DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the claim objections, the amendment resolves the issue.
Regarding the double-patenting rejections, the terminal disclaimers are under review and the double patenting rejections are expected to be withdrawn once the terminal disclaimers are approved.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant’s remarks regarding support for the amendments has been considered, but the amendments raise some 112(a) issues, as noted below. In addition, it appears to be obvious to utilize a frequency of the frequency signal equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal, as described further below in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-12, 15-26 and 29-37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 23: The original specification does not clearly disclose the particular relationship requiring a frequency of the frequency signal being equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal. See MPEP 2163.05. Examiner suggests reciting the particular supported numerical ranges for each signal.
Claims 17, 30: Frequencies 1-1.2 MHz and 6-45 MHz are not supported in combination with a frequency of the frequency signal being equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal.
Claim 18: Frequency of 13.56 MHz is not supported in combination with a frequency of the frequency signal being equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal.
Claims 32, 35: Specification does not support the conditional feature of performing frequency multiplication with a timer if frequency is less than a stimulation frequency as recited.
Claim 34, 37: Specification does not support specifically a same frequency at 500 kHz for both frequencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 16, 23, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Pivonka (US 2018/0028824).
Regarding claim 1, 16, 23, 29, Pan discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figure 2 shown above for example), including an electrical stimulation device (Paragraph 30) comprising a signal receiving circuit configured to receive and output a frequency signal (Figure 2: e.g. receiving coil 231), a rectifying circuit configured to receive the frequency signal and rectify the frequency signal to generate a rectified signal (Figure 2: 232), and a signal processing circuit configured to receive the rectifying signal to generate an electrical stimulation signal (Figure 2: 21, 26; Paragraph 48).
Further regarding claims 1, 23, Pan does not disclose the frequency details recited. However, Pivonka teaches it is common to configure a signal processing circuit for frequency multiplication, and set a frequency of a received power signal equal to or smaller than a frequency of the stimulation signal (Paragraphs 152, 197), in order to be able to set the stimulation parameters independently of the power signal. In addition, there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results with the particular frequency relationship recited. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Pivonka to include the frequency details as recited, in order to be able to set the stimulation parameters independently of the power signal.
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the stimulation device does not have a battery (Figure 2).
Regarding claims 32, 35, the frequency multiplication of Pivonka includes a timer (Paragraphs 197-198).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) and Pivonka (US 2018/0028824) in view of Lu (US 2012/0035687).
Regarding claim 5, Pan or Pivonka not explicitly disclose a counter or PWM circuit. However, Lu teaches a PWM circuit is commonly used to generate a stimulus signal (Paragraph 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Lu to include a PWM as recited, to generate the stimulus signal.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 19-22, 24, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) and Pivonka (US 2018/0028824) in view of Chang (US 2017/0113047).
Regarding claims 6, 9, 24, Pan or Pivonka do not disclose a sine signal. However, Chang teaches a signal converting circuit to generate a sine wave electrical stimulation signal as recited (Paragraph 58), in order to customize the stimulation signal as desired. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Chang to include a signal converting circuit as recited, in order to customize the stimulation signal as desired.
Regarding claims 19-22, 31, Pan or Pivonka do not disclose the electrical stimulation parameters as recited. However, Chang teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61) and voltage between -25 to 25 V (Paragraph 58) and current between 0 to 60 mA (Paragraph 64), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Chang to include the stimulation parameters as recited, in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15, 17-18, 25-26, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) and Pivonka (US 2018/0028824) in view of Kisker (WO 2012/013360; cited in IDS 4/25/23).
Regarding claims 11-12, 25-26, Pan or Pivonka do not disclose a protection circuit as recited. However, Kisker teaches a protection circuit including a reed switch as recited (e.g. Figure 1: 13, 14; Page 29, line 5), in order to appropriately generate stimulus signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Kisker to include a protection circuit as recited, in order to appropriately generate stimulus signals.
Regarding claim 15, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claims 17-18, 30, Pan or Pivonka do not disclose the frequency as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is common to select a frequency such as 13.56 MHz (Page 64, line 8), in order to couple internal and external coils. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Kisker to include a frequency as recited, in order to couple internal and external coils.
Claim(s) 33-34, 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) and Pivonka (US 2018/0028824) in view of Parramon (US 2005/0131495) and Chang (US 2017/0113047).
Regarding claims 33-34, 36-37, Pan or Pivonka do not disclose the frequency details recited. However, Parramon teaches a frequency of the power signal between 9-200 kHz or 500 kHz as recited (Paragraph 45), since any frequency as best serves a particular application may be selected. Furthermore, Chang teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Pivonka as taught by Parramon and Chang to include the frequency parameters as recited, since any frequency as best serves a particular application may be selected and in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 23 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 17687186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9-12, 15-22, 24-26, 29-37 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, 20-24 of copending Application No. 17687186 (reference application) in view of Pan (US 2016/0001085). The copending claims recite substantially the same subject matter except for the rectifying circuit. However, Pan teaches it is common to include a rectifying circuit (Figure 2: 232), in order to convert the received coil energy to stimulation energy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application as taught by Pan to include a rectifying circuit as recited, in order to convert the received coil energy to stimulation energy.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 2016/0096023) shows energy transmission to an implanted device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796