Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the papers filed on 03 September 2025. In the response, the Applicant requested an interview prior to issuance of the next Office Action. The Applicant’s representative was contacted by the Examiner on 07 October 2026 to schedule an interview. On 10 October 2026 the Applicant’s representative stated the Applicant was unavailable. The Applicant stated the interview could be conducted at a later date it needed.
CLAIMS UNDER EXAMINATION
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 17-18 and 20-22 are pending and have been examined on their merits.
PRIORITY
Provisional Application 62688195, filed on 21 June 2018, is acknowledged.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
.
.The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d):
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the time to 50% gelation is “…about 30 minutes”. The base claim recites “30 minutes or less”. The specification defines the term “about” indicates “within 5 percent” (see page 9, lines 30-31). Claim 2 is not further limiting because “about 30 minutes” includes values greater than 30 minutes. Claim 4 is included in this rejection because it depends from claim 2.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigmon et al. (Crosslinking Submucosal Injectate System. US2019/0091374 with benefit of Provisional application 62/563,912, filed on 27 September 2017) in view of Badylak et al. (previously cited; Extracellular Matrix-Derived Gels And Related Methods. 2008/0260831) as evidenced by Merriam Webster (definition of “bulk”).
Sigmon teaches a method of resecting mucosal and submucosal tissue and treating lesions in the gastrointestinal tract using a gel (Abstract; [0024]). The art teaches endoscopic submucosal dissection and endoscopic mucosal resection ([0024]). Barrett’s esophagus can be treated ([0024]). Therefore the esophagus can be treated.
A solution is injected into the submucosa to facilitate resection of the submucosal layer away from the muscularis layer ([0026]). Figure 2 illustrates an elevated section is formed by the injected solution. The specification does not define the term “cushion”. The elevated mass illustrated by Sigmon is interpreted to read on a cushion.
The mucosal layer may be removed together with the resected submucosal layer. The injectate solution breaks the attachments between the muscularis and submucosal layers ([0026]). The elevated tissue portion (i.e. cushion) may then be resected ([0026]).
Instant claim 1 recites “performing an endoscopic resection procedure on the cushion”. “On the cushion” is interpreted to mean the resection is performed at the site raised by the cushion. Resection of the tissue elevated by the cushion reads on “performing an endoscopic resection procedure on the cushion to remove the dissected mucosa and submucosa.
Extracellular matrix proteins, including collagen, fibronectin and chondroitin sulfate, are taught to be suitable for use in gels ([0030]). It is noted Sigmon teaches the injectate solution may include a gel, such as a crosslinkable hydrogel, it is “not limited thereto” ([0030]). The art teaches the method protects wounds from bacteria and food which can cause inflammation when oral tissue is removed ([0005]).
The deficiencies of Sigmon are:
Sigmon does not teach an ECM gel with the claimed characteristics.
Badylak teaches a gelled ECM composition (Abstract). The gel can be used to repair the esophagus ([0005]). “The gel is injected into a site on a patient” to add “bulk”([0016]). The art also teaches injection of a pre-gel which gels at 37°C ([0053] [0070]). The gel can be used in combination with endoscopic techniques ([0004]).
Badylak teaches the gel is prepared as follows:
[0052] In order to prepare solubilized ECM tissue, comminuted ECM is digested with an acid protease in an acidic solution to form a digest solution. As used herein, the term "acid protease" refers to an enzyme that cleaves peptide bonds, wherein the enzyme has increased activity of cleaving peptide bonds in an acidic pH. For example and without limitation, acid proteases can include pepsin and trypsin.
[0053] The digest solution of ECM typically is kept at a constant stir for a certain amount of time at room temperature. The ECM digest can be used immediately or be stored at 20°C or frozen at, for example and without limitation, 20° C. or 80° C. To form a "pre-gel" solution, the pH of the digest solution is raised to a pH between 7.2 and 7.8. The pH can be raised by adding one or more of a base or an isotonic buffered solution, for example and without limitation, NaOH or PBS at
pH 7.4.
The steps taught by Badylak read on instant claim 11, and are disclosed at page 12, lines 16-30 of the specification as filed. Absent evidence to the contrary, it would have the properties recited in instant claim 1 a)-c).
The art teaches liver stroma and small intestinal submucosa 6 mg/ml ECM (i.e., not urinary bladder [0029] [0036]). The “General Method of Preparation of Gels from ECM” taught by Badylak explicitly teaches preparing 6 mg/ml gels.
It would have been obvious to use Badylak’s ECM hydrogel in Sigmon’s method. Sigmon uses a hydrogel to form a cushion and Badylak teaches an ECM hydrogel that can be used to add bulk (a cushion). Using Badylak’s ECM is a substitution of one known injectable for another (See KSR B). One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Sigmon teaches gels comprising ECM proteins can be used in the disclosed method. One would use a 6 mg/ml gel since the general method taught by Badylak is used to prepare 6 mg/ml ECM gels. One would have expected similar results since Sigmon and Badylak both teach hydrogels which can be used for resection. Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 2-4 recite characteristics of the ECM hydrogel. As set forth above, Badylak teaches ECM hydrogels which are not a urinary bladder ECM hydrogel. Therefore it would be expected to have the gelation characteristics recited in claims 2-4. Claims 5-6 recite characteristics of the ECM hydrogel. As set forth above, Badylak teaches an ECM hydrogel which is not a urinary bladder ECM hydrogel. Therefore it would be expected to have the gelation characteristics recited in claims 5-6.
Badylak teaches the use of an esophageal ECM. Therefore claim 8 is included in this rejection.
Sigmon teaches the gel must be viscous enough to penetrate the submucosa but not leak around the injection site ([0033]). The art does not teach a gel concentration of about 8 to about 16 mg/ml. Badylak teaches ECM hydrogels with a concentration of 8 mg/ml (See Figure 2). Figure 8 of Badylak discloses viscosity increases with concentration. The skilled artisan would optimize the gel concentration to obtain gels which are able to separate the tissues taught in Sigmon’s method. Therefore claim 9 is rendered obvious.
Sigmon teaches an endoscopic procedure (supra). Claim 10 is included in this rejection.
Badylak teaches the following:
[0052] In order to prepare solubilized ECM tissue, comminuted ECM is digested with an acid protease in an acidic solution to form a digest solution. As used herein, the term "acid protease" refers to an enzyme that cleaves peptide bonds, wherein the enzyme has increased activity of cleaving peptide bonds in an acidic pH. For example and without limitation, acid proteases can include pepsin and trypsin.
[0053] The digest solution of ECM typically is kept at a constant stir for a certain amount of time at room temperature. The ECM digest can be used immediately or be stored at 20°C or frozen at, for example and without limitation, 20° C. or 80° C. To form a "pre-gel" solution, the pH of the digest solution is raised to a pH between 7.2 and 7.8. The pH can be raised by adding one or more of a base or an isotonic buffered solution, for example and without limitation, NaOH or PBS at pH 7.4.
It would have been obvious to produce an ECM hydrogel as recited in claim 11. One would have been motivated to do so since Badylak teaches these steps can be used to prepare an ECM hydrogel. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Badylak teaches ECM hydrogels can be formed by using the recited process. Therefore claim 11 is included in this rejection.
As set forth in the section of Badylak above, Badylak teaches the use of an isotonic buffer. Therefore claim 12 is included in this rejection. Badylak teaches the use of trypsin to produce an ECM hydrogel (supra). Therefore claim 13 is included in this rejection.
Claims 14 and 16 recite the ECM hydrogel is maintained at or below 25°Celsius prior to administration to the subject. As set forth above, Badylak discloses a pre-gel. Badylak teaches the pre-gel can be frozen and stored at, for example and without limitation, -20° C. or -80° C. Badylak teaches a "pre-gel solution" or "pregel" refers to a digest solution wherein the pH is increased. A pre-gel has a pH between 7.2 and 7.8 ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to store the ECM hydrogel at a temperature at or below -25° Celsius prior to administration. One would have been motivated to do so since Badylak teaches ECM hydrogels can be stored at temperatures below -25° Celsius. One would do so to store and preserve the hydrogel prior to administration. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Badylak teaches EMC hydrogels can be stored at this temperature. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to methods of forming ECM hydrogels. Therefore claim 14 is included in this rejection.
Sigmon teaches endoscopic submucosal dissection Therefore claim 20 is included in this rejection.
Sigmon teaches the method provides a protective coating to the newly exposed underlying tissue layers ([0024]). The protective coating remains at the site for a time sufficient to allow the site to be treated or healed ([0025] [0027]). Figures 2-3 illustrate the injectate is positioned above and below resection plane 140. The portion above the plane is removed with resected tissue, while the portion below remains. Therefore claim 21 is included in this rejection.
Sigmon teaches Barrett's esophagus can be treated. Because this is a disease affecting humans, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the disclosed treatment methods are applicable to a human subject. Therefore claim 22 is rendered obvious as claimed.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sigmon in view of Badylak as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ning et al. (Endoscopic submucosal dissection and endoscopic mucosal resection for early stage esophageal cancer. Ann Cardiothorac Surg 2017;6(2):88-98).
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds set forth above. The teachings of the prior art are reiterated. Sigmon teaches the method can be used to treat cancer of the gastrointestinal tract ([0024]). Badylak teaches a subject with a cancerous tissue ([0010]). The art does not explicitly teach cancer of the esophagus.
Ning teaches endoscopic mucosal resection and endoscopic mucosal dissection are used to treat esophageal cancer (Abstract). A submucosal injection creating a cushion coupled with resection are the most common techniques (Abstract). Fluids are injected beneath the mucosa by a submucosal injection needle through the endoscopic channel to create a cushion (page 93, right column, third paragraph).
It would have been obvious to use the method taught by Sigmon to treat esophageal carcinoma. One would have been motivated to do so since Ning teaches endoscopic resection using cushions can be used to treat esophageal cancer. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Sigmon teaches cancers of the gastrointestinal tract cancers can be treated, and the esophagus is part of the gastrointestinal tract. One would have expected similar results since both references are directed to endoscopic resections using cushions. Therefore claim 17 is included in this rejection.
Sigmon teaches Barrett’s esophagus (supra). Claim 18 is included in this rejection.
Therefore Applicant’s Invention is rendered obvious as claimed.
37 CFR 1.132 Declaration
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 by Dr. Stephen Badylak filed on 03 September 2025.
The Declaration discloses experiments to document unexpected superior results obtained using ECM hydrogels with the claimed characteristics. The experiments compare the breaking point of the esophageal ECM hydrogels to chitosan hydrogels disclosed by Kumano et al.
Response: New grounds of rejection are set forth in the rejection above. Kumano et al. is not cited as prior art. The ECM hydrogels taught by Badylak (2008) are relied upon in the rejection above. Badylak teaches an ECM hydrogel. While claim 1 encompasses any ECM which is not urinary bladder, it is noted Badylak teaches the ECM can be obtained from esophagus. The art teaches small intestinal submucosa 6 mg/ml ECM.
Upon consideration of the facts taught by the prior art and the information submitted by the Affiant, the balance of evidence indicates that the prior art teaches the instantly claimed inventions.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
The arguments made in the response filed on 03 September 2025 are acknowledged.
Argument 1: The Applicant argues Kumano does not disclose the claimed ECM hydrogels.
Response: New grounds of rejection have been made. Kumano is not relied upon as prior art.
Argument 2: The Applicant argues Badylak teaches the ECM hydrogel can be molded into any shape, injected into a cavity or surface or can be injected into a site on a patient to add bulk or fill a void. The Applicant argues this is not suitable for the claimed method of dissecting tissue layers.
Response: Sigmon ‘374 et al. disclose a method of resecting mucosal and submucosal tissue and treating lesions in the gastrointestinal tract. The art treats the esophagus. The art teaches injecting a solution to form an elevated section (i.e. a cushion) (see Figure 2) of Sigmon. Sigmon teaches the mucosal layer may be removed together with the resected submucosal layer. The injectate solution breaks the attachments between the muscularis and submucosal layers.
While Sigmon teaches the injectate solution may include a gel, such as a crosslinkable hydrogel, it is “not limited thereto” ([0030]). Sigmon teaches extracellular matrix proteins are identified as suitable materials for inclusion in the injectable solution ([0030]).
Badylak is relied upon because it teaches ECM hydrogels which can be used for endoscopic techniques. The art teaches the gel can be used to repair the esophagus.
Badylak teaches “the gel is injected into a site on a patient” to add “bulk”. “Bulk” is defined as a mass of material (Merriam Webster). A gel that forms a bulk is interpreted to be a cushion.
Argument 3: The Applicant argues Badylak teaches hydrogel concentrations of 1 mg/ml (Figure 7), 3 or 6 mg/ml (Figures 8, 10 and 14) and 4 or 8 mg/ml (Figure 2). The Applicant argues the reference does not provide guideposts to select hydrogels of the claimed concentration.
Response: The arguments cite 4, 6 and 8 mg/ml ECM gels. These concentrations read on the claimed range. Example 8 of Badylak discloses the general method of preparing gels from ECM. The art teaches preparing gels with a final concentration of 6 mg/ml ([0109]). One would use 6 mg/ml gels since the “general method” taught by Badylak prepares 6 mg/ml gels. One would have been motivated to use this concentration since Badylak teaches 6 mg/ml gels have increased viability over time.
Sigmon teaches the gel must be viscous enough to penetrate the submucosa but not leak around the injection site ([0033]). Figure 8 of Badylak discloses 6 mg/ml gels have higher viscosity than 3 mg/ml gels. The skilled artisan would optimize the gel concentration to obtain gels which are able to separate the tissues taught in Sigmon’s method.
Argument 4: The arguments directed to Sigmon (‘158) are acknowledged.
Response: The rejection does not rely on Sigmon (‘158). The rejection relies on Sigmon ‘374.
Argument 5: The Applicant argues the chitosan gels taught by Kumano are very elastic and did not break. The arguments state 4 mg/ml -16 mg/ml esophageal hydrogels ECM hydrogels each have a suitable breakpoint allowing them to be used as a cushion in the esophagus.
Response: New rejections have been set forth above. Badylak teaches a general method which produces 6 mg/ml hydrogels. The art teaches the ECM can be prepared from esophagus.
Badylak teaches the same method of preparing an ECM hydrogel that is recited in claim 11 and disclosed in the specification. Absent evidence to the contrary, the gel taught by ECM would have the gelation, viscosity and stiffness characteristics recited in claim 1. Because the gel appears to be the same, one would expect it to have the properties stated by the Applicant when administered. Therefore the gels would be interpreted to have a suitable break point.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 17-18 and 20-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Patent 11213545 (04 January 2022) in view of Sigmon et al.
Claims 1-7 of the ‘545 Patent teach administering a composition with the characteristics recited in instant claim 1 to the esophagus. Claim 8 of the ‘545 Patent teaches the claimed ECM concentration. Claim 17 of the ‘545 teaches the composition is suitable for injection into the esophagus. Claim 9 discloses endoscopic administration.
The ‘545 Patent does not teach submucosal injection of the ECM to form a cushion between the submucosa and underlying musclaris propria to dissect the mucosa from the submucosa from the underlying musclaris propria. The ‘545 Patent does not teach performing an endoscopic rection on the cushion to remove the dissected mucosa and submucosa,
The teachings of Sigmon as set forth above are reiterated.
It would have been obvious to use the ECM hydrogel disclosed in the ‘545 Patent in Sigmon’s method. Sigmon treats the esophagus by injecting a solution which forms a hydrogel. One would use the ECM of the ‘545 Patent to treat the tissues of the esophagus as taught by Sigmon. One would have expected similar results since both references treat tissues of the esophagus by endoscopic administration of a hydrogel.
Therefore claim 1 is rendered obvious as claimed. Claims 2-15 of the ‘545 Patent read on instant claims 2-14 and 17-18. Sigmon teaches the endoscopic procedures recited in claim 20. Sigmon teaches the method of dividing the cushion as recited in claim 21. Sigmon teaches a human as recited in instant claim 22.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/NATALIE M MOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653