DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 11/6/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-29 and 31-42 are pending in this application. Claims 25-29, 31-36 and 41-42 are drawn to a non-elected group and are withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 5-14, 17-24, and 37-40 are currently under examination and the subject matter of the present Office Action.
Rejection(s) not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections presently being applied to the instant application.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicant’s remarks/amendments, filed 11/6/2025, with respect to the previous claim objections of claims 5, 8, 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous claim objections of claims 5, 8, 17 have been withdrawn due to the claim amendments.
Applicant’s remarks/amendments, filed 11/6/2025, with respect to the previous 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 112(a) rejection has been withdrawn due to claim amendments.
New/Maintained Claim Objection(s) / Rejection(s)
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 3, the recitation “and” after component a should recite “and/or” because in line 2, the claim recites “one or more of:” which suggests that the at least one component can be either “a” or “b” or both “a” and “b”. Thus, the conjunction “and” should be changed to “and/or”.
Claim 14 in line 2 recite “one or more of at least one releasable drug”. The language used in this limitation appears redundant because it recites “one or more of” followed by “at least one”. The examiner recommends amending claim 14 in a similar manner to claim 2 as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 13-14, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manaspon et al. (Annals of Biomedical Engineering, Vol. 45, No. 12, December 2017 (2017) pp. 2879–2887), hereinafter Manaspon, in view of Fabiilli et al. (Acta Biomater. 2013 July. 9(7): 7399-7409), hereinafter Fabiilli, and Suntornnond et al. (US 2020/0009298 A1), hereinafter Suntornnond.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Manaspon reports the use of low frequency, high intensity ultrasound to promote the spatial penetration of drug molecules away from the implant/injection site boundary upon release from injectable, phase inverting poly(lactic acid-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) implants (Abstract). Manaspon teaches the preparation of the implants with the polymer solution in PBS placed at 37 °C and 80 rpm, and ultrasound at 2.2 W/cm2 applied daily, and the fluorescein released determined quantitatively (p. 2880, R. Col., bottom paragraph).
Manaspon described how an ultrasound unit (Omnisound 3000, Accelerated Care Plus Corp., Reno, NV) equipped with two collimating transducers was used to expose ultrasound wave to samples. 3 h after the implant was injected into the phantom, ultrasound was applied at either 0.7 or 2.2 W/cm2 intensity for 10 min, which reads on the d) claim feature in Claims 5 and 17 (p. 2880, R. Col., top paragraph).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Manaspon does not expressly teach the releasable additional component to be a drug. However, fluorescein was used as a mock drug (p. 2886, L. Col., 1st paragraph). Manaspon contemplates that coupled with increased local drug release, the acoustic radiation force interacting with the PLGA implants could result in increased drug release and penetration (p. 2886, conclusion paragraph)
Manaspon is silent on the cells in the acoustic-sensitive material. Fabiilli cures the deficiency of Manaspon. Fabiilli relays the use of biodegradable porous scaffolds in regenerative medicine as an adhesive substrate for the attachment of cells and/or the encapsulation of inductive proteins, e.g. growth factors, with applications in tissue regeneration etc. (Introduction, 1st paragraph; Discussion, 1st paragraph). Fabiilli teaches that non-invasive control of protein release from an implanted scaffold could improve the efficacy and safety of growth factor-based therapies, and how stimuli such as pH, proteases, electricity, light etc. is used to release the therapeutic agents. However, these external systems are unable to focus the triggering stimulus or interact with deep tissue implants (Introduction, 2nd paragraph). Fabiilli teaches that while most modifications to scaffold architecture are done prior to cell seeding and scaffold implantation, ultrasound is an externally applied stimulus capable of inducing “on-demand” release of growth factors and scaffold architecture modification. Fabiilli discloses the fabrication of fibrin gels and droplet-hydrogel composites using bovine fibrinogen (p. 4, Section 2.2). A calibrated single-element transducer was used to generate acoustic drop vaporization (ADV) within the gels; the scaffolds were exposed to ultrasound with the transducer moved to expose the entirety of each gel to ultrasound until vaporization was complete (p. 4, Section 2.3). The ultrastructural features of the fibrin scaffold were captured by imaging the fluorescence of AF647-tagged fibrinogen excited at 647 nm (p. 4, Section 2.3). After exposure, the hydrogel thickness, stiffness and viscoelastic properties were determined (p. 5, Section 2.5). Fabiilli teaches that ADV increased the stiffness of acoustic droplet–hydrogel composites; the complex shear modulus increased several fold following exposure to ultrasound (p. 10, 2nd paragraph). Fabiilli also teaches co-encapsulation of cells in the droplet-hydrogel composites, and cell-gel constructs were exposed to ultrasound treatment (p. 5, Section 2.7). Fabiilli contemplates that ADV-induced changes in hydrogel mechanical properties may have utility in directing the behavior of cells entrapped within, or migrating into, the composite materials, (p. 10, 2nd paragraph). Fabiilli also teaches that ultrasound in the range of 1-10 MHz can enhance the release of protein-based therapeutic (p. 9, 1st paragraph). Fabiilli concludes that its ADV hydrogel composite can function as drug delivery vehicle as well as modifier of scaffold architecture, and that encapsulated cells maintain viability (Conclusion).
Manaspon and Fabiilli are silent on the printing of the implant and the acoustic sensitive material comprising functional acrylate, diacrylate or methacrylate groups.
Suntornnond discloses a hydrogel composite comprising a Pluronic monocarboxylate poloxamer and a gelatin methacrylate peptide comprising crosslinkable moieties (Abstract; Claims 14 and 22). Suntornnond also teaches a bioshaping method using the hydrogel composite and a 3D network obtained by the method (Abstract). Suntornnond teaches that this 3D crosslinked network is implanted into a mammal’s body (Claim 46).
Suntornnond teaches bioprinting as a precision technology integrating living materials, motion control, computer- aided design (CAD) software and biomaterials with the aim to provide 3D tissue or organs for implantation, tissue models for drug-testing and cell-material interaction study [0005]. By using a 3D bioprinter, Suntornnond envisions that custom organs with patients' own cells would be used without immunologicalized issue.
Figs. 12A and 12D of Suntornnond shows the design of the tissue scaffold, the generation of support structure, creation of code files and models, and the printing process [0044]-[0047]. The hydrogel composite is shapeable at human body temperature, and able to support both cell proliferation and cell differentiation [0090]. Suntornnond understands the limitation of poloxamers, e.g. poor mechanical strength, coupled with their propensity to dissolve in aqueous environments, to be used as long - term structural support within a tissue scaffold [0095]. Suntornnond teaches modifying the poloxamer, which allows for an improved hydrogel composite, providing the advantages of the poloxamer described above while obliterating the shortcomings.
Suntornnond expressly teaches the synthesis of Pluronic-GelMA composite which utilizes modified Pluronic 127 and gelatin methacrylate to create the hydrogel composite for casting or printing (Examples 1-2). The printability of Plu-GelMA is dependent on Pluronic contents, i.e. the more Pluronic, the better the printability (Figs. 13A-13C; [00180]). This is because Pluronic is packed in micelles, which is easily flowable and structurally stable at a wide range of temperatures. Suntornnond teaches a Plu-GelMA with 2:1 ratio as model material for printing 3D. CAD was used for printing the vasculature-like structure (Example 4). Suntornnond teaches that printing may be performed as a single printing step where a three dimensional object may be obtained [0157].
L929 cells were seeded on the Plu-GelMA hydrogel composite, and Suntornnond shows that cells were able to attach and stay in the hydrogel (Example 7, Fig. 33). Plu – GelMA 2 : 1 achieved the highest cell number compared to other ratios; The L929 cells were able to attach onto the hydrogel composites and able to pack together when the cell hydrogel composite provides a good platform for cell attachment and proliferation [0181]. As such, Suntornnond teaches Pluronic - GelMA as the model material while Pluronic F127 is support material; with the Pluronic support material removed by using cold water [0180]-[0183].
Finding of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
Both Fabiilli and Manaspon teach implants comprising polymer material that are responsive to ultrasound. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Fabiilli and Manaspon and incorporate a plurality of cells to the implant of Manaspon as Fabiilli has taught that the implant scaffolds are useful for regenerative medicine, wherein the cells are attached or encapsulated in the scaffold to regenerate tissue. One would also modify the fluorescein mock drug of Manaspon, and replace it with a therapeutic, e.g. protein therapeutic taught by Fabiilli, which can be controlled in its release for improved efficacy and safety. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to improve upon the teachings of Manaspon, adding a plurality of cells for regeneration, and also substituting the polymer with that of Fabiilli to obtain additional implants with different composite materials. Therefore, the claimed invention of the instant application would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. The known work in the field would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The teachings of Suntornnond is compatible with Manaspon. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the references, and design a scaffold, prepare a model using CAD, and print the implant using Pluronic - GelMA as the model material while Pluronic F127 is support material per the teaching of Suntornnond to create a composite that is shapeable at human body temperature, and able to support both cell proliferation and cell differentiation, while overcoming the shortcomings of other poloxamer composites. One skilled in the art would have substituted the PLGA of Manaspon with the methacrylate-containing peptide of Suntornnond arriving at the instant claims with functional acrylate or diacrylate or methacrylate groups. One would have been motivated to do so because Suntornnond teaches Pluronic-GelMA which is suitable for bioprinting which is efficient and creates materials that are structurally stable at a wide range of temperatures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The known work in the field of implants would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also use the implant bioprinting technique taught by Suntornnond in the method of Manaspon and Fabiilli, as bioprinting is a precision technology, which could offer the use of patients’ own cell in creating 3D tissue or organs for implantation.
With respect to the instantly claimed limitation wherein said acoustic sensitive material hardens when exposed to ultrasound emissions, and the functional acrylate, diacrylate or methacrylate groups enable for acoustic sensitive material to harden, as discussed supra, the combination of Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond teach an acoustic sensitive material with functional methacrylate group. Therefore, the composition comprising acoustic sensitive material with functional methacrylate group would necessarily harden when exposed to ultrasound emission. Because the prior art composition is the same as the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed in Claims 1 and 13. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594).
Therefore, the claimed invention of the instant application would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention. The known work in the field would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 10-12 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manaspon et al. (Annals of Biomedical Engineering, Vol. 45, No. 12, December 2017 (2017) pp. 2879–2887), in view of Fabiilli et al. (Acta Biomater. 2013 July. 9(7): 7399-7409), and Suntornnond et al. (US 2020/0009298 A1) as applied to Claim 1-2, 5-9, 13-14, 17-21 above, and in view of Bao et al. (Biomacromolecules 14.6 (2013): 1971-1979.), hereinafter Bao, and Schillemans et al. (Macromolecules 2006, 39, 5885-5890), hereinafter Schillemans.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond have been set forth supra.
Manaspon teaches that different carriers and strategies capitalize on the mechanical forces of ultrasound for drug delivery to tumors including drug loaded nanoparticles or liposomes (p. 2885, L. Col., 1st paragraph). Manaspon teaches that ultrasound had been used to control release of insulin from a gel-like network system consisting of alginate-coated nanoparticles and chitosan coated nanoparticles (p. 2880, L. Col., 2nd paragraph).
Fabiilli also teaches that liposome-microbubble-hydrogel composites treated with low frequency (20 kHz) ultrasound release a model payload from the liposome and afford impressive control of release kinetics (p. 9, 1st paragraph).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
The above cited references are silent on the solution of prepolymer and crosslinker-loaded microcapsules.
Bao describes the ultrasound-modulated shape memory and payload release effects in a biodegradable cylindrical rod made of chitosan-functionalized PLGA microspheres (Title). Bao recognizes that minimally invasive implants and/or scaffold integrated with multiple functionalities are of interest in the clinical settings, and teaches the preparation of chitosan (CTS) functionalized poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) microspheres containing lysozyme (Lyz) payload by sintering the composite microspheres in a mold; High-intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) was used to enable shape memory effect and release the encapsulated Lyz (Abstract). Bao teaches manipulation of the acoustic power and insonation duration. Bao teaches CTS anchored to the microsphere surface by adsorption forming physical cross-linking between CTS and PLGA macromolecular chains.
Schillemans teaches the synthesis of bilayer-coated nanogels by crosslinking acrylamide (AA) and bisacrylamide (BA) monomers inside liposomes, stating that their convenient and versatile method of nanogel synthesis allow incorporation of membrane proteins in the bilayer and the use of monomers that readily pass the lipid membrane (Abstract). Schillemans cites an alternative, less commonly used approach for hydrogel particle synthesis, comprising the used of the internal compartment of lipid vesicles (liposomes) for the preparation of hydrogel particles, which allows good control over particle size and size distribution, and is compatible with biological macromolecules (p. 5885, L. Col.). Schillemans relays that liposomes formed in AA/BA solution contain monomer both in the inner compartment and in the outer liquid, and that in order to produce nanoparticles within the liposomal reactor, it is important to restrict the hydrogel formation of the monomers to the inner compartment of the liposomes by (1) dilution of the monomers to a concentration too low for hydrogel formation and more preferably, by (2) inhibition of free radical polymerization to prevent leaking of the monomer and the cross-linker out of the liposomes (p. 5887, R. Col., last paragraph).
Finding of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
Manaspon comprehends that there are different strategies to capitalize on the mechanical forces of ultrasound for drug delivery, and contemplate drug loaded nanoparticles or liposomes. Fabiilli has also taught release a model payload from the liposome by low frequency (20 kHz) ultrasound. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bao and create a composite that has ultrasound-modulated shape memory and payload release effects comprising microsphere to release the cargo by ultrasound. This is a situation where elements of references are combined in a predictable manner so that the elements retain their function. As such, the artisan would enjoy a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Note: MPEP 2141 KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Schillemans and create the microsphere, which the Examiner interprets to be the same as microcapsules, by crosslinking monomers inside liposomes which allows good control over particle size and size distribution, wherein there are monomers in solution externally and internally together with the crosslinker. Hence, one with ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique taught by Schillemans and apply it to the teachings of Manaspon, Fabiilli and Bao, to obtain an acoustic sensitive material comprising the monomer (prepolymer) and crosslinker inside the liposome, which would be released to start the polymerization process upon exposure to ultrasound. Applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results is the rationale supporting obviousness. See MPEP § 2143 and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
From the combined teaching of the cited references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manaspon et al. (Annals of Biomedical Engineering, Vol. 45, No. 12, December 2017 (2017) pp. 2879–2887), in view of Fabiilli et al. (Acta Biomater. 2013 July. 9(7): 7399-7409), and Suntornnond et al. (US 2020/0009298 A1) as applied to Claim 1-2, 5-9, 13-14, 17-21 above, and in view of Lang et al. (US 7799077 B2), hereinafter Lang, and Lipsa et al. (Revue Roumaine de Chimie, 2008, 53(5), 405–413), hereinafter Lipsa.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond have been set forth supra.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond do not teach the combination of functional acrylate, diacrylate or methacrylate groups with the other components recited in Claims 37-40.
Lang discloses an invention directed to orthopedic implants and systems; relating to methods of implant design, manufacture, modeling and implantation as well as to surgical tools and kits (Abstract). Lang teaches that its repair systems and prosthesis can comprise a polymeric material or liquid metal; the polymeric material can be attached to a metal or metal alloy. The polymeric material can be injected and be self-hardening, or harden when exposed to a chemical, energy beam, light source, ultrasound and others (Col. 7, lines 43-49). Suitable synthetic polymers include, polyacrylates, vinyl polymers, polymethyl methacrylates etc.; Bioresorbable synthetic polymers can also be used including polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polylactic acid etc. and similar copolymers (Col. 33, lines 30-44). Lang teaches that more than one polymer can be used in combination with each other (Col. 33, lines 56-58).
Lipsa supports Lang in teaching PVA/PLA polymer blends. Lipsa relates that biodegradable materials are used and studied in an increasingly number of applications inclusive of biomedical applications such as in implants, citing how poly(lactic acid), poly(caprolactone) (PCL) and poly(glycolic acid) (PGA) are biodegradable (p. 405, Introduction, 1st paragraph). Lipsa teaches how PVA is of great interest for being biodegradable, biocompatible and non-toxic, and being useful for graft and crosslinking reactions, as well as modification to obtain materials having new properties (p. 405, Introduction, 2nd paragraph). Furthermore, PVA blends with other polymers such as poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(acrylic acid) etc. (p. 405, Introduction, 3rd paragraph). Meanwhile, PLA is attracting much attention for its excellent mechanical properties and for being non-toxic to the human body (p. 405, Introduction, 4th paragraph).
Finding of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lang with that of Manaspon, and replace the PLGA of the implant of Manaspon with PVA or PVA/PLA blend per the teaching of Lang and Lipsa, and/or add polylactic acid to the composition comprising acrylate in the implant taught by Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond because Lang has taught the use of copolymers, and the advantages of PVA and PLA. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The known work in the field of implants would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
From the combined teaching of the cited references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argued that no text in Fabiilli discloses polymerization, covalent bond formation, or any reaction of acrylate, diacrylate, or methacrylate groups. Applicant argued that Manaspon also does not disclose polymerization or hardening.
In response, it appears this argument by applicant is related to the claimed limitation wherein said acoustic-sensitive material hardens when exposed to ultrasound emissions because the claims do not expressly recite or require polymerization or covalent bond formation. With respect to the instantly claimed limitation wherein said acoustic sensitive material hardens when exposed to ultrasound emissions, and the functional acrylate, diacrylate or methacrylate groups enable for acoustic sensitive material to harden, as discussed supra, the combination of Manaspon, Fabiilli and Suntornnond teach an acoustic sensitive material with functional methacrylate group. Therefore, the composition comprising acoustic sensitive material with functional methacrylate group would necessarily harden when exposed to ultrasound emission. Because the prior art composition is the same as the composition claimed, the composition must necessarily have the characteristics claimed in Claims 1 and 13. It is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594).
Applicant argued that no sentence in the Suntornnond mentions "ultrasound," "ultrasonic," "acoustic," or "cavitation." The process is light-initiated photopolymerization conducted ex situ during printing.
In response, as discussed supra, Suntornnond is utilized because Manaspon and Fabiilli are silent on the printing of the implant and the acoustic sensitive material comprising functional acrylate, diacrylate or methacrylate groups. It would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Suntornnond and design a scaffold, prepare a model using CAD, and print the implant using Pluronic - GelMA as the model material while Pluronic F127 is support material per the teaching of Suntornnond to create a composite that is shapeable at human body temperature, and able to support both cell proliferation and cell differentiation, while overcoming the shortcomings of other poloxamer composites. One skilled in the art would have substituted the PLGA of Manaspon with the methacrylate-containing peptide of Suntornnond arriving at the instant claims with functional acrylate or diacrylate or methacrylate groups. One would have been motivated to do so because Suntornnond teaches Pluronic-GelMA which is suitable for bioprinting which is efficient and creates materials that are structurally stable at a wide range of temperatures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The known work in the field of implants would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to also use the implant bioprinting technique taught by Suntornnond in the method of Manaspon and Fabiilli, as bioprinting is a precision technology, which could offer the use of patients’ own cell in creating 3D tissue or organs for implantation.
Applicant argue that each of the cited references (Fabiilli, Manaspon and Suntornnond) operate in a different physical and chemical regime and there is no suggestion to combine the references. (page 13 of remarks filed 11/6/2025).
In response, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
As discussed in 103 rejection above, both Fabiilli and Manaspon teach implants comprising polymer material that are responsive to ultrasound and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fabiilli and Manaspon and incorporate a plurality of cells to the implant of Manaspon as Fabiilli has taught that the implant scaffolds are useful for regenerative medicine, wherein the cells are attached or encapsulated in the scaffold to regenerate tissue. One would also modify the fluorescein mock drug of Manaspon, and replace it with a therapeutic, e.g. protein therapeutic taught by Fabiilli, which can be controlled in its release for improved efficacy and safety. It would have been obvious to improve upon the teachings of Manaspon, adding a plurality of cells for regeneration, and also substituting the polymer with that of Fabiilli to obtain additional implants with different composite materials.
Further, as discussed in the examiner’s response above, one skilled in the art would have substituted the PLGA of Manaspon with the methacrylate-containing peptide of Suntornnond arriving at the instant claims with functional acrylate or diacrylate or methacrylate groups because Suntornnond teaches Pluronic-GelMA which is suitable for bioprinting which is efficient and creates materials that are structurally stable at a wide range of temperatures. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The known work in the field of implants would have prompted variations of it for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces where the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to also use the implant bioprinting technique taught by Suntornnond in the method of Manaspon and Fabiilli, as bioprinting is a precision technology, which could offer the use of patients’ own cell in creating 3D tissue or organs for implantation.
Thus, Applicant’s argument that each of the cited references (Fabiilli, Manaspon and Suntornnond) operate in a different physical and chemical regime and there is no suggestion to combine the references is not found persuasive.
Applicant also argued that Fabiilli discloses “No temperature increases were observed… ADV did not reduce the viability of cells suspended in composite scaffolds” (abstract). It was argued that this statement confirms that Fabiilli intentionally avoids the high energy conditions that would be required for radical polymerization and thus warns against destructive ultrasound exposure.
In response, firstly it is unclear to the examiner as to how the phrase above in Fabiilli teaches away from ultrasound exposure. In particular, Fabiilli teaches the scaffolds were exposed to ultrasound with the transducer moved to expose the entirety of each gel to ultrasound (pg. 4, section 2.3). Thus, applicant’s argument that Fabiilli warns against destructive ultrasound exposure is not persuasive. Moreover, as discussed supra, Fabiilli is utilized because while Manaspon discloses a releasable mock drug (e.g., fluorescein), Fabiilli does not teach a plurality of cells within said acoustic-sensitive material. As mentioned above, both Fabiilli and Manaspon teach implants comprising polymer material that are responsive to ultrasound and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fabiilli and Manaspon and incorporate a plurality of cells to the implant of Manaspon as Fabiilli has taught that the implant scaffolds are useful for regenerative medicine, wherein the cells are attached or encapsulated in the scaffold to regenerate tissue.
Applicant argued that there is a lack of motivation and reasonable expectation of success and the office action provides none. (page 14 of remarks filed 11/6/2025).
The examiner respectfully draws applicant’s attention to the examiner’s arguments above and the 103 rejections in which these arguments by the applicant have been addressed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616