Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are currently pending
Claims 2-3, 10-12, 15-17, and 20 have been previously withdrawn
Claim 19 is cancelled
Claims 1, 14-15, and 18 are amended
New claim 21 has been added
Status of Amendments
The amendment filed 4 September 2025 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
Status of Objections and Rejection pending since the Office Action of 8 July 2025
The 103 rejections over Takano in view of Park have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Takano in view of Park, further in view of Watanabe has been set forth as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
The 103 rejections over Takano in view of Park, further in view of Chen have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Takano in view of Park and Watanabe, further in view of Chen has been set forth as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
The 103 rejections over Takano in view of Park, further in view of Herrmann have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Takano Park and Watanabe, further in view of Herrmann has been set forth as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
The 103 rejections over Takano in view of Park, further in view of Yersak have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, a new grounds of rejection over Takano in view of Park and Watanabe, further in view of Sakamoto has been set forth as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano et al. (JP 5599366 B2, using the JP 2012243395 English translation for paragraph citations and JP 5599366 B2 English translation as an alternate translation option), hereinafter Takano, in view of Park et al. (KR 20120117306 A), hereinafter Park, further in view of Watanabe et al. (US 20140020240 A1), hereinafter Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1, Takano teaches a method for forming a solid-state battery, the method comprising:
disposing one or more cell units 10 along a continuous current collector 1 or 3 to form a stack precursor, wherein each cell unit comprises one or more first electrodes 11, one or more second electrodes 13, and one or more electrolyte layers physically separating the one or more first electrodes and the one or more second electrodes 12;
applying heat, pressure, or a combination of heat and pressure to the stack precursor to form a compressed stack [0024];
and cutting the continuous current collector to form the solid-state battery [0038].
Takano is silent as to cutting a first side of the compressed stack and also a second side of the compressed stack, the first side being parallel with the second side. However, Park teaches laser cutting both ends of a bent separator (pg. 8, ¶ 3 and Fig. 16) the ends being parallel with each other.
Both Takano and Park are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of forming secondary batteries through cell stacking methods. The examiner notes that Park uses a continuous separator instead of a continuous current collector. However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cutting process of Takano to include the teachings of Park and cut a first side of the compressed stack and also a second side of the compressed stack, the first side being parallel with the second side. Doing so would have reduced the volume of the cell stack and increased the capacity of the battery (pg. 8, ¶ 3).
Takano and Park are both silent as to the current collector being cut using a machine die cutter. However, Watanabe teaches a battery electrode manufacturing apparatus that cuts the electrode material using a front end die cutter 3 [0022] or laser cutters [0096].
Takano, Park, and Watanabe are all considered to be equivalent to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of secondary batteries. Watanabe teaches die cutting and laser cutting as being functional equivalents. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cutting process of Park to use a machine die cutter, as taught by Watanabe, instead of laser cutting. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 4, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano further teaches the continuous current collector being a z-folded current collector. Takano is silent as to the disposing the one or more cell units along the continuous current collector comprising: inserting the one or more cell units into one or more pockets formed by folds of the continuous current collector. However, Park teaches folding a separator in a zigzag form in advance to form a cell stack, wherein electrodes are placed in a space formed left and right of the separator after folding (pg. 3, ¶ 7).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takano to insert the one or more cell units of Takano into one or more pockets formed by folds of the continuous current collector in the same manner as taught by Park. Doing so would have improved the alignment and drastically reduced the production time (pg. 3, ¶7). Moreover, (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano further teaches the disposing of the one or more cell units along the continuous current collector comprising:
disposing a first cell unit 10, in this case the ones attached to 1, of the one or more cell units on or adjacent to a first surface of the continuous current collector 3;
folding the continuous current collector to form a first pocket that surrounds the first cell unit;
disposing a second cell unit of the one or more cell units on or adjacent to a second surface of the continuous current collector that is defined by an exterior-facing surface of the first pocket;
and folding the continuous current collector to form a second pocket that surrounds the second
cell unit [0023 and Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 8, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano further teaches one or more anode tabs and one or more cathode tabs being defined in the continuous current collector, in this case a negative electrode lead 53 and a positive electrode lead 51 [0040]. Alternatively, the portion of the continuous current collector 3 that is connected to the negative lead 53 corresponds to the claimed “anode tab” and the portion of the current collector 1 that is connected to the positive lead 51 corresponds to the “cathode tab” (see Fig.1).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of
Park and Watanabe, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Chen (CN 108199004 A), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 6, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano is silent as to the continuous current collector having a thickness greater than or equal to about 2 µm to less than or equal to about 60 µm. However, Chen teaches the thickness of the current collector being 5 microns to 30 microns (claim 3). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382- 83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Both Takano and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of manufacturing batteries with continuous current collectors. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lack of a specific current collector thickness in Takano with Chen’s current collector thickness. Doing so would provide improved throughput yield (pg. 7, ¶10) and a larger discharge capacity (pg. 7, ¶11).
Regarding claim 9, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano is silent as to the continuous current collector comprising one or more surfaces at least partially coated with one or more electrically conductive adhesive layers. However, Chen teaches coating a conductive adhesive layer on the surface of the current collector (pg. 2, ¶8).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takano to include the conductive adhesive of Chen. Doing so would provide an improved coating efficiency leading to higher stability and lower rejection rate of the electrode (pg. 3, ¶4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Park and Watanabe, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Herrmann (US 20180233782 A1), hereinafter Herrmann.
Modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano is silent as to the current collector being a cladded foil comprising a first layer parallel with a second layer. However, Herrmann teaches a current collector made of nickel-coated aluminum [0038].
Both Takano and Herrmann are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of stacked solid-state batteries. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lack of a specific current collector material of Takano to be the nickel-coated aluminum current collector as taught by Herrmann. “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use,” in the instant case using nickel coated aluminum to make a current collector, “supports prima facie obviousness determination” (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Park and Watanabe, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sakamoto (US 20210043967 A1), hereinafter Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 13, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano is silent as to the stack precursor being heated to a temperature greater than or equal to about 50 °C to less than or equal to about 350 °C to form the compressed stack. However, Sakamoto teaches heating the pre-laminate to a temperature of 250 °C [0128]. "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the lack of a specific heating temperature in Takano with the heating temperature of Sakamoto. Doing so would have eliminated the interfacial impedance and improved the wettability in order to improve contact between the active material and the solid electrolyte [Sakamoto 0128].
Regarding claim 14, modified Takano teaches the method of claim 1. Takano is silent as to a pressure greater than or equal to about 5 PSI to less than or equal to about 300 PSI being applied to the stack precursor to form the compressed stack. However, Sakamoto teaches applying pressure to the pre-laminate in a range of 0.01 MPa to 10 MPa [0103]. This converts to a range of about 1.45 psi to 1450 psi. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lack of a specific compression pressure in Takano with the compression pressure of Sakamoto. Doing so would have helped the lithium penetrate the solid electrolyte and improved the critical current density [0006].
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano in view of Park, Watanabe, and Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 18, Takano teaches a method of forming a solid-state battery, the method comprising:
disposing one or more cell units 10 along a first surface of a continuous current collector 3 to form a stack precursor, wherein the continuous current collector is a z-folded current collector [0023] and each cell unit comprises one or more first electrodes, one or more second electrodes, and one or more electrolyte layers physically separating the one or more first electrodes and the one or more second electrode [0017];
applying heat, pressure, or a combination of heat and pressure to the stack precursor to form a compressed stack [0024];
and cutting the continuous current collector to form the solid-state battery [0038].
Takano is silent as to cutting a first side of the compressed stack and also a second side of the compressed stack, the first side being parallel with the second side. However, Park teaches laser cutting both ends of a bent separator (pg. 8, ¶ 3 and Fig. 16) the ends being parallel with each other.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cutting process of Takano to include the teachings of Park and cut a first side of the compressed stack and also a second side of the compressed stack, the first side being parallel with the second side. Doing so would have reduced the volume of the cell stack and increased the capacity of the battery (pg. 8, ¶ 3).
Takano is also silent as to the current collector being cut using a machine die cutter. However, Watanabe teaches a battery electrode manufacturing apparatus that cuts the electrode material using a front end die cutter 3 [0022] or laser cutters [0096]. Watanabe teaches die cutting and laser cutting as being functional equivalents. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cutting process of Park to use a machine die cutter, as taught by Watanabe, instead of laser cutting. See MPEP 2144.06.
Takano is also silent as to the applying heat comprising heating the stack to a temperature greater than or equal to about 50 °C to less than or equal to about 350 °C and the applying pressure comprising pressing the stack at a pressure greater than or equal to about 5 PSI to less than or equal to about 300 PSI. However, Sakamoto teaches heating the pre-laminate to a temperature of 250 °C [0128] and applying pressure to the pre-laminate in a range of 0.01 MPa to 10 MPa [0103]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "If the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, the prior art anticipates the claim." UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs. UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 687, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takano with the applied temperature and pressure of Sakamoto. Doing so would have eliminated the interfacial impedance and improved the wettability in order to improve contact between the active material and the solid electrolyte [Sakamoto 0128] and helped the lithium penetrate the solid electrolyte and improved the critical current density [0006].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN VAN KIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722