DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double-patenting rejections, the terminal disclaimers are under review and the double patenting rejections are expected to be withdrawn once the terminal disclaimers are approved.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant’s remarks regarding support for the amendments has been considered, but the amendments raise some 112(a) issues, as noted below. In addition, it appears to be obvious to utilize a frequency of the frequency signal that is smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal, as described further below in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 10-16, 18-19 and 22-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 18: The original specification does not clearly disclose the particular relationship requiring a frequency of the frequency signal being smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal. See MPEP 2163.05. Examiner suggests reciting the particular supported numerical ranges for each signal.
Claim 3: The original specification does not disclose specifically not having a control unit configured to perform frequency conversion of received energy and control output time parameters. In addition, this is contradictory to the parent claim which now requires some form of frequency conversion in order to achieve different frequencies.
Claims 11, 23: Frequencies 1-1.2 MHz and 6-45 MHz are not supported in combination with a frequency of the frequency signal being equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal.
Claim 12: Frequency of 13.56 MHz is not supported in combination with a frequency of the frequency signal being equal to or smaller than a frequency of the electrical stimulation signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 18, 19, 22, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) in view of Parramon (US 2005/0131495) and Chang (US 2017/0113047).
Regarding claim 1, 10, 18, 22, 25, 26, Pan discloses the same invention as claimed (Figure 2 shown above for example), including an electrical stimulation device (Paragraph 30) comprising a signal receiving circuit configured to receive and output a frequency signal (Figure 2: e.g. receiving coil 231), and a signal processing circuit configured to receive the frequency signal to generate an electrical stimulation signal (Figure 2: 21, 26; Paragraph 48).
Further regarding claims 1, 18, 25, 26, Pan does not disclose the frequency details recited. However, Parramon teaches a frequency of the power signal between 9-200 kHz as recited (Paragraph 45), since any frequency as best serves a particular application may be selected. Furthermore, Chang teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. In addition, there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results with the particular frequency relationship recited. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan as taught by Parramon and Chang to include the frequency parameters such that a frequency of a received power signal is smaller than a frequency of the stimulation signal as recited, since any frequency as best serves a particular application may be selected and in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Regarding claim 2, Pan discloses an electrode as recited (Figure 2: S6; Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses the stimulation device does not have a battery (Figure 2).
Regarding claims 13-16, 24, Pan does not disclose the electrical stimulation parameters as recited. However, Chang further teaches it is common to select a frequency of 480-520 kHz (Paragraph 61) and voltage between -25 to 25 V (Paragraph 58) and current between 0 to 60 mA (Paragraph 64), in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Parramon as further taught by Chang to include the stimulation parameters as recited, in order to deliver an appropriate stimulus signal.
Regarding claim 19, Pan discloses a rectifying circuit configured to receive the frequency signal and rectify the frequency signal to generate a rectified signal (Figure 2: 232)
Claim(s) 3, 5, 11-12, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2016/0001085) and Parramon (US 2005/0131495) and Chang (US 2017/0113047) in view of Kisker (WO 2012/013360; cited in IDS 4/25/23).
Regarding claims 3, 5, Pan or Parramon or Chang do not disclose having no control unit as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is an obvious modification to locate the control unit separately and possibly externally so as to have no control unit in the stimulation device (Page 53, lines 10-16), in order to reduce implant size. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Parramon and Chang as taught by Kisker to include having no control unit as recited, in order to reduce implant size.
Regarding claims 11-12, 23, Pan or Parramon or Chang do not disclose the frequency as recited. However, Kisker teaches it is common to select a frequency such as 13.56 MHz (Page 64, line 8), in order to couple internal and external coils. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan and Parramon and Chang as taught by Kisker to include a frequency as recited, in order to couple internal and external coils.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-16, 18-19, 22-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of copending Application No. 17685725 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a terminal disclaimer is filed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan (US 2016/0096023) shows energy transmission to an implanted device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796