DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments filed 7/28/2026 to claim 27 have been entered. Claims 1-26 and 29 are canceled. Claims 27, 28, and 31-33 remain pending and are being considered on their merits. No claims are withdrawn from consideration at this time. References not included with this Office action can be found in a prior action. Any rejections of record not particularly addressed below are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments and/or applicant’s comments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 28, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 2013/0202553; provided in the IDS dated 3/02/2022) in view of Garcia-Bosch et al. (Aliment Pharmacol Ther 2010; 32: 939–952) and Thin et al. (Inflamm Bowel Dis 2013;19:1490–1498)
Zheng teaches methods of mobilizing stem cells in a subject in-preparation for downstream stem cell transplantation, the method comprising administering an effective dosage of AMD3100 (Example 3 or 9; [0383]-[0385] for dosages), reading in-part on claim 27 and inherently reading on the functional property of claim 28, and reading in-part on claims 30 and 31. Zheng teaches that the dosing regimen would be expected to vary according to the dosage form, mode of administration, the condition being treated and particulars of the patient being treated. ([0383]), reading in-part on claims 30 and 31. Zheng teaches intravenous or subcutaneous administration ([0038]), reading on those embodiments of claim 32 and on claim 33.
Regarding claim 27, Zheng does not teach treating inflammatory bowel disease. Regarding claim 27, Zheng does not teach administering an effective dosage of 0.005 mg/kg of Tacrolimus.
Garcia-Bosch teaches that it was known to persons of ordinary skill in the art to treating inflammatory bowel disease by administering stem cells (Abstract).
Thin teaches methods of administering Tacrolimus to treat inflammatory bowel disease at a dosage of 0.1 mg/kg per day (Abstract), reading on claim 27. Thin teaches that inflammatory bowel diseases are lifelong conditions. (paragraph starting “The inflammatory bowel diseases…” on p1490), reading in-part on claim 27.
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to add the Tacrolimus of Thin to the methods of Zheng in view of Garcia-Bosch. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because Garcia-Bosch conceptually bridges the stem cell therapy methods of Zheng with the methods of treating inflammatory bowel syndrome of Thin, and because Thin teaches an effective dosage of Tacrolimus such as to treat symptoms of inflammatory bowel syndrome in subjects. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because combining separate steps taught as useful in a method into a singular method must be held as prima facie obvious, as each step is taught separately useful for the same purpose. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980); in this case, the stem cell transplantation method of Zheng in view of Garcia-Bosch and the Tacrolimus administration methods of Thin are taught as useful for the same purpose of treating inflammatory bowel disease in subjects and so their combination must be held prima facie obvious absent a showing of nonobviousness to the contrary.
Regarding the dosage range of claim 27 and the timing of dosages of claims 30 and 31, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation will generally not support patentability absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range to the contrary. See M.P.E.P. § 2144.05, particularly subsections II and III. In this case, Thin teaches a known dose of Tacrolimus which is results-effective to treat inflammatory bowel disease and Zheng teaches that the dosing regimen would be expected to vary according to the dosage form, mode of administration, the condition being treated and particulars of the patient being treated and so any timing of dosages must be held as prima facie obvious over the routine optimization of Thin and Zheng absent any showing to the contrary.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Double Patenting
Claim 27 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,420,751.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘751 patent is the narrower embodiment of instant claims 27 and 28, thus “anticipating” those claims with respect to double patenting.
Claim 27 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,291,657.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘657 patent is the narrower embodiment of instant claims 27 and 28, thus “anticipating” those claims with respect to double patenting.
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/768,644 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the copending ‘644 Application does not teach every element of instant claim 27 in a single claim, combining separate steps or elements taught as useful in a method into a singular method must be held as prima facie obvious, as each step is taught separately useful for the same purpose. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments on pages 4-5 of the reply have been fully considered, but not found persuasive of error because absent any showing of criticality of the dosage range to the contrary, that the prior teaches away in any material respect, the claimed dosage range was not recognized as “result-effective”, or a showing that the claimed dosage is disclosed in a very broad range in the prior art, said dosage must be held prima facie obvious, see M.P.E.P. § 2144.05 (III). Applicant’s argument that the claimed range is “non-routine” is not the proper standard for rebutting a prima facie case of routine optimization of known result-effective variables as set forth in the citation of the M.P.E.P. above.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, on page 5 of the reply, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because Applicant has not pointed out which elements of the rejection of record could only have been gleaned from the instant Application. Zheng, Garcia-Bosch, and Thin are all available as prior art over a year from the effective filing date of the instant Application and so the rationale to combine the references and render the claims prima facie obvious only relies on the prior art itself and the pertinent legal rationale for optimization. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion that that the examiner used “Applicant’s claims as a roadmap for the combination of AMD3100 with Tacrolimus”, no element in the obviousness rejection of record rely solely on any element of the instant Application.
Applicants arguments on page 5 of the reply have been fully considered, but the double patenting rejections will not be held in abeyance. The guidance given in M.P.E.P. § 804 subsection I, A & B, is clear that double patenting rejections should continue to be made by the examiner in the instant application as long as there are conflicting claims with an issued patent, unless the double patenting rejections are the only rejections remaining of record. Applicant may overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection in one of three ways: 1) Amending the claims in question so the claimed invention in the instant application and the conflicting patent are no longer obvious variants of each other as set forth above, 2) file a terminal disclaimer, or 3) persuasively argue why the instantly claimed invention is not obvious over the issued patent.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653