DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on June 16, 2026.
Claims 1, 7, 10, 13, and 15 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 9 and 12 have been canceled. Claims 4 – 6 had been cancelled previously.
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed June 16, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 3, 7 – 14, and 16 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Thomas as set forth in the office action filed April 30, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed June 16, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 3, and 7 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Thomas as set forth in the office action filed April 30, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argus that there would have been no motivation to modify the ligand of Kim based on the teachings of Thomas because Kim teaches that the organometallic compound should emit light having a wavelength range of 440nm to 480 nm to provide deep blue color and Thomas teaches that the iridium complexes with a phenanthroline ligand are red-light emitting compounds. Applicant argues that the modification provided by Thomas would red shift the emission from the blue region of Kim and this would render the organometallic compounds of Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of providing a deep blue color of light. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In [0164] of Kim, Kim teaches that the emission layer using Formula 1 may emit blue light. It does not appear that Kim requires the emitting layer to emit blue light. Examiner further notes that Formula 1 of Kim explicitly allows for a phenanthrene group in the claimed position ([0080]). Therefore, the claimed ligand falls within the scope of Formula 1 of Kim. Examiner further notes that the teachings that a phenanthrene group would predictably red-shift the compound are not in contradiction with the teachings of Kim, as a red-shift in the emission layer could still result in a blue-light emitting compound and Kim does not require that the compounds emit blue light, let alone deep blue light. Finally, Applicant has not provided any evidence that the substitution of a phenanthrene group for the benzene group would behave differently than the teachings of Thomas. Therefore, it appears that a person of ordinary skill in the art would know the expected behavior of the argued substitution.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20190112324A1) in view of Thomas (Thomas, K. R. Justin et al. “Efficient Red-Emitting Cyclometalated Iridium (III) Complexes Containing Lepidine-Based Ligands.” Inorganic Chemistry. 44 (2005): 5677 – 5685., cited in the IDS filed August 11, 2022 and provided by Applicant).
As per claims 1 – 3, 7, 8, 10,11, 13 and 14, Kim teaches:
An organometallic compound, represented by Formula 1
, wherein Ln1 is represented by Formula 1A-2
and Ln2 is a ligand represented by Formula 2-1 or Formula 2-2
(Kim teaches organometallic compounds of Formula 1
([0052]) with a ligand represented by Formula 2-3
or
([0119]). A particular compound Kim teaches is compound 7
([0152]), which differs from the claimed compound in that the ligand of Kim contains a benzene ring instead of the claimed phenanthrene ring and that the condensed ring group is represented by Formula 2-3 instead of Formula 2-6. However, Kim teaches that CY21 can be a phenanthrene group ([0080]) Furthermore, Thomas teaches that Ir (III) ligands with phenathrenyl groups are red-shifted as compared to benzene rings (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Kim to replace the benzene ring with a phenanthrene ring motivated by the desire to predictably produce a red-shift in the compound as taught by Thomas (Page 5682, Right Column, Last Paragraph) and because Kim teaches that the group may be a phenanthrene group ([0080]). It also would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the bonding of the thiophene ring of compound 7 in an isomeric position, such as represented by Formula 2-6. Additionally, compound 7 of Kim does not contain an auxiliary ligand. However, in Formula 1 of Kim, Kim teaches that ligand L2 can be selected from 3-111
([0144]). Therefore, it would have further been obvious replace one of the ligands of Kim with an auxiliary ligand represented by Formula 3-111. When modified in this way, the compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a transition metal, namely Iridium (Ir) as required by claim 2; n1 is 2; n2 is 1, so that the sum of n1 and n2 is 3 as required by claim 3; X11 – X14 are C(R15); X1 is S; all the R groups are hydrogen. The ligand represented by Formula 11-1 in claim 7. The ancillary ligand is represented by Formula 21-1 in claim 8. The entire compound is represented by Formula 31-1 in claim 13. The compound is electrically neutral as required by claim 14.)
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light-emitting devices with high efficiency and long lifespan ([0153]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 15, the differences between modified compound 7 above with the acac ligand of claim 8 and claimed compound 4
is the methyl substituent. However, Kim teaches compound such as compound 38
, which contains the methyl group in the claimed position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the compound to include a methyl group substituent and arrive at claimed compound 1.
Kim includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Kim being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of organic light-emitting devices with high efficiency and long lifespan ([0153]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 16 and 17, Kim teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, wherein the organic layer further comprises at least one of the organometallic compound of claim 1 ([0164]: “The organometallic compound of Formula 1 may be used between a pair of electrodes of an organic light-emitting device. For example, the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 may be included in the emission layer.”)
As per claim 18, Kim teaches:
Wherein the emission layer further comprises a host, and an amount of the host in the emission layer is greater than an amount of the organometallic compound in the emission layer ([0164]: “In this regard, the organometallic compound may act as a dopant, and the emission layer may further include a host (that is, an amount of the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 is smaller than an amount of the host).”)
As per claim 19, Kim teaches:
Wherein the first electrode is an anode, the second electrode is a cathode, the organic layer further comprises a hole transport region located between the first electrode and the emission layer, and an electron transport region located between the emission layer and the second electrode, the hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or a combination thereof and the electron transport region comprises a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or a combination thereof ([0168]: “In an embodiment, in the organic light-emitting device, the first electrode is an anode, and the second electrode is a cathode, and the organic layer further includes a hole transport region disposed between the first electrode and the emission layer and an electron transport region disposed between the emission layer and the second electrode, wherein the hole transport region includes a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, a buffer layer or any combination thereof, and wherein the electron transport region includes a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, or any combination thereof.”)
As per claim 20, Kim teaches:
An electronic apparatus, comprising the organic light-emitting device (As an OLED is considered to be an electronic apparatus, Kim teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789