DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-4 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 4 are amended as filed on 09/10/2025.
Claim 5 is canceled as filed on 09/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thatcher et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2023/0148951 A1), hereinafter Thatcher, in view of Sostek et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2015/0011892 A1), hereinafter Sostek, and in further view of Urklinski et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0335596 A1), hereinafter Urk.
2. With respect to claim 1, Thatcher taught an apparatus for analyzing burn injuries (0024), comprising: a smartphone having a visible light camera (0006); an IR camera (0076); the smartphone collecting visible light video from the visible light camera and IR signal video from the IR camera of a burn injury while moving the visible light camera and the IR camera over the burn injury (0083, where the imaging system is movable in accordance with 0109); a computing device using the video to create a 3D surface model (0066 & 0072); the computing device calculating burn area using machine vision methods on the 3D surface model (0122).
However, Thatcher did not explicitly state that the computing device performed overlaying thermal information from the IR video signal onto the 3D surface model and analyzing temperature with thermal information on the 3D surface model. On the other hand, Sostek did teach that the computing device overlaying thermal information from the IR video signal onto the 3D surface model (0065. For more detail, it can be seen that the generated IR image that analyzes the burn is overlayed in accordance with 0078. Likewise, the resulting image can be a 3D surface model in accordance with 0102) and analyzing temperature with thermal information on the 3D surface model (0065. Furthermore, a more detailed showing of the analysis can be seen in the different identified burn zones of 0066). Both of the systems of Thatcher and Sostek are directed towards image analysis of burn injuries and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Thatcher, to utilize thermal evaluation, as taught by Sostek, as Thatcher likely already performs said features but it is not explicitly stated.
However, while Thatcher teaches moving the IR camera and the visible light camera together by obviousness as the imaging system is movable (0109) and the claim is not further limited with respect to moving together, in order to provide a more compact prosecution, it is contended that Thatcher did not explicitly state wherein the visible light camera and the IR camera are attached together in a handheld device sized and configured to be movable by a user over a burn injury, and also moving the visible light camera and the IR camera together. On the other hand, Urk did teach wherein the visible light camera and the IR camera are attached together in a handheld device sized and configured to be movable by a user over a burn injury, and also moving the visible light camera and the IR camera together (0039, where the phone attachment is small such that the phone can still be moved around a burn and can be seen in figure 2b). Both of the systems of Thatcher and Urk are directed towards managing thermal imaging and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Thatcher to utilize mounting an IR and Visible Light camera onto the same platform, as taught by Urk, in order to provide a system that can more easily image the required surfaces.
3. As for claim 2, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Thatcher taught wherein the computing device is remote from the smartphone (0110).
4. As for claim 3, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Thatcher taught wherein the computing device is provided within the smartphone (0110).
5. With respect to claim 4, Thatcher taught a method for analyzing burn injuries (0024), comprising the steps of: using a smartphone having a visible light camera and an IR camera (0006 & 0076), running a pre-installed application on the smartphone to collect video and IR signal video of burn injury while moving the visible light camera and the IR camera (0109-0110, the mobile application); transmitting video data to backend software or an external computing device (0110, the remote processing system); using video input to an algorithm to create a 3D surface model (0122); performing calculations on the 3D surface model for predicted burn depth volume (0072); calculating burn area using machine vision methods on the 3D surface model (0072, the area based on calculated disparity).
However, Thatcher did not explicitly state using IR video to overlay thermal information on the 3D surface model, that volume was thermal volume, performing temperature analysis with thermal information on the 3D surface model, calculating healing metrics using the burn area calculation and the temperature analysis calculated above; using pre-determined threshold values and comparing the pre-determined threshold values to the healing metrics to indicate a likelihood of very low healing potential or high healing potential to reach a triage decision. On the other hand, Sostek did teach using IR video to overlay thermal information on the 3D surface model (0065), that volume was thermal volume (0054), performing temperature analysis with thermal information on the 3D surface model (0065), calculating healing metrics using the burn area calculation and the temperature analysis calculated above; using pre-determined threshold values and comparing the pre-determined threshold values to the healing metrics to indicate a likelihood of very low healing potential or high healing potential to reach a triage decision (0066, where the different zones are determined and claiming to reach a triage decision is to claim the intended use of the systems). Both of the systems of Thatcher and Sostek are directed towards image analysis of burn injuries and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Thatcher, to utilize thermal evaluation, as taught by Sostek, as Thatcher likely already performs said features but it is not explicitly stated.
However, while Thatcher teaches moving the IR camera and the visible light camera together by obviousness as the imaging system is movable (0109) and the claim is not further limited with respect to moving together, in order to provide a more compact prosecution, it is contended that Thatcher did not explicitly state that the cameras are together as an assembled single handheld device sized and configured to be movable by a user over a burn injury, and also moving the visible light camera and the IR camera together. On the other hand, Urk did teach that the cameras are together as an assembled single handheld device sized and configured to be movable by a user over a burn injury, and also moving the visible light camera and the IR camera together (0039, where the phone attachment is small such that the phone can still be moved around a burn and can be seen in figure 2b). Both of the systems of Thatcher and Urk are directed towards managing thermal imaging and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Thatcher to utilize mounting an IR and Visible Light camera onto the same platform, as taught by Urk, in order to provide a system that can more easily image the required surfaces.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
6. It is to be noted that the currently applied tertiary reference Urklinski et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2022/0335596 A1), is different than the previously applied reference Urklinski et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2023/0079693 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443