DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 11/20/2025. Claims 1, 4, 5, and 14 have been amended. Claims 13 has been cancelled. Claims 1-12, 14-17, and 19-22 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites comprising administering a regimen Prasinezumab to the patient. However, claim 1, which claim 12 depends, already teaches administering Prasinezumab. As such the claim does not further limit the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14, 16-17, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 20140257141 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Guiffrida”) in view of “Safety and Tolerability of Multiple Ascending Doses of PRX002/RG7935, an Anti-α-Synuclein Monoclonal Antibody, in Patients With Parkinson Disease: A Randomized Clinical Trial” (cited in the IDS; hereinafter referred to as “Jankovic”).
Regarding claim 1, Guiffrida teaches A method for monitoring the motor function of a patient that has Parkinson's Disease (PD) or is at risk for PD who has been administered Prasinezumab (abstract; paragraph [0005]), the method comprising.
(a) providing the patient with a mobile device programmed to receive and transmit data acquired from sensors internal and/or external to the mobile device that measure passive and/or active movement of the patient or a mobile device application programmed to receive and transmit data acquired from sensors internal and/or external to the mobile device that measure passive and/or active movement of the patient (paragraph [0150]);
(b) collecting data transmitted from the mobile device (paragraph [0150]); and
(c) comparing the data acquired from the patient with control data to assess presence or extent of movement deficits in the subject and/or monitoring the data acquired from the patient for a period of time sufficient to identify changes in the patient's active or passive motor function (paragraph [0129]); but does not explicitly teach implementing administrating a regimen of Prasinezumab comprises 1000-5000 mg of Prasinezumab at intervals of 3 to 5 weeks.
However, Jankovic, a clinical trial of PRX002/RG7935 (Prasinezumab), teaches wherein the regimen of Prasinezumab comprises 1000-5000 mg of Prasinezumab at intervals of 3 to 5 weeks (“Participants were enrolled sequentially into 1 of 6 escalating-dose cohorts and were to receive a total of 3 intravenous infusions of PRX002 (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Guiffrada, to use Prasinezumab as a medication for Parkinson’s, as taught by Jankovic, because doing so provides safe and tolerable medication for Parkinson patients (conclusion; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 2, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the sensors transmit data acquired from active movement of the patient (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the mobile device is programmed to receive and transmit data from external sensors attached to upper and lower limbs of the patient (paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the mobile device acquires data from sensors on the upper and lower limbs of the subject (paragraph [0079], [0150]).
Regarding claim 6, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the movement comprises tapping the device, sitting and standing (paragraphs [0016], [0100], [0108]).
Regarding claim 7, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the sensors measure one or more of the following features of the patient's movement:
(a) median gesture power of passively monitored gestures:
(b) median turn speed in U-turn test and passively monitored gait,
(c) jerk in balance test,
(d) mel frequency cepstrum 2 in speech test,
(e) voice jitter in sustained phonation,
(f) number correct in Symbol Digit Modalities Test.
(g) speeded tapping variability,
(h) maximum speed of hand-turning,
(i) spiral celerity in draw-a-shape task, and
(j) median squared energy in rest and postural tremor tasks (paragraph [0100], [0112], [0138]).
Regarding claim 8, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the independently measure movement from the least affected side and the most affected side of the patient (performs test from the UPDRS part III which includes tapping test using both hands; paragraph [0100], [0112], [0138]).
Regarding claim 9, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the data collected from the device is compared the patient's MDS-UPDRS score (paragraph [0100], [0112], [0138], claim 20).
Regarding claim 10, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the MDS-UPDRS score comprises of one of MDS-UPDRS Part I, MDS-UPDRS Part II, or UPDRS Part III (paragraph [0100], [0112], [0138], claim 20).
Regarding claim 11, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the MDS-UPDRS score comprises UPDRS Part Ill (paragraph [0100], [0112], [0138], claim 20).
Regarding claim 12, Guiffrida, in view of Jankovic, teaches administering a regimen Prasinezumab to the patient (abstract; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 14, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein Prasinezumab is administered intravenously ((“Participants were enrolled sequentially into 1 of 6 escalating-dose cohorts and were to receive a total of 3 intravenous infusions of PRX002 (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 16, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the patient is treatment naïve, was diagnosed as having PD in the last two years, or was previously treated with a MAO-B inhibitor (Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 17, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the patient has a weight greater than 65 kg and is administered a dose of 4500 mg Prasinezumab once every 4 weeks (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 19, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the patient is administered a dose of 1500 mg antibody every 4 weeks (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 20, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the patient is administered Prasinezumab once every 4 weeks for at least 52 weeks ( for 52 weeks; Key Points, meaning; as taught by Jankovic; administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 21, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the period of time sufficient to identify changes in the patient's active or passive motor function comprises 4-52 weeks (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Regarding claim 22, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, teaches wherein the period of time is 4 weeks, 8 weeks, 16 weeks, 20 weeks, 24 weeks, 28 weeks, 32 weeks, 36 weeks, 42 weeks, 46 weeks or 52 weeks (0.3 mg/kg, 1.0 mg/kg, 3.0 mg/kg, 10 mg/kg, 30 mg/kg, or 60 mg/kg) or placebo, administered approximately once every 28 days”; methods; experimental design; Table 1; as taught by Jankovic).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20070093495 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Ruggero”).
Regarding claim 15, Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic teaches administrating a medication to a user (paragraph [0024]), but does not explicitly teach further comprising administering to the patient a MAO-B inhibitor.
However, Ruggero teaches further comprising administering to the patient a MAO-B inhibitor (abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Guiffrada, in view of Jankovic, to use MAO-B as a medication for Parkinson’s, as taught by Ruggero, because doing so provides an effective medication for Parkinson’s treatment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections and 35 USC 101 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections and 35 USC 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the prior art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791