DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are pending, and claims 2, 4, 11 and 16 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-10, 12-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsson et al., (European Patent Application: EP 2 882 231 A1), in view of Choi-Grogan, (Pub. No.: US 2015/0030002 A1), and further in view of Tang et al., (Pub. No.: US 2021/0398186 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Karlsson discloses a wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6) of a cellular telecommunication system (Karlsson (57), and Fig. 1, paragraph [0048] cellular communication network/system, communication system 1), the wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6) communicating with a mobile base station relay (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-50] base station/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32) via a serving cell (Karlsson, paragraph [0050] radio cell 11 is a serving cell/configured cell is a serving cell), the wireless terminal comprising (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6):
receiver circuitry configured to receive (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment 2 has a receiver which performs receiving functionality), from the serving cell (Karlsson, paragraph [0050] radio cell 11 is a serving cell/configured cell is a serving cell),
vehicle information, (Karlsson: para. [0073] processing device 46 may be configured to use the mobility information (correspond to claim limitation “vehicle information”) received from one or several mobile base stations or repeater relays for the prioritization. Para. [0079 & 0078] mobility information may include the position of the base station 12 or repeater relay recorded at a plurality of times, i.e. two or more than two times, prior to transmission of the mobility information. Fig. 3 step 51 and para. [0081] user equipment receives mobility information from at least one mobile base station or repeater relay. The mobility information represents a time-dependent location change of the mobile cell. The mobility information may include the current velocity and current direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay, or information from which the current velocity and current direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay may be computed. The mobility information includes historical data which may be indicative of the movement of the base station or repeater relay in a predefined time window before the mobility information is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay)
comprising information that identifies (Karlsson: para. [0014] user equipment travelling on a vehicle on which a base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell is installed, the mobility information may be utilized by the user equipment to identify (corresponds to claim limitation “identifies”) the cell of the cellular communication network which travels jointly with the user equipment)
on which the mobile base station relay is mounted (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002 & 0014], Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] vehicle, base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32, mobile base stations and/or mobile repeater relays be installed (mounted) in public transportation vehicles, such as trains, buses, subway trains or other vehicles. Vehicle information is same as vehicle mounted relays);
a user interface device configured to present the vehicle information (Karlsson: para. [0082] 52, the user equipment monitors a movement of the user equipment. Monitoring the movement of the user equipment may comprise collecting user equipment movement data. The user equipment movement data may include the current velocity and current direction of movement of the user equipment, or information from which the current velocity and current direction of movement of the user equipment may be computed)
and to receive an input from a user of the wireless terminal for the presented vehicle information,
(Karlsson: para. [0011 & 0023-0025 & 0040-0041 & 0073 & 0128] user equipment may selectively (correspond to claim limitation “input from a user”) prioritize or deprioritize cells depending on the relative velocity between the base station or repeater relay of the respective cell and the user equipment)
the input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal,
(Karlsson: para. [0023 & 0073 & 0091] user equipment may perform a hard prioritization of cells by selectively discarding (correspond to claim limitation “”rejection”) the mobile cell depending on the mobility information)
of the mobile base station relay mounted in the specific vehicle (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002], Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] vehicle, base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32, mobile base stations and/or mobile repeater relays be installed (mounted) in public transportation vehicles, such as trains, buses, subway trains or other vehicles. Vehicle information is same as vehicle mounted relays); and;
at least one processor comprising processor circuitry configured (Karlsson, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0065]-[0068] processing device 46 is a processor),
determine, at least partially based on the vehicle information (mobility information),
whether the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle
(Karlsson: para. [0014 & 0056] user equipment travelling on a vehicle on which a base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell is installed, the mobility information may be utilized by the user equipment to identify the cell of the cellular communication network which travels jointly with the user equipment)
are likely to be in close proximity and/or processing a common mobility, and
(Karlsson: para. [0064 & 0063 & 0085] The user equipment 2 may compute a relative velocity between the user equipment 2 and each base station or repeater relay which provide coverage at the location at which the user equipment 2 is positioned when attempting to attach to the cellular communication network. The user equipment 2 may prioritize or deprioritize cells based on the magnitude of the relative velocity. para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”). para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124])
perform a cell selection/reselection procedure, at least partially based on the vehicle information, (mobility information is used in a cell selection)
the input, (Karlsson: para. [0011 & 0023-0025 & 0040-0041 & 0073 & 0128] user equipment may selectively (correspond to claim limitation “”input”) prioritize or deprioritize cells depending on the relative velocity between the base station or repeater relay of the respective cell and the user equipment)
and a result of the determination.
(Karlsson: para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (corresponds to claim limitation “result of the determination”). A relative velocity may be computed. The mobile cell may be selected depending on the relative velocity between the user equipment and the base station or repeater relay)
Karlsson does not explicitly disclose following: the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal;
the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle.
However, Karlsson in view of Choi-Grogan disclose following: the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal (Choi-Grogan, Figs. 6, and 8, paragraphs [0036], [0044], [0049], and [0056], indication in mobile station 250 prompts an end user for confirmation or rejection) It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Choi-Grogan so that the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal be included in a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Choi-Grogan would reduce operational and transport costs for service providers since a lesser number of end users utilizes over-the-air radio resources (e.g. radio frequency channels), which are typically limited. (Choi-Grogan, paragraphs [0002]-[0005], and [0049])
Karlsson and Choi-Grogan do not explicitly disclose following: the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle.
However, Karlsson and Choi-Grogan in view of Tang disclose following: the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle (Tang, Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0038], [0040] vehicle identification number(s) (VIN(s)), Fig. 2, paragraphs [0039]-[0040] vehicle information/VIN) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson, and Choi-Grogan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Tang so that the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle be included in a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Tang would identify the specific vehicle by vehicle identification number (VIN). (Tang, paragraphs [0001]-[0007])
Regarding Claim 3, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein in a case that the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle are determined to be in close proximity and/or processing the common mobility (Karlsson: para. [0064 & 0063 & 0085] The user equipment 2 may compute a relative velocity between the user equipment 2 and each base station or repeater relay which provide coverage at the location at which the user equipment 2 is positioned when attempting to attach to the cellular communication network. The user equipment 2 may prioritize or deprioritize cells based on the magnitude of the relative velocity. para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”). para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124]),
a first set of parameters is applied to the cell selection/reselection procedure (Karlsson, paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124], cell selection techniques described in details through Figs. 5-8, Karlsson performs a cell selection/reselection procedure at least partially based on the vehicle information and the user’s input the mobility information for cell selection and/or cell reselection the input parameters are the movement dependent signal strength indicator and/or signal quality indicator), and
in a case that the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle are determined not to be in close proximity and/or processing the common mobility
(Karlsson: para. [0064 & 0063 & 0085] The user equipment 2 may compute a relative velocity between the user equipment 2 and each base station or repeater relay which provide coverage at the location at which the user equipment 2 is positioned when attempting to attach to the cellular communication network. The user equipment 2 may prioritize or deprioritize cells based on the magnitude of the relative velocity. para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”). para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely (correspond to claim limitation “not to be in common mobility”) when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124]),
a second set of parameters different from the first set of parameters are applied to the cell selection/reselection procedure (Karlsson, para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. Para. [0042] user equipment may be configured to measure a signal strength indicator and/or a signal quality indicator for the mobile cell. The user equipment may be configured to selectively increment or decrement the measured signal strength or signal quality indicator (correspond to claim limitation “second set of parameters”) for the mobile cell in dependence on a result of the comparison to generate a movement-dependent signal strength indicator and/or a movement-dependent signal quality indicator. The user equipment may be configured to use the movement-dependent signal strength indicator and/or a movement-dependent signal quality indicator to determine whether the user equipment is to camp on the mobile cell).
Regarding Claim 5, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1, wherein the one processor is configured (Karlsson, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0065]-[0068] processing device 46 is a processor), to execute instructions (Karlsson, processor executes instructions) stored on at least one non-transitory processor readable medium of the terminal device(Karlsson, instructions are stored on non-transitory computer/processor readable media), the instructions comprising an algorithm that generates, at least partially based on the vehicle information and learning data, an inference of whether or not the wireless terminal is likely to be in close proximity with the vehicle (Karlsson: para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “close proximity”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite (correspond to claim limitation “not close proximity”) to the user equipment).
Regarding Claim 6, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1 (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6), wherein the vehicle information comprises one or more information elements, and wherein at least some of the one or more information elements are encoded using pre-determined values (Karlsson: para. [0038] mobility information includes information on a time-averaged historical velocity and information on a time-averaged historical direction of movement (correspond to claim limitation “pre-determined values”) of the mobile cell. Para. [0039] user equipment may be configured to compare the time-averaged historical velocity of the mobile cell with a time-averaged historical velocity of the user equipment to determine whether the user equipment is to camp on the mobile cell. The user equipment may be configured to compare the time-averaged direction of movement of the mobile cell with a time-averaged historical direction of movement of the user equipment to determine whether the user equipment is to camp on the mobile cell)
Regarding Claim 7, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1 (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6), wherein the vehicle information comprises one or more information elements, and wherein at least some of the one or more information elements are encoded in human-readable text (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002], and [0051] vehicle/vehicles: vehicle information/mobility information includes encoded in human-readable text. Para. [0023] user equipment may perform a hard prioritization of cells by selectively discarding (as user selects/discards cells, which correspond to claim limitation “information elements are encoded in human-readable text”) the mobile cell depending on the mobility information.).
Regarding Claim 8, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 1 (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6), wherein the vehicle information comprises one or more information elements, a first set of the one or more information elements is provided by the mobile base station relay, (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048-0051] repeater relays 12, 22 and 32. Para. [0053] communication system 1 may comprise one or several repeater relays.) and a second set of the one or more information elements is provided by one or more network entities (Karlsson: Fig. 1, para. [0028 & 0077] base station may compute a time-averaged velocity and time-averaged direction of movement for a pre-defined time interval before the base station or repeater relay broadcasts the mobility information.).
Regarding Claim 9, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the wireless terminal of claim 8 (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6), wherein the second set of the one or more information elements is provided, after the one or more network entities (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22 and 32 are being interpreted as network entities) receive a request from the wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, user equipment which wireless terminal 2, 4, 6), based on a provisioning of the first set of the one or more information elements (Karlsson: para. [0091] user equipment may use the mobility information broadcast by a base station or repeater relay in a variety of ways. A hard cell prioritization may be performed in which cells are discarded as candidate cells depending on a comparison of the current velocity vector of the base station and the current velocity vector of the user equipment. A soft cell prioritization may be performed in which the selection of a cell is made more likely or less likely, depending on a comparison of the current velocity vector of the base station and the current velocity vector of the user equipment. The cell selection is also based on a historical mobility information of the base station).
Regarding Claim 10, Karlsson discloses a mobile base station relay (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32) of a cellular telecommunication system, the mobile base station relay (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32) serving a wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6 respectively) via a serving cell (Karlsson, paragraph [0050] radio cell 11 is a serving cell/configured cell is a serving cell), the mobile base station relay comprising (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32):
at least one processor (Karlsson, mobile base station has a processor) comprising processor circuitry configured, to generate vehicle information comprising on which the base station relay is mounted (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002], Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] vehicle, base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32, mobile base stations and/or mobile repeater relays be installed (mounted) in public transportation vehicles, such as trains, buses, subway trains or other vehicles. Vehicle information is same as vehicle mounted relays); and,
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, via the serving cell (Karlsson, paragraph [0050] radio cell 11 is a serving cell/configured cell is a serving cell), to the wireless terminal, the vehicle information (Karlsson: para. [0073] processing device 46 may be configured to use the mobility information (correspond to claim limitation “vehicle information”) received from one or several mobile base stations or repeater relays for the prioritization. Para. [0079 & 0078] mobility information may include the position of the base station 12 or repeater relay recorded at a plurality of times, i.e. two or more than two times, prior to transmission of the mobility information. Fig. 3 step 51 and para. [0081] user equipment receives mobility information from at least one mobile base station or repeater relay. The mobility information represents a time-dependent location change of the mobile cell. The mobility information may include the current velocity and current direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay, or information from which the current velocity and current direction of movement of the base station or repeater relay may be computed. The mobility information includes historical data which may be indicative of the movement of the base station or repeater relay in a predefined time window before the mobility information is broadcast by the base station or repeater relay),
wherein the vehicle information is configured to be provided on a user interface of the wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6 respectively) to allow a user of the wireless terminal to provide an indication (Karlsson: para. [0011 & 0023-0025 & 0040-0041 & 0073 & 0128] user equipment may selectively (correspond to claim limitation “user to provide indication”) prioritize or deprioritize cells depending on the relative velocity between the base station or repeater relay of the respective cell and the user equipment) of at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection, via the user interface, of use, by the wireless terminal, (Karlsson: para. [0023 & 0073 & 0091] user equipment may perform a hard prioritization of cells by selectively discarding (correspond to claim limitation “rejection”) the mobile cell depending on the mobility information)
of the mobile base station relay mounted for in the specific vehicle (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002], Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] vehicle, base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32, mobile base stations and/or mobile repeater relays be installed (mounted) in public transportation vehicles, such as trains, buses, subway trains or other vehicles. Vehicle information is same as vehicle mounted relays)
for performing a cell selection/reselection procedure (Karlsson, paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [00895]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124], cell selection techniques described in details through Figs. 5-8, Karlsson performs a cell selection/reselection procedure at least partially based on the vehicle information and the user’s input the mobility information for cell selection and/or cell reselection the input parameters are the movement dependent signal strength indicator and/or signal quality indicator; the user equipment may perform a soft prioritization of cells by making a selection of the mobile cell more likely or less likely, depending on the mobility information), and
the wireless terminal is configured to determine, at least partially based on the vehicle information (mobility information), whether the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle (Karlsson: para. [0014 & 0056] user equipment travelling on a vehicle on which a base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell is installed, the mobility information may be utilized by the user equipment to identify the cell of the cellular communication network which travels jointly with the user equipment) are to be in close proximity and/or processing a common mobility,
(Karlsson: para. [0064 & 0063 & 0085] The user equipment 2 may compute a relative velocity between the user equipment 2 and each base station or repeater relay which provide coverage at the location at which the user equipment 2 is positioned when attempting to attach to the cellular communication network. The user equipment 2 may prioritize or deprioritize cells based on the magnitude of the relative velocity. para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”). para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124])
and the cell selection/reselection procedure is at least partially performed based on a result of the determination.
(Karlsson: para. [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (corresponds to claim limitation “result of the determination”). A relative velocity may be computed. The mobile cell may be selected depending on the relative velocity between the user equipment and the base station or repeater relay)
Karlsson does not explicitly disclose following:
the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal;
the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle.
However, Karlsson in view of Choi-Grogan disclose following:
the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal (Choi-Grogan, Figs. 6, and 8, paragraphs [0036], [0044], [0049], and [0056], indication in mobile station 250 prompts an end user for confirmation or rejection)
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Choi-Grogan so that the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal be included in a mobile base station relay of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Choi-Grogan would reduce operational and transport costs for service providers since a lesser number of end users utilizes over-the-air radio resources (e.g. radio frequency channels), which are typically limited. (Choi-Grogan, paragraphs [0002]-[0005], and [0049)
Karlsson and Choi-Grogan do not explicitly disclose following:
the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle
However, Karlsson and Choi-Grogan in view of Tang disclose following:
the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle (Tang, Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0038], [0040] vehicle identification number(s) (VIN(s)), Fig. 2, paragraphs [0039]-[0040] vehicle information/VIN)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson, and Choi-Grogan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Tang so that the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle be included in a mobile base station relay of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Tang would identify the specific vehicle by vehicle identification number (VIN). (Tang, paragraphs [0001]-[0007])
Regarding Claim 12, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the mobile base station relay of claim 10 (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32), wherein the vehicle information is included in at least one of system information transmitted by the mobile base station relay (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32) and one or more messages to the wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 4 step 62 SIB with mobility information message to UE).
Karlsson does not explicitly teach: one or more messages dedicated to the wireless terminal.
Choi-Grogan from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: one or more messages dedicated to the wireless terminal.
(Choi-Grogan: Fig. 1 wireless link 135. para. [0026] signaling is effected via DL/UL 135; the attachment signaling can include a Location Area Update (LAU) and/or Routing Area Update (RAU) procedure. Para. [0025] femto AP 130 typically serves a few (for example, 1-5) wireless devices (e.g., subscriber station 120 B) within confined coverage area 125 via a wireless link 135 (individual connection, which corresponds to claim limitation “dedicated to the wireless terminal”) which encompasses a downlink and an uplink). It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Choi-Grogan so that the user’s input indicating at least one of confirmation, acknowledgement, and rejection of use by the wireless terminal be included in a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Choi-Grogan would reduce operational and transport costs for service providers since a lesser number of end users utilizes over-the-air radio resources (e.g. radio frequency channels), which are typically limited. (Choi-Grogan, paragraphs [0002]-[0005], and [0049])
Regarding claims 13-14, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang teaches the all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 6-7, and therefore apparatus claims 13-14 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 15 and 17, Karlsson discloses a method for a wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6) of a cellular telecommunication system (Karlsson, (57), and Fig. 1, paragraph [0048] cellular communication network/system, communication system 1), the wireless terminal (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraph [0050] user equipment which is wireless terminal 2, 4, 6) communicating with a mobile base station relay via a serving cell, the method comprising (Karlsson, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0050] base stations/repeater relays 12, 22, and 32): and Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang teaches the all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 and 3, and therefore method claims 15 and 17 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding Claim 18, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the vehicle information comprises one or more of the following (Karlsson, paragraphs [0002], Fig. 1, paragraphs [0048]-[0051] vehicle information, one or more is an optional limitation): Karlsson does not explicitly teach: one or more of the following: a vehicle owner or operator, a vehicle identification number, a vehicle itinerary or schedule, and a vehicle type.
Tang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: a vehicle owner or operator; a vehicle identification number; (Tang, Figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs [0038], [0040] vehicle identification number(s) (VIN(s)), Fig. 2, paragraphs [0039]-[0040] vehicle information/VIN) a vehicle itinerary or schedule; a vehicle type. (Tang, Figs. 3A-3B, paragraph [0032] specific type of vehicle, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] types, paragraphs [0040]-[0041] the more favorable attributes be a vehicle with a white color instead of coupe type vehicle suggest vehicle type, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0047], [0054]-[0056] type/vehicle type, paragraph [0039] vehicle information) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Karlsson, and Choi-Grogan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Tang so that the vehicle information comprising information that identifies a specific vehicle be included in a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system. The motivation to combine the teachings of Tang would identify the specific vehicle by vehicle identification number (VIN). (Tang, paragraphs [0001]-[0007])
Regarding claim 19, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 18, and therefore apparatus claim 19 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 20, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 18, and therefore apparatus claim 20 is rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 pages 7-8, applicant submits:
“Applicant respectfully submits that Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang, either singly or in any combination thereof, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest all the features recited in amended claim 1, including, at least, the above-recited features. For example, Karlsson, Choi-Grogan, and Tang, either singly or in any combination thereof, do not disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "determine, at least partially based on the vehicle information, whether the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle are likely to be in close proximity and or processing a common mobility, and perform a cell selection reselection procedure, at least partially based on the vehicle information, the input, and a result of the determination," as recited in amended claim 1.” (page 8)
However, Karlsson in paragraph [0085] and Fig. 3 at 54, the mobility information (correspond to claim limitation “vehicle information”) is used in a cell selection. In the cell selection, a cell is selected for the user equipment to camp on. The mobility information (correspond to claim limitation “vehicle information”) may be combined with the user equipment movement data to determine whether the base station or repeater relay of the mobile cell and the user equipment move with similar velocities and in similar directions (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”).
In addition, Karlsson teaches in para. [0041] user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection (correspond to claim limitation “input”) of the mobile cell more likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves in the same direction (correspond to claim limitation “common mobility”) as the user equipment. The user equipment may be configured to perform a soft prioritization of cells by making selection of the mobile cell less likely when the mobility information indicates that the mobile cell moves opposite to the user equipment. paragraphs [0059]-[0060] performing cell selection/reselection, Fig. 3, and Figs. 5-8, Fig. 5, paragraphs [0089]-[0097], Fig. 6, [0098]-[0107], Fig. 7, paragraph [0108], and Fig. 8, paragraphs [0116]-[0124]).
In this cited paragraph, Karlsson teaches claim limitation - "determine, at least partially based on the vehicle information (mobility information), whether the wireless terminal and the specific vehicle are likely to be in close proximity and or processing a common mobility (UE movement data), and perform a cell selection reselection procedure, at least partially based on the vehicle information (mobility information), the input (soft priorization selection), and a result of the determination (UE movement data)," and thus rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Bengtsson et al. US 20160302142 A1 teaches determining user equipment mobility information representing a time-dependent location change of the user equipment, transmitting the user equipment mobility information from the user equipment to the base station by which the user equipment is served, and selecting a cell of the plurality of cells for serving the user equipment based on the user equipment mobility information.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Aoyagi US 20250080203 A1 teaches a movement information acquisition unit that acquires movement information concerning the movement of a relay station that can communicate with a base station and expand the communication cell provided by the base station; an expansion cell selection unit that selects a communication cell to be expanded by the moving relay station based on the movement information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418