DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 26, 2025.
Claims 1, 7, 10, 13 and 15 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 4 – 6 have been canceled.
Claims 1 – 3 and 7 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed November 26, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Thomas as set forth in the office action filed September 29, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 3 and 7 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 14, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibe (US20170294596A1) in view of Thomas (Thomas, K. R. Justin et al. “Efficient Red-Emitting Cyclometalated Iridium (III) Complexes Containing Lepidine-Based Ligands.” Inorganic Chemistry. 44 (2005): 5677 – 5685., cited in the IDS filed August 11, 2022 and provided by Applicant) and Choi (US20190326527A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, and 7 – 14, Ishibe teaches:
An organometallic compound, represented by Formula 1
, wherein Ln1 is represented by Formula 1B-2
and Ln2 is a ligand represented by Formula 2-1 or Formula 2-2
(Ishibe teaches organometallic compounds with a ligand represented by Formula 1A
([0008]), wherein n is selected from 1, 2 or 3 and m is selected from 0, 1, 2, 3, and 4 ([0017 – 0019]). A particular compound Ishibe teaches is compound 9
, which differs from the claimed compound in that the ligand of compound 9 contains a benzene ring instead of the claimed phenanthrene ring. However, Ishibe teaches that A11 may be a phenanthrene ring ([0044]). Furthermore, Thomas teaches that Ir (III) ligands with phenathrenyl groups are red-shifted as compared to benzene rings (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify compound 9 of Ishibe to replace the benzene ring with a phenanthrene ring motivated by the desire to predictably produce a red-shift in the compound as taught by Thomas (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph) and because Ishibe teaches that a phenanthrene group is predictably suitable group for that position ([0055]). Ishibe teaches that ligand L11 may be represented by Formulae selected from
and 3-6
([0104]), although Ishibe does not teach any specific ligand within these formula. Choi teaches similar organometallic Ir based compounds and teaches that ancillary ligands may include
and
([0131]). In Example compounds, such as compound 1
([0141]), Choi teaches that the Z11 and Z13 groups are selected from methyl groups, and the Z12 group is a hydrogen group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify compound 9 of Ishibe to include one or two ligands of the claimed Formula 2-1 or 2-2 because Ishibe teaches that ligands of those Formula are predictably suitable for use in the organometallic compounds of Ishibe and Choi teaches specific ligands within those Formula that were known as suitable bidentate ligands for use in Ir-based organometallic compounds. When modified in this way, the compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a transition metal, namely Iridium (Ir) as required by claim 2; Ln1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1B-2; Ln2 is a ligand represented by Formula 2-1 or 2-2; n1 is 1 or 2; n2 is 2 or 1, so that the sum of n1 and n2 is 3 as required by claim 3; X11 – X14 are C(R); X1 is N(R15); X31 and X32 are O; R13 and R15 are unsubstituted C1 alkyl groups and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. The ligand represented by Formula 11-4 in claim 7. The ancillary ligand is represented by Formula 21-1 in claim 8 or Formula 22-1 in claim 9. The entire compound is represented by Formula 31-4 and 31-8 in claim 13. The compound is electrically neutral as required by claim 14.)
Ishibe includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ishibe being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light-emitting devices with improved efficiency and improved lifespan characteristics ([0145]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 16 and 17, Ishibe teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the organic layer further comprises at least one of the organometallic compound of claim 1 ([0022 – 0025]: “According to an aspect of another embodiment, an organic light-emitting device includes: a first electrode; a second electrode; and an organic layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer includes an emission layer and at least one organometallic compound represented by one of Formulae 1A and 1B. The organometallic compound may be included in the emission layer.”)
As per claim 18, Ishibe teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host, and an amount of the host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the organometallic compound in the emission layer ([0200 – 0201]: “The emission layer may include, as a dopant, the organometallic compound represented by one of Formulae 1A and 1B. When the emission layer includes a host and a dopant, an amount of the dopant maybe in a range of about 0.01 to about 20 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the host, but is not limited thereto.”)
As per claim 19, Ishibe teaches:
Wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region located between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region located between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination thereof and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0158 – 0160]: “For example, the first electrode may be an anode, the second electrode may be a cathode, and the organic layer may include: i) a hole transport region that is disposed between the first electrode and the emission layer, wherein the hole transport region may include at least one selected from a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, and an electron blocking layer, and ii) an electron transport region that is disposed between the emission layer and the second electrode, wherein the electron transport region may include at least one selected from a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer.”)
As per claim 20, Ishibe teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is considered to be an electronic apparatus, Ishibe teaches the claimed limitations.)
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 8 and 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20170155063A1) in view of Thomas (Thomas, K. R. Justin et al. “Efficient Red-Emitting Cyclometalated Iridium (III) Complexes Containing Lepidine-Based Ligands.” Inorganic Chemistry. 44 (2005): 5677 – 5685., cited in the IDS filed August 11, 2022 and provided by Applicant).
As per claims 1 – 3, 7, 8, and 10 – 14, Wu teaches:
An organometallic compound, represented by Formula 1
, wherein Ln1 is represented by Formula 1B-2
and Ln2 is a ligand represented by Formula 2-1 or Formula 2-2
(Wu teaches organometallic compounds with a ligand represented by Formula (I)
(Abstract). A particular compound Wu teaches is
([0020]), which differs from the claimed compound in that the ligand of Wu contains a benzene ring instead of the claimed phenanthrene ring. However, Wu teaches that R2 – R5 can be combined to form an aryl group ([0019]) Furthermore, Thomas teaches that Ir (III) ligands with phenathrenyl groups are red-shifted as compared to benzene rings (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Wu to replace the benzene ring with a phenanthrene ring motivated by the desire to predictably produce a red-shift in the compound as taught by Thomas (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph) and because Wu teaches that the group may be a fused aryl group ([0019]). When modified in this way, the compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a transition metal, namely Iridium (Ir) as required by claim 2; Ln1 is a ligand represented by Formula 1A-1; Ln2 is a ligand represented by Formula 2-1; n1 is 2; n2 is 1, so that the sum of n1 and n2 is 3 as required by claim 3; X11 – X14 are C(R15); X1 is O; X31 and X32 are O; all the R groups are hydrogen. The ligand represented by Formula 11-2 in claim 7. The ancillary ligand is represented by Formula 21-1 in claim 8. The entire compound is represented by Formula 31-2 in claim 13. The compound is electrically neutral as required by claim 14.)
Wu includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Wu being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light-emitting devices with improved efficiency and improved lifespan characteristics ([0016]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 15, the only difference between the modified compound of Wu above and claimed compound 3
is the methyl group substituent. However, in the definitions for R1, Wu teaches that the group can be an alkyl group and Wu teaches a specific compound with a methyl group in that position
([0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the modified compound of Wu above to include a methyl group in the R1 position and arrive at claimed compound 3.
Wu includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Wu being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light-emitting devices with improved efficiency and improved lifespan characteristics ([0016]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 16 and 17, Wu teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the organic layer further comprises at least one of the organometallic compound of claim 1 ([0008]: “According to another embodiment of the disclosure, the disclosure provides an organic light-emitting device, the device includes a pair of electrodes; and an organic light-emitting element disposed between the electrodes, wherein the organic light-emitting element includes the aforementioned organic metal compound.” & [0089]: “According to another embodiment of the disclosure, the organic light-emitting device can be a phosphorescent organic light-emitting device, and the emission layer of the organic light-emitting element can include a host material and a dopant, wherein the dopant can include the organic metal compound having a structure of Formula (I) of the disclosure.”)
As per claim 18, Wu teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host, and an amount of the host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the organometallic compound in the emission layer (In the device prepared for the Examples, as described in [0091 – 0092], the light emitting layer was formed with a weight ratio of host:dopant of 94:6.)
As per claim 19, Wu teaches:
Wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region located between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region located between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination thereof and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0088]: “The organic light-emitting element 16 at least includes an emission layer, and can further include a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer.”)
As per claim 20, Wu teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is considered to be an electronic apparatus, Wu teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20240292748A1, US20230320188A1, US20200328360A1, US20200091441A1, and US20190112324A1 all teach organometallic Ir-based compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789