DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 1/6/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/6/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as set forth below.
The Examiner notes that the claims fail to recite a relationship between continuously changing the electric signal to switch between the non-thermal energy and thermal energy by continuously changing the electric energy level associated with the electric signal (these limitations are recited separately, and thus under BRI, prior art that teaches continuously changing the energy level associated with just one of the thermal or non-thermal energy levels reads on the claims).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/895658 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Application No. 62/895658 fails to provide adequate support for “a single power source” (claims 33, 40) or “wherein the power source, when requested, changes the electric signal continuously to power the plurality of electrodes for delivering form the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy, and form the thermal energy to the non-thermal energy” (claim 42).
Accordingly, the claims are given the priority date of 9/6/2019.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 1, 2-18, 65-66 are shaded.
Figs. 37 & 45 are photographs.
Figs. 54-55 has text that is small, blurry, and almost unreadable.
Fig. 56 is small, blurry, and unreadable.
Fig. 65 contains 3 figures.
Fig. 66 contains 2 figures.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is a copy of the claim and exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification submitted 3/24/2022 fails to include the preliminary amendment of 3/3/2022 adding a cross-reference paragraph. The amendment of 3/24/2022 is not entered.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “to said electric signal to be supplied” to -with said electric signal supplied- in the second to last line. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “to change continuously” to -to continuously change- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “to said electric signal” to -with said electric signal- in ll. 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “a non-thermal energy to a thermal energy, and vice versa, or to deliver a combination of thermal energy and non-thermal energy at the same time” to -the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy, and vice versa, or to deliver a combination of the thermal energy and the non-thermal energy at the same time” in ll. 4-5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “IRE, the” to -IRE and the- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “or RF” to –(RF)- in ll. 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “to induce” to -inducing- in ll. 11. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “to the electrical signal” to -with the electrical signal- in ll. 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-34, 38-39 & 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 33, 43, 44 & 45 recite the limitations “a drive circuit block”, “a selecting block” and “a filtering and electrical isolation block”. It is unclear what is meant by “block”, particularly since the “drive circuit block” also recites “circuit”.
Claims 33, 43 & 44 recite the limitations “a drive circuit block” and “a selecting block” which invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to specifically link any structure to the recited “blocks” (“said power module 402 comprises: a drive circuit block 403 controlled by the single control unit 400 for generating said electric signal S starting from a supply voltage signal Vcc provided by the single control unit 400; a selecting block 404 selectively controlled by said drive circuit block 403 to change continuously the electric energy level associated to said signal S” in [0119-0121]). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 33 & 45 recite the limitation “a filtering and electrical isolation block” which has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the limitation fails to be modified by functional language. Further, the originally filed disclosure fails to provide any specific structure associated with the “filtering and electrical isolation block”, and particular the “electrical isolation block” as “filtering” provides inherent structure of a filter. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claims 34 & 38-39 depend from claim 33 and are thus also rejected.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes the phrasing of “from the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy” is grammatically incorrect, but not indefinite, and it is suggested to change this wording to -the non-thermal energy and then the thermal energy- throughout the claims.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “single control unit and a power unit for generating said electric signal” in claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-34, 38, 40, 42-48 & 50-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman (2014/0066913) in view of Yates et al. (2017/0086909).
Concerning claims 33, 38 & 42-45, 48, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1-4, Sherman discloses ablation equipment to treat target regions of tissue in organs (system 10; [0016]), comprising an ablation catheter and a single power source;
said ablation catheter (medical device 14 may be a catheter; [0017]) comprising:
a catheter elongated shaft comprising at least an elongated shaft distal portion; said catheter elongated shaft comprising a flexible body to navigate through body vessels; (catheter 14 may include a flexible elongate body 20 having a proximal portion 22 and a distal portion 24; [0017])
said ablation catheter further comprising a shaft ablation assembly disposed at said elongated shaft distal portion; said shaft ablation assembly comprising at least a plurality of electrodes fixedly disposed at said elongated shaft distal portion; (a plurality of treatment elements, such as electrodes 26, at the distal portion 24 for delivering energy to target tissue 12; [0017])
all electrodes of said at least the plurality of electrodes being electrically powered by said single power source through an electric signal to deliver both non-thermal energy for treating the tissue and thermal energy for ablating the tissue (generator 16 may be capable of delivering an adjustable voltage so ablation may be caused using primarily heat (for example, between approximately 100 V to approximately 150 V), primarily electroporation (for example, between approximately 500V and approximately 2000 V or more), or any combination thereof (a voltage anywhere along the continuum between heat voltage and electroporation voltage); [0022]);
wherein
said single power source, when requested, changes continuously said electric signal in order to power said at least the plurality of electrodes to deliver from the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy, and vice versa (electroporation energy may be delivered before, after, or concurrently with RF thermal energy; Step 4, [0027]).
Sherman fails to disclose specifics of the single power source, and thus fails to teach: wherein said single power source comprises a single control unit and a power unit for generating said electric signal; said power unit being electrically connected to all electrodes of said at least the plurality of electrodes; wherein said power unit comprises a power module comprising: - a drive circuit block controlled by the single control unit for generating said electric signal starting from a supply voltage signal (V cc) provided by the single control unit; - a selecting block selectively controlled by said drive circuit block to change continuously an electric energy level associated to said electric signal; - a filtering and electrical isolation block. However, Yates et al. disclose a single power source (500) configured to delivery multiple energy modalities, including RF and irreversible electroporation, to a plurality of electrodes (Energy1, Energy2). Yates et al. further disclose said single power source (500) comprises a single control unit (502) and a power unit (504, 506, 508, 520) for generating said electric signal; said power unit being electrically connected to all electrodes of said at least the plurality of electrodes (Energy1, Energy2); wherein said power unit (504, 506, 508, 520) comprises a power module comprising: - a drive circuit block (504) controlled by the single control unit (502) for generating said electric signal starting from a supply voltage signal (V cc) provided by the single control unit (502); - a selecting block (506) selectively controlled by said drive circuit block (504) to change continuously an electric energy level associated to said electric signal; - a filtering and electrical isolation block (508). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sherman such that said single power source comprises a single control unit and a power unit for generating said electric signal; said power unit being electrically connected to all electrodes of said at least the plurality of electrodes; wherein said power unit comprises a power module comprising: - a drive circuit block controlled by the single control unit for generating said electric signal starting from a supply voltage signal (V cc) provided by the single control unit; - a selecting block selectively controlled by said drive circuit block to change continuously an electric energy level associated to said electric signal; - a filtering and electrical isolation block in order to provide the benefit of delivering the signals separately or simultaneously to the end effector to treat tissue as taught by Yates et al. ([0125-0127]; Fig. 8)
Concerning claims 34 & 46-47, Yates et al. further disclose the power unit (504, 506, 508, 520) is drive by the single control unit (502) to change continuously the electrical energy level associated to the electric signal to be supplied to the electrodes to deliver from a non-thermal energy to a thermal energy, and vice versa (i.e., separately), or to deliver a combination of thermal energy and non-thermal energy at the same time (i.e., simultaneously) ([0125-0127; Fig. 8).
Concerning claims 40 & 50-51, Sherman further discloses the electric signal comprising pulse trains (on/off cycles) to deliver non-thermal electroporation energy and modifying the gap time between adjacent pulse trains ([0020-0022]).
Claim(s) 39 & 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherman (2014/0066913) in view of Yates et al. (2017/0086909), as applied to claims 33 & 42, in further view of Pearson et al. (2010/0152725).
Concerning claim 39 & 49, Sherman in view of Yates et al. fail to specifically disclose said single power source is powered by a battery or is connected to a standard wall outlet of an AC electrical power grid capable of producing 110 volts or 240 volts. However, Pearson et al. disclose a power source (15) that can be powered by standard wall outlet that is capable of producing about 110 volts or about 230 volts or a battery. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Sherman in view of Yates et al. such that said single power source is powered by a battery or is connected to a standard wall outlet of an AC electrical power grid capable of producing 110 volts or 240 volts in order to provide the benefit of providing voltage to the tissue as taught by Pearson et al. ([0035]).
Claim(s) 42, 46 & 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson et al. (2010/0152725) in view of Sherman (2014/0066913).
Concerning claim 42, as illustrated in Fig. 1B, Pearson et al. disclose an ablation equipment (energy delivery system 1; [0028]), comprising:
a power source (energy delivery source or power source 15; [0028]) including:
a control unit (intermediate switching unit 61 and/or the mechanisms could have control components allowing user changes from a probe directly or from the energy source directly; [0039], [0056], [0058]); and
a power unit for generating an electric signal (IRE energy source 63 and/or thermal energy source 65; [0039]); and
an ablation device (probe 100; [0036] including:
a device elongated shaft comprising a body and an elongated shaft distal portion (probe 100 comprises a needle shaft 50 having a proximal end and a distal end; [0036]);
a shaft ablation assembly comprising a plurality of electrodes disposed at the elongated shaft distal portion, wherein the plurality of electrodes are electrically powered by the power source through the electric signal to deliver non-thermal energy and thermal energy (electrodes 70, 23 deliver both IRE and radiofrequency energy; [0036], [0038]);
wherein the power source, when requested, changes the electric signal continuously to power the plurality of electrodes for delivering from the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy, and from the thermal energy to the non-thermal energy (intermediate switching unit 61 allows switching between IRE energy source 63 and the thermal energy source 65; [0039]).
Pearson et al. fail to disclose the ablation device to be an ablation catheter having a flexible body. However, Sherman discloses ablation equipment comprising a catheter ablation device (10) having a flexible body (22) and a plurality of electrodes (26) that deliver both thermal and non-thermal energy either sequentially or simultaneously ([0017], [0027]; Fig. 1 & 4). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pearson et al. such that the ablation device to be an ablation catheter having a flexible body in order to provide the benefit of positioning the electrodes to treat internal tissue reachable by vasculature such as cardiac, liver, pancreatic, renal or tumor tissue as taught by Sherman ([0026]).
Concerning claim 46, Pearson et al. disclose the power unit (63 and/or 65) is driven by the control unit (61 and/or control mechanisms) to continuously change an electric energy level associated with the electrical signal that is to be supplied to the plurality of electrodes to deliver from the non-thermal energy to the thermal energy, and vice versa ([0039], [0056]).
Concerning claim 48, Pearson et al. disclose the non-thermal energy is irreversible electroporation energy (IRE) and the thermal energy is radiofrequency energy (RF) ([0039]).
Concerning claim 49, Pearson et al. disclose the power source (15) is powered by a battery or connected to a standard wall outlet of an AC electrical power grid capable of producing 110 volts or 240 volts ([0035]).
Concerning claim 50, Pearson et al. disclose the electric signal generated by the power source includes pulse trains that electrically power the plurality of electrodes ([0042]).
Concerning claim 51, Pearson et al. disclose the control unit is configured to modify at least one of: a pulse duration of each pulse in the pulse trains; a number of pulses in the pulse trains; and a gap of time between each of the pulse trains ([0042-0043]; Fig. 5B).
Conclusion
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794