DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 7-16, 18-25 & 34-37 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 10/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 7-16, 18-25 & 34-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claim amendments changed the scope of the claimed invention. See new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 14, 16, 18, 22, 24-25 & 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Galer et al. (US 20180042762) herein referred to as Galer and Blalock et al. (US 6551348) herein referred to as Blalock, in further view of Lewis (US 20150231009) herein referred to as Lewis.
Regarding claim 1, Galer discloses a targeted temperature management (TTM) system (Figure 1), comprising: a TTM module configured to provide a TTM fluid (Figure 1, 22); a plurality of thermal pads configured to facilitate thermal energy transfer between the TTM fluid and a patient (Figure 1, 24), each pad comprising: a fluid delivery conduit extending continuously between the pad and the TTM module (Figure 2, 28a; Paragraph [0041]; wherein 70 represents one or more thermal pads), the fluid delivery conduit configured to facilitate TTM fluid flow from the TTM module to the pad (Paragraph [0039]; Thermal control unit delivers temperature controlled fluid to the thermal pads via the fluid supply lines 28a), and coupled with the TTM module via a first type of connector attached to the fluid delivery conduit and a second type connector attached to the TTM module (Figure 2; wherein the end of 28a is seen as a first type of connector which connects to second type of connector 46 of the TTM module); a fluid containing layer (Figure 4; Paragraph [0058]; wherein the space between first intermediate layer 86 and second intermediate layer 88 where they are not bonded to each other defines a fluid chamber) comprising a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet (Figure 4, 78a & 78b); a filter coupled with the fluid inlet (Figure 2, 54); and a fluid return conduit extending continuously between the pad and the TTM module (Figure 2, 28b), the fluid return conduit configured to facilitate TTM fluid flow from the pad to the TTM module (Paragraph [0039]; wherein thermal control unit receives the temperature controlled fluid back from thermal pads via the return lines 28b) and coupled with the TTM module via a second type connector attached to the fluid return conduit and a first type connector attached to the TTM module (Figure 2; wherein the end of 28b is seen as a second type of connectors which connects to 56 which is seen as a first type of connector of the TTM module); and a plurality of first valves configured to selectively allow and prevent flow of the TTM fluid through the plurality of thermal pads (Figure 2, 44), wherein each first valve is disposed individually in line with each fluid delivery conduit configured to selectively allow and prevent flow of the TTM fluid through a corresponding pad of the plurality of thermal pads (Paragraph [0041]; wherein valves 44 control how much fluid flows from the TTM module to each of the fluid delivery conduits 28a, fluid delivery conduits 28a are, in turn, coupled to a thermal load 70. Thermal load 70 includes one or more thermal pads 24). However, Galer does not explicitly disclose wherein the filter is coupled with the fluid inlet, wherein the TTM fluid is circulatable within the fluid containing layer from the fluid inlet, through the filter and to the fluid outlet; the connectors are A-type and B-type connectors wherein each A-type connector is configured to couple only with a B-type connector, and wherein each B-type connector is configured to couple only with an A-type connector.
Blalock discloses a targeted temperature management (TTM) system (Figure 1) wherein connectors are A-type and B-type connectors (Figure 2, 140 & 136; wherein 136 is attached to the TTM module through 50) wherein each A-type connector is configured to couple only with a B-type connector (Figure 2, 136 & 140; wherein A-type connector 140 is seen as a male part therefore is configured to couple with only a B-type connector 136 which is seen as a female part), and wherein each B-type connector is configured to couple only with an A-type connector (Figure 2, 136 & 140; wherein B-type connector 136 is seen as a female part therefore is configured to couple with only a A-type connector 140 which is seen as a male part). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer to female and male connectors as taught by Blalock. The motivation being applying a known technique, male and female connectors, to a known device, the pad taught by Galer in view of Blalock to yield predictable results of connecting a fluid delivery conduit to a TTM module (MPEP 2143 (D)).
Lewis discloses a thermal pad (Figure 2a) wherein the filter is coupled with the fluid inlet (Figure 2a, 2107), wherein the TTM fluid is circulatable within the fluid containing layer from the fluid inlet, through the filter and to the fluid outlet (Paragraph [0071]; wherein air flows in the inlet through the filter throughout the pad and then out outlets); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inlet and filter as taught by Galer to include the filter within the inlet and circulatable as taught by Lewis. The motivation being to filter the fluid right before entering the pad (Lewis, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 1. Galer also discloses wherein each first valve is configured for actuation by a processor of the TTM module in accordance with flow control logic of the TTM module to selectively allow and prevent TTM fluid flow through its respective fluid delivery conduit (Paragraph [0041]; wherein valves 44 are adapted to move between open and closed positions (and in some embodiments, one or more positions therebetween) under the control of controller and the valves control how much fluid flows from the TTM module to each of the fluid delivery conduit 28a).
Regarding claim 7, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 4. Blalock also discloses wherein each A-type connector includes a second valve configured to automatically allow TTM fluid flow through the A-type connector upon connection of the A-type connector with a B-type connector and automatically prevent TTM fluid flow through the A-type connector upon disconnection of the A-type connector from the B-type connector (Figure 2, 86; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 86 acts as a second valve which when A-type connector which is the male connector is connected to the B-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 90 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62)
Regarding claim 8, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 4. Blalock also discloses wherein each B-type connector includes a third valve configured to automatically allow TTM fluid flow through the B-type connector upon connection of the B-type connector with an A-type connector and automatically prevent TTM fluid flow through the B-type connector upon disconnection of the B-type connector from the A-type connector (Figure 2, 76; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 76 acts as a third valve which when B-type connector which is the female connector is connected to the A-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 74 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62)
Regarding claim 9, Galer in view of Blalock discloses the system according to claim 1. Galer also discloses further comprising two or more conduit retention devices disposed along the fluid delivery conduit and/or the fluid return conduit (Figure 1, 26), each conduit retention device configured for binding together the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit (Figure 1, 26; wherein hoses bind together the fluid delivery and fluid return conduits).
Regarding claim 10, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 9. Galer also discloses wherein each pad comprises at least one of the one or more conduit retention devices (Figure 1, 26; wherein each pad 24 has a corresponding hose 26 binding together the fluid delivery and fluid return conduits).
Regarding claim 14, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 1. Blalock also discloses wherein the thermal pad comprises a stretchable band extending across a top side of the thermal pad (Figure 1, 114). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galer’s invention to include a stretchable band. The motivating being to releasably maintain the pad (Blalock, Column 5, lines 54-66) which could include a storage configuration.
Regarding claim 16, Galer discloses a medical pad for exchanging thermal energy between a targeted temperature management (TTM) fluid and a patient (Figure 4, 24), the pad comprising: a fluid containing layer (Figure 4; Paragraph [0058]; wherein the space between first intermediate layer 86 and second intermediate layer 88 where they are not bonded to each other defines a fluid chamber), wherein: the fluid containing layer is configured for containing the TTM fluid (Paragraph [0058]), the fluid containing layer comprises a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet (Figure 4, 78a & 78b); a filter coupled with the fluid inlet (Figure 2, 54);, and the TTM fluid is circulatable within the fluid containing layer from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (Paragraph [0058]; wherein the temperature controlled fluid supplied by thermal control unit (via supply line 28a) circulates in the layer; Paragraph [0054]; wherein Fluid inlet 78a is adapted to couple to fluid supply line 28a from thermal control unit 22. Fluid outlet 78b is adapted to couple to fluid return line 28b from thermal control unit 22); a fluid delivery conduit (Paragraph [0058]; wherein fluid delivery conduit 28a is coupled to the inlet 78a), wherein the fluid delivery conduit: is coupled to the fluid inlet at a distal end of the fluid delivery conduit is configured to extend continuously from the fluid containing layer to a TTM module (Figure 3; wherein conduit extends into the fluid containing layer through 78a; Paragraph [0058]; wherein fluid delivery conduit 28a is coupled to the inlet 78a), and comprises a first one of a plurality of connectors at a proximal end of the fluid delivery conduit (Figure 2; wherein the end of 28a connects to 46 of the TTM module and is seen as a connector), the first connector configured to couple with a first one of a plurality of connectors disposed on a connection panel of the TTM module (Figure 2, 46); And a fluid return conduit (Paragraph [0058]; wherein fluid delivery conduit 28b is coupled to the inlet 78b), wherein the fluid return conduit: is coupled to the fluid outlet at a distal end of the fluid return conduit is configured to extend continuously from the fluid containing layer and the TTM module (Figure 3; wherein conduit extends into the fluid containing layer through 78b; Paragraph [0058]; wherein fluid delivery conduit 28b is coupled to the inlet 78b), and comprises a second one of the plurality of connectors at a proximal end of the fluid return conduit (Figure 2; wherein the end of 28b connects to 56 of the TTM module and is seen as a connector), the second one of the plurality of connectors configured to couple with a second one of the plurality of connectors disposed on the connection panel of the TTM module (Figure 2, 56), However, Galer does not explicitly disclose wherein the TTM fluid is circulatable within the fluid containing layer from the fluid inlet, through the filter and to the fluid outlet; the connectors are A-type and B-type connectors wherein each A-type connector is configured to couple only with a B-type connector, and wherein each B-type connector is configured to couple only with an A-type connector.
Blalock discloses a targeted temperature management (TTM) system (Figure 1) wherein connectors are A-type and B-type connectors (Figure 2, 140 & 136; wherein 136 is attached to the TTM module through 50) wherein each A-type connector is configured to couple only with a B-type connector (Figure 2, 136 & 140; wherein A-type connector 140 is seen as a male part therefore is configured to couple with only a B-type connector 136 which is seen as a female part), and wherein each B-type connector is configured to couple only with an A-type connector (Figure 2, 136 & 140; wherein B-type connector 136 is seen as a female part therefore is configured to couple with only a A-type connector 140 which is seen as a male part). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer to female and male connectors as taught by Blalock. The motivation being applying a known technique, male and female connectors, to a known device, the pad taught by Galer in view of Blalock to yield predictable results of connecting a fluid delivery conduit to a TTM module (MPEP 2143 (D)).
Lewis discloses a thermal pad (Figure 2a) wherein the filter is coupled with the fluid inlet (Figure 2a, 2107), wherein the TTM fluid is circulatable within the fluid containing layer from the fluid inlet, through the filter and to the fluid outlet (Paragraph [0071]; wherein air flows in the inlet through the filter throughout the pad and then out outlets); Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inlet and filter as taught by Galer to include the filter within the inlet and circulatable as taught by Lewis. The motivation being to filter the fluid right before entering the pad (Lewis, Paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 18, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 16. Galer also further discloses a conduit retention device configured to bind at least the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit together (Figure 1, 26; wherein hoses bind together the fluid delivery and fluid return conduits;).
Regarding claim 22, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 16. Blalock also discloses wherein the thermal pad comprises a stretchable band extending across a top side of the thermal pad (Figure 1, 114). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Galer’s invention to include a stretchable band. The motivating being to releasably maintain the pad (Blalock, Column 5, lines 54-66) which could include a storage configuration.
Regarding claim 24, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 16. Blalock also discloses wherein each A-type connector includes a valve configured to automatically allow TTM fluid flow through the A-type connector upon connection of the A-type connector with a B-type connector and automatically prevent TTM fluid flow through the A-type connector upon disconnection of the A-type connector from the B-type connector (Figure 2, 86; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 86 acts as a valve which when A-type connector which is the male connector is connected to the B-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 90 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62)
Regarding claim 25, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 16. Blalock also discloses wherein each B-type connector includes a valve configured to automatically allow TTM fluid flow through the B-type connector upon connection of the B-type connector with an A-type connector and automatically prevent TTM fluid flow through the B-type connector upon disconnection of the B-type connector from the A-type connector (Figure 2, 76; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 76 acts as a valve which when B-type connector which is the female connector is connected to the A-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 74 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62).
Regarding claim 34, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 24. Blalock also discloses wherein the valve of each A-type connector is configured to automatically: transition from a closed state preventing TTM fluid flow through the A-type connector to an open state allowing flow of the TTM through the A-type connector in conjunction with a connection process of the A-type connector with the B-type connector (), and transition from the open state to the closed state in conjunction with a disconnection process of the A-type connector from the B-type connector (Figure 2, 86; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 86 acts as a valve which when A-type connector which is the male connector is connected to the B-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 90 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer in view of Blalock to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62)
Regarding claim 35, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 25. Blalock also discloses wherein the valve of each B-type connector is configured to automatically: transition from a closed state preventing TTM fluid flow through the B-type connector to an open state allowing flow of the TTM through the B-type connector in conjunction with a connection process of the B-type connector with the A-type connector, and transition from the open state to the closed state in conjunction with a disconnection process of the B-type connector from the A-type connector (Figure 2, 76; Column 4, lines 47-62; wherein throat actuator 76 acts as a valve which when B-type connector which is the female connector is connected to the A-type connector allows for fluid to flow through, when they are not connected, 74 stays occluded and automatically prevents TTM fluid flow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connectors disclosed by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to include a valve as taught by Blalock. The motivation being preventing fluid from being transported between the intake and output conduits when not connected (Blalock, Column 4, lines 55-62).
Claims 11-13, 15, 19-21 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Galer, Blalock and Lewis in further view of Koewler et al. (US 5476489) herein referred to as Koewler.
Regarding Claim 11, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 10. However, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one conduit retention device comprises a loop.
Koewler discloses a cold therapy system (Figure 1, 1) wherein the at least one conduit retention device comprises a loop (Figure 4, 49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conduit retention device of Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit and/or a fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 12, Galer, Black and Lewis in further view of Koewler discloses the system according to claim 11. Koewler also explicitly disclose wherein the loop is threaded onto the fluid delivery conduit or the fluid return conduit (Figure 4, 45 & 46 & 49; wherein elements 45 & 46 are the fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit and strap 49 is a loop.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conduit retention device of Galer, Blaclock and Lewis in view of Koewler with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit or fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 13, Galer, Blaclock and Lewis in further view of Koewler discloses the system according to claim 11. Koewler also explicitly disclose wherein the loop is threaded onto the fluid delivery conduit or the fluid return conduit (Figure 4, 45 & 46 & 49; wherein elements 45 & 46 are the fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit and strap 49 is a loop.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conduit retention device of Galer, Blalock and Lewis in view of Koewler with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 15, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 14. However, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis does not explicitly wherein the storage configuration comprises one or both of the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit disposed in a coiled configuration and placement of the coiled configuration between the stretchable band and the top side.
Koewler discloses a cold therapy system (Figure 1,1) wherein the storage configuration comprises one or both of the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit disposed in a coiled configuration and placement of the coiled configuration between a stretchable band (Column 6, lines 5-16; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage configuration of Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to have the storage configuration taught in Koewler. The motivation being to maintain positioning for storage configuration (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 19, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the system according to claim 18. However, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one conduit retention device comprises a loop.
Koewler discloses a cold therapy system (Figure 1, 1) wherein the at least one conduit retention device comprises a loop (Figure 4, 49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conduit retention device of Galer with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit and/or a fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 20, Galer, Blaclock and Lewis in further view of Koewler discloses the system according to claim 19. Koewler also explicitly disclose wherein the loop is threaded onto the fluid delivery conduit or the fluid return conduit (Figure 4, 45 & 46 & 49; wherein elements 45& 46 are the fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit and strap 49 is a loop.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the conduit retention device of Galer, Blalock and Lewis in view of Koewler with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit or fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 21, Galer, Blalock and Lewis in further view of Koewler discloses the system according to claim 19. Koewler also explicitly disclose wherein the loop is threaded onto the fluid delivery conduit or the fluid return conduit (Figure 4, 45 & 46 & 49; wherein elements 45 & 46 are the fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit and strap 49 is a loop). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conduit retention device of Galer, Blalock and Lewis in view of Koewler with the conduit retention device configuration see in Koewler. The motivating being to maintain positioning of a fluid delivery conduit and fluid return conduit (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 23, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 22. However, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis does not explicitly wherein the storage configuration comprises one or both of the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit disposed in a coiled configuration and placement of the coiled configuration between the stretchable band and the top side.
Koewler discloses a cold therapy system (Figure 1, 1) wherein the storage configuration comprises one or both of the fluid delivery conduit and the fluid return conduit disposed in a coiled configuration and placement of the coiled configuration between a stretchable band (Column 6, lines 5-16; Figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage configuration of Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to have the storage configuration taught in Koewler. The motivation being to maintain positioning for storage configuration (Koewler, Column 7, lines 44-47).
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Galer, Blalock and Lewis in view of Vrzalik et al. (US 20150040909) herein referred to as Vrzalik.
Regarding Claim 36, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis discloses the medical pad according to claim 16. However, Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis does not explicitly disclose wherein: the fluid delivery conduit is rotatably coupled to the fluid inlet, and the fluid return conduit is rotatably coupled to the fluid outlet.
Willard discloses a medical pad (Figure 1) wherein: fluid conduit is rotatably coupled to the fluid inlet (Column 5, lines 63-67), and the fluid return conduit is rotatably coupled to the fluid outlet (Column 5, lines 63-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid delivery & fluid return conduits connections as taught by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to be rotatably connected to an inlet or outlet as taught by Vrzalik. The motivation being a simple substitution of one known coupling technique, for another, to obtain predictable results of coupling a fluid conduit to an inlet/out (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Regarding claim 37, Galer, Blalock and Lewis in further view of Willard discloses the medical pad according to claim 36. Willard also discloses wherein: the fluid delivery conduit includes a first elbow at the distal end of the fluid delivery conduit (Figure 1, 28a), the first elbow rotatably coupled to the fluid inlet (Column 5, lines 63-67), and the fluid return conduit includes a second elbow at the distal end of the fluid return conduit (Figure 1, 29a), the second elbow rotatably coupled to the fluid outlet (Column 5, lines 63-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluid delivery & fluid return conduits connections as taught by Galer and Blalock in further view of Lewis to be rotatably connected to an inlet or outlet as taught by Vrzalik. The motivation being a simple substitution of one known coupling technique, for another, to obtain predictable results of coupling a fluid conduit to an inlet/out (MPEP 2143 (B)).
Conclusion
ALYSSA M. PAPE
Examiner
Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794