DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on 04/30/2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 17/687,433 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
This communication is in response to applicant’s 04/30/2026 amendment or response in the application of TAKEDA et al. for “REFERENCE SIGNAL SIGNALING FOR SECONDARY CELLS” filed 03/04/2022. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-30 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13-14, 18-20, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 2019/0215136 A1), hereinafter ZHOU in view of PAPASAKELLARIOUS (US 2016/0183244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHOU discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration signal indicating one or more sets of reference signal formats, each set of reference signal formats including a mapping of reference signal formats to respective cells of a set of cells (a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 31) may receive, from a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 31), at least one RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a primary cell and at least one secondary cell (e.g., SCell in FIG. 31), wherein, the configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a reference signal (RS) resource setting; and/or a CSI reporting setting for L1-RSRP reporting. A L1-RSRP may indicate the receiving quality of a RS transmitted from a beam. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources, each RS resource associated with a RS resource configuration identifier and radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports; time and frequency resource allocation; frequency density; etc., see ¶ 0301 and figure 31);
receiving a trigger signal indicating an active set of reference signal formats of the one or more sets of reference signal formats, the trigger signal indicative of reference signal transmission from the cells of the set of cells in accordance with the reference signal formats associated with the active set of reference signal formats; identifying an activation state for each cell in the set of cells (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell., step 201 figure 31; ¶ 0303).
ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose the configuration signal indicate a correspondence of respective cells of a set of cells to reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, PAPASAKELLARIOUS discloses eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with a number of SF sets, such as two SF sets, for associating a set of cells for A-CSI reporting. A CQI request field includes 2 bits when UE 114 has a number of configured cells that is smaller than or equal to a predetermined value, such as 5 cells, and includes a larger number of bits, such as 3 bits, when UE 114 has a number of configured cells larger than the value. A mapping can be, for example, as in Table 6, assuming UE 114 is configured a PDSCH TM associated with a single CSI process. For example, to provide A-CSI reports for NcellsDL=32 cells, eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with 12 sets of cells where each set can include 4 cells and two or more sets can have common cells (see ¶ 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PAPASAKELLARIOUS’s teaching in the network taught by ZHOU to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic and support new applications and deployments, improvements in radio interface efficiency and coverage based on the rapidly increasing traffic demand.
Regarding claim 13, ZHOU discloses receiving a secondary cell activation message that indicates that the at least one secondary cell is to be activated at the UE, wherein the activation state for the at least one secondary cell is based at least in part on the secondary cell activation message (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell, see ¶ 0303).
Regarding claim 14, ZHOU discloses wherein the secondary cell activation message is received using a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell, see ¶ 0303 and figure 31).
Regarding claim 18, ZHOU discloses the configuration signal is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message (a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 31) may receive, from a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 31), at least one RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a primary cell and at least one secondary cell (e.g., SCell in FIG. 31), wherein, the configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a reference signal (RS) resource setting; and/or a CSI reporting setting for L1-RSRP reporting, see ¶ 0301 and figure 31).
Regarding claim 19, ZHOU discloses the trigger signal is received in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or an aperiodic channel state information request field of a downlink control information (DCI) (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell, see ¶ 0303 and figure 31).
Regarding claim 20, ZHOU discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a configuration signal indicating one or more sets of reference signal formats, each set of reference signal formats including a mapping of reference signal formats to respective cells of a set of cells (a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 31) may receive, from a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 31), at least one RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a primary cell and at least one secondary cell (e.g., SCell in FIG. 31), wherein, the configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a reference signal (RS) resource setting; and/or a CSI reporting setting for L1-RSRP reporting. A L1-RSRP may indicate the receiving quality of a RS transmitted from a beam. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources, each RS resource associated with a RS resource configuration identifier and radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports; time and frequency resource allocation; frequency density; etc., see ¶ 0301 and figure 31);
receive a trigger signal indicating an active set of reference signal formats of the one or more sets of reference signal formats, the trigger signal indicative of reference signal transmission from the cells of the set of cells in accordance with the reference signal formats associated with the active set of reference signal formats; identifying an activation state for each cell in the set of cells (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell., step 201 figure 31; ¶ 0303).
ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose the configuration signal indicate a correspondence of respective cells of a set of cells to reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, PAPASAKELLARIOUS discloses eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with a number of SF sets, such as two SF sets, for associating a set of cells for A-CSI reporting. A CQI request field includes 2 bits when UE 114 has a number of configured cells that is smaller than or equal to a predetermined value, such as 5 cells, and includes a larger number of bits, such as 3 bits, when UE 114 has a number of configured cells larger than the value. A mapping can be, for example, as in Table 6, assuming UE 114 is configured a PDSCH TM associated with a single CSI process. For example, to provide A-CSI reports for NcellsDL=32 cells, eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with 12 sets of cells where each set can include 4 cells and two or more sets can have common cells (see ¶ 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PAPASAKELLARIOUS’s teaching in the network taught by ZHOU to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic and support new applications and deployments, improvements in radio interface efficiency and coverage based on the rapidly increasing traffic demand.
Regarding claim 29, ZHOU discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving a configuration signal indicating one or more sets of reference signal formats, each set of reference signal formats including a mapping of reference signal formats to respective cells of a set of cells (a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 31) may receive, from a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 31), at least one RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a primary cell and at least one secondary cell (e.g., SCell in FIG. 31), wherein, the configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a reference signal (RS) resource setting; and/or a CSI reporting setting for L1-RSRP reporting. A L1-RSRP may indicate the receiving quality of a RS transmitted from a beam. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources, each RS resource associated with a RS resource configuration identifier and radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports; time and frequency resource allocation; frequency density; etc., see ¶ 0301 and figure 31);
means for receiving a trigger signal indicating an active set of reference signal formats of the one or more sets of reference signal formats, the trigger signal indicative of reference signal transmission from the cells of the set of cells in accordance with the reference signal formats associated with the active set of reference signal formats; identifying an activation state for each cell in the set of cells (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell., step 201 figure 31; ¶ 0303).
ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose the configuration signal indicate a correspondence of respective cells of a set of cells to reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, PAPASAKELLARIOUS discloses eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with a number of SF sets, such as two SF sets, for associating a set of cells for A-CSI reporting. A CQI request field includes 2 bits when UE 114 has a number of configured cells that is smaller than or equal to a predetermined value, such as 5 cells, and includes a larger number of bits, such as 3 bits, when UE 114 has a number of configured cells larger than the value. A mapping can be, for example, as in Table 6, assuming UE 114 is configured a PDSCH TM associated with a single CSI process. For example, to provide A-CSI reports for NcellsDL=32 cells, eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with 12 sets of cells where each set can include 4 cells and two or more sets can have common cells (see ¶ 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PAPASAKELLARIOUS’s teaching in the network taught by ZHOU to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic and support new applications and deployments, improvements in radio interface efficiency and coverage based on the rapidly increasing traffic demand.
Regarding claim 30, ZHOU discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to:
receive a configuration signal indicating one or more sets of reference signal formats, each set of reference signal formats including a mapping of reference signal formats to respective cells of a set of cells (a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 31) may receive, from a base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 31), at least one RRC message comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a primary cell and at least one secondary cell (e.g., SCell in FIG. 31), wherein, the configuration parameters may comprise at least one of: a reference signal (RS) resource setting; and/or a CSI reporting setting for L1-RSRP reporting. A L1-RSRP may indicate the receiving quality of a RS transmitted from a beam. The RS resource setting may comprise a set of RS resources, each RS resource associated with a RS resource configuration identifier and radio resource configuration (e.g., number of ports; time and frequency resource allocation; frequency density; etc., see ¶ 0301 and figure 31);
receive a trigger signal indicating an active set of reference signal formats of the one or more sets of reference signal formats, the trigger signal indicative of reference signal transmission from the cells of the set of cells in accordance with the reference signal formats associated with the active set of reference signal formats; identifying an activation state for each cell in the set of cells (the gNB may transmit to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command indicating activation of at least a first SCell (e.g., the SCell in FIG. 31) in the at least one secondary cell. The UE may receive the MAC CE, and attempt to activate the at least first SCell, by measuring one or more RS resources of the at least first SCell., step 201 figure 31; ¶ 0303).
ZHOU fails to explicitly disclose the configuration signal indicate a correspondence of respective cells of a set of cells to reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, PAPASAKELLARIOUS discloses eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with a number of SF sets, such as two SF sets, for associating a set of cells for A-CSI reporting. A CQI request field includes 2 bits when UE 114 has a number of configured cells that is smaller than or equal to a predetermined value, such as 5 cells, and includes a larger number of bits, such as 3 bits, when UE 114 has a number of configured cells larger than the value. A mapping can be, for example, as in Table 6, assuming UE 114 is configured a PDSCH TM associated with a single CSI process. For example, to provide A-CSI reports for NcellsDL=32 cells, eNB 102 can configure UE 114 with 12 sets of cells where each set can include 4 cells and two or more sets can have common cells (see ¶ 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate PAPASAKELLARIOUS’s teaching in the network taught by ZHOU to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic and support new applications and deployments, improvements in radio interface efficiency and coverage based on the rapidly increasing traffic demand.
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 21, 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS in view of HSIEH et al. (US 2022/0271899 A1), hereinafter HSIEH.
Regarding claims 2, 6, 21, 25 the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS fails to explicitly disclose determining that the activation state of the at least one secondary cell is an activated state or to be activated, wherein the at least one secondary cell is already activated; determining that the reference signal format associated with the at least one secondary cell in the active set of reference signal formats comprises a temporary aperiodic reference signal format; and
performing the monitoring scheme for the at least one secondary cell by refraining from monitoring for the reference signal transmissions from the at least one secondary cell based at least in part on the activation state of the at least one secondary cell being the activated static and on the reference signal format associated with the at least one secondary cell in the active set of reference signal formats comprising the temporary aperiodic reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, HSIEH discloses that the UE receives, on a primary cell, an activation command from a base station for activating a secondary cell between the UE and the base station. The UE receives scheduling information of a set of aperiodic tracking reference signals (TRSs). The UE receives a trigger indicating transmission of the set of aperiodic TRSs. The UE initiates a RF chain of the UE configured for the secondary cell in an interruption period. The UE receives, in response to receiving the trigger and in accordance with the scheduling information, the set of aperiodic TRSs on the secondary cell prior to receiving an initial periodic synchronization signal block (SSB) or an initial periodic TRS after the interruption period. The UE performs time and frequency tracking on the secondary cell based on the set of aperiodic TRSs (see ¶ 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HSIEH’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability in 5G standard by reducing SCell activation delay at the user equipment.
Regarding claims 4-5, 23-24, the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS fails to explicitly disclose determining that the activation state of the at least one secondary cell is an activated state or to be activated, wherein the at least one secondary cell is already activated;
determining that the reference signal format associated with the at least one secondary cell in the active set of reference signal formats comprises a tracking reference signal format; and performing the monitoring scheme for the at least one secondary cell by monitoring for the reference signal transmissions from the at least one secondary cell based at least in part on the activation state of the at least one secondary cell being the activated state and on the reference signal format associated with the at least one secondary cell in the active set of reference signal formats comprising the tracking reference signal format.
In the same field of endeavor, HSIEH discloses that the UE receives, on a primary cell, an activation command from a base station for activating a secondary cell between the UE and the base station. The UE receives scheduling information of a set of aperiodic tracking reference signals (TRSs). The UE receives a trigger indicating transmission of the set of aperiodic TRSs. The UE initiates a RF chain of the UE configured for the secondary cell in an interruption period. The UE receives, in response to receiving the trigger and in accordance with the scheduling information, the set of aperiodic TRSs on the secondary cell prior to receiving an initial periodic synchronization signal block (SSB) or an initial periodic TRS after the interruption period. The UE performs time and frequency tracking on the secondary cell based on the set of aperiodic TRSs (see ¶ 0007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement HSIEH’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS to meet new requirements associated with latency, reliability, security, scalability in 5G standard by reducing SCell activation delay at the user equipment.
Claim(s) 9-11, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU in view of XIAO et al. (US 2021/0167911 A1), hereinafter XIAO.
Regarding claims 9-11, and 28, the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS fails to disclose identifying that the active set of reference signal formats of the one or more sets of reference signal formats includes a temporary aperiodic reference signal format that includes a first portion of a tracking reference signal and a second portion of the tracking reference signal, wherein the first portion and the second portion are in consecutive slots or non-consecutive slots.
In the same field of endeavor, XIAO discloses the base station send out Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) to the UE, where the TRS is divided into two parts: the first part for AP TRS and the second part of AP TRS. The base station sends the aperiodic tracking reference signal on the slot determined according to the first signaling. The slot for sending the first part of the aperiodic tracking reference signal is determined according to the first signaling. The slot for sending the first part of the aperiodic tracking reference signal is used for sending the first part of the aperiodic tracking reference signal. the slot for sending the first part of the aperiodic TRS determined by the base station is a slot K+n, where K denotes the slot where the resource for transmitting the first signaling is located, n denotes the slot or the slot offset relative to the slot for sending the first part of the aperiodic tracking reference signal. Generally, the TRS is transmitted by using two slots (see ¶ 0125-0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement XIAO’s teaching of sending aperiodic reference signal having first portion and second portion in the communication method taught by the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS to provide the UE with flexibility to effectively receive the reference signal and the physical shared channel which are transmitted on the common time domain resource.
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU in view of KIM et al. (US 2021/0250156 A1), hereinafter KIM.
Regarding claims 7-8, 12, 26-27, the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS fails to explicitly disclose determining that the reference signal format associated with the at least one secondary cell in the active set of reference signal formats indicates a first reference signal format associated with a first activation state and a second reference signal format associated with a second activation state; and selecting the monitoring scheme for the at least one secondary cell based at least in part on whether the at least one secondary cell is in the first activation state or the second activation state or determining that the activation state of the at least one secondary cell is an inactive state wherein the at least one secondary cell is deactivated; and performing the monitoring scheme for the at least one secondary cell by refraining from monitoring for the reference signal transmissions from the at least one secondary cell based at least in part on the activation state of the at least one secondary cell being the inactive state.
In the same field of endeavor, KIM discloses when the UE receives a configuration of a Spcell and a plurality of Scells through an RRC message, the UE may receive a configuration of a state or mode for each Scell or a BWP of the SCell through the RRC message, the MAC CE, or the PDCCH DCI. The state or mode of the Scell may be configured as an active mode or activated state, or a deactivated mode or deactivated state. The active mode or the activated state of the Scell may mean that the UE may exchange uplink or downlink data with the gNB in an activated BWP of the SCell, or an activated normal BWP or a BWP other than an activated dormant BWP of the Scell in the active mode or the activated Scell (see ¶ 0139, 0143, 0144).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement KIM’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of ZHOU-PAPASAKELLARIOUS in order to conserve the network’s resources by dynamically adjusting the Scell status.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 15-17, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: determining that a downlink transmission is scheduled using overlapping resources that overlap with the reference signal transmissions from the at least one secondary cell; and decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on an assumption that the downlink transmission was either punctured or rate matched around the overlapping resources.
Regarding claim 15, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: determining that the trigger signal is received during a time window, the time window based at least in part on a delay time after the configuration signal is received and a threshold time limit; andapplying the active set of reference signal formats based at least in part on the trigger signal being received during the time window.
Regarding claim 16, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: determining that the trigger signal is received prior to a time window, the time window based at least in part on a delay time after the configuration signal is received and a threshold time limit; and refraining from applying the active set of reference signal formats based at least in part on the trigger signal being received prior to the time window.
Regarding claim 17, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: determining that the trigger signal is received after a time window, the time window based at least in part on a delay time after the configuration signal is received and a threshold time limit; and applying an active reference signal format of the active set of reference signal formats based at least in part on the trigger signal being received after the time window.
Regarding claim 22, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: determine that a downlink transmission is scheduled using overlapping resources that overlap with the reference signal transmissions from the at least one secondary cell; and decode the downlink transmission based at least in part on an assumption that the downlink transmission was either punctured or rate matched around the overlapping resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-14, 18-21, and 23-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412