DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 were previously pending and subject to final action filed 02/17/2026. In the response filed on 05/18/2026, claims 1,8, and 15 were amended. Claims 21-23 were newly added claims. Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20-23 are currently pending and subject to the non-final action below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-8 filed 11/03/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Independent claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method comprising, inter alia, "generating, via a trained machine learning system that includes a first network and a second network, a feature map corresponding to a second set of 2D keypoints corresponding to the second object in response to receiving the keypoint heatmap and a cropped image of the second object together as multi-channel input, the multi-channel input of the first network including a set of channels corresponding to the keypoint heatmap and another set of channels corresponding to the cropped image, the second set of 2D keypoints being generated during a second pass of the pipeline." Independent claim 8 and independent claim 15 include similar recitations.
Lee does not disclose at least these features, as recited. Georgios also does not disclose at least these features, as recited. Instead, as shown in FIG. 3, Georgios merely discloses an architecture that "takes as input an RGB image and outputs a set of heatmaps, one per keypoint." See Georgios at the last paragraph on page 2. As such, Georgios fails to cure the above-mentioned deficiencies of Lee. In addition, Akbas does not disclose at least these features, as recited. Specifically, regarding column 11, Akbas merely discloses a pose residual network (PRN) 50, which is a single layer network. Also, at column 11, lines 27-30, Akbas further discloses that the inputs are "(1) keypoint heatmaps from the keypoint subnet and (2) coordinates of the bounding boxes from the person detection subnet" (emphasis added). In this regard, Akbas discloses that the PRN 50 is used to determine which keypoints belong to which person instance. However, such disclosure by Akbas is clearly not the same as the above-mentioned features, as recited. As such, Akbas fails to cure the above-mentioned deficiencies of Lee and Georgios. Furthermore, Bhargava does not disclose at least these features, as recited. Instead, regarding FIG. 6, which is cited in the rejection, Bhargava merely discloses a 3D auto-labeling pipeline. See Bhargava at paragraph [0076]. More specifically, in FIG. 6, Bhargava discloses a keypoint predictor 620 that generates a 2D structured object geometry 630 using keypoint heatmap 620. See Bhargava at paragraph [0078]. However, such disclosure by Bhargava fails to cure the above-mentioned deficiencies of Lee, Georgios, and Akbas, taken individually or in combination.
Examiner Response: After careful consideration, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lee teaches: A computer-implemented method for semantic localization of various objects, the method comprising:
obtaining an image that displays a scene with a first object and a second object; (Lee − [0010] apparatus for determining features of one or more objects in one or more images is provided. [0069] Object detection can be used to detect objects in images, and in some cases various attributes of the detected objects. For instance, object localization is a technique that can be performed to localize an object in a digital image or a video frame of a video sequence capturing a scene or environment. Fig. 2, ref. 201 a plurality of cars in the scene. Examiner notes that first object and second object can be similar objects with similar shape, or different objects with similar or different shapes.)
generating a first set of two-dimensional (2D) keypoints corresponding to the first object during a first pass of a pipeline; (Lee − [0075-0076] The input image is shown as image 207 with the 2D object keypoint detections results generated by the CNNs 1-c 206. For instance, a first cropped image can be input to a first CNN, a second cropped image can be input to a second CNN, and so on. Each of the keypoints is represented in the image 207 by a dot, with dots having different colors being associated with different vehicles. Each cropped image represents an individual object in the input image. Fig. 18-20 are machine learning models.)
generating first object pose data based on the first set of 2D keypoints; (Lee − [0006] Systems and techniques are described herein for determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization. For example, the systems and techniques described herein provide an efficient way to estimate a six degrees of freedom (6-DoF) object pose and the shape of the object from an image (e.g., a single image) including the object. Object pose is first object pose data [0075] For instance, keypoint-based systems can use a PnP solver and RANSAC to perform 3D object localization. Keypoint-based systems can estimate 6D poses using extracted keypoints (also referred to herein as sample points) and 3D prior models. Keypoints also referred to sample points. )
generating camera pose data based on the first object pose data; (Lee − [0077-0078] [0078] Knowledge of the general camera geometry can be utilized for performing PnP and other techniques. In the pinhole camera model, a scene view is formed by projecting 3D points into the image plane using a perspective transformation. projection of the 3D point coordinate 302 (and/or other 3D point coordinates on the 3D object 308) onto the image plane 306 of a 2D image. The camera geometry (viewpoint) is camera pose data.)
generating a keypoint heatmap based on the camera pose data; (Lee − [0181] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a specific example of a neural network based keypoint detector that can be used by the object detection engine 902. a convolutional layer to generate predicted heatmaps based on sample points)
generating first coordinate data of the first object in world coordinates using the first object pose data and the camera pose data; (Lee − [0093] A mapping from the 2D image plane to the 3D real world coordinate system (for example, to identify where an object in a video frame is positioned) can also be accomplished using these equations, when the extrinsic parameters are known. [0094] FIG. 5-FIG. 8D are diagrams illustrating a perspective-n-point (PnP) technique. PnP can be used to estimate the 6-DoF pose parameter (defined by a transformation matrix T), given a set of n 3D points in the world space (or the object coordinate system) and the 2D projection points in the image that corresponds to the set of n 3D points. [0154] FIG. 15A-FIG. 15D are images illustrating an example of a keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation. )
generating second coordinate data of the second object in the world coordinates using the second object pose data and the camera pose data; (Lee − [0093-0094] [0154] FIG. 15A-FIG. 15D are images illustrating an example of a keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation. )
tracking the first object based on the first coordinate data; (Lee − [0155] FIG. 16A-FIG. 16D are images illustrating an example of results of keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation using an image from a front-facing camera of a tracking vehicle tracking various target vehicles (as target objects).)
and tracking the second object based on the second coordinate data. (Lee − [0155] FIG. 16A-FIG. 16D are images illustrating an example of results of keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation using an image from a front-facing camera of a tracking vehicle tracking various target vehicles (as target objects).)
and another set of channels corresponding to the cropped image, (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints.)
Lee continue to teach: generating a second set of 2D keypoints (Lee – Fig. 2 ref 207 [006] [075]) and a trained machine learning system ([0117] the object detection engine 902 can use a machine learning based object detector, such as using one or more neural networks.) but does not explicitly teach: classifying the first object as being asymmetrical and the second object as being symmetrical;
However, Georgios teaches: classifying the first object as being asymmetrical (Georgios − Fig. 4 classifying a gas canister which is asymmetrical; two halves of the gas canister are different (asymmetrical) )
and the second object as being symmetrical; (Georgios − Fig. 5 classifying car, buses, train, and chair is symmetrical; two halves of the car, bus, train and/or chair are the same on one side as the other.)
generating, via a trained machine learning system (Georgios − [pdf page 1] abstract keypoints predicted by a convolutional network (convnet)) that includes a first network and a second network a feature map corresponding to a second set of 2D keypoints (Georgios – Fig. 3, stacked hourglass architecture including two stacked hourglass modules; intermediate supervision is applied after the first hourglass module and the second hourglass module refines the heatmap responses used for keypoint localization)
generating second object pose data based on the second set of 2D keypoints; (Georgios − [pdf pages 5-8 The 6-DoF pose was estimated with CAD model to estimate the object pose. [pdf page 4] The estimated object poses are shown in the last two columns of Fig. 4.)
Lee and Georgios are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee and Georgios before him or her, to combine the teachings of Lee and Georgios. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a model to determine keypoints on non-symmetrical objects as discussed by Georgios (Summary) to improve accuracy of tracking objects in an environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee and Georgios to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Lee does not explicitly teach: in response to receiving the keypoint heatmap and a cropped image of the second object together as multi- channel input, the multi-channel input of the first network including a set of channels corresponding to the keypoint heatmap the second set of 2D keypoints being generated during a second pass of the pipeline;
However, Akbas teaches: in response to receiving the keypoint heatmap and a cropped image of the second object together as multi- channel input, (Akbas – [Col. 2 ll. 15-20] processing cropped image information and keypoint prediction information using neural networks for pose estimation, wherein single-person pose estimation predicts body parts from a cropped person image, and iterative CNN techniques repeatedly provide the input to the network along the current predictions to refine the predictions. [Col. 11 ll. 30-47] the heatmap from the keypoint subnet 30 are inputs to the pose residual network (PRN) 50. The keypoint heatmaps 38, 39 are cropped to fit the bounding boxes.)
the multi-channel input of the first network including a set of channels corresponding to the keypoint heatmap the second set of 2D keypoints being generated during a second pass of the pipeline; (Akbas – [Col. 9 ll. 30-65, Col. 10, ll. 1-20] multi-channel representation of both image information and keypoint heatmap information. An image having dimension WxHx3 is processed by the network, and keypoints are output as WxHx(K+1) heatmaps, wherein k is the number of keypoint channel. The keypoint heatmaps are cropped and resized to form 36x56x(k+1) region of interest (ROI) supplied as input to the pose residual network. [Col. 11 ll. 30-47] In the illustrative embodiment, the residuals make irrelevant keypoints disappear, and the pose residual network 50 deletes irrelevant keypoints. For example, with the image depicted in FIG. 8, when the PRN is trying to detect the mother, then the PRN needs to eliminate the baby's keypoints (e.g., in eq. (1), the unrelated keypoints are suppressed; in this case the keypoints of the baby are suppressed).) Examiner Notes: Lee teaches providing a cropped image of an object to a neural network for detecting 2D keypoints, while Akbas teaches multi-channel image and keypoint heatmap representations for neural-networking processing.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios and Akbas because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a model to determine keypoints on asymmetrical and symmetrical objects to improve pose estimation of object symmetries.
Lee teaches generating a keypoint heatmap as output but does not explicitly teach: generating a keypoint heatmap as a prior input by projecting three-dimensional (3D) keypoints of the second object with respect to the image based on the camera pose data;
However, BHARGAVA teaches: generating a keypoint heatmap as a prior input (BHARGAVA − [0076] Fig. 6; the image backbone 610 extracts relevant appearance and geometric features of the object 604 (the image); image backbone 610 generate a keypoint heatmap 612 of the object 604; The keypoint heatmap 612 is provided to a semantic keypoint predictor 620. Examiner Note: the keypoint heatmap 612 is an input to a semantic keypoint predictor 620;) by projecting three-dimensional (3D) keypoints of the second object with respect to the image based on the camera pose data; (BHARGAVA − [0076-0078] Keypoint heatmap 612 input to a sematic keypoint predictor 620 to configured a 3D lifting block 640. The 3D lifting block 640 uses structure prior information 642 (keypoint heatmap 2-D keypoints) and/or monocular depth information 664 to construct a 3D structured object geometry 650. Examiner Note: 3D object is the projected 3D keypoints of the object with respect of the image)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Applicant’s characterization of the specific PRN inputs in Akbas does not address the rejection as a whole, because Akbas is relied upon for multi-channel, keypoint-heatmap and refinement teachings, while Lee discloses the cropped-image input and Georgios discloses the first and second network architecture.
Examiner Notes
Keypoints are a point of interest feature points and refer to a pixel within an image that comprises rich texture information such as edges, corners, and/or readily identifiable structures.
A simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) are a method used for autonomous vehicles that lets you build a map and localize your vehicle in that map at the same time. SLAM algorithms allow the vehicle to map out unknown environments.
Pipeline is a series of steps that automate and standardize the process of building, training, and deploying a model(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US PGPUB: 20210209797 A1, Filed Date: Jan. 5, 2021) in view of Georgios Pavlako from Semantic Keypoints, Pub Date: Mar. 2017, hereinafter “Georgios”) in view of Akbas (US 11074711 B1, Filed Date: Jun. 14, 2019) in view of BHARGAVA (US PGPUB: 20220222889, Filed Date: Jan. 12, 2021).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches: A computer-implemented method for semantic localization of various objects, the method comprising:
obtaining an image that displays a scene with a first object and a second object; (Lee − [0010] apparatus for determining features of one or more objects in one or more images is provided. [0069] Object detection can be used to detect objects in images, and in some cases various attributes of the detected objects. For instance, object localization is a technique that can be performed to localize an object in a digital image or a video frame of a video sequence capturing a scene or environment. Fig. 2, ref. 201 a plurality of cars in the scene. Examiner notes that first object and second object can be similar objects with similar shape, or different objects with similar or different shapes.)
generating a first set of two-dimensional (2D) keypoints corresponding to the first object during a first pass of a pipeline; (Lee − [0075-0076] The input image is shown as image 207 with the 2D object keypoint detections results generated by the CNNs 1-c 206. For instance, a first cropped image can be input to a first CNN, a second cropped image can be input to a second CNN, and so on. Each of the keypoints is represented in the image 207 by a dot, with dots having different colors being associated with different vehicles. Each cropped image represents an individual object in the input image. Fig. 18-20 are machine learning models.)
generating first object pose data based on the first set of 2D keypoints; (Lee − [0006] Systems and techniques are described herein for determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization. For example, the systems and techniques described herein provide an efficient way to estimate a six degrees of freedom (6-DoF) object pose and the shape of the object from an image (e.g., a single image) including the object. Object pose is first object pose data [0075] For instance, keypoint-based systems can use a PnP solver and RANSAC to perform 3D object localization. Keypoint-based systems can estimate 6D poses using extracted keypoints (also referred to herein as sample points) and 3D prior models. Keypoints also referred to sample points. )
generating camera pose data based on the first object pose data; (Lee − [0077-0078] [0078] Knowledge of the general camera geometry can be utilized for performing PnP and other techniques. In the pinhole camera model, a scene view is formed by projecting 3D points into the image plane using a perspective transformation. projection of the 3D point coordinate 302 (and/or other 3D point coordinates on the 3D object 308) onto the image plane 306 of a 2D image. The camera geometry (viewpoint) is camera pose data.)
generating a keypoint heatmap based on the camera pose data; (Lee − [0181] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a specific example of a neural network based keypoint detector that can be used by the object detection engine 902. a convolutional layer to generate predicted heatmaps based on sample points)
generating first coordinate data of the first object in world coordinates using the first object pose data and the camera pose data; (Lee − [0093] A mapping from the 2D image plane to the 3D real world coordinate system (for example, to identify where an object in a video frame is positioned) can also be accomplished using these equations, when the extrinsic parameters are known. [0094] FIG. 5-FIG. 8D are diagrams illustrating a perspective-n-point (PnP) technique. PnP can be used to estimate the 6-DoF pose parameter (defined by a transformation matrix T), given a set of n 3D points in the world space (or the object coordinate system) and the 2D projection points in the image that corresponds to the set of n 3D points. [0154] FIG. 15A-FIG. 15D are images illustrating an example of a keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation. )
generating second coordinate data of the second object in the world coordinates using the second object pose data and the camera pose data; (Lee − [0093-0094] [0154] FIG. 15A-FIG. 15D are images illustrating an example of a keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation. )
tracking the first object based on the first coordinate data; (Lee − [0155] FIG. 16A-FIG. 16D are images illustrating an example of results of keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation using an image from a front-facing camera of a tracking vehicle tracking various target vehicles (as target objects).)
and tracking the second object based on the second coordinate data. (Lee − [0155] FIG. 16A-FIG. 16D are images illustrating an example of results of keypoint-based vehicle pose estimation using an image from a front-facing camera of a tracking vehicle tracking various target vehicles (as target objects).)
and another set of channels corresponding to the cropped image, (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints.)
Lee continue to teach: generating a second set of 2D keypoints (Lee – Fig. 2 ref 207 [006] [075]) and a trained machine learning system ([0117] the object detection engine 902 can use a machine learning based object detector, such as using one or more neural networks.) but does not explicitly teach: classifying the first object as being asymmetrical and the second object as being symmetrical;
However, Georgios teaches: classifying the first object as being asymmetrical (Georgios − Fig. 4 classifying a gas canister which is asymmetrical; two halves of the gas canister are different (asymmetrical) )
and the second object as being symmetrical; (Georgios − Fig. 5 classifying car, buses, train, and chair is symmetrical; two halves of the car, bus, train and/or chair are the same on one side as the other.)
generating, via a trained machine learning system (Georgios − [pdf page 1] abstract keypoints predicted by a convolutional network (convnet)) that includes a first network and a second network a feature map corresponding to a second set of 2D keypoints (Georgios – Fig. 3, stacked hourglass architecture including two stacked hourglass modules; intermediate supervision is applied after the first hourglass module and the second hourglass module refines the heatmap responses used for keypoint localization)
generating second object pose data based on the second set of 2D keypoints; (Georgios − [pdf pages 5-8 The 6-DoF pose was estimated with CAD model to estimate the object pose. [pdf page 4] The estimated object poses are shown in the last two columns of Fig. 4.)
Lee and Georgios are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lee and Georgios before him or her, to combine the teachings of Lee and Georgios. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a model to determine keypoints on non-symmetrical objects as discussed by Georgios (Summary) to improve accuracy of tracking objects in an environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee and Georgios to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Lee does not explicitly teach: in response to receiving the keypoint heatmap and a cropped image of the second object together as multi- channel input, the multi-channel input of the first network including a set of channels corresponding to the keypoint heatmap the second set of 2D keypoints being generated during a second pass of the pipeline;
However, Akbas teaches: in response to receiving the keypoint heatmap and a cropped image of the second object together as multi- channel input, (Akbas – [Col. 2 ll. 15-20] processing cropped image information and keypoint prediction information using neural networks for pose estimation, wherein single-person pose estimation predicts body parts from a cropped person image, and iterative CNN techniques repeatedly provide the input to the network along the current predictions to refine the predictions. [Col. 11 ll. 30-47] the heatmap from the keypoint subnet 30 are inputs to the pose residual network (PRN) 50. The keypoint heatmaps 38, 39 are cropped to fit the bounding boxes.)
the multi-channel input of the first network including a set of channels corresponding to the keypoint heatmap the second set of 2D keypoints being generated during a second pass of the pipeline; (Akbas – [Col. 9 ll. 30-65, Col. 10, ll. 1-20] multi-channel representation of both image information and keypoint heatmap information. An image having dimension WxHx3 is processed by the network, and keypoints are output as WxHx(K+1) heatmaps, wherein k is the number of keypoint channel. The keypoint heatmaps are cropped and resized to form 36x56x(k+1) region of interest (ROI) supplied as input to the pose residual network. [Col. 11 ll. 30-47] In the illustrative embodiment, the residuals make irrelevant keypoints disappear, and the pose residual network 50 deletes irrelevant keypoints. For example, with the image depicted in FIG. 8, when the PRN is trying to detect the mother, then the PRN needs to eliminate the baby's keypoints (e.g., in eq. (1), the unrelated keypoints are suppressed; in this case the keypoints of the baby are suppressed).) Examiner Notes: Lee teaches providing a cropped image of an object to a neural network for detecting 2D keypoints, while Akbas teaches multi-channel image and keypoint heatmap representations for neural-networking processing.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios and Akbas because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images using point-based object localization. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide a model to determine keypoints on asymmetrical and symmetrical objects to improve pose estimation of object symmetries.
Lee teaches generating a keypoint heatmap as output but does not explicitly teach: generating a keypoint heatmap as a prior input by projecting three-dimensional (3D) keypoints of the second object with respect to the image based on the camera pose data;
However, BHARGAVA teaches: generating a keypoint heatmap as a prior input (BHARGAVA − [0076] Fig. 6; the image backbone 610 extracts relevant appearance and geometric features of the object 604 (the image); image backbone 610 generate a keypoint heatmap 612 of the object 604; The keypoint heatmap 612 is provided to a semantic keypoint predictor 620. Examiner Note: the keypoint heatmap 612 is an input to a semantic keypoint predictor 620;) by projecting three-dimensional (3D) keypoints of the second object with respect to the image based on the camera pose data; (BHARGAVA − [0076-0078] Keypoint heatmap 612 input to a sematic keypoint predictor 620 to configured a 3D lifting block 640. The 3D lifting block 640 uses structure prior information 642 (keypoint heatmap 2-D keypoints) and/or monocular depth information 664 to construct a 3D structured object geometry 650. Examiner Note: 3D object is the projected 3D keypoints of the object with respect of the image)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Lee teaches: and the second object is classified as symmetrical with respect to a second texture of the second object in the image and a second rotational axis of the second object. (Lee – Fig. 1A-1D image of vehicle with symmetric shapes. [0006,0075] Fig. 2 [0082] The relationship between a 6D pose vector and a 4×4 transformation matrix can be defined and used to determine the 6D pose of an object in an image. A 3D rotational vector; [0116] In some cases, the object detection engine 902 can determine a classification (referred to as a class) or category of each object detected in an image.)
Lee does not explicitly teach: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object;
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object; (Georgios − [pdf page 2] Fig. 4 the gas canister object is an asymmetrical object is classify by the model. Contribution: deformable shape model to estimate the continuous 6-DoF pose of an object.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Lee teaches: further comprising: cropping the image to generate a another cropped image that includes the first object, wherein the first set of 2D keypoints is generated by a trained machine learning system in response to the another cropped image. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints.)
Regarding dependent claim 4, Lee teaches: further comprising: cropping the image to generate the cropped image that includes the second object. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints. [0181] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a specific example of a neural network based keypoint detector that can be used by the object detection engine 902. a convolutional layer to generate predicted heatmaps based on sample points)
Regarding dependent claim 6, Lee teaches: further comprising: obtaining a first set of 3D keypoints of the first object from a first 3D model of the first object; obtaining a second set of 3D keypoints of the second object from a second 3D model of the second object; (Lee − [0077] prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints)
generating the first object pose data via a Perspective-n-Point (PnP) process that uses the first set of 2D keypoints and the first set of 3D keypoints; and generating the second object pose data via the PnP process that uses the second set of 2D keypoints and the second set of 3D keypoints. (Lee − [0077] The 2D object keypoint detection results and prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints) are provided as input to an N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210. The N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 can use a PnP solver along with RANSAC to remove outliers. The object localization results from the N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 are shown in the input image shown as image 211.)
Regarding dependent claim 7, Lee teaches: further comprising: optimizing a cost of the scene based on the first object pose data, the second object pose data, and the camera pose data. (Lee – [0097] The pose estimate can be optimized by minimizing the reprojection errors of the inlier sample points. [0101] Various optimization methods can be used, such as the Gauss-Newton method, the Levenberg-Marquardt method, among others)
Regarding independent claim 8, Lee teaches: a system comprising: a camera; (Lee − [0024] In some aspects, the apparatus is, is part of, and/or includes a vehicle or a computing device or component of a vehicle (e.g., an autonomous vehicle), a camera,)
a processor in data communication with the camera, the processor being configured to receive a plurality of images from the camera, the processor being operable to: (Lee − [0208] FIG. 36 illustrates an example computing device architecture 3600 of an example computing device which can implement the various techniques described herein.)
Claim 8 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Lee teaches: and the second object is classified as symmetrical with respect to a second texture of the second object in the image and a second rotational axis of the second object. (Lee – Fig. 1A-1D image of vehicle with symmetric shapes. [0006,0075] Fig. 2 [0082] The relationship between a 6D pose vector and a 4×4 transformation matrix can be defined and used to determine the 6D pose of an object in an image. A 3D rotational vector; [0116] In some cases, the object detection engine 902 can determine a classification (referred to as a class) or category of each object detected in an image.)
Lee does not explicitly teach: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object;
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object; (Georgios − [pdf page 2] Fig. 4 the gas canister object is an asymmetrical object is classify by the model. Contribution: deformable shape model to estimate the continuous 6-DoF pose of an object.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Lee teaches: wherein the processor is further operable to: crop the image to generate another cropped image that includes the first object, wherein the first set of 2D keypoints is generated by a trained machine learning system in response to the another cropped image. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints.)
Regarding dependent claim 11, Lee teaches: wherein the processor is further operable to crop the image to generate a second the cropped image that includes the second object. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints. [0181] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a specific example of a neural network based keypoint detector that can be used by the object detection engine 902. a convolutional layer to generate predicted heatmaps based on sample points)
Regarding dependent claim 13, Lee teaches: wherein the processor is further operable to: obtain a first set of 3D keypoints of the first object from a first 3D model of the first object; obtain a second set of 3D keypoints of the second object from a second 3D model of the second object; (Lee − [0077] prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints)
generate the first object pose data via a Perspective-n-Point (PnP) process that uses the first set of 2D keypoints and the first set of 3D keypoints; and generate the second object pose data via the PnP process that uses the second set of 2D keypoints and the second set of 3D keypoints. (Lee − [0077] The 2D object keypoint detection results and prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints) are provided as input to an N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210. The N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 can use a PnP solver along with RANSAC to remove outliers. The object localization results from the N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 are shown in the input image shown as image 211.)
Regarding dependent claim 14, Lee teaches: wherein the processor is further operable to: optimize a cost of the scene based on the first object pose data, the second object pose data, and the camera pose data.. (Lee – [0097] The pose estimate can be optimized by minimizing the reprojection errors of the inlier sample points. [0101] Various optimization methods can be used, such as the Gauss-Newton method, the Levenberg-Marquardt method, among others)
Regarding independent claim 15 is directed to non-transitory computer readable media. Claim 15 have similar/same technical features/limitation as claim 1 and the claims are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Lee teaches: and the second object is classified as symmetrical with respect to a second texture of the second object in the image and a second rotational axis of the second object. (Lee – Fig. 1A-1D image of vehicle with symmetric shapes. [0006,0075] Fig. 2 [0082] The relationship between a 6D pose vector and a 4×4 transformation matrix can be defined and used to determine the 6D pose of an object in an image. A 3D rotational vector; [0116] In some cases, the object detection engine 902 can determine a classification (referred to as a class) or category of each object detected in an image.)
Lee does not explicitly teach: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object;
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the first object is classified as asymmetrical with respect to a first texture of the first object in the image and a first rotational axis of the first object; (Georgios − [pdf page 2] Fig. 4 the gas canister object is an asymmetrical object is classify by the model. Contribution: deformable shape model to estimate the continuous 6-DoF pose of an object.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Lee teaches: further comprising: cropping the image to generate another cropped image that includes the first object, wherein the first set of 2D keypoints is generated by a trained machine learning system in response to the another cropped image. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints.)
Regarding dependent claim 18, Lee teaches: further comprising: cropping the image to generate the cropped image that includes the second object. (Lee – [0075-0076] For example, the region of the input image 201 inside each bounding box can be cropped to produce individually cropped images 204. [0076] Each of the cropped images 204 is input to a separate CNN, shown in FIG. 2 as CNNs 1-c 206, where c has a value greater than or equal to 0 (where if c=0, a single CNN is present for processing a single detected object) The CNNs 1-c 206 are designed to process the cropped images 204 to detect 2D object keypoints. [0181] FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating a specific example of a neural network based keypoint detector that can be used by the object detection engine 902. a convolutional layer to generate predicted heatmaps based on sample points)
Regarding dependent claim 20, Lee teaches: further comprising: obtaining a first set of 3D keypoints of the first object from a first 3D model of the first object; obtaining a second set of 3D keypoints of the second object from a second 3D model of the second object; (Lee − [0077] prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints)
generating the first object pose data via a Perspective-n-Point (PnP) process that uses the first set of 2D keypoints and the first set of 3D keypoints; and generating the second object pose data via the PnP process that uses the second set of 2D keypoints and the second set of 3D keypoints. (Lee − [0077] The 2D object keypoint detection results and prior information 208 (including a 3D object model and associated 3D keypoints) are provided as input to an N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210. The N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 can use a PnP solver along with RANSAC to remove outliers. The object localization results from the N-Point RANSAC-based pose estimation system 210 are shown in the input image shown as image 211.)
Regarding dependent claim 21, depends on claim 1, Lee does not explicitly teach: a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network.
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the machine learning system includes a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network. (Georgios – Fig. 3, stacked hourglass architecture including two stacked hourglass modules; intermediate supervision is applied after the first hourglass module and the second hourglass module refines the heatmap responses used for keypoint localization)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 22, depends on claim 8, Lee does not explicitly teach: a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network.
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the machine learning system includes a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network. (Georgios – Fig. 3, stacked hourglass architecture including two stacked hourglass modules; intermediate supervision is applied after the first hourglass module and the second hourglass module refines the heatmap responses used for keypoint localization)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Regarding dependent claim 23, depends on claim 15, Lee does not explicitly teach: a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network.
However, Georgios teaches: wherein: the machine learning system includes a stacked hourglass network; the first network includes a first hourglass network; and the second network includes a second hourglass network. (Georgios – Fig. 3, stacked hourglass architecture including two stacked hourglass modules; intermediate supervision is applied after the first hourglass module and the second hourglass module refines the heatmap responses used for keypoint localization)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Lee, Georgios, Akbas and BHARGAVA because they are from the same problem-solving area, utilizing digital image processing and determining poses of objects in images. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide an improvement over the conventional annotation methods by using semantic keypoints for auto-labeling different object shapes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fonseca, US 20220163966 A1, discloses technique for representing sensor data and predicted behavior of objects in an environment using an uncertainty model. The uncertainty model may be represented as a heatmap in which different intensities indicate the likelihood that corresponding physical regions of the environment are occupied, and the uncertainty information is used to assist in determining drivable areas and operational corridors for a vehicle.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178