DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. After further search and consideration with respect to Applicant’s amendment, it was determined that a new grounds of rejection would be applied in view of new references to teach the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 12, 14, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey (US 3,978,846) in view of Hamann et al. (US 9,340,346).
Regarding claim 1, Bailey discloses (Figures 1-2) a dual syringe assembly comprising: a first syringe (22) having an open top end (for receiving plunger 24), a longitudinal sidewall (forming the barrel assembly), a bottom end (needle attachment end) opposite said open top end wherein said sidewall of said first syringe defines a cavity within said first syringe (for receiving plunger 24 and fluid); a first port positioned at said bottom end (adjacent cannula and outlet 44) and a second port (adjacent vent opening 50; see annotated figure below) positioned at said bottom end below said first port; a plunger (24) inserted into said cavity of said first syringe through said open top end; a second syringe (28; Figure 1) having an open top end, a longitudinal sidewall, a bottom end opposite said open top end (Figures 2-3, the bottom end comprises the ports and fluid outlet) wherein said sidewall of said second syringe defines a cavity (formed by internal surfaces 32) within said second syringe; a port positioned at said bottom end of said second syringe (adjacent vent 50); a plunger (30) inserted into said cavity of said second syringe through said top open end (trailing end 28a); said first port of said first syringe creating a fluid pathway between said cavity of said first syringe and a needle hub (hub of needle attachment 48 as in Figure 2-3; Col. 3, lines 10-13) attached to said first syringe (Figure 2); and said second port of said first syringe creating a fluid pathway between said cavity of said first syringe and said port of said second syringe (Col. 3, lines 20-36; the vent opening into the second syringe allow for fluid flow, in the form of gas flow, through the bottom end of the syringe assembly through the vent opening and into the second syringe). Bailey fails to explicitly disclose the second vent is below the first vent.
Hamann et al. (henceforth Hamann) teaches a dual syringe assembly (Figures 1 and 10) comprising a first syringe (formed as dispenser body 104, Figure 2) having a plunger (124) therein and a second syringe (114), and a wall (formed as nozzle assembly 160) at the bottom of the dual syringe assembly having a first port and a second port formed there, and wherein the second port is positioned below the first port (see annotated figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the bottom housing assembly of Bailey to place the second port below the first port, as taught by Hamann, since Hamann teaches that such a configuration is used for providing fluid flow between first and second syringes from a common outlet, wherein a second, auxiliary syringe, comprises a second port which is higher, in an axial direction, than a first port coupled to a first syringe outlet. In this combination, the vent syringe of Bailey would still be useable to provide negative pressure at the vent aperture to stabilize the inlet pressure while having the vent below the outlet vent in the housing.
Regarding claim 3, Bailey further discloses wherein said first port and said second port of said first syringe extend through a bottom wall (see Figure 3, wherein the bottom wall of the syringe assembly comprises both ports) positioned at said bottom end of said first syringe and wherein said bottom wall is positioned opposite said open top end of said first syringe.
Regarding claim 4, Bailey/Hamann further teach wherein said bottom wall of said first syringe has an interior face that slopes away from said open top end (see Figure 3, the housing slopes from one port to another), and in the cited combination, the slope would be maintained with the second port (adjacent vent 50) sloping up to the first port (for fluid flow from the first syringe through the outlet).
Regarding claim 5, Bailey further discloses wherein said plunger (24) of said first syringe comprises a shaft with a plunger head (leading end 24b) on one end and a handle (42) on the opposing end; and wherein said shaft is removable from said plunger head (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Bailey further discloses a cannula (46) having an opening on one end (cannula outlet tip) and an attachment member (hub for attachment of needle to 48 attached to extension 42) on the opposing end (Figure 2) wherein said attachment member of said cannula is attachable to and detachable from said first syringe (e.g., by removing canula hub of needle from syringe); and a fluid pathway is between said cannula and said first port of said first syringe (through extension 42).
Regarding claim 14, Bailey further discloses wherein the cannula tapers to said opening of said cannula (e.g., see beveled tip of needle 46 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Bailey discloses (Figures 1-2) a dual syringe assembly comprising: a first syringe (22) having an open top end (for receiving plunger 24), a longitudinal sidewall (forming the barrel assembly), and a bottom wall (at needle attachment end) opposite said open top end wherein said sidewall and said bottom wall define a cavity within said first syringe (Figure 1); a first port (adjacent cannula outlet 44) and a second port (adjacent vent 50) extending through said bottom wall of said first syringe; a plunger (24) inserted into said cavity of said first syringe through said open end; a second syringe (28, Figure 1) having an open top end (for receiving plunger 30, Figure 2), a longitudinal sidewall, and a bottom end (at 56) opposite said open top end wherein said longitudinal sidewall defines a cavity within said second syringe (Figure 2); a port at said bottom end of said second syringe (adjacent vent 50); a plunger (30) inserted into said cavity of said second syringe through said open end; said first port of said first syringe creating a fluid pathway between said cavity of said first syringe and a needle attachment (needle 46 attached to extension 42, Figure 2); and said second port of said first syringe creating a fluid pathway between said cavity of said first syringe and said port of said second syringe (Col. 3, lines 20-36). Bailey fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second port is positioned below the first port.
Hamann et al. (henceforth Hamann) teaches a dual syringe assembly (Figures 1 and 10) comprising a first syringe (formed as dispenser body 104, Figure 2) having a plunger (124) therein and a second syringe (114), and a wall (formed as nozzle assembly 160) at the bottom of the dual syringe assembly having a first port and a second port formed there, and wherein the second port is positioned below the first port (see annotated figure above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the bottom housing assembly of Bailey to place the second port below the first port, as taught by Hamann, since Hamann teaches that such a configuration is used for providing fluid flow between first and second syringes from a common outlet, wherein a second, auxiliary syringe, comprises a second port which is higher, in an axial direction, than a first port coupled to a first syringe outlet. In this combination, the vent syringe of Bailey would still be useable to provide negative pressure at the vent aperture to stabilize the inlet pressure while having the vent below the outlet vent in the housing.
Regarding claim 18, Bailey/Hamann further teach wherein said bottom wall of said first syringe has an interior face that slopes away from said open top end (see Figure 3, the housing slopes from one port to another), and in the cited combination, the slope would be maintained with the second port (adjacent vent 50) sloping up to the first port (for fluid flow from the first syringe through the outlet).
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Hamann, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2004/0204688).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Bailey/Hamann teach the claimed invention substantially as set forth above for claim 1 (and the same structure is applicable to claim 19) but fail to explicitly disclose the second syringe being removably positioned within a groove on an exterior surface of the first syringe.
Lin et al. (henceforth Lin) teaches (Figures 1-2), a syringe assembly comprising a first syringe (10) which receives a second cylindrical element (30) in a groove (13) on an outer surface of the first syringe (Figure 1; ¶ [0015], the body 30 is received in a keyway or groove on the first syringe outer surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the syringe assembly of Bailey/Hamann to provide the second syringe in a groove on the first syringe body, since Lin teaches that such a configuration is known in the art for attaching two cylindrical elements together in an injection device. In this manner, the second syringe body of Bailey/Hamann would be secured to the first syringe body in the same manner to positively connect the two elements together as taught by Lin.
Claim(s) 6-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Hamann, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 5,290,246).
Regarding claim 6, Bailey/Hamann teach the claimed invention substantially as set forth above for claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose the multi-part cannula and needle attachment element.
Yamamoto et al. (henceforth Yamamoto) teaches (Figures 1 and 8-9) a needle hub assembly comprising: a syringe attachment member (inner needle hub 60 is attachable to another element such as body 90 in Figure 1; therefore it is functionally capable of being attached to a syringe); a cannula attachment member (outer needle hub 20); and a hollow needle (50) extending from said cannula attachment member and creating a fluid pathway between said first port of said first syringe and said needle (the needle extends proximally to connector 60 which attaches to the other medical device such as a syringe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the cannula attachment assembly of Bailey/Hamann to comprise the needle/cannula assembly of Yamamoto so as to allow a user to visualize flashback before an injection procedure to confirm proper placement of the needle assembly before dispensing the medicament as taught by Yamamoto (Col. 5, line 60 - Col.6, line 2).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto further teaches a cannula (10) having an opening on one end (for needle 50 to protrude through) and an attachment member (surface of cannula 10 engaged with hub 20; Col. 6, lines 3-9) on the opposing end; wherein said attachment member of said cannula is connected to said cannula attachment member (via a number of methods as cited above) and said needle (50) is positioned within said cannula (Figure 1) and extends through said opening of said cannula (Figure 1, needle 50 extends through the distal tip of cannula 10; Col. 3, lines 56-61); and wherein said syringe attachment member (e.g., inner needle hub 60) is attachable to and detachable from said first syringe (Yamamoto discloses that the inner needle hub is attachable to another element such as a filter cap, but in the cited modification, would be attached to the outlet extension of Bailey).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto further teaches wherein said cannula (10) is removable from said needle hub (Col. 3, lines 56-61, the inner needle is freely inserted and removed from the outer needle through the outer needle hub 20).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Yamamoto further teaches at least one port (15) along the longitudinal axis (Figure 1; Col. 4, lines 5-12).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto further teaches wherein said cannula (10) tapers to said opening of said cannula (it can be seen in Figure 1 that the tip of both the cannula 10 and needle 50 are tapered or beveled).
Regarding claim 11, Bailey/Hamann/Yamamoto further teaches wherein said cannula is attachable to and detachable from said first syringe (in the cited combination, the cannula is attachable to the first syringe connection member via inner needle hub 60).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN L ZAMORY/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783