DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/10/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0211969 A1) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan et al disclose an information processing method comprising: in response to determining that an application is in a video mode (Yuan; Para [0033]), acquiring a video image in real time through a camera group of an electronic device and acquiring a plurality of sound sources in an environment where the electronic device is located in real time through a microphone group of the electronic device (Yuan; Para [0033]-[0034]; [0047]; acquiring audio from plurality of sound sources through left and right microphone interpreted as microphone group); the microphone group including a plurality of microphones collecting sounds from a plurality of sound sources from different directions (Yuan; Para [0033]-[0034]; [0096]; sound of target speaker and surrounding speaker are interpreted as sound sources from different direction) displaying the video image (Yuan; Fig 4); mapping an audio manipulation area on the video image, the audio manipulation area (Yuan; Fig 4; the selection of sound source head is interpreted as mapping an audio manipulation area) including at least an operation response area corresponding to a sound source that is located within the an acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in a video recording process (Yuan; Fig 4; the selected head interpreted as operation response area corresponding to the sound source that affects the captured image environment as acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring video image) obtaining an input operation for a first operation response area (Yuan; Para [0081] tap screen to select an object from multiple object); and in response to the input operation, adjusting a sound effect of the sound source corresponding to the operation response area (Yuan; Para [0084]-[0085]); but do not expressly disclose obtaining positions of the plurality of sound sources in the environment where the electronic device is located based on the microphone group determining, based on the positions of the plurality of sound sources and from the plurality of sound sources, effective sound sources located within an acquisition area of the camera group and ineffective sound sources located outside the acquisition area; determine a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode, the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image; based on the suppression area, suppressing sound of the ineffective sound sources in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain the video sound corresponding to the effective sound sources. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a method wherein obtaining an input operation for a first operation response area (Kim et al; Fig 10-11; Fig 13b; touch input interpreted as input operation in volume adjust bar in the displayed image interpreted as first operation response area); and in response to the input operation in the first operation response area (Kim et al; Para [0129]), adjusting a sound effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area (Kim et al; Para [0129]), wherein the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area affecting the sound source of the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process (Kim et al; Para [0107]-[0108]; Fig 6(a)-6(e); adjust sound of speaker A of the acquisition area shown in video image of video recording process) includes a noise source (Kim et al; Para [0130]; noise as sound source) the adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area including suppressing sound from the noise source (Kim et al; Para [0189]; turn down selected sound source interpreted as noise). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Kim as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance the user's convenience (Kim et al; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Tan et al disclose a method wherein each operation response area being configured to adjust a parameter of the microphone group corresponding to the direction of the sound source at any time during the video recording process (Tan et al; Fig 6; Para [0015][0017][0030]-[0031]; zoom in view interpreted as operation response area; beamforming microphone recorded audio to focus on the direction of the indicated audience presenter) obtaining positions of the plurality of sound sources in the environment where the electronic device is located based on the microphone group (Tan et al; Fig 6; Para [0015] knowledge of location of sound source to microphone array) determining, based on the positions of the plurality of sound sources and from the plurality of sound sources, effective sound sources located within an acquisition area of the camera group and ineffective sound sources located outside the acquisition area (Tan et al; Fig 3B; Para [0015] sound source 11a interpreted as effective sound source and sound source 110b as ineffective sound source outside of acquisition area 320). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Tan as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to permits the presenter to better interact with participants of the meeting without the necessity of passing microphones between audience members, or the use of roving microphones. (Tan et al; Para [0012]). Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Onno discloses a method wherein determining a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode (Onno; Fig 2; Para [0005]), the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34); based on the suppression area, suppressing sound of the ineffective sound sources in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain video sound corresponding to the effective sound sources (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34; audio from attendee 2 attenuated). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the region of interest selection taught by Onno as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid lag (Onno; Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan discloses an electronic device (Yuan; Para [0081]; Fig 4) comprising: a camera group (Yuan; Para [0081]; camera); a microphone group (Yuan; Para [0025]; microphone array); a display screen (Yuan; Fig 4; display); and a processor (Yuan; Para [0020]) configured to: in response to determining that an application is in a video mode (Yuan; Para [0033]), control the camera group to acquire a video image in real time (Yuan; Para [0033]) the microphone group including a plurality of microphones collecting sounds from a plurality of sound sources from different directions (Yuan; Para [0033]-[0034]; [0096]; sound of target speaker and surrounding speaker are interpreted as sound sources from different direction) and control the microphone group to acquire a plurality of sound sources in an environment where the electronic device is located in real time (Yuan; Para [0100]; multiple people are simultaneously speaking); control the display screen to display the video image (Yuan; Fig 4); map an audio manipulation area on the video image (Yuan; Fig 4; the video image has area around sound source as audio manipulation area), the audio manipulation area including at least an operation response area corresponding to an effective sound source (Yuan; Fig 4; the selected head is interpreted as operation response area); obtain an input operation for a first operation response area (Yuan; Para [0081] tap screen to select an object from multiple object); and in response to the input operation in the first operation response area, adjust a sound effect of the sound source corresponding to the operation response area (Yuan; Para [0084]- [0085]); but do not expressly disclose obtains positions of the plurality of sound sources in the environment where the electronic device is located based on the microphone group determine, based on the positions of the plurality of sound sources and from the plurality of sound sources, effective sound sources located within an acquisition area of the camera group and ineffective sound sources located outside the acquisition area; wherein each operation response area being configured to adjust a parameter of the microphone group corresponding to the direction of the effective sound source at any time during the video recording process; determine a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode, the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image; based on the suppression area, suppress sound of the ineffective sound sources in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain the video sound corresponding to the effective sound sources; wherein the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area affecting the sound source of the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process includes a noise source; wherein the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area located within the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process includes a noise source; the adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area including suppressing sound from the noise source. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a method wherein obtaining an input operation for a first operation response area (Kim et al; Fig 10-11; Fig 13b; touch input interpreted as input operation in volume adjust bar in the displayed image interpreted as first operation response area); and in response to the input operation in the first operation response area (Kim et al; Para [0129]), adjusting a sound effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area (Kim et al; Para [0129]), wherein the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area affecting the sound source of the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process (Kim et al; Para [0107]-[0108]; Fig 6(a)-6(e); adjust sound of speaker A of the acquisition area shown in video image of video recording process) includes a noise source (Kim et al; Para [0130]; noise as sound source) the adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area including suppressing sound from the noise source (Kim et al; Para [0189]; turn down selected sound source interpreted as noise). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Kim as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance the user's convenience (Kim et al; Para [0012]). Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Tan et al disclose a method wherein each operation response area being configured to adjust a parameter of the microphone group corresponding to the direction of the sound source at any time during the video recording process (Tan et al; Fig 6; Para [0015][001 7][0030]-[0031]; zoom in view interpreted as operation response area; beamforming microphone recorded audio to focus on the direction of the indicated audience presenter). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Tan as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to permits the presenter to better interact with participants of the meeting without the necessity of passing microphones between audience members, or the use of roving microphones. (Tan et al; Para [0012]). Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Onno discloses a method wherein determining a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode (Onno; Fig 2; Para [0003][0005] videoconference interpreted as video mode), the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34); based on the suppression area, suppressing sound of the ineffective sound sources in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain video sound corresponding to the effective sound sources (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34; audio from attendee 2 attenuated). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the region of interest selection taught by Onno as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid lag (Onno; Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the suppressing the sound of the sound sources comprises controlling the microphone group not to collect the sound of the ineffective sound sources. However, in the same field of endeavor, Onno et al disclose a method wherein the suppressing the sound of the sound sources comprises controlling the microphone group not to collect the sound of the ineffective sound sources (Onno et al; Fig 2; Para [0018]; muting of inefficient sound sources). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Yuan as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid lag (Onno; Para [0014]).
Claims 4, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0211969 A1) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1) and further in view of An et al (US 2015/0162019 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: superimposing and displaying a position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area based on the video image, the position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area corresponding to the operation response area. However, in the same field of endeavor, An et al disclose a method wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: superimposing and displaying a position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area based on the video image (An et al; Para [0042]; Fig 5; selection box 210 superimpose to image on display), the position of the sound source in the acquisition area corresponding to the at least one operation response area (An et al; Para [0042]; Fig 5; selection box 210 correspond to response area for sound focus). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the object tracking taught by An as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the complexity of the audio control feature of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 10, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al disclose the electronic device according to claim 7, but do not expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display screen to superimpose and display a position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area based on the video image, the position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area corresponding to the operation response area. However, in the same field of endeavor, An et al disclose a method wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display screen to superimpose and display a position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area based on the video image (An et al; Para [0042]; Fig 5; selection box 210 superimpose to image on display), the position of the at least one sound source in the acquisition area corresponding to the operation response area (An et al; Para [0042]; Fig 5; selection box 210 correspond to response area for sound focus). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the object tracking taught by An as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the complexity of the audio control feature of the electronic device.
Claims 5-6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0211969 A1) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1) and further in view of An et al (US 2015/0162019 A1) and further in view of Honma et al (US 2019/0253828 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al and further in view of An disclose the method according to claim 4, but do not expressly disclose wherein adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the operation response area includes: increasing a gain of the sound source based on the video sound. However, in the same field of endeavor, Honma et al disclose a method wherein adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the operation response area includes: increasing a gain of the sound source based on the video sound (Honma et al; Fig 6; Para [0126]; processor uses CT11 parameter to adjust audio signal of selected object HM12). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Honma as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the ease of sound setting of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 6, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al and further in view of An disclose the method according to claim 4, but do not expressly disclose further comprising: displaying a sound parameter of the sound source in real time at a position where the position of the sound source is superimposed and displayed based on the video image. However, in the same field of endeavor, Honma et al disclose a method wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display screen to display a sound parameter of the sound source in real time at a position where the position of the sound source is Superimposed and displayed based on the video image (Honma et al; Fig 6; Para [0126]; processor uses CT11 parameter is displayed near selected object HM12). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Honma as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the speed of processing of the audio control feature of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al and further in view of An disclose the electronic device according to claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein the processor Is further configured to: increase a gain of the sound source based on the video sound (Honma et al; Fig 6; Para [0126]; processor uses CT11 parameter to adjust audio signal of selected object HM12). However, in the same field of endeavor, An et al disclose a method wherein the processor is further configured to: increase a gain of the sound source based on the video sound (Honma et al; Fig 6; Para [0126]; processor uses CT11 parameter to adjust audio signal of selected object HM12). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Honma as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the ease of sound setting of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al and further in view of An disclose the electronic device according to claim 10, but do not expressly disclose wherein the processor Is further configured to: control the display screen to display a sound parameter of the sound source in real time at a position where the position of the sound source is superimposed and displayed based on the video image. However, in the same field of endeavor, Honma et al disclose a method wherein the processor is further configured to: control the display screen to display a sound parameter of the sound source in real time at a position where the position of the sound source is superimposed and displayed based on the video image (Honma et al; Fig 6; Para [0126]; processor uses CT11 parameter is displayed near selected object HM12). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Honma as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the speed of processing of the audio control feature of the electronic device.
Claims 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0211969 A1) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1) and further in view of Heo et al (US 2012/0060089 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan in view of Kim et al and further in view of Tan et al and further in view of Onno et al disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: superimposing and displaying, with a transparency, the audio manipulation area on the video image. However, in the same field of endeavor, Heo et al disclose a method wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: superimposing and displaying, with a transparency, the audio manipulation area on the video image (Heo et al; Fig 20; Para [0114];[0011]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Heo as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce energy consumption of the electronic device.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Strubbe et al (WO 2002/011438 A1) and further in view of Jun et al (KR 20170004162A) and further in view of Pance et al (US 2013/0028443 A1) and further in view of Shi et al (CN 112309449 A) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses an information processing method comprising: in response to determining that an application is in a video mode (Yuan; Para [0033]), acquiring a video image in real time through a camera group of an electronic device and acquiring a plurality of sound sources in an environment where the electronic device is located in real time through a microphone group of the electronic device (Yuan; Para [0033]-[0034] [0100]; Fig 4; left and right microphone interpreted as microphone group recording multiple people are simultaneously speaking and camera for recording image); the microphone group including a plurality of microphones collecting sounds from a plurality of sound sources from different directions (Yuan; Para [0033]-[0034]; [0096]; sound of target speaker and surrounding speaker are interpreted as sound sources from different direction); displaying the video image by a display (Yuan; Fig 4); mapping an audio manipulation area on the display that is displaying the video image (Yuan; Fig 4; the video image has area around sound source as audio manipulation area), the audio manipulation area including at least an operation response area corresponding to a source that is located within the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in a video recording process (Yuan; Fig 4; the selected area around head of sound source is interpreted as operation response area and video recording is interpreted as video recording process); obtaining an input operation for the at least one operation response area (Yuan; Para [0081] tap screen to select an object from multiple object); and in response to the input operation, adjusting a sound collection effect of at least one sound source corresponding to the at least one operation response area (Yuan; Para [0084]-[0085]); but do not expressly disclose wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: in response determining a difference between angles of positions of the at least two sound sources with respect to the electronic device is greater than a preset value, setting different ones of the first operation response area, including, before recording starts or during a recording process: displaying parameters of the at least one sound source at a position of the at least one sound source to present the sound collection effect; wherein each operation response area being configured to adjust a parameter of the microphone group corresponding to the direction of the sound source at any time during the video recording process; determining how much the parameters are adjusted according to the displayed parameters; and adjusting the parameters of the at least one sound source to adjust the sound collection effect; determine a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode, the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image; based on the suppression area, suppress sound in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain the video sound; wherein the at least one sound source corresponding to the first operation response area located within the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process includes a noise source; for the at least two sound sources, respectively; and in response determining the difference between the angles of the positions of the at least two sound sources with respect to the electronic device is not greater than the preset value, setting a same one of the at least one operation response area for the at least two sound sources; prompting to a user, in the audio manipulation area displayed on the display, a direction of the at least one sound source with respect to the electronic device; the adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area including suppressing sound from the noise source. However, in the same field of endeavor, Strubbe et al disclose a method wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: in response determining a difference between angles of positions of the at least two sound sources with respect to the electronic device is greater than a preset value (Strubbe et al; Page 2; lines 20-30), setting different ones of the at least one operation response area for the at least two sound sources, respectively (Strubbe et al; Page 2; lines 20-30; different sound source when angle difference greater than threshold). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Strubbe as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the user experience. Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Jun et al disclose a method wherein mapping the audio manipulation area includes: and in response determining the difference between the angles of the positions of the at least two sound sources with respect to the electronic device is not greater than the preset value (Jun et al; Page 3; lines 30-70), setting a same one of the at least one operation response area for the at least two sound sources (Jun et al; Page 3; lines 30-70; setting speaker as the same when angle difference less than threshold). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Jun as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce computational cost (Jun et al; Page 1 lines 40-75). Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Pance et al disclose a method comprising prompting to a user, in the audio manipulation area displayed on the display, a direction of the at least one sound source with respect to the electronic device (Pance et al; Fig 7B; Para [0047][0048]: prompting user's orientation head direction to the computer interpreted as electronic device). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Pance as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been dynamically adjust to different user parameters to enhance the audio output (Pance et al; Para [002]). In addition, in the same field of endeavor, Shi et al discloses a method including, including, before recording starts or during a recording process: displaying parameters of the at least one sound source at a position of the at least one sound source to present the sound collection effect (Shi et al; Page 1; lines 3- 5; displaying volume indicator ); determining how much the parameters are adjusted according to the displayed parameters (Shi et al; Page 4; lines 20-50; displaying volume indicator corresponding to each sound identifier); and adjusting the parameters of the at least one sound source to adjust the sound collection effect (Shi et al; Page 4; lines 20-50; adjust volume of sound source; Page 5; lines 10-50); wherein the sound sources corresponding to the first operation response area affecting the sound source of the acquisition area of the camera group for acquiring the video image in the video recording process includes a noise source (Shi et al; Page 1; lines 20-30; noise source) the adjusting the sound collection effect of the sound source corresponding to the first operation response area including suppressing sound from the noise source (Shi et al; Page 1; lines 20-30; noise source suppressing). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Shi as audio control in the video recording device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the quality of the video recording (Shi et al; Page 1; lines 5- 15). Besides, in the same field of endeavor, Tan et al disclose a method wherein each operation response area being configured to adjust a parameter of the microphone group corresponding to the direction of the sound source at any time during the video recording process (Tan et al; Fig 6; Para [0015][0017][0030]-[0031] zoom in view interpreted as operation response area; beamforming microphone recorded audio to focus on the direction of the indicated audience presenter) obtaining positions of the plurality of sound sources in the environment where the electronic device is located based on the microphone group (Tan et al; Fig 6; Para [0015] knowledge of location of sound source to microphone array) determining, based on the positions of the plurality of sound sources and from the plurality of sound sources, effective sound sources located within an acquisition area of the camera group and ineffective sound sources located outside the acquisition area (Tan et al; Fig 3B; Para [0015] sound source 11a interpreted as effective sound source and sound source 110b as ineffective sound source outside of acquisition area 320). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Tan as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to permits the presenter to better interact with participants of the meeting without the necessity of passing microphones between audience members, or the use of roving microphones. (Tan et al; Para [0012]). Also, in the same field of endeavor, Onno discloses a method wherein determining a suppression area based on an acquisition area of the camera group called by the application in the video mode (Onno; Fig 2; Para [0003][0005]; videoconference interpreted as video mode), the suppression area being outside the acquisition area of the camera group that acquires the video image (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34); based on the suppression area, suppressing sound of the ineffective sound sources in the suppression area collected by the microphone group to obtain video sound corresponding to the effective sound sources (Onno; Fig 2; area outside of acquisition area of attendee 1 interpreted as suppression area for acquisition area of camera 34; audio from attendee 2 attenuated). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the region of interest selection taught by Onno as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to avoid lag (Onno; Para [0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Yuan in view of Strubble and further in view of Jun and further in view of Pance and further in view of Shi and further in view of Tan and further in view of Onno disclose the method according to claim 14, wherein: the video image is displayed on a display (Yuan; Fig 4); and mapping an audio manipulation area includes mapping an audio manipulation area on the display that is displaying the video image (Yuan; Para [0081]); but do not expressly disclose the method further comprising: prompting to a user, in the audio manipulation area displayed on the display, a direction of the at least one sound source with respect to the electronic device. Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Pance et al disclose a method comprising prompting to a user, in the audio manipulation area displayed on the display, a direction of the at least one sound source with respect to the electronic device (Pance et al; Fig 7B; Para [(0047][0048]: prompting user's orientation head direction to the computer interpreted as electronic device). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the sound control taught by Pance as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to dynamically adjust to different user parameters to enhance the audio output (Pance et al; Para [0020]).
Claims 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Strubbe et al (WO 2002/011438 A1) and further in view of Jun et al (KR 20170004162A) and further in view of Pance et al (US 2013/0028443 A1) and further in view of Shi et al (CN 112309449 A) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1) and further in view of Kim et al (US 2014/0211969 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan in view of Strubble and further in view of Jun and further in view of Pance and further in view of Shi and further in view of Tan and further in view of Onno disclose the method according to claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein: each operation response area corresponds to a sound source of the at least one sound source; an operation area is set on a display screen and includes all operation response areas of all sound sources of the at least one sound source; and the operation response areas and the sound sources are displayed at different positions on the display screen. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim et al disclose a method wherein: each operation response area corresponds to a sound source of the at least one sound source (Kim et al; Fig 13(b); operation response areas 1310; 1320;1330 for each sound sources); an operation area is set on a display screen and includes all operation response areas of all sound sources of the at least one sound source (Kim et al; Fig 13(b); operation response area of sound sources on display screen); and the operation response areas and the sound sources are displayed at different positions on the display screen (Kim et al; Fig 13(b); operation response areas 1310; 1320;1330 for each sound sources are displayed at different position). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Kim as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance the user's convenience (Kim et al; Para [0012]).
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (US 2017/0289681 A1) in view of Strubbe et al (WO 2002/011438 A1) and further in view of Jun et al (KR 20170004162A) and further in view of Pance et al (US 2013/0028443 A1) and further in view of Shi et al (CN 112309449 A) and further in view of Tan et al (US 2012/0124602 A1) and further in view of Onno (EP 3,101,839 A1) and further in view of Park et al (US 2018/0349087 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan in view of Strubble and further in view of Jun and further in view of Pance and further in view of Shi and further in view of Tan and further in view of Onno disclose the method according to claim 14, but do not expressly disclose wherein: in response to the audio manipulation area being a gesture input area without operation controls, the audio manipulation area is not displayed on a display screen, does not affect display of the video image on the display screen, and responds to gesture operations. However, in the same field of endeavor, Park et al disclose a method wherein: in response to the audio manipulation area being a gesture input area without operation controls, the audio manipulation area is not displayed on a display screen, does not affect display of the video image on the display screen, and responds to gesture operations (Park et al; Para [0027]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary sills in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the audio source enhancement taught by Park as audio control in the device taught by Yuan. The motivation to do so would have been to utilize familiar gestures and/or actions that would modify sound(s) (Park et al; Para [0026]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692