DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 1-17, 19-20, 23, 25, and 37 as well as claims 39-40 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the specification amendments, see page 8 of the Remarks, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 8 of the Remarks, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the claim objection of claim 37 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection of claim 37 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see page 9 of the Remarks, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 18, 21-22, 24, and 26-38 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 18, 21-22, 24, and 26-38 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in view of the claim amendments, see pages 9-10 of the Remarks, filed 13 February 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18, 21-22, 24, and 26-38 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new scope of the claim that include the limitations of repeated and intermittent contact and deformation to the first container by at least 5%.
While a new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is applied to the claims seen below, the Niazi reference would be used again in the rejection and the comments from the Applicants on page 10 of the Remarks will be addressed.
Niazi teaches the mechanical interaction device (7, Figure 1) that fluidizes the separation resin in the storage solution to form a resin slurry with the motivation to ensure no part of the mixture is left unmixed (Paragraph [0075]). The slight tilt used in Niazi for the addition of more potential energy when the bag is compressed by the flapper (Paragraph [0075]). Niazi states that “a slight tilt, if utilized, assures that there is no accumulation of unmixed media at the other end of the bag opposite to the end of the bag being compressed periodically” (Paragraph [0075]). The tilt can be understood as being optional and the volume of the bag does become deformed when the mechanical interaction device compresses the bag. Niazi still reads on the limitations as seen below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a mechanical interaction device in claim 18 and a pressure difference generating device in claims 18 and 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 in line 10 recites the limitation “one or more moveable parts are configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container by at least 5%”. The specification submitted 3 March 2022 on page 16, lines 10-14 and page 17, lines 19-24 state that repeated deformations may be needed for the first container. While it is understood that the deformation may be repeated, there appears to be no support in the specification for intermittent contact with the container. The limitation is unclear if the system for transferring separation resin is capable of intermittent contact with the first container along with the capability of having repeated contact. The Office recommends amending the claim to have support from the specification. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be considered as the one or more moveable parts are configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 21, 24, 29, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst (US 20040245124 A1) in view of Bungay (US 20080186802 A1) in further view of Niazi (US 20110198286 A1) and Windahl (US 20070090053 A1).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hurst discloses a container, comprising:
at least one first container (30, Figure 1) which is a deformable, single-use separation resin storage container (Paragraphs [0155] and [0195]) comprising a predetermined volume of separation resin and a predetermined volume of storage solution (Paragraph [0191], the dry material is the separation resin and the process compatible solution is the storage solution creates a slurry), said first container further comprising an outlet port (50, Figure 1) arranged for transferring the separation resin (Paragraph [0108]).
Hurst does not disclose:
A system for transferring separation resin between at least two containers;
a mechanical interaction device provided in connection with an outside of the first container such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container, wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container by at least 5%, and wherein the deformation is effective to fluidize the separation resin with the storage solution to form a resin slurry;
a second container comprising an inlet port which is fluidically connected to the outlet port of said at least one first container; and
a pressure difference generating device configured for transferring separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container by generating a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and an interior of the first container wherein the pressure is lower in the second container;
wherein the pressure difference generating device is at least one vacuum production device connected to the second container and arranged for providing a degree of vacuum in the second container at least during a transferring of the separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container; and
wherein the mechanical interaction device is provided in a storage bin in which the first container is provided, and the mechanical interaction device is a moveable bottom part in the storage bin.
Bungay teaches a container system (5, Figure 1, the system is the container system):
a mechanical interaction device (30 and 35, Figure 1, the mixing arms and connecting bar are the mechanical interaction device) provided in connection with an outside of the first container (14, Figure 1) such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container (Paragraph [0040], the mechanical interaction device provides distortion to the outside the lower side of the container), wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts (30, Figure 1) configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container (Paragraphs [0040] and [0042], the first container has intermittent contact and the mechanical interaction device can be controlled to have various contact with the container); and
wherein the mechanical interaction device (30 and 35, Figure 1) is provided in a storage bin (20, Figure 1, the housing is the storage bin) in which the first container (14, Figure 1) is provided, and the mechanical interaction device is a moveable bottom part in the storage bin (Figure 1, the mechanical interaction device is a moveable bottom part in the housing).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst to include a mechanical interaction device provided in connection with an outside of the first container such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container, wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container the mechanical interaction device is provided in a storage bin in which the first container is provided, and the mechanical interaction device is a moveable bottom part in the storage bin as taught by Bungay with the motivation to cause motion within the container to mix the materials within in a controlled manner to prevent potential human error.
Hurst and Bungay do not teach:
A system for transferring separation resin between at least two containers;
a mechanical interaction device provided in connection with an outside of the first container such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container, wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container by at least 5%, and wherein the deformation is effective to fluidize the separation resin with the storage solution to form a resin slurry;
a second container comprising an inlet port which is fluidically connected to the outlet port of said at least one first container; and
a pressure difference generating device configured for transferring separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container by generating a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and an interior of the first container wherein the pressure is lower in the second container;
wherein the pressure difference generating device is at least one vacuum production device connected to the second container and arranged for providing a degree of vacuum in the second container at least during a transferring of the separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container.
Niazi teaches a separative bioreactor, comprising:
a mechanical interaction device (7, Figure 1) provided in connection with an outside of the first container (1, Figure 1) such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container, wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly contact and deform the first container (Figure 1 and Paragraph [0075], the flapper is the moveable part and mechanical interaction device that strikes the flexible bag periodically where the compression is applied to the lower side of the first container), and wherein the deformation is effective to fluidize the separation resin with the storage solution to form a resin slurry (Paragraph [0075], the flapper creates a wave within the bag until the mixing is smooth); and
wherein the mechanical interaction device (7, Figure 1) is provided in a storage bin (9 and 10, Figure 1) in which the first container (1, Figure 1) is provided.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separation resin in the device of Hurst and Bungay to include a mechanical interaction device provided in connection with an outside of the first container such that it provides a deformation to a lower side of said first container, wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly contact and deform the first container, the deformation is effective to fluidize the separation resin with the storage solution to form a resin slurry, and the mechanical interaction device is provided in a storage bin in which the first container is provided as taught by Niazi with the motivation to ensure no unmixed media is within the bag to allow for the binding within the mixture.
Hurst, Niazi, and Bungay do not teach:
A system for transferring separation resin between at least two containers;
wherein the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container by at least 5%;
a second container comprising an inlet port which is fluidically connected to the outlet port of said at least one first container; and
a pressure difference generating device configured for transferring separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container by generating a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and an interior of the first container wherein the pressure is lower in the second container;
wherein the pressure difference generating device is at least one vacuum production device connected to the second container and arranged for providing a degree of vacuum in the second container at least during a transferring of the separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container.
Windahl teaches a system for transferring separation resin (1, Figure 1) between at least two containers, comprising:
a second container (3, Figure 1) comprising an inlet port (23, Figure 1) which is fluidically connected to the outlet port of said at least one first container (Figure 1, the first container (47) has an outlet port (Paragraph [0013]) above the slurry tank valve (45)); and
a pressure difference generating device (13 and 15, Figure 1, the actuator and the control unit are the pressure difference generating device) configured for transferring separation resin from the at least one first container (47, Figure 1) to the second container (3, Figure 1) by generating a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and an interior of the first container wherein the pressure is lower in the second container (Paragraph [0014]);
wherein the pressure difference pressure generating device (13 and 15, Figure 1) is at least one vacuum production device (Paragraph [0014]) connected to the second container (3, Figure 1) and arranged for providing a degree of vacuum in the second container at least during a transferring of the separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container (Paragraph [0014], suction is created when the pressure difference pressure generating device is raised causing the slurry to enter from the first tank to the second tank).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi to include a second container comprising an inlet port which is fluidically connected to the outlet port of said at least one first container, a pressure difference generating device configured for transferring separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container by generating a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and an interior of the first container wherein the pressure is lower in the second container, and the pressure difference pressure generating device is at least one vacuum production device connected to the second container and arranged for providing a degree of vacuum in the second container at least during a transferring of the separation resin from the at least one first container to the second container as taught by Windahl with the motivation to apply the correct amount of compression to the predetermined amount of slurry that was removed to provide optimum performance of the column.
Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, and Niazi discloses the claimed invention except for the mechanical interaction device includes one or more movable parts configured to repeatedly and intermittently contact and deform the first container by at least 5%. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to deform the first container by at least 5%, since applicant has not disclosed that the deformation of the first container by at least 5% solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with deformation of the first container by at least 5%.
Regarding Claim 21:
The above-discussed combination of Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, and Niazi accounts for this subject matter where Hurst discloses said at least one first container (30, Figure 1) is a flexible bag (Paragraph [0155]).
Regarding Claim 24:
The above-discussed combination of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl accounts for this subject matter where Windhal teaches said second container (3, Figure 1) is a separation device (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding Claim 29:
Hurst discloses:
at least one container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
wherein the at least one first container is connected to the second container by a transferring connection such that the separation resin initially provided in the at least one first container is transferred from the at least one first container to the second container through the transferring connection by the vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container.
Windahl teaches:
wherein the at least one first container (47, Figure 1) is connected to the second container (3, Figure 1) by a transferring connection (43, Figure 1) such that the separation resin (Paragraph [0013]) initially provided in the at least one first container is transferred from the at least one first container (47, Figure 1) to the second container (3, Figure 1) through the transferring connection by the vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Niazi, and Bungay to include the at least one first container is connected to the second container by a transferring connection such that the separation resin initially provided in the at least one first container is transferred from the at least one first container to the second container through the transferring connection by the vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container as taught by Windahl with the motivation to have a desired bed compression of the resin slurry.
Regarding Claim 31:
Hurst discloses:
at least one container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the transferring connection comprises at least one valve whereby opening of the at least one valve allows vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container to affect the content in the first container such that the separation resin initially provided in the first container is transferred to the second container through the transferring connection.
Windahl teaches:
the transferring connection (43, Figure 1) comprises at least one valve (45, Figure 1) whereby opening of the at least one valve allows vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container to affect the content in the first container such that the separation resin initially provided in the first container is transferred to the second container through the transferring connection (Paragraphs [0014-0015]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Niazi, and Bungay to include the transferring connection comprises at least one valve whereby opening of the at least one valve allows vacuum/under-pressure provided to the second container to affect the content in the first container such that the separation resin initially provided in the first container is transferred to the second container through the transferring connection as taught by Windahl with the motivation to allow and prevent slurry leaving the first container.
Regarding Claim 36:
Hurst discloses:
at least one container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay and Niazi do not teach:
the second container comprises an adaptor defining the internal volume of the second container together with a bottom and internal walls of the second container, which adaptor is used as the pressure difference generating device by raising it within the second container thus increasing the internal volume of the second container.
Windahl teaches:
the second container (3, Figure 1) comprises an adaptor (9, Figure 1) defining the internal volume of the second container together with a bottom and internal walls of the second container (Paragraphs [0012] and [0014]), which adaptor is used as the pressure difference generating device by raising it within the second container thus increasing the internal volume of the second container (Paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Niazi, and Bungay to include the second container comprises an adaptor defining the internal volume of the second container together with a bottom and internal walls of the second container, which adaptor is used as the pressure difference generating device by raising it within the second container thus increasing the internal volume of the second container as taught by Windahl with the motivation to have a desired packed bed height that is reproducible.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl, and Brandt (US 20110259831 A1).
Regarding Claim 22:
Hurst discloses:
said container (30, Figure 1) is configured for use in chromatography (Paragraph [0195]).
Hurst, Windahl, and Niazi do not teach:
said container system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing-scale separation of a biopharmaceutical.
Bungay teaches:
the container system (5, Figure 1).
Hurst, Niazi, Windahl, and Bungay do not teach:
said container system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing-scale separation of a biopharmaceutical.
Brant teaches a processing column system, comprising:
the packing of a column for manufacturing-scale separation of a biopharmaceutical (Paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, and Niazi to include said container system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing-scale separation of a biopharmaceutical as taught by Brandt with the motivation to purify the product that is being produced while maintaining bed integrity.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl and Telang (US 4388922 A).
Regarding Claim 26:
Hurst discloses:
said first container (30, Figure 1) can be connected sequentially or in parallel to withdraw fluid (Paragraph [0199]).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the system comprises two or more first containers connected in series or in parallel and which are fluidically connected to the second container.
Windahl teaches:
the system (1, Figure 1) comprises second container (3, Figure 1) connected to the first container (47, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl do not teach:
the system comprises two or more first containers connected in series or in parallel and which are fluidically connected to the second container.
Telang teaches a suction cannister system, comprising:
the system comprises two or more first containers (12 and 12a, Figure 1) connected in series or in parallel (Abstract) and which are fluidically connected to the second container (12b, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the system comprises two or more first containers connected in series or in parallel and which are fluidically connected to the second container as taught by Telang with the motivation to apply vacuum to the containers at the same time to fill the containers.
Regarding Claim 27:
Hurst discloses:
said first container (30, Figure 1) can be connected sequentially or in parallel to withdraw fluid (Paragraph [0199]).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the outlet ports of the two or more first containers are connected to a resin transfer manifold which in turn is connected to the inlet of the second container.
Windahl teaches:
the system (1, Figure 1) comprises second container (3, Figure 1) connected to the outlet port (Paragraph [0013]) of the first container (47, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl do not teach:
the outlet ports of the two or more first containers are connected to a resin transfer manifold which in turn is connected to the inlet of the second container.
Telang teaches:
a suction cannister system, comprising: the outlet ports (Figure 1, the outlet port are in the cover of the container) of the two or more first containers (12 and 12a, Figure 1) are connected to a resin transfer manifold (29 and 29a, Figure 1) which in turn is connected to the inlet of the second container (12b, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the outlet ports of the two or more first containers are connected to a resin transfer manifold which in turn is connected to the inlet of the second container as taught by Telang with the motivation to simultaneously apply vacuum to the containers.
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl and Gebauer (US 20130062267 A1).
Regarding Claim 28:
Hurst disclose:
the first container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the at least one first container comprising separation resin has been sterilized by gamma radiation and an interior of the second container has been sterilized before they are fluidically connected by aseptic connections.
Windahl teaches:
the system (1, Figure 1) comprises the second container (3, Figure 1) and the first container (47, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl do not teach:
the at least one first container comprising separation resin has been sterilized by gamma radiation and an interior of the second container has been sterilized before they are fluidically connected by aseptic connections.
Gebauer teaches a packing system, comprising:
the at least one first container comprising separation resin has been sterilized by gamma radiation and an interior of the second container has been sterilized (Paragraphs [0024-0027] and [0064], the vessels and containers are sterilized with gamma radiation) before they are fluidically connected by aseptic connections (Paragraphs [0024-0027] and [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the at least one first container comprising separation resin has been sterilized by gamma radiation and an interior of the second container has been sterilized before they are fluidically connected by aseptic connections as taught by Gebauer with the motivation to have a controlled level of microbiological burden to prevent contamination.
Regarding Claim 30:
Hurst discloses:
the first container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the transferring connection comprises disposable pre-sterilized connecting parts.
Windahl teaches:
the transferring connection (43, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the transferring connection comprises disposable pre-sterilized connecting parts.
Gebauer teaches a packing system, comprising:
the transferring connection comprises disposable pre-sterilized connecting parts (Paragraphs [0024-0027] and [0064-0065], the lines and components are considered as the transferring connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the transferring connection comprises disposable pre-sterilized connecting parts as taught by Gebauer with the motivation to have a controlled level of microbiological burden to prevent contamination.
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl, Freeman (US 4195672 A) and Friedrich (US 2999500 A).
Regarding Claim 32:
Hurst discloses:
the first container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the system further comprises a rinse bag connected to the first container, said rinse bag comprising a rinsing solution for rinsing the first container when the separation resin has been transferred to the second container, said rinsing solution being transferred from the rinse bag to the first container by the same pressure difference as generated between an interior of the second container and the first container for transferring the separation resin.
Windahl teaches:
the first container (47, Figure 1), the second container (3, Figure 1), separation resin (Paragraph [0014]) and a pressure difference between an interior of the second container and the first container for transferring the separation resin (Paragraph [0014]).
Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl do not teach:
the system further comprises a rinse bag connected to the first container, said rinse bag comprising a rinsing solution for rinsing the first container when the separation resin has been transferred to the second container, said rinsing solution being transferred from the rinse bag to the first container by the same pressure difference as generated between an interior of the second container and the first container for transferring the separation resin.
Freeman teaches a transfer assembly, comprising:
the system further comprises a rinse bag connected to the first container, said rinse bag comprising a rinsing solution (Column 6, Lines 28-49) for rinsing the first container (E, Figure 13) when the separation resin (F, Figure 13) has been transferred to the second container, said rinsing solution being transferred to the first container by the same pressure difference as generated between an interior of the second container and the first container for transferring the separation resin (Column 6, Lines 37-47).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the system further comprises a rinse bag connected to the first container, said rinse bag comprising a rinsing solution for rinsing the first container when the separation resin has been transferred to the second container, said rinsing solution being transferred to the first container by the same pressure difference as generated between an interior of the second container and the first container for transferring the separation resinas taught by Freeman with the motivation to clean the conduits and containers in the system from contaminants.
Hurst, Windahl, Bungay, Niazi, and Moran fails to expressly teach:
a rinse bag.
Friedrich teaches a container for taking and storing biological fluids, comprising:
a bag (1, Figure 1) within a container (4, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, Niazi, and Freeman to include a bag within a container as taught by Friedrich with the motivation to easily replace the bag within the container to keep the bag sterile.
Through the combination, the rinse tank (116, Figure 13) of Freeman can have a bag within as seen in Friedrich to have the rinse bag.
Regarding Claim 33:
The above-discussed combination of Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, Freeman, Niazi, and Friedrich accounts for this subject matter where Freeman teaches wherein a rinse valve (110, Figure 13) is provided between the rinse tank (116, Figure 13) and the at least one first container (E, Figure 13) such that rinsing solution is transferred the rinse bag to the at least one first container (E, Figure 13) by the pressure difference generated between the first and second containers when the rinse valve is open (Column 6, Lines 28-49). Friedrich teaches a bag (1, Figure 1) within a container (4, Figure 1). Through the combination, the rinse tank (116, Figure 13) of Freeman can have a bag within as seen in Friedrich to have the rinse bag.
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl, Moran (US 6402958 B1), and Karlberg (US 20110053127 A1).
Regarding Claim 34:
Hurst discloses:
the first container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
the second container is a chromatography column connected to a liquid supply system such that the separation resin is fluidized within the second container by the liquid supply system.
Windahl teaches:
the second container (3, Figure 1) is a chromatography column (Paragraph [0012]).
Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl do not teach:
the second container is a chromatography column connected to a liquid supply system such that the separation resin is fluidized within the second container by the liquid supply system.
Moran teaches a chromatography column method, comprising:
the second container is a chromatography column connected to a liquid supply system such that the separation resin is fluidized (Column 3, Lines 19-27, the fluidization of the slurry occurs when the solvent goes through the column) within the second container by the liquid supply system (Column 3, Lines 35-37, the liquid supply system is the circulation of the solvent).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include the second container is a chromatography column connected to a liquid supply system such that the separation resin is fluidized within the second container by the liquid supply system as taught by Moran with the motivation to distribute the solvent and eliminate the dead spots before the compressing the absorbent.
Hurst, Windahl, Bungay, Niazi, and Moran fails to expressly teach:
a liquid supply system.
Karlberg teaches a column packing method, comprising:
a liquid supply system (14, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Moran, Niazi, and Windahl to include a liquid supply system as taught by Karlberg with the motivation to pump liquid into the column to create a compressed column.
Regarding Claim 35:
Hurst discloses:
the first container (30, Figure 1).
Hurst, Windahl, Niazi, and Bungay do not teach:
the second container comprises a liquid distribution system at an inlet for the liquid supply system hereby improving a homogenization of the slurry provided by the fluidization.
Moran teaches:
the second container is a chromatography column connected to the liquid supply system (Column 3, Lines 35-37, the liquid supply system is the circulation of the solvent).
Hurst, Windahl, Bungay, Niazi, and Moran do not teach:
the second container comprises a liquid distribution system at an inlet for the liquid supply system hereby improving a homogenization of the slurry provided by the fluidization.
Karlberg teaches:
the second container (7, Figure 1) comprises a liquid distribution system (5 b, Figure 1) at an inlet for the liquid supply system hereby improving a homogenization of the slurry provided by the fluidization (Paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Moran, Niazi, and Windahl to include the second container is a chromatography column connected to a liquid supply system such that the separation resin can be fluidized within the second container by the liquid supply system as taught by Karlberg with the motivation to distribute incoming liquid evenly over the column.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hurst in view of Bungay in further view of Niazi, Windahl and Brandt.
Regarding Claim 38:
Hurst discloses:
said container (30, Figure 1) is configured for use in chromatography (Paragraph [0195]).
Hurst, Bungay, and Niazi do not teach:
said system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing- scale separation of a biopharmaceutical.
Windahl teaches:
the system (1, Figure 1) is configured for use in the packing of a column (Paragraphs [0014-0015]).
Hurst, Bungay, Windahl, and Niazi do not teach:
said system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing- scale separation of a biopharmaceutical.
Brandt teaches a processing column system, comprising:
the packing of a column for manufacturing-scale separation of a biopharmaceutical (Paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hurst, Bungay, Niazi, and Windahl to include said system is configured for use in the packing of a column for manufacturing- scale separation of a biopharmaceutical as taught by Brandt with the motivation to purify the product that is being produced while maintaining bed integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vicalvi (US 10463988 B2) teaches a chromatography system comprising a resin slurry, a single-use bag, a first container, and an outlet for the first container.
Gebauer 2 (US 20140224738 A1) teaches packing of chromatography columns comprising a flexible container, separation resin, storage solution, and a second container.
Hermansson (US 20080017579 A1) teaches an axial chromatography column comprising a second container, and an adapter.
Mauger 2 (US 8157127 B2) teaches a method of draining a flexible container comprising a storage container, a first container, a bag, and an air bladder.
Hlavinka (US 20060176767 A1) teaches a container or bag mixing apparatus comprising a bag and a mechanical interaction device.
Hubbard (US 7377686 B2) teaches a disposable mixing system comprising a flexible bag and a mechanical interaction device.
Tysiac (US 20100243670 A1) teaches a polishing apparatus comprising a deformable, single-use first container and the fluidization of the slurry when the bag is being deformed.
Singh (US 6544788 B2) teaches a disposable perfusion bioreactor for cell culture comprising a bag, a mechanical interaction device and resin.
Lee (US 8469238 B2) teaches an apparatus for dispensing resin comprising a first container, a second container and multiple valves.
Runyon (US 7682823 B1) teaches bioreactor system comprising a bag, separation resin and mixing of the separation resin.
Avallin (US 10940402 B2) teaches a method and system for transferring separation resin comprising a first container, a second container, a mechanical interaction device, and multiple valves.
Edbald (US 8066882 B2) teaches a column packing method comprising a first container, a second container, a controller, and a pressure difference generating device.
Singh (US 6544788 B2) teaches a disposable perfusion bioreactor comprising a bag, an inlet, an outlet, sterilization of the bag, and rocking of the bag.
Baron (US 6637929 B2) teaches a method for agitating a fluid suspension comprising a bag, a storage bin, and a mechanical interaction device in the bottom of the storage bin to mix the fluid.
Hubbard (US 7377686 B2) teaches a disposable mixing system comprising a bag, a storage bin, and a mechanical interaction device.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753