DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The objection to the specification is withdrawn based on applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's amendments and associated arguments filed 6/12/2026 regarding the objection to the Priority claim and the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that 14/741,868 provides support for the newly amended claims, and therefore both Ganiban and Kehren are not prior art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites that the light feature applies light to an outside of a sclera “at, or along areas of depression” and is “used to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye.” Neither of these features are disclosed in par. 0016 (or anywhere else) of 14/741,868. The effective filing date is still considered 3/7/2022 and both Ganiban and Kehren qualify as prior art. The rejections are still considered proper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/14/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 14/741,868, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claim 1 recites that the light feature applies light to an outside of a sclera “at, or along areas of depression” and is “used to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye.” Neither of these features are disclosed in par. 0016 (or anywhere else) of 14/741,868. Therefore, the current application has an effective filing date of 3/7/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-14, 17, 18 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganiban et al. (US 2015/0359529, hereinafter Ganiban) in view of Kehren et al. (EP 3738558, hereinafter Kehran, such that all citations refer to the included English Translation of the document).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 10, Ganiban discloses a device for scleral depression, including a solid depressor 19 having a constant thickness from 2-8mm with tapered ends, a height from 2-8mm a fixed arc length between 30 and 360 degrees and is sized to fit in a fornix (par. 0040 and 0048 and figures 6-7D). A vertical arm 20 has a length between 6-14mm and is attached to the depressor (par. 0048 and figure 6). A handle 21/23 is attached to the vertical arm for holding the depressor in position in the fornix (figures 6-7D and par. 0048). The depressor is shaped to follow a general curvature of the circumference of a globe of the eye (claim 3) and the depressor further comprises a self-contained, wired or wireless, light source with one or more LEDS for applying light to the outside of the sclera of the eye such that the light is visible inside the globe of the eye (par. 0016 and claim 29). The depressor remains in position in the fornix until removes and creates a fixed predetermined scleral depression along an arc between 30 and 360 degrees along the fornix of the eye (claims 1 and 4, par. 0007, 0009).
Ganiban is silent as to applying light at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye. Kehren also discloses a scleral depressor 1/2 and thus is analogous art with Ganiban (figure 1 and the 4th paragraph on page 3 of the translation). The depressor includes a light guide 16 that extends through the handle and is thus part of the handle that allows for light to be applied through the depressor to the outside of the sclera of the eye at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye (figures 1 and 2 and pages 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to use the light feature of Ganiban to apply light at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye as taught by Kehren, as Kehren discloses that the delivery of light at or along areas of depression allows for a user to press areas into a field of vision to see anatomical features that would not normally be in a field of vision (see paragraph overlapping pages 7 and 8 for motivation).
Regarding claims 11-13, the depressors covers an arc from 30-135 degrees, including 80-120 degrees and 90 degrees and is 4-5mm in thickness (par. 0048).
Regarding claim 14, the device is designed to interface with a lid speculum (par. 0048).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 10.
Regarding claims 27-31, see claims 19-23.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10-14, 17, 18 and 27-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,266,395 in view of Kehren. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose all of the limitations of the current claims with the exception of applying light at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye. Kehren also discloses a scleral depressor 1/2 and thus is analogous art with the patented claims (figure 1 and the 4th paragraph on page 3 of the translation). The depressor includes a light guide 16 that extends through the handle and is thus part of the handle that allows for light to be applied through the depressor to the outside of the sclera of the eye at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye (figures 1 and 2 and pages 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to use the light feature of the patented claims to apply light at, or along, areas of depression, to illuminate anatomical features inside the eye as taught by Kehren, as Kehren discloses that the delivery of light at or along areas of depression allows for a user to press areas into a field of vision to see anatomical features that would not normally be in a field of vision (see paragraph overlapping pages 7 and 8 for motivation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796