DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s After Final response received 6/2/2026 included an amendment to Claim 1 and corresponding arguments. The RCE filed 6/30/2026 did not contain any additional arguments.
The Claim Objection set forth in the previous action has been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment included removing Si as a permitted material for the claimed “inorganic particle (C).” The primary reference (Kim) in the Final Rejection disclosed SiO2 as a hydrofluoric acid (HF) scavenger, which Examiner likened to the claimed inorganic particle (C). After an updated search and consideration, the claimed invention remains obvious, but over a new secondary reference (Xiao et al., US 20210083294 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 10, 12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20190288261 A1, and further in view of Xiao et al., US 20210083294 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a composite separator (separator 100 [0017-0020, 0071], Fig. 2) comprising:
a porous substrate (a) (separator substrate 110 having open-type pores 111 formed therein [0071], Fig. 2), wherein the porous substrate (a) is formed of one or more selected from the group consisting of high-density polyethylene, low-density polyethylene, linear low-density polyethylene, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene, polypropylene, and copolymers thereof (HDPE, LDPE, LLDPE, UHMWPE, PP [0036]);
a first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) that is stacked on one or both surfaces of the porous substrate (a) (first coating portions 120 are coated on the upper surface and the lower surface of a separator substrate 110 [0071, 0056], Fig. 2); and
an inorganic particle layer (c) formed on the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) (the second coating portions 130 are coated on the entireties of the outer surfaces of the first coating portions 120 [0072], the first coating portion and the second coating portion are provided separately [0027, 0057]; Fig. 2),
wherein the inorganic particle layer (c) comprises inorganic particles (SiO2 [0029]) and an organic binder (PVdF-HFP [0057]), and does not comprise a one-dimensional inorganic material (B) (second coating portion 130 consists only of SiO2 particles and the PVdF-HFP binder [0057]),
wherein the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) comprises inorganic particles (A) (inorganic particles (a) [0031-0032]) and the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) (inorganic particles (b) [0033]).
Kim – Fig. 2
The composite separator structure of Claim 1 comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and therefore is not required to meet the following limitations of Claim 1:
“a second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) formed on the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b),”
“the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) comprises inorganic particles (A) and a one-dimensional inorganic material (B),” and
“an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) in the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) is different from an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) in the second multi- dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d).”
Kim discloses the inorganic particle layer (c) comprises inorganic particles (SiO2) to reduce the content of hydrofluoric acid (HF) in a LiPF6 electrolyte solution ([0005, 0026]). However, SiO2 is not one of the claimed inorganic particles (C).
Xiao teaches separators can be coated with SiO2 to scavenge HF from a LiPF6 electrolyte, but SiO2 reacts with HF to generate a hydrate (SiF4.XH2O [0003, 0064]). Xiao teaches at elevated temperatures, H2O releases from the hydrate, which leads to hydrolysis of the electrolyte and more HF formation ([0003, 0064]). To avoid this issue, Xiao recommends using a HF scavenger that does not form a hydrate, and for batteries that cycle lithium ions, the preferred HF scavenger comprises Li2SiO3, LiAlO2, Li2O—Al2O3—SiO2, or combinations thereof ([0064, 0075]; see Kim [0059] for a LiPF6 electrolyte in a lithium ion cell).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the inorganic particle of Kim (SiO2) with Li2SiO3, LiAlO2, Li2O—Al2O3—SiO2, or combinations thereof, in the inorganic particle layer (c) of Kim, as Xiao teaches these compositions perform more favorably as a HF scavenger compared to SiO2.
Xiao’s HF scavenging compositions (Li2SiO3, LiAlO2, Li2O—Al2O3—SiO2, or combinations thereof) read on one or more of the following claimed inorganic particles (C): a composite metal oxide of Al, Al2O3, and a lithium-based inorganic material.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. The composite separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the following limitation: “the amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) in the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) is larger than the amount of the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b).”
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. The composite
separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the
following limitation: “the amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) in the second multi-
dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) is smaller than the amount of the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b).”
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the inorganic particles (A) of the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) comprises one or two or more selected from a metal oxide, a metal nitride, a metal carbide, a metal carbonate, a metal hydrate, and a metal carbonitride (Kim, metal oxide and metal carbide [0033], metal nitride [0034]).
The composite separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the following limitation: “the inorganic particles (A) of the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) comprises one or two or more selected from a metal oxide, a metal nitride, a metal carbide, a metal carbonate, a metal hydrate, and a metal carbonitride.”
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) further contains an organic binder (Kim, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. The composite separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the following limitation: “the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) further contains an organic binder.”
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. The composite
separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the following limitation: “the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) comprises an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) of 30 to 99.99 wt% with respect
to 100 wt% of a total amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material B and the organic binder.”
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the separator may be used in an electrochemical device (Kim, secondary battery [0037]) that further comprises a cathode (Kim, [0038-0043]), an anode (Kim, [0044-0046]), and an electrolyte solution (Kim, LiPF6 electrolyte [0018, 0059-0060]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the electrochemical device is a lithium secondary battery (Kim, secondary battery with lithium ion conductivity [0018, 0037, 0059, 0081]).
Claims 8, 11, 13-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Hu et al., CN 105529425 B.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim does not disclose “the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) comprises an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) of 0.1 to 50 wt%, and an amount of the inorganic particles (A) of 50 to 99.9 wt%.” However, this limitation is taught by Hu.
Hu teaches when a separator coating comprises an inorganic particle (inorganic ceramic
powder, Al2O3 [0031-0034]), adding a one-dimensional inorganic material to the coating will change the structure of the coating, which will increase the strength, puncture resistance, thermal stability, and air permeability of the separator (one-dimensional nanomaterial, TiO2 nanorods [0029-0035, 0110]). Hu teaches the coating composition has 0.1 to 50 wt% of the one-dimensional inorganic material (11 wt% TiO2 nanorods; see Examiner’s Table 1 for calculations of slurry in Example 1 [0055]), and 50 to 99.9 wt% of the inorganic particles (84 wt% Al2O3 [0055]). Examiner notes the combination of Al2O3 and TiO2 is permitted by Kim’s first coating layer (inorganic particles (a) and (b) [0032-0033]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace modified Kim’s first coating layer with the coating layer of Hu, which comprises 0.1 to 50 wt% of the one-dimensional inorganic material (11 wt% TiO2 nanorods) and 50 to 99.9 wt% of the inorganic particles (84 wt% Al2O3), as Hu teaches the combination will increase the strength, puncture resistance, thermal stability, and air permeability of the composite separator.
Example 1
Parts by weight
wt %
Al2O3
100
84%
TiO2 Nanorods
11
9%
PA
5.55
5%
PEG
1.11
1%
PVA
1.11
1%
Total
118.77
100%
Hu – Example 1 – All components
Composite Separator of Modified Kim
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim does not disclose “the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) comprises an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) of 30 to 99.99 wt% with respect to 100 wt% of a total amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) and the organic binder.” However, this limitation is also taught by Hu.
Hu teaches a separator coating comprises an inorganic particle ([0031-0034]), a one-dimensional inorganic material ([0029-0035]), and a binder ([0037-0039]). Hu teaches adding the binder increases cross-linking capabilities between the two inorganic materials, and also increases adhesiveness of the coating layer ([0037-0039]). Hu’s Example 1 uses an organic binder (polyacrylate emulsion “PA”), and TiO2 nanorods as the one-dimensional organic material (see Examiner’s calculation of the claimed weight percentages; PA is the binder/adhesive [0037-0039, 0047], PVA and PEG are dispersants and are not included in the calculation [0040]). Example 1 shows an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material is 66 wt% with respect to 100 wt% of a total amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material and the organic binder.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) be 30 to 99.99 wt% with respect to 100 wt% of a total amount of the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) and the organic binder, in the composite separator of Kim, as Hu teaches the binder adds adhesiveness to the separator coating, and shows a preferred example within the claimed range.
Example 1
Parts by weight
wt %
TiO2 Nanorods
11
66%
PA (binder)
5.55
34%
Total
16.55
100%
Hu – Example 1 – One-dimensional inorganic material and binder only
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim does not disclose “the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) has a diameter of 1 nm to 100 nm and a length of 0.01 μm to 100 μm.” However, this limitation is also taught by Hu.
Hu teaches a separator coating comprising a one-dimensional inorganic material ([0029-0036]), wherein the material has a diameter of 1 to 100 nm (5 nm to 800 nm [0028]; Example 1: 40 nm to 200 nm [0055]) and a length of 0.01 to 100 μm (500 nm to 50 μm [0028]; Example 1: 0.5 μm to 10 μm [0055]). Hu teaches the one-dimensional inorganic material combines with an inorganic material (small-particle ceramic [0032]) to create a network-like structure in the coating, which acts as a supporting framework and further improves the tensile strength, puncture resistance, and other mechanical properties and thermal stability of the separator ([0032]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) of modified Kim with the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) of Hu, as Hu teaches a one-dimensional inorganic material within the claimed range creates a network-like structure that brings numerous benefits to a composite separator.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) is a nanowire or a nanofiber (Hu, nanowires, nanorods, fibers [0035]) formed of one or two or more selected from a metal, carbon, a metal oxide, a metal nitride, a metal carbide, a metal carbonate, a metal hydrate, and a metal carbonitride (Hu, TiO2 nanorods [0035-0036]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim
discloses the one-dimensional inorganic material (B) is one or two or more selected from boehmite,
Ga2O3, SiC, SiC2, quartz, NiSi, Ag, Au, Cu, Ag-Ni, ZnS, Al2O3, TiO2, CeO2, MgO, NiO, Y2O3, CaO, SrTiO3,
SnO2, ZnO, and ZrO2 (Hu, TiO2 nanorods [0035-0036]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim does not disclose “the inorganic particles (A) of the first multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (b) have an average particle diameter of 0.001 μm to 20 μm.” However, Hu teaches a preferred particle size of inorganic particles in a separator layer.
Hu teaches when a separator coating comprises an inorganic particle (inorganic ceramic powder, Al2O3 [0031-0034]), and a one-dimensional inorganic material (one-dimensional nanomaterial, TiO2 nanorods [0029-0035, 0110]), the coating will contribute to an increased strength, puncture resistance, thermal stability, and air permeability of the separator ([0029-0035, 0110]). Hu teaches the inorganic particle has a size of 0.005 μm to 0.250 μm, which makes the particle easy to disperse, and achieves a separator with a uniform porosity and coating thickness (5-250 nm [0027-0032]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the inorganic particles (A) have an average diameter within the 0.001 μm to 20 μm range, in the composite separator of Kim, as Hu teaches the inorganic particle should be small in order to make the particle easy to disperse, as well as achieve a separator with a uniform porosity and coating thickness.
The composite separator of modified Kim comprises “an inorganic particle layer (c),” and is not required to meet the limitation “inorganic particles (A) of the second multi-dimensional heterogeneous material-containing composite layer (d) have an average particle diameter of 0.001 μm to 20 μm.”
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim as
applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoo et al., US 20150140404 A1.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim discloses a polyolefin-based porous separator having a thickness ranging from about 5 μm to about 30 μm is typical for a lithium ion secondary battery (Kim, [0004]), but Kim does not disclose thickness of the composite separator is “5 µm to 100 µm” as claimed. However, this limitation is taught by Yoo.
Yoo teaches a porous polyolefin-based separator is preferably 1 µm to 30 μm (porous substrate [0022-0025]; within Kim’s cited range), and is coated in a mixture of organic and inorganic particles (organic/inorganic complex [0026-0030, 0083]). Yoo teaches the porous substrate including the organic/inorganic coating has a thickness range of 0.1 µm to 50 µm ([0043]). Yoo teaches when the composite separator has a thickness less than 0.1 µm, the separator cannot adequately be filled with the liquid electrolyte, when the composite separator is thicker than 50 µm, there will likely be mechanical problems with the separator ([0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the thickness of the composite separator of modified Kim, and would have been motivated to do so, as Yoo teaches a separator too thin will not allow the separator to be filled with enough liquid electrolyte, but a separator too thick will lead to mechanical problems. Yoo’s thickness range (0.1 µm to 50 µm) is within the claimed range (5 µm to 100 µm).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Although modified Kim teaches the composite separator has pores (Kim, separator substrate 110 has open-type pores 111 formed therein [0071]), and a polyolefin-based porous separator having a thickness ranging from about 5 μm to about 30 μm is typical for a lithium ion secondary battery (Kim, [0004]), modified Kim does not teach “a pore size of the porous substrate is 0.001 μm to 10 μm, and a porosity of the porous substrate is 5% to 95%.” However, these limitations are taught by Yoo.
Yoo teaches a porous polyolefin-based separator is preferably 1 to 30 μm (porous substrate
[0022-0025]; within modified Kim’s cited range), and is coated in a mixture of organic and inorganic particles (organic/inorganic complex [0026-0030, 0083]). Yoo teaches the porous substrate has a pore diameter in a range of 0.01 μm to 50 μm, and a porosity range of 10% to 90% ([0025]). Yoo also teaches pore sizes and porosity should be optimized, as too small of a pore size/too low level of porosity will not allow the separator to be filled with the liquid electrolyte, but a pore size/level of porosity too large will lead to mechanical problems with the separator ([0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pore size and porosity of the porous substrate, in the composite separator of modified Kim, and would have been motivated to do so, as Yoo teaches too small of a pore size/too low level of porosity will not allow the separator to be filled with the liquid electrolyte, but a pore size/level of porosity too large will lead to mechanical problems with the separator. Yoo’s pore size and porosity ranges overlap with the claimed ranges.
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721