DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213016523 (‘523) in view of Young (US 3,710,853), Danielson (US 2016/0375757), and Kakishita (US 2008/0193286).
Regarding claim 1, ‘523 teaches a radiator (2; note that “the inner partition of the radiator 2 is divided into an intercooler 201 and a water cooler 202” but that it is still defined as one radiator with two sections) mounted to a frame (1) proximate a front of the frame (back side of Fig. 4) and defining a radiator plane extending along a front surface of the radiator; and a plurality of fans (4) mounted to the frame rearwardly of the radiator (Fig. 4) with first and second pairs of fans positioned on first and second sides of the frame, respectively (see Fig. 2); each fan defining a fan rotation axis that extends rearwardly away from the frame (Fig. 4); the frame has a top, bottom, first and opposed second sides, and the radiator extends from top to bottom and side to side (see annotated figure);
each fan is positioned within a housing (“fan ports” in 3) wherein each housing defines a fan rotation axis (by providing the mounting surface for the fan it determines the direction of the axis of the fan) extending away from the frame (see Fig. 3) wherein each housing is configured to provide a space between the fan and the radiator (see Fig. 3; gap formed between 4 and 2) to promote even airflow across the radiator.
‘523 does not specify enough details of the radiator to determine if tubes extend from top to bottom and from a first to a second side of the frame.
Young teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators such that tubes (1) extend from top to bottom and side to side of a frame (see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with tubes that extend across the entire exposed area of the frame, as taught by Young, in order to utilize all available air flow area.
‘523 does not teach that the fan rotation axes also extend obliquely horizontally from the frame.
Danielson teaches that it is old and well-known to mount fans (138) on a frame (132) rearward of a radiator (152) such that fans at first and second sides (left-right; Fig. 19b) each have a fan axis which extends away from the radiator and obliquely outward from the center (Fig. 19b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the fans of ‘523 such that they are oriented with the axes obliquely from the frame, as taught by Danielson, in order to increase air flow and reduce installation space in the apparatus and to allow for larger fans in the installation space.
‘523 does not specify that the fans are positioned rearward of the radiator and forward of a heat generating component defining an intermediate airflow region between them.
Kakishita teaches that, in vehicular applications, it is old and well-known to mount the radiator (13) at the front of the vehicle with fans (11) rearward of the radiator but in front of heat generating component (5) such that an airflow region is created between the radiator and heat generating component (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to arrange the radiator, fans, and heat generating component of ‘523, in the order taught by Kakishita, in order to take advantage of ram air pressure while simultaneously protecting the fan from debris.
Regarding claim 2, Danielson further teaches that the angle formed between the fan axis and radiator plane is acute (see Fig. 19b).
‘523 further teaches that: four fans are mounted to the frame (see Fig. 4; the fans in question are those associated with the radiator 202, not the additional installation associated with 201), per claim 3; the first pair comprises first and second fans and the second pair comprises third and fourth fans, each mounted at the bottom and top, respectively (Fig. 4), per claim 5; the rotation axes of the first and second fans and that of the third and fourth fans, are vertically aligned (see Fig. 4), per claim 6; the rotation axes of the first and third fans and that of the second and fourth fans, are horizontally aligned (see Fig. 4), per claim 7; each fan has a brace with a first end connected to the frame proximate a top of the fan one a first side and a bottom of the fan on a second side (see Figs. 2-4; the fan covering thin ‘spiderweb’ shaped portions meet this definition), per claim 13.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear whether ‘523 teaches fan rings.
Danielson teaches the use of fan rings (see structures which are immediately radially adjacent the fan blades; Figs. 19b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the fans of ‘523 with fan rings, as taught by Danielson, in order to increase the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claims 11-12, ‘523 does not specify cross bracing.
Young teaches a frame (F) for a heat exchanger (Fig. 1) with cross bracing (16, 17) extending from a top left to bottom right (17) and top right to bottom left (16) portions of the frame and each brace is connected to the frame at a central location (axially central of the brace).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the device of ‘523 with cross-bracing in order to strengthen and stiffen the frame.
Claims 9-10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘523 in view of Young, Danielson, Kakishita, and Pawlick (US 2014/0262147).
Regarding claims 9-10, ‘523 does not specify much structure of the radiator (2) aside from inlet and outlet pipes (e.g. 8, 9).
Pawlick teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators with first through third tanks (101, 102, 103) and first and second plurality of tubes (201, 202) wherein the first tank has first apertures, the second tank (103) has second and third apertures, and the third tank (102) has fourth apertures (formed in their respective header plates 208), and the first plurality of tubes extends from the first to second tank (201, Fig. 22; Figs. 23 illustrates individual tubes 206 passing through their respective header plate 208 of each tank) and the second plurality of tubes extends from the second tank to the third tank (202, Fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with the three tank radiator, as taught by Pawlick, in order to allow for larger devices without losing tube strength over the length of the tubes.
Regarding claim 14, ‘523 teaches a radiator (2; note that “the inner partition of the radiator 2 is divided into an intercooler 201 and a water cooler 202” but that it is still defined as one radiator with two sections) mounted to a frame (1) proximate a front of the frame (back side of Fig. 4) and defining a radiator plane extending along a front surface of the radiator; and a plurality of fans (4) mounted to the frame rearwardly of the radiator (Fig. 4) with first and second pairs of fans positioned on first and second sides of the frame, respectively (see Fig. 2); each fan defining a fan rotation axis that extends rearwardly away from the frame (Fig. 4); four fans are mounted to the frame (see Fig. 4; the fans in question are those associated with the radiator 202, not the additional installation associated with 201); a first pair and second pair of fans are mounted to a first and second side of the frame, respectively (left and right); the frame has a top, bottom, first and opposed second sides, and the radiator extends from top to bottom and side to side (see annotated figure);
each fan is positioned within one of a plurality of housing (“fan ports” in 3) wherein each housing defines a fan rotation axis (by providing the mounting surface for the fan it determines the direction of the axis of the fan) extending away from the frame (see Fig. 3) wherein each housing is configured to provide a space between the fan and the radiator (see Fig. 3; gap formed between 4 and 2) to promote even airflow across the radiator.
‘523 does not specify that the fans are positioned rearward of the radiator and forward of a heat generating component defining an intermediate airflow region between them.
Kakishita teaches that, in vehicular applications, it is old and well-known to mount the radiator (13) at the front of the vehicle with fans (11) rearward of the radiator but in front of heat generating component (5) such that an airflow region is created between the radiator and heat generating component (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to arrange the radiator, fans, and heat generating component of ‘523, in the order taught by Kakishita, in order to take advantage of ram air pressure while simultaneously protecting the fan from debris.
‘523 does not specify enough details of the radiator to determine if tubes extend from top to bottom and from a first to a second side of the frame.
Young teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators such that tubes (1) extend from top to bottom and side to side of a frame (see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with tubes that extend across the entire exposed area of the frame, as taught by Young, in order to utilize all available air flow area.
‘523 does not teach that the fan rotation axes also extend obliquely horizontally from the frame.
Danielson teaches that it is old and well-known to mount fans (138) on a frame (132) rearward of a radiator (152) such that fans at first and second sides (left-right; Fig. 19b) each have a fan axis which extends away from the radiator and obliquely outward from the center (Fig. 19b) and form an acute angle with respect to the radiator (Fig. 19b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the fans of ‘523 such that they are oriented with the axes obliquely from the frame, as taught by Danielson, in order to increase air flow and reduce installation space in the apparatus and to allow for larger fans in the installation space.
‘523 does not specify much structure of the radiator (202) aside from water inlet and outlet pipes (8, 9).
Pawlick teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators with first through third tanks (101, 102, 103) and first and second plurality of tubes (201, 202) wherein the first tank has first apertures, the second tank (103) has second and third apertures, and the third tank (102) has fourth apertures (formed in their respective header plates 208), and the first plurality of tubes extends from the first to second tank (201, Fig. 22; Figs. 23 illustrates individual tubes 206 passing through their respective header plate 208 of each tank) and the second plurality of tubes extends from the second tank to the third tank (202, Fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with the three tank radiator, as taught by Pawlick, in order to allow for larger devices without losing tube strength over the length of the tubes.
‘523 further teaches that: the first pair comprises first and second fans and the second pair comprises third and fourth fans, each mounted at the bottom and top, respectively (Fig. 4), per claim 15; the rotation axes of the first and second fans and that of the third and fourth fans, are vertically aligned (see Fig. 4), per claim 16; the rotation axes of the first and third fans and that of the second and fourth fans, are horizontally aligned (see Fig. 4), per claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, it is unclear whether ‘523 teaches fan rings.
Danielson teaches the use of fan rings (see structures which are immediately radially adjacent the fan blades; Fig. 19b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the fans of ‘523 with fan rings, as taught by Danielson, in order to increase the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 20, ‘523 teaches a radiator (2; note that “the inner partition of the radiator 2 is divided into an intercooler 201 and a water cooler 202” but that it is still defined as one radiator with two sections) mounted to a frame (1) proximate a front of the frame (back side of Fig. 4) and defining a radiator plane extending along a front surface of the radiator; and a plurality of fans (4) mounted to the frame rearwardly of the radiator (Fig. 4), each fan defining a fan rotation axis that extends rearwardly away from the frame (Fig. 4); four fans are mounted to the frame (see Fig. 4; the fans in question are those associated with the radiator 202, not the additional installation associated with 201); a first pair and second pair of fans are mounted to a first and second side of the frame, respectively (left and right); the first pair comprises first and second fans and the second pair comprises third and fourth fans, each mounted at the bottom and top, respectively (Fig. 4) ; the frame has a top, bottom, first and opposed second sides, and the radiator extends from top to bottom and side to side (see annotated figure);
each fan is positioned within a housing (“fan ports” in 3) wherein each housing defines a fan rotation axis (by providing the mounting surface for the fan it determines the direction of the axis of the fan) extending away from the frame (see Fig. 3) wherein each housing is configured to provide a space between the fan and the radiator (see Fig. 3; gap formed between 4 and 2) to promote even airflow across the radiator.
‘523 does not specify enough details of the radiator to determine if tubes extend from top to bottom and from a first to a second side of the frame.
Young teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators such that tubes (1) extend from top to bottom and side to side of a frame (see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with tubes that extend across the entire exposed area of the frame, as taught by Young, in order to utilize all available air flow area.
‘523 does not teach that the fan rotation axes also extend obliquely horizontally from the frame.
Danielson teaches that it is old and well-known to mount fans (138) on a frame (132) rearward of a radiator (152) such that fans at first and second sides (left-right; Fig. 19b) each have a fan axis which extends away from the radiator and obliquely outward from the center (Fig. 19b) and form an acute angle with respect to the radiator (Fig. 19b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the fans of ‘523 such that they are oriented with the axes obliquely from the frame, as taught by Danielson, in order to increase air flow and reduce installation space in the apparatus and to allow for larger fans in the installation space.
‘523 does not specify much structure of the radiator (202) aside from water inlet and outlet pipes (8, 9).
Pawlick teaches that it is old and well-known to form radiators with first through third tanks (101, 102, 103) and first and second plurality of tubes (201, 202) wherein the first tank has first apertures, the second tank (103) has second and third apertures, and the third tank (102) has fourth apertures (formed in their respective header plates 208), and the first plurality of tubes extends from the first to second tank (201, Fig. 22; Figs. 23 illustrates individual tubes 206 passing through their respective header plate 208 of each tank) and the second plurality of tubes extends from the second tank to the third tank (202, Fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the device of ‘523 with the three tank radiator, as taught by Pawlick, in order to allow for larger devices without losing tube strength over the length of the tubes.
‘523 does not specify that the fans are positioned rearward of the radiator and forward of a heat generating component defining an intermediate airflow region between them.
Kakishita teaches that, in vehicular applications, it is old and well-known to mount the radiator (13) at the front of the vehicle with fans (11) rearward of the radiator but in front of heat generating component (5) such that an airflow region is created between the radiator and heat generating component (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to arrange the radiator, fans, and heat generating component of ‘523, in the order taught by Kakishita, in order to take advantage of ram air pressure while simultaneously protecting the fan from debris.
Regarding claim 19, ‘523 does not specify cross bracing.
Young teaches a frame (F) for a heat exchanger (Fig. 1) with cross bracing (16, 17) extending from a top left to bottom right (17) and top right to bottom left (16) portions of the frame and each brace is connected to the frame at a central location (axially central of the brace).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the device of ‘523 with cross-bracing in order to strengthen and stiffen the frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 12/10/25 are not persuasive.
Regarding the spacing feature of ‘523 and “evenness” of airflow, the spacing provided by the element 3 between fans and the radiator inherently increases evenness of flow across the radiator by allowing the fans to generate a pressure gradient that is wider than their blades.
The arguments which follow generally assert that the combined teachings of the rejection statements above are made at a “generally high-level” and do not go into sufficient detail of construction. The examiner maintains that the above combinations are presented at the level of one of ordinary skill in the art, and are thus sufficient absent detail by detail specifics which one of ordinary skill would comprehend or which represent minutiae they would be capable of resolving as a matter of common engineering decisions. If there is a specific portion of the combination which the applicant believes to be invalid, they are requested to present arguments regarding those points compliant with 37 CFR 1.111(b).
The final arguments are addressed to the newly entered subject matter which has been addressed in detail above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON LANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763