DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 11/10/2025. Currently claims 1-15 are pending in the application; with claims 11-15 withdrawn from consideration.
ELECTION / RESTRICTION
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-10, with traverse, drawn to a composition in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be burdensome to the examiner to search all inventions. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are in different class/subclasses and are geared towards different types of inventions such as compositions and methods. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, and 7-10 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-5 of Glenn (US Patent No. 11,299,642 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entirety of the claimed scope is encompassed by claims 1-5 of Glenn (US Patent No. 11,299,642 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 1, a composition for use in 3D printing of electronic devices, comprising: at least Triphenylamine (IPA), wherein the IPA is used as a powder binding agent in the composition, and the composition is to be melted and extruded on a structure.
Regarding claim 2, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 1, wherein the composition is insulating, and the TPA forms about 99% of the composition by weight.
Regarding claim 3, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 2, wherein the composition is insulating, Polylactide (PLA) forms about 25% of the composition by weight, and the TPA forms about 75% of the composition by weight.
Regarding claim 7, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 3, wherein the composition is capacitive, Titanium dioxide (TiO2) forms at least about 35% of the composition by weight, and the TiO2 is in a powder form with particle size ranging from about 100 nm to about 100,000 nm.
Regarding claim 8, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 3, wherein the composition is capacitive, PLA forms at least about 30% of the composition by weight and Titanium dioxide (TiO2) forms at least about 35% of the composition by weight, and the TiO2 is in a powder form with particle size ranging from about 100 nm to about 100,000 nm.
Regarding claim 9, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 4, wherein the composition is semiconducting, silver (Ag) forms at least about 5% of the composition by weight, and n-type Silicon semiconductor (Si-N) forms at least about 50% of the composition by weight, and the Si-N is in a wafer form with a particle size of about 100 um.
Regarding claim 10, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 5, wherein the composition is semiconducting, silver (Ag) fom1s at least about 5% of the composition by weight, and p-type Silicon semiconductor (Si-P) forms at least about 50% of the composition by weight, and the Si-P is in a wafer form with a particle size of about 100 um.
Claims 4-6 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-5 of Glenn (US Patent No. 11,299,642 B2), in view of Gao et al (CN 106903305), hereafter, referred to as “Gao”.
Regarding claims 4-6, Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) teaches in claim 1, a composition for use in 3D printing of electronic devices, comprising: at least Triphenylamine (IPA), wherein the IPA is used as a powder binding agent in the composition, and the composition is to be melted and extruded on a structure. Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) also teaches in claim 2, wherein the composition comprises of Polylactide (PLA) and TPA.
But Glenn (US Patent No. 11,839,699 B2) fails to explicitly teach in claims, that the composition to contain silver, graphene, and/or graphite compounds. However, Gao teaches a metal particle and inorganic nanoparticle combination for 3D printing (title) wherein the metal particle is silver (page 2) and the inorganic nanoparticle is graphene (page 2) both having a particle size of about 50 μm (50,000 nm) (page 3, example 2). Gao also teaches the use of graphite particles (page 3, example 1). Gao further teaches that the adding these compounds results in synergistically modifying the matrix with good dispensability, toughening and strengthening the matrix (page 2) while the metal nanoparticles absorb one-dimensional materials (page 2), the contact area with the matrix is increased so that the transfer effect of the interface stress is improved, the interface bonding strength of the composite material is improved, thereby the mechanical properties of the 3D printed parts are improved (page 2). The references are analogous in the art of 3D curable compositions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Gao, and combine the metal and other inorganic particles of Gao to the composition of instant claim, thereby obtaining the present invention. It would also have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the property of the final article will depend on the ingredients, particle size, and ranges thereof. Therefore, the composition %, particle size etc, would be considered a result effective variable. Additionally, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining the composition, where graphene forms at least about 45% of the composition by weight, and silver (Ag) forms at least about 15% of the composition by weight, and the graphene and Ag are in a powder form with particle size ranging from about 100 nm to about 100,000 nm (as claimed in claim 4); and the composition comprising graphite forms at least about 25% of the composition by weight, and silver (Ag) forms at least about 10% of the composition by weight, and the graphite and Ag are in a powder form with particle size ranging from about 100 nm to about 100,000 nm (as claimed in claim 5); and the composition, wherein PLA forms at least about 25% of the composition, by weight, graphite forms at least about 25% of the composition by weight, and silver (Ag) forms at least about 10% of the composition by weight, and the graphite and Ag are in a powder form with particle size ranging from about 100 nm to about 100,000 nm (as claimed in claim 6); would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (CN 105965881), hereafter, referred to as “Okamoto”.
Regarding claim 1, Okamoto teaches a composition for making three-dimensional devices (page 1) that contains triphenylamine (TPA) (page 9). Okamoto teaches the powder to be extruded (page 3).
Okamoto is silent on the TPA being used as a powder binding agent. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01). Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant's claimed composition in that the claimed components are used, the claimed physical properties and function relating to the use of the compound as a powder binding agent are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regards claim 7, Okamoto teaches the addition of titanium oxide (reading on titanium dioxide) having a particle size of 300 nm or less (page 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Okamoto et al. (CN 105965881), in view of Gao et al (CN 106903305), hereafter, referred to as “Gao”.
Regarding claims 4-6, Okamoto teaches a composition for making three-dimensional devices (page 1) that contains triphenylamine (TPA) (page 9). Okamoto teaches the powder to be extruded (page 3). Although, Okamoto is silent on the TPA being used as a powder binding agent. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant's claimed composition in that the claimed components are used, the claimed physical properties and function relating to the use of the compound as a powder binding agent are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
But Okamoto does not teach the composition to contain silver, graphite and/or graphene compounds. However, Gao teaches a metal particle and inorganic nanoparticle combination for 3D printing (title) wherein the metal particle is silver (page 2) and the inorganic nanoparticle is graphene (page 2) both having a particle size of about 50 μm (50,000 nm) (page 3, example 2). Gao also teaches the use of graphite particles (page 3, example 1). Gao further teaches that the adding these compounds results in synergistically modifying the matrix with good dispensability, toughening and strengthening the matrix (page 2) while the metal nanoparticles absorb one-dimensional materials (page 2), the contact area with the matrix is increased so that the transfer effect of the interface stress is improved, the interface bonding strength of the composite material is improved, thereby the mechanical properties of the 3D printed parts are improved (page 2). Okamoto and Gao are analogous in the art of 3D curable compositions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Gao, and combine the metal and other inorganic particle of Gao to the composition of Okamoto, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 8-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and if the double patenting rejection is overcome by submitting a Terminal Disclaimer, and approval thereupon. Please see the double patenting rejection section for details. The prior arts (of record) do not contain the specially claimed amounts and/or the compounds included in these claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742