DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed 9-30-25.
Claims 82-97 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, tRNA-Gly-CCC, tRNA-Gly-TCC, tRNA-Gly-GCC, tRNA-Val-CAC, and tRNA-Glu-CTC, claims 82-97, in the reply filed on 9-30-25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 82-97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to products of nature. The claims are drawn to nucleic acid fragments. The claims do not include any elements that add significantly more to any judicial exceptions, and do not include features that demonstrate that the recited products are markedly different from what exists in nature. The fragments perform in their natural way, serve the ends nature originally provided, and act quite independently of any effort of patentee. There are no marked differences in the function or structure of these naturally occurring molecules, and their characteristics do not change from that occurring in nature.
In sum when the relevant factors are analyzed, they weigh toward ineligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101. Therefore, the claims are non-statutory, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 82, 83, 91, 92, 94, 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (Science Vol. 351, No. 6271, pages 397-400 (January 2016)).
Chen et al (Science Vol. 351, No. 6271, pages 397-400 (January 2016)) teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising vesicles comprising tRNA fragments (see esp. the Abstract, text and Figure 1 on page 397, text on pages 398-399).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82-97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabillero et al (PLOS ONE, Vol. 8, No. 6, e65364 (June 2013)), Barkalina et al (Human Reproduction Update, Vol. 212, No. 25, pages 627-639 (2015)), and Chen et al (Science Vol. 351, No. 6271, pages 397-400 (January 2016)), the combination in view of Vojtech et al (Nuc.. Acid Res., Vol. 42, No. 11, pages 7290-7303 (2014)) and Lowe et al (US 2018/0171385).
The claims are drawn to pharmaceutical compositions comprising pharmaceutical compositions optionally in vaginal foam or gel comprising an autologous or heterologous sRNA-containing vesicle isolated from an epididymosome, which sRNA optionally comprises a siRNA, miRNA, piRNA, snoRNA, srRNA, U-RNA, or tRNA fragment optionally comprising a tRNA-Gly-CCC, tRNA-Gly-TCC, tRNA-Gly-GCC, tRNA-Val-CAC, tRNA-Glu-CTC, tRNA-Lys-CTT, or a tRNA-His-GTG fragment, which epididymosome is optionally selected from caput, corpus, or cauda epididymosome.
Cabillero et al (PLOS ONE, Vol. 8, No. 6, e65364 (June 2013)) teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising sRNA containing vesicles isolated from an epididymosome, CD9 positive microvessicles for mediating transfer of spermatozoa during epididymal maturation. Cabillero teaches epididysomes to be heterogeneous small membraneous vessicles which change as epididymal transit occurs along the epididymal duct. Cabillero teaches the isolation, purification, and characterization of epididysomes (see the abstract, introduction, pages 1-2, Figure 1, page 3, 8, 11).
Barkalina et al (Human Reproduction Update, Vol. 212, No. 25, pages 627-639 (2015)) teach EVs as pharmaceutical compositions for delivering cargo to target cells. Barkalina teaches the natural delivery of exosomes and microvessicles and the effect of transfer of molecules to sperm (see esp. pages 631-635).
Chen et al (Science Vol. 351, No. 6271, pages 397-400 (January 2016)) teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising vesicles comprising tRNA fragments (see esp. the Abstract, text and Figure 1 on page 397, test on pages 398-399).
The primary references do not teach the tRNAs or fragments thereof as instantly claimed.
Vojtech et al (Nucleic.Acid Res., Vol. 42, No. 11, pages 7290-7303 (2014)) teach compositions comprising exosomes obtained from semen comprising tRNA fragments comprising tRNA-Gly, tRNA-Ala. Voitech teaches the study of tRNA fragments in their role in biological functions, including immunosuppressive functions (see esp. Figures 1 and 2, page 7291, Table 2, page 7297, bridging pages 7296-7297).
Lowe et al (us 2018/0171385) teach compositions comprising tRNAs comprising tRNA-Gly-CCC and tRNA-Glu-CTC (see esp. page 1, Fig. 2, pages 7-9).
It would have been obvious to compose the instant compositions claimed because all of the components were well known in the art as exemplified in the teachings of Cabillero, Barkalina, and Chen.
Furthermore, one would have been motivated to compose these compositions for efficient transformation of target cells relying on the teachings of Voitech and Lowe. The tRNA fragments would have been incorporated into the compositions of vesicles claimed for efficient transformation and for investigating immuosuppressive and other biological effects, as taught by Voight and Lowe.
For these and aforementioned reasons, the instant invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application.
Conclusion
Certain papers related to this application may be submitted to Art Unit 1637 by facsimile transmission. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993) and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993) (see 37 C.F.R. ' 1.6(d)). The official fax telephone number for the Group is 571-273-8300. NOTE: If Applicant does submit a paper by fax, the original signed copy should be retained by applicant or applicant's representative. NO DUPLICATE COPIES SHOULD BE SUBMITTED so as to avoid the processing of duplicate papers in the Office.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jane Zara whose telephone number is (571) 272-0765. The examiner’s office hours are generally Monday-Friday, 10:30am - 7pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jennifer Dunston, can be reached on (571)-272-2916. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 308-0196.
Jane Zara
12-13-25
/JANE J ZARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637