Status of Claims
Claims 1-5,9-12,14-15,17-18 and 20-26 are currently pending;
Claims 6-8, 13, 16, and 19 are cancelled;
Claims 1, 9, 17, and 18 are amended;
Claims 21-26 are new.
Status of the Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 05/23/2025
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 103 rejections of claims 1-5,9-12,14-15,17-18 and 20 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and replaced with new 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger et al. (DE-102012109447-A), hereinafter Dwenger, in view of Imai et al. (JP-H08186390-A), hereinafter Imai.
Regarding claim 17, Dwenger teaches a housing, comprising: a first housing part including a first plastic base body and a first metal layer arranged on the first base body, a first metal layer portion of the first metal layer disposed on a first connecting section of the first base body; a second housing part including a second plastic base body and a second metal layer arranged on the second base body, a second metal layer portion of the second metal layer disposed on a second connecting section of the second base body (fig. 1, [0107]; first housing component 10 and second housing component 12; [0109]-[0110] supporting wall 30 made of plastic; [0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage; [0124]; [0163] the second housing component 12 can also be made of plastic with a metal shield); the first connecting section and the second connecting section arranged on one another and detachably connecting the first housing part and the second housing part to one another (fig. 1; [0107] the mounting flanges 20, 22 of the first and second housing components rest on one another and then are pressed together through the connecting elements 24), such that the first housing part and the second housing part delimit an inner volume that is electromagnetically shielded via the first metal layer and the second metal layer; and wherein the first metal layer portion and the second metal layer portion contact each other along an extension of the first connecting section and the second connecting section such that the first metal layer and the second metal layer form a Faraday cage enclosing the inner volume ([0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage; fig. 1; [0119]-[0120]; [0124]; contact between two adjacent metals; [0124]; [0163] the second housing component 12 can also be made of plastic with a metal shield); wherein the first connecting section and/or the second connecting section includes i) a recessed region configured to accommodate the first metal layer portion and/or the second metal layer portion (fig. 26 shows a first recess that accommodates the first metal layer) and ii) a remaining region that is free of the first metal layer and/or the second metal layer (fig. 26 annotated below); and wherein the first metal layer portion and/or the second metal layer portion is arranged in the recessed region (fig. 26 annotated below).
Dwenger does not specify what the housing is for, and therefore fails to specify that the housing is for a battery, accommodating battery cells of a battery. However, it would have been obvious to use the housing that shields against electrical, magnetic, and electromagnetic stray fields (Dwenger [0001]) to accommodate battery cells of a battery. For example, Imai is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings. Imai teaches a battery case for an electric vehicle that shields from electromagnetic waves (Imai [0001]). This is necessary as the electromagnetic waves are radiated from the battery and can cause failure in other electric control systems (Imai [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the housing of Dwenger that includes an electromagnetic shielding element to house the cells of a battery.
Regarding claim 25, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Dwenger also teaches that the first connecting section and the second connecting section each include a respective recessed region and a respective remaining region; the first metal layer portion is arranged at least partially in the recessed region of the first connecting section; the second metal layer portion is arranged at least partially in the recessed region of the second connecting section and lies flush against the first metal layer portion; and the remaining region of the first connecting section lies flush against the remaining region of the second connecting section (see annotated fig. 26 below).
Claims 1-5, 9-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger et al. (DE-102012109447-A), hereinafter Dwenger, in view of Imai et al. (JP-H08186390-A), hereinafter Imai further in view of Huang et al. (US-20140111918-A1), hereinafter Huang
Regarding claim 1, Dwenger teaches a housing comprising: at least two housing parts delimiting an inner volume (fig. 1, [0107]; first housing component 10 and second housing component 12), each housing part of the at least two housing parts having a connecting section, the connecting sections of the at least two housing parts resting on one another; the at least two housing parts are connected to one another via the connecting sections (fig. 1; [0107] the mounting flanges 20, 22 of the first and second housing components rest on one another and then are pressed together through the connecting elements 24), each housing part of the at least two housing parts having a plastic base body ([0109]-[0110] supporting wall 30 made of plastic) and a metal layer disposed on the base body for electromagnetic shielding of the inner volume ([0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage; [0124]; [0163] the second housing component 12 can also be made of plastic with a metal shield), and the metal layer extends into the connecting section of the corresponding housing part such that the metal layers, in the connecting sections resting on one another, contact each other along an extension of the connecting sections (fig. 1; [0119]-[0120]; [0124]; contact between two adjacent metals).
Dwenger does not specify what the housing is for, and therefore fails to specify that the housing is for a battery, accommodating battery cells of a battery. However, it would have been obvious to use the housing that shields against electrical, magnetic, and electromagnetic stray fields (Dwenger [0001]) to accommodate battery cells of a battery. For example, Imai is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings. Imai teaches a battery case for an electric vehicle that shields from electromagnetic waves (Imai [0001]). This is necessary as the electromagnetic waves are radiated from the battery and can cause failure in other electric control systems (Imai [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the housing of Dwenger that includes an electromagnetic shielding element to house the cells of a battery.
Dwenger also does not teach that the metal layers are disposed on an outer side of the associated base body facing away from the inner volume and extend into the connecting section.
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of housings ([0007]). Huang teaches that that the metal layers are disposed on an outer side of the associated base body facing away from the inner volume and extend into the connecting section ([0007] fig. 1A shows that disposing the metal layer 14 on an outer side of the base body and wrapping it around into the connecting section is known in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dwenger such that the metal layers are disposed on an outer side of the associated base body facing away from the inner volume and extend into the connecting section. Doing so is known in the art the produce the predictable result of electromagnetic shielding (Huang [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that at least two of the metal layers in the connecting sections resting on one another rest on one another along the extension of the connecting sections (fig. 1; [0119]-[0120]; [0124]; contact between two adjacent metals).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that the metal layers contact each other such that the metal layers form a Faraday cage enclosing the inner volume ([0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that at least two of the metal layers contacting one another in the connecting sections resting on one another extend transversely to the extension of the connecting sections into a partial section of the respective corresponding connecting section such that the respective connecting section is free of the metal layer in a remaining section; and the base bodies contact each other in the remaining sections of the connecting sections along the extension of the connecting sections (figs. 7 and 26; there is a contact intermediate portion 104 including the metal shielding element and a contact portion 48 without the metal shielding element 32 at surface 72 wherein the two base bodies contact each other).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Dwenger also teaches that at least one of the connecting sections includes a sealing groove disposed in the remaining section, the sealing groove configured to accommodate a seal (fig. 7; [0138] a seal 110 provided in a groove 112 in the supporting wall 30).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that at least one of the connecting sections resting on one another is a recessed, in a direction away from the other connecting section and accommodates a portion of at least one of the metal layers therein (fig. 26 shows 2 “steps” that form recesses in the first and second connecting sections, and accommodates at least a portion of one of the metal layers; see annotated fig. 27 below)
Regarding claim 10, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that at least one of the at least two housing parts includes a peripheral flange that defines the connecting section (fig. 1; [0107] the mounting flanges 20, 22 of the first and second housing components are pressed together through the connecting elements 24).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and also teaches at least one battery cell accommodated in the inner volume, as shown with claim 1 above.
Claims 18, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai, as applied to claims 17 and 25 above, further in view of Huang et al. (US-20140111918-A1), hereinafter Huang
Regarding claim 18, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Dwenger fails to teach that the first metal layer is disposed on an exterior surface of the first base body and wraps at least partially around the first connecting section such that the first metal layer portion is disposed on a surface of the first connecting section facing the second housing part; and the second metal layer is disposed on an exterior surface of the second base body and wraps at least partially around the second connecting section such that the second metal layer portion is disposed on a surface of the second connecting section facing the first housing part.
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of housings ([0007]). Huang teaches that the metal layers are disposed on an outer side of the associated base body facing away from the inner volume and extend into the connecting section ([0007] fig. 1A shows that disposing the metal layer 14 on an outer side of the base body and wrapping it around into the connecting section is known in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that the metal layers are disposed on an outer side of the associated base body facing away from the inner volume and extend into the connecting section. Doing so is known in the art the produce the predictable result of electromagnetic shielding (Huang [0007]).
Regarding claim 24, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Dwenger fails to teach that a depth of the recessed region corresponds to a thickness of the first metal layer portion and/or the second metal layer portion such that the first connecting section and the first metal layer portion lie flush against the second connecting section and the second metal layer portion.
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of housings ([0007]). Huang teaches that a depth of the recessed region corresponds to a thickness of the first metal layer portion and/or the second metal layer portion such that the first connecting section and the first metal layer portion lie flush against the second connecting section and the second metal layer portion (fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that a depth of the recessed region corresponds to a thickness of the first metal layer portion and/or the second metal layer portion such that the first connecting section and the first metal layer portion lie flush against the second connecting section and the second metal layer portion. Doing so is known in the art the produce the predictable result of electromagnetic shielding (Huang [0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 25. Modified Dwenger fails to explicitly teach that the recessed region of the first connecting section has a first depth corresponding to a first thickness of the first metal layer portion; and the recessed region of the second connecting section has a second depth corresponding to a second thickness of the second metal layer portion.
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of housings ([0007]). Huang teaches that a recessed region has a depth corresponding to a thickness of a metal layer portion (fig. 1B, the depth of the recess roughly corresponds to the thickness of the combined components of 13, 14, and 15, interpreted as the metal layer).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that the recessed region of the first connecting section has a first depth corresponding to a first thickness of the first metal layer portion; and the recessed region of the second connecting section has a second depth corresponding to a second thickness of the second metal layer portion as a way to ensure good electrical contact (Huang [0007]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Browning et al. (US-20210376405-A1), hereinafter Browning.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger teaches that at least one of the at least two housing parts has a base which is disposed spaced apart from the connecting section and delimits the inner volume (as seen in fig. 1, first housing component 10 has a wall away from the flange that helps delimit the inner volume 40).
Dwenger fails to teach that on a side facing away from the base, a flame-retardant fiber mat is arranged between the base and the metal layer. However, flame-retardant mats are commonly used in battery modules on a side facing away from the base, a flame-retardant fiber mat is arranged between the base and the metal layer.
For example. Browning is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0006]). Browning teaches teach that on a side facing away from the base, a flame-retardant fiber mat is arranged between the base and the metal layer (fig. 6; [0036]; flame retardant fiber mat 440 is between a metal layer 430 ([0023];[0040]) and a base 450 [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that on a side facing away from the base, a flame-retardant fiber mat is arranged between the base and the metal layer. Doing so may prevent or slow heat from flowing from a failing cell of module to an adjacent cell or module (Browning [0020]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hiroki et al. (US-20150111088-A1), hereinafter Hiroki.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that at least one of the metal layers is perforated, not embossed (Dwenger [0114]). However, embossing is well known in the art.
For example, Hiroki is analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings. Hiroki teaches a flexible sheet comprising a stacked metal film and adhesive layer such as polypropylene ([0079]).The film 11 serves as an exterior body for the battery and is embossed with a pattern including unevenness ([0100]; figs. 2D-2E) The addition of embossing relieves stress applied when the battery is bent, preventing battery damage and improving long-term reliability ([0100]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have embossed the metal layer of Dwenger rather than perforate it. Doing so would relieve stress and improve long-term reliability (Hiroki [0100]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and Huang, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Schmidt et al. (US-20160218328-A1), hereinafter Schmidt.
Regarding claim 14, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Dwenger also teaches that the plastic base bodies are produced by primary forming processes, particularly injection molding, not casting, into the associated metal layer (Dwenger [0001]). However, casting is well known in the art. For example, Schmidt teaches casting of plastic (Schmidt [0034] the casting compound is formed by a plastic, which fills the cavities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have cast the plastic base body of Dwenger into the associated metal layer instead of using injection molding to achieve the same structure.
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and further in view of Ju et al. (US-20230268599-A1), hereinafter Ju.
Regarding claim 20, Dwenger teaches a housing, comprising: a first housing part including a first plastic base body and a first metal layer arranged on the first base body, a first metal layer portion of the first metal layer disposed on a first connecting section of the first base body; a second housing part including a second plastic base body and a second metal layer arranged on the second base body, a second metal layer portion of the second metal layer disposed on a second connecting section of the second base body; the second housing part arranged on the first housing part such that the second housing part and the first housing part define a respective inner volume that is electromagnetically shielded via the first metal layer and the respective second metal layer(fig. 1, [0107]; first housing component 10 and second housing component 12; [0109]-[0110] supporting wall 30 made of plastic; [0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage); the second housing part detachably connected to the first housing part via the respective second connecting section and the first connecting section(fig. 1; [0107] the mounting flanges 20, 22 of the first and second housing components rest on one another and then are pressed together through the connecting elements 24); wherein the second metal layer portion of each of the second housing part contacts the first metal layer portion to form a Faraday cage enclosing the respective inner volume([0114] metal sheets maintain its intended shielding effect similar to a Faraday cage; fig. 1; [0119]-[0120]; [0124]; contact between two adjacent metals).
Dwenger does not specify what the housing is for, and therefore fails to specify that the housing is for a battery, accommodating battery cells of a battery. However, it would have been obvious to use the housing that shields against electrical, magnetic, and electromagnetic stray fields (Dwenger [0001]) to accommodate battery cells of a battery. For example, Imai is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings (Imai [0001]). Imai teaches a battery case for an electric vehicle that shields from electromagnetic waves (Imai [0001]). This is necessary as the electromagnetic waves are radiated from the battery and can cause failure in other electric control systems (Imai [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the housing of Dwenger that includes an electromagnetic shielding element to house the cells of a battery.
Dwenger fails to teach that there is a plurality of second housing parts, all connecting to the first housing part in the manner specified above.
Ju is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings ([0010]). Ju teaches that there is a plurality of second housing parts, all connecting to the first housing part in the manner specified above (fig. 2; plurality of second housing parts 300/330 all connected to a first housing part 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that there is a plurality of second housing parts, all connecting to the first housing part in the manner specified above. Doing so allows for the accommodation of multiple battery modules, and allows for a reduction in the weight of the battery pack (Ju [0069]).
Regarding claim 22, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 20. Modified Dwenger also teaches that the first base body of the first housing part includes at least one common connecting section via which the first housing part is connected to several second housing parts of the plurality of second housing parts; and the common connecting section is disposed on and connected to a portion of the second connecting section of each of the several second housing parts (Ju figs. 2-3 500).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and Ju, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 21, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 20. Dwenger also teaches the second base body of each of the plurality of second housing parts has an end face extending transversely to the respective second metal layer portion and facing an adjacent second housing part of the plurality of second housing parts;
Dwenger fails to teach that the second metal layer of each of the plurality of second housing parts further includes a second metal layer end face portion at least partially covering the respective end face and contacting the second metal layer end face portion of an adjacent second housing part of the plurality of second housing parts.
Huang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of housings ([0007]). Huang teaches the second metal layer of each of the plurality of second housing parts further includes a second metal layer end face portion at least partially covering the respective end face and contacting the second metal layer end face portion of an adjacent second housing part of the plurality of second housing parts
([0007] fig. 1A shows that disposing the metal layer 14 on an outer side of the base body and wrapping it around into the connecting section is known in the art, therefore creating an end face portion that would contact adjacent housing parts in Modified Dwenger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that the second metal layer of each of the plurality of second housing parts further includes a second metal layer end face portion at least partially covering the respective end face and contacting the second metal layer end face portion of an adjacent second housing part of the plurality of second housing parts. Doing so is known in the art to produce the predictable result of electromagnetic shielding (Huang [0007]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwenger in view of Imai and Ju, as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US-20210384569-A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 23, Modified Dwenger teaches all of the limitations of claim 22. Modified Dwenger fails to specify that wherein the common connecting section of the first housing part is free of the first metal layer (Ju fig. 3 500 includes mounting bolt 530 (inherently free of the metal layer) and pressing bar 510; the material of pressing bar 510 is not specified).
Lee is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery housings. Lee teaches that wherein the common connecting section of the first housing part is free of the first metal layer ([0120] holder block 120 can be formed of plastic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Dwenger such that the common connecting section of the first housing part is free of the first metal layer by specifying the material of the pressing bar to be plastic. Doing so produces the predictable result of securing durability when the unit battery cells are inserted (Lee [0120]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/22/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 1-5,9-12,14-15,17-18 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of claims 1-5,9-12,14-15,17-18 and 20 has been withdrawn and replaced with new 103 rejections above.
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722