to the active material while also decreasing in thickness in the direction away from the tape would provide protection against delamination of the tape or active material layer due to droppage and vibration (¶[0013]).
The electrode to which the insulating tape and coating are attached is wound into a roll placing the end including both members into the inside of the electrode body (¶[0020] of Shimizu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have provided a coating to the tape and electrode structure of Shimizu to protect against damage due to dropping and vibration.
Modified Shimizu also teaches, wherein the tape edge of Shimizu faces the positive electrode active material (Fig. 3) and the coating of Tanaka is provided from the edge of the tape and tapers down only onto the positive electrode active material layer along the edge of the insulating tape.
Modified Shimizu further teaches wherein the tape edge of Shimizu faces the positive electrode active material (Fig. 3) and the coating of Tanaka is provided from the edge of the tape and tapers down only onto the positive electrode active material layer along the edge of the insulating tape.
Regarding claim 3, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 17 and Tanaka further teaches where the coating comprises inorganic filler (alumina, ¶[0032]) and resin binder (¶[0036]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 3 and Tanaka further teaches wherein the resin binder comprises polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 5, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 17 and Tanaka further teaches where the coating layer comprises a resin binder (¶[0036]).
Regarding claim 6, , modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 5 and Tanaka further teaches where the resin binder comprises polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 7, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 17 and Shimizu further discloses wherein the insulating tape comprises a base (i.e. aramid resin film), and an adhesive layer (i.e. silicone resin adhesive) provided on a surface of the base (page 11, col. 2 lines 31-35).
Shimizu also discloses the insulating tape has a first region that faces the positive electrode current collector and active material (Fig. 3 see 17a on top side of positive electrode 12) and a second region in the laminate direction on the bottom of the positive electrode (Fig. 3. See 17b on bottom surface of positive electrode 12) and the tape is attached by an adhesive layer (page 11, col. 1 lines 55-61).
Regarding clam 8, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 17, and Tanaka further teaches where the coating layer is designed to be smaller than the active material layer of the electrode (¶[0070] of Tanaka) and one with ordinary skill in the art would understand during construction of the battery, such as use of a working press, the layer would have a dimension less than the nearby layers such as a tape attached to the active material layer(¶[0070] of Tanaka).
Furthermore, changes in size or proportion does not render the claimed subject matter patentably distinct from the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05 IV. A. Here, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to select the width appropriate to be workable in the envisioned application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the thickness less than the thickness of the insulating tape and the width of 25-75 times the thickness.
Regarding clam 9, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 2, and Shimizu further teaches wherein the electrode sheet (cathode 12) is wound into a roll placing the end into the innermost part of the electrode body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Shimizu discloses a secondary battery comprising a wound electrode body (i.e. electrode assembly, page 10 col. 1 lines 29-31), a long positive electrode sheet (i.e. cathode 12, see belt Fig. 2, page 11 col. 1 lines 34-36), a positive electrode active material layer formed on a current collector (page 11 col. 1 lines 40-46), a long negative electrode sheet (i.e. anode 13, Fig. 2), a negative electrode active material (i.e. lithium sheet) on a negative electrode current collector (page11 col. 1 lines 50-52), a separator interposed between (14, page 11 col. 1 line 36) and a non-aqueous electrolyte (i.e. organic electrolyte, page 11 col. 1 lines 24-26).
Shimizu also discloses an insulating tape (i.e. insulating film 17, page 11 col. 1 lines 60-61) that covers an end portion of the positive electrode current collector together with an end portion of the positive electrode active material layer (page 11 col. 1 lines 65-67, Fig. 3, where cathode 12 represents both current collector and positive electrode active material), but does not disclose a coating layer along the edge of the insulating tape or wherein the coating is provided only on the positive electrode active material layer along the edge of the insulating tape.
Tanaka teaches a coating (i.e. alumina-containing layer, Fig. 1, ¶[0030]) which decreases in thickness along the plane of the positive electrode. The coating is inactive to battery reactions in that it does not function as an active material (see instant specification definition ¶[0034]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized providing the coating of Tanaka at the edge of the insulating tape of Shimizu where the tape meets the active material and directly attached to the active material while also decreasing in thickness in the direction away from the tape would provide protection against delamination of the tape or active material layer due to droppage and vibration (¶[0013]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided a coating to the tape and electrode structure of Shimizu to protect against damage due to dropping and vibration.
Tanaka further teaches where the coating layer is designed to be smaller than the active material layer of the electrode (¶[0070] of Tanaka) and one with ordinary skill in the art would understand during construction of the battery, such as use of a working press, the layer would have a dimension less than the nearby layers such as a tape attached to the active material layer(¶[0070] of Tanaka).
Furthermore, changes in size or proportion does not render the claimed subject matter patentably distinct from the prior art. M.P.E.P. § 2144.05 IV. A. Here, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to select the width appropriate to be workable in the envisioned application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the thickness less than the thickness of the insulating tape and the width of 25-75 times the thickness.
Regarding claim 12, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 18 and Tanaka further teaches where the coating inorganic filler (alumina, ¶[0032]) and resin binder (¶[0036]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 12 and Tanaka further teaches wherein the resin binder comprises polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 14, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 18 and Tanaka further teaches where the coating layer comprises a resin binder (¶[0036]).
Regarding claim 15, , modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 14 and Tanaka further teaches where the resin binder comprises polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF).
Regarding claim 16, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 18 and Shimizu further discloses wherein the insulating tape comprises a base (i.e. aramid resin film), and an adhesive layer (i.e. silicone resin adhesive) provided on a surface of the base (page 11, col. 2 lines 31-35).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (US6391488B1) in view of Tanaka (US20120058375A1) and further in view of Uematsu (US20190036095A1)
Regarding claim 2, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 17 and but does not disclose where the insulating tape and coating are provided on both ends of the positive electrode sheet.
Uematsu, related to secondary batteries, teaches an insulating tape (59) provided on both winding ends (third end surface and fourth end surface) of electrode 53 (Fig. 19, ¶[0095]) to protect against short-circuits caused by the cut end of the exposed electrode (¶[0095]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the tape and coating layer to both ends of the electrode of Shimizu would add protection to both ends of the electrode resulting in a reduced occurrence of short circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the tape and coating layer of modified Shimizu to both ends of the electrode of Shimizu to further protect against short circuits.
Regarding claim 11, modified Shimizu discloses a secondary battery according to claim 18 and but does not disclose where the insulating tape and coating are provided on both ends of the positive electrode sheet.
Uematsu, related to secondary batteries, teaches an insulating tape (59) provided on both winding ends (third end surface and fourth end surface) of electrode 53 (Fig. 19, ¶[0095]) to protect against short-circuits caused by the cut end of the exposed electrode (¶[0095]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the tape and coating layer to both ends of the electrode of Shimizu would add protection to both ends of the electrode resulting in a reduced occurrence of short circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the tape and coating layer of modified Shimizu to both ends of the electrode of Shimizu to further protect against short circuits.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726