Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 11/11/2025 (“A.NE”), in which: Claims 1, 11, 13, and 22 are amended; claim 24 is cancelled; and new claim 25 is added. Claims 1 – 15, 17 – 19, 22, and 25 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 – 15, 17 – 19, 22, and 25 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 11, and by virtue of dependency claim 12 , is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant use of “the second chip structure” before defining what the second chip structure is. See excerpt of claim 11 below:
a first chip structure comprising a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface, wherein the second chip structure is disposed on the third surface of the first chip structure; ...
a via electrode penetrating through the first chip structure and the second chip structure ...
wherein the electrode pad is disposed along the second surface of the chip structure away from the cover insulating layer, and wherein the chip structure is a second chip structure.
Applicant claims “the chip structure” in claim 1. The current structuring of claim 11 causes confusion to the reader, and does not permit the reader to clearly understand the claimed invention without rereading claim 11. Examiner suggest amending claim 11 such that a second chip structure is defined at the beginning of the claim, or amending claim 1 to clearly equate the chip structure to a second chip structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1).
Regarding independent claim 22, Misawa teaches an image sensor, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7(b); n-type silicon substrate 101a) comprising: a plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b); plurality of light receiving regions 40) comprising photoelectric conversion elements(Fig. 7(b); photodiode 14), wherein the plurality of pixels are arranged as a pixel array ([0085]) that extends along a first direction (examiner is considering the cross section of Fig. 7(b) to be a first direction) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a first surface (Fig. 7(b); a surface of n-type silicon substrate 101a bordering the p type well 101b is interpreted to be a first surface); and
a second surface (Fig. 7(a) shows silicon substrate 101, which is understood to be equivalent to n-type silicon substrate 101a, since Fig. 7(b) indicates that p type well 101b is included in solid-state image pick-up device 102. Thus, examiner is interpreting the surface of silicon substrate 101 bordering reinforcement plate 701 to be a second surface) opposite to the first surface (Figs. 7(a) – 7(b));
a support platform (Fig. 7(a); spacer 203S) comprising:
a first platform surface (Fig. 7(a) surface of spacer 203S contacting the first surface of the substrate) bonded to the first surface of the substrate by an adhesive (Fig. 8(d); adhesive layer 207; wherein Fig. 7(a) shows the adhesive layer 207, unlabeled, bonded to the first surface of the substrate); and
a second platform surface (Fig. 7(a) surface of spacer 203S contacting the glass substrate 201) opposite the first platform surface (Fig. 7(a)); and
a light transmissive window (Fig. 7(a); gap C) having an inner wall that extends from the first platform surface to the second platform surface (as disclosed by applicant in [0031] of the instant specification, the inner sidewalls of the support portion form the light transmissive window; such that examiner is interpreting Misawa’s inner surfaces of their support platform to form inner sidewalls of the light-transmissive window), wherein the plurality of pixels are disposed in the light-transmissive window (Fig. 7(a); see solid-state image pick-up device 102 in the light-transmissive window);
a light-transmissive substrate (Fig. 7(a); glass substrate 201) disposed on the second platform surface (Fig. 7(a)) and the light-transmissive window (Fig. 7(a));
a plurality of color filters (Fig. 7(b); plurality of color filter 46, e.g., a red filter layer 46R, a green filter layer 46G and a blue filter layer 46B) disposed on the first surface of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of color filters is vertically aligned in a third direction with a respective one of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b); color filters 46B, 46G, and 46R, as taught in [0068]), wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction, the second direction, the first surface, and the second surface (Fig. 7(a));
a cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b); flattening insulating layer 48) disposed in the light-transmissive window (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)), on the color filters (Fig. 7(b)) and on the first surface of the substrate (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)), wherein:[[,]]
the cover insulating layer comprises an upper surface (Fig. 7(b); surface of flattening insulating layer 48 abut micro-lenses 50) and a side surface (Fig. 7(a) shows a side surface of solid-state image pick-up device 102, wherein Fig. 7(b) shows flattening insulating layer 48 included in solid-state image pick-up device 102),
the side surface extends from the first surface to the upper surface (Fig. 7(a)),
the side surface is spaced apart from the inner wall by a gap (Fig. 7(a)) in the first direction, … and
the upper surface of the cover insulating layer is positioned at a height level, along the third direction, higher than the first surface of the substrate (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)); and
a plurality of microlenses (Fig. 7(b); plurality of micro-lenses 50) disposed on the upper surface of the cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b)), wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is vertically aligned with the respective one of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b)) in the third direction (Fig. 7(b)), ...
However, Misawa remains silent regarding an image sensor wherein:
… a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap,
the side surface defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, …
wherein the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tu teaches an image sensor packaging structure including a support platform (Fig. 1B; supporting frame 122) comprising a first platform surface (Fig. 1B; bottom surface of supporting frame 122) bonded to the first surface of the substrate by an adhesive (Fig. 1B; adhesive 302); and a second platform surface (Fig. 1B; top surface of supporting frame 122) opposite the first platform surface (Fig. 1B); and a light transmissive window (Fig. 1B; light transmissive window formed by encapsulant 300) having an inner wall that extends from the first platform surface to the second platform surface (Fig. 1B); and a light-transmissive substrate (Fig. 1B; transparent lid 120) disposed on the second platform surface (Fig. 1B) and the light-transmissive window (Fig. 1B). Further, Tu shows a gap between the sensing region 111 and an inner wall of the light transmissive window in Fig. 1B; wherein a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap. Further, Tu shows an electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114 (Fig. 1B), under the bonded support platform; such that Tu teaches the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate. Examiner understands this structure to be applicable to Misawa’s packaging structure for an image sensor, and thus may be used to modify the adherence of structures and electrical connectivity of components within the image device, e.g., Misawa’s light-transmissive cover and conductive substrate features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s an electrode pad at a peripheral region of the image device package, overlapped with the area wherein a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform is bonded to the device substrate, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s image device package as modified by Tu’s an electrode pad can yield a predictable result of helping to align the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform during bonding and to connect device circuitry external circuits since the electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114, lines the boundary of the device ([0049]) and is electrically connected to inputs/outputs of the device. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Tu’s structure for adhering the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate is comparable to Misawa’s structure for adhering their transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate because they both use support platforms that minimize contact area with the device substrate and an adhesive between the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform and device substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, with the predictable result of controlling optical distances for the device, stability of bonded structures, and minimizing area taken on the device substrate.
Further, in a related field of endeavor, Chen discloses a display device, a device that shares the characteristics of pixels, with the instant application. Chen teaches in Fig. 3 a display unit 104 covered with a protection film 314, considered to be analogous to applicant’s instant cover insulating layer. Further, a sealant 306, which may be considered as an adhesive, is placed into a space between the protection film 314 and an edge of a flexible plate 102; wherein the space includes a groove 308 spaced apart from an edge of the protection film 314. A side surface of Chen’s protection film 314 defines a barrier against flow of the sealant 306, such that Chen discloses a structure wherein a cover layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Examiner asserts that Chen’s teaching of a side surface of a cover layer being configured to block adhesive overflow onto a pixel area may be applied to modify Misawa’s image sensor, especially when Misawa’s image sensor package is modified further in view of Tu’s bonding of their support platform and substrate. This yields the structure wherein Misawa’s cover insulating layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Chen’s teaching of a cover insulating layer that defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, such that an adhesive for joining a support platform, such as that disclosed by Tu, does not disrupt the optical path of the imaging device, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the cover layer, functioning as an overflow barrier, and the adhesive disclosed by Chen is comparable to the cover layer and the adhesive of Misawa and Tu; because the cover layers are insulating layers configured for protection of the device’s pixels, and the adhesives function to seal the image sensor within a support structure and may be used to join different structural components. Further, Misawa, Tu, and Chen disclose a portion of the adhesive being in a space adjacent to the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is between the pixels and the adhesive. This structural relationship yields the feature wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image sensor to include an adhesive for joining a support platform, as disclosed by Tu; wherein a portion of the adhesive is in a space between the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, as disclosed by Chen, with the predictable result of joining a support platform to a device substrate, resulting in the adhesive not overflowing into an optical path of the device.
Claims 1, 8 – 10, 13 – 14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), and Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2).
Regarding independent claim 1, Misawa teaches an image sensor, comprising:
a chip structure (Fig. 7(b); solid-state image pick-up device board 100) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7(b); n-type silicon substrate 101a) comprising a first surface (Fig. 7(a) shows silicon substrate 101, which is understood to be equivalent to n-type silicon substrate 101a, since Fig. 7(b) indicates that p type well 101b is included in solid-state image pick-up device 102. Thus, examiner is interpreting the surface of silicon substrate 101 bordering reinforcement plate 701 to be a first surface) and a second surface (Fig. 7(b); a surface of n-type silicon substrate 101a bordering the p type well 101b is interpreted to be a second surface) opposite the first surface (Figs. 7(a) – 7(b));
a plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b); plurality of light receiving regions 40) comprising photoelectric conversion elements (Fig. 7(b); photodiode 14), wherein the plurality of pixels are disposed in a portion of the substrate (Figs. 7(a) – 7(b)) as a pixel array ([0085]) that extends along a first direction (examiner is considering the cross section of Fig. 7(b) to be a first direction) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction;
a light-transmissive cover (Fig. 7(b); a sealing cover glass 200) bonded to an edge region of the chip structure (Fig. 7(b)) by an adhesive (Misawa teaches an adhesive layer 207 in [0077] used to unify the solid-state image pick-up device board 100. See Fig. 8(d)), wherein the light-transmissive cover comprises a recess portion (Fig. 7(a); gap C), and wherein the plurality of pixels are positioned in the recess portion (Figs. 7(a) – 7(b));
a plurality of color filters (Fig. 7(b); plurality of color filter 46, e.g., a red filter layer 46R, a green filter layer 46G and a blue filter layer 46B) disposed on the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 7(b)),wherein each of the color filters is vertically aligned in a third direction with a respective one of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b); color filters 46B, 46G, and 46R, as taught in [0068]), wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction, the second direction, the first surface, and the second surface (Fig. 7(a));
a cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b); flattening insulating layer 48) disposed in the recess portion (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)), on the plurality of color filters (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)), and on the second surface of the substrate (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b)), wherein:[[,]]
the cover insulating layer comprises an upper surface (Fig. 7(b); surface of flattening insulating layer 48 abut micro-lenses 50) and a side surface (Fig. 7(a) shows a side surface of solid-state image pick-up device 102, wherein Fig. 7(b) shows flattening insulating layer 48 included in solid-state image pick-up device 102) that extends from the second surface of the substrate to the upper surface (Fig. 7(a)),
the side surface is spaced apart in the first direction from a wall of the recess portion (Fig. 7(a)) by a gap (See spacing between the side surface and the recess portion), … and
a plurality of microlenses (Fig. 7(b); plurality of micro-lenses 50) disposed on the upper surface of the cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b)), wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is vertically aligned in the third direction with the respective one of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b)), ...
However, Misawa remains silent on the image sensor further including:
… a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap,
the side surface defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, and
a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm; …
wherein the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tu teaches an image sensor packaging structure including a light-transmissive cover (Fig. 1B; examiner is considering the combined structure of the supporting frame 122, the encapsulant 300, and the transparent lid 120 together to be a light-transmissive cover) bonded to an edge region of the chip structure (Fig. 1B) by an adhesive (Fig. 1B; adhesive 302), wherein the light-transmissive cover comprises a recess portion (Fig. 1B; air cavity 121). Further, Tu shows a gap between the sensing region 111 and an inner wall of the light-transmissive cover in Fig. 1B; wherein a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap. Further, Tu shows an electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114 (Fig. 1B), under the bonded light-transmissive cover; such that Tu teaches the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate. Examiner understands this structure to be applicable to Misawa’s packaging structure for an image sensor, and thus may be used to modify the adherence of structures and electrical connectivity of components within the image device, e.g., Misawa’s light-transmissive cover and conductive substrate features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s an electrode pad at a peripheral region of the image device package, overlapped with the area wherein a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform is bonded to the device substrate, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s image device package as modified by Tu’s an electrode pad can yield a predictable result of helping to align the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform during bonding and to connect device circuitry external circuits since the electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114, lines the boundary of the device ([0049]) and is electrically connected to inputs/outputs of the device. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Tu’s structure for adhering the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate is comparable to Misawa’s structure for adhering their transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate because they both use support platforms that minimize contact area with the device substrate and an adhesive between the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform and device substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, with the predictable result of controlling optical distances for the device, stability of bonded structures, and minimizing area taken on the device substrate.
Further, in a related field of endeavor, Chen discloses a display device, a device that shares the characteristics of pixels, with the instant application. Chen teaches in Fig. 3 a display unit 104 covered with a protection film 314, considered to be analogous to applicant’s instant cover insulating layer. Further, a sealant 306, which may be considered as an adhesive, is placed into a space between the protection film 314 and an edge of a flexible plate 102; wherein the space includes a groove 308 spaced apart from an edge of the protection film 314. A side surface of Chen’s protection film 314 defines a barrier against flow of the sealant 306, such that Chen discloses a structure wherein a cover layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Examiner asserts that Chen’s teaching of a side surface of a cover layer being configured to block adhesive overflow onto a pixel area may be applied to modify Misawa’s image sensor, especially when Misawa’s image sensor package is modified further in view of Tu’s bonding of their light-transmissive cover and substrate. This yields the structure wherein Misawa’s cover insulating layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Chen’s teaching of a cover insulating layer that defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, such that an adhesive for joining a support platform, such as that disclosed by Tu, does not disrupt the optical path of the imaging device, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the cover layer, functioning as an overflow barrier, and the adhesive disclosed by Chen is comparable to the cover layer and the adhesive of Misawa and Tu; because the cover layers are insulating layers configured for protection of the device’s pixels, and the adhesives function to seal the image sensor within a support structure and may be used to join different structural components. Further, Misawa, Tu, and Chen disclose a portion of the adhesive being in a space adjacent to the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is between the pixels and the adhesive. This structural relationship yields the feature wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image sensor to include an adhesive for joining a support platform, as disclosed by Tu; wherein a portion of the adhesive is in a space between the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, as disclosed by Chen, with the predictable result of joining a support platform to a device substrate, resulting in the adhesive not overflowing into an optical path of the device.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a buffer layer 20 made of epoxy, acrylic, siloxane or polyimide, and the like (Fig 11P and col. 7; lines 51 - 53), i.e., insulating materials; such that the examiner is interpreting buffer layer 20 to be a cover insulating layer. The buffer layer 20 is disposed on what is disclosed as “layer 7 of optical or color filter array”. Further, Lin teaches in col. 7; line 50 that the buffer layer 20 thickness may be between 0.2 – 1 µm. Also, as taught in col. 7; lines 36 – 37, layer 7 thickness may be between 0.3 and 1.5 µm. Additionally, an insulating layer 67 is disposed between layer 7 and a chip structure; wherein insulating layer 67 is taught in col. 38; lines 58 – 60 to have a thickness of 0.2 and 2 µm, between 2 and 5 µm, or between 5 and 30 µm. Thus, Lin teaches a thickness of the combined layers including the insulating layer 67, layer 7, and buffer layer 20 such that the upper surface of the buffer layer 20, i.e., the cover insulating layer, may be in a range that includes a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm. The thicknesses of the relevant layers disclosed in Lin may be used as direction in the construction of Misawa’s image sensor, who largely remains silent regarding the thicknesses of various components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify various layers of Misawa’s image sensor to include the thicknesses taught by Lin; which yields an upper surface of the cover insulating layer including a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the components of Misawa’s image sensor to include the thicknesses taught in Lin is implicitly provided by Lin, stating that the thicknesses used are “suitable”. Due to the Misawa remaining silent regarding layer thickness or the step difference between the upper surface of the cover insulating layer and the second surface of the substrate; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to research common practices used to determine thicknesses of layer in the art. Further, as the microlenses are to be formed on the cover insulating layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would know the step difference between the upper surface of the cover insulating layer and the second surface of the substrate needs to be considered to determine an appropriate focal length, as mentioned by Lin in col. 7; line 64; and it is obvious that a method to set the appropriate focal length would be through manipulation of the device’s layers between the microlenses and the pixels. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of modifying Misawa’s image sensor layers between the microlenses and the pixels such that an upper surface of the cover insulating layer includes a step difference of 3 µm to 15 µm with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Further, the claimed a step difference of 3 µm to 15 µm with respect to the upper surface of the substrate would have been obvious, as asserted above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the dimensions claimed or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the claimed dimensions or variable are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1, wherein the light-transmissive cover comprises:
a support portion (Misawa: Fig. 7(b); spacer 203s) having the recess portion (Misawa: Fig. 7(b)) and bonded to the second surface of the substrate (Misawa: Fig. 7(b)); and
a light-transmissive substrate (Misawa: Fig. 7(b); glass substrate 201) covering the recess portion (Misawa: Fig. 7(b)).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 8, wherein:
a material of the support portion is photoresist (Misawa teaches the spacer 203s being made from the adhesive layer 203 (202) with is made with a UV hardening adhesive (e.g., cation polymerizing energy adhesive), i.e., made of photoresist. See [0072]), and
a material of the light-transmissive substrate is soft glass, fused silica, or fused quartz (Misawa: glass substrate 201 is made of glass discussed at least in [0061]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 8, wherein
a material of the support portion is different from of the light-transmissive substrate (Misawa: [0072] and [0061]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Misawa teaches an image sensor, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 7(b); n-type silicon substrate 101a) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b); plurality of light receiving regions 40) comprising photoelectric conversion elements (Fig. 7(b); photodiode 14), wherein the plurality of pixels are arranged as a pixel array ([0085]) that extends along a first direction (examiner is considering the cross section of Fig. 7(b) to be a first direction) and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction:
a first surface (Fig. 7(a) shows silicon substrate 101, which is understood to be equivalent to n-type silicon substrate 101a, since Fig. 7(b) indicates that p type well 101b is included in solid-state image pick-up device 102. Thus, examiner is interpreting the surface of silicon substrate 101 bordering reinforcement plate 701 to be a first surface): and
a second surface (Fig. 7(b); surface of n-type silicon substrate 101a bordering p type well 101b) opposite to the first surface (Figs. 7(a) and 7(b));
a light-transmissive cover (Fig. 7(b); a sealing cover glass 200) bonded to the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 7(b)) by an adhesive (Misawa teaches an adhesive layer 207 in [0077] used to unify the solid-state image pick-up device board 100, shown to be the second surface of the substrate in Fig. 9(b), i.e., adhesive layer 207 unifies sealing cover glass 200 and n-type silicon substrate 101a), wherein the light-transmissive cover comprises a recess portion (Fig. 7(a); gap C), and wherein the plurality of pixels are positioned in the recess portion (Fig. 7(a));
a cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b); flattening insulating layer 48) disposed in the recess portion and on the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 7(b)), wherein:
the cover insulating layer comprises an upper surface (Fig. 7(b); surface of flattening insulating layer 48 abut micro-lenses 50) and a side surface (Fig. 7(a) shows a side surface of solid-state image pick-up device 102, wherein Fig. 7(b) shows flattening insulating layer 48 included in solid-state image pick-up device 102) that extends from the second surface of the substrate to the upper surface (Fig. 7(a)),
the side surfaces is spaced apart in the first direction from a wall of the recess portion (Fig. 7(a)) by a gap (See spacing between the side surface and the recess portion), … and
a plurality of microlenses (Fig. 7(b); plurality of micro-lenses 50) disposed on the upper surface of the cover insulating layer (Fig. 7(b)), wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is vertically aligned in a third direction with a respective one of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 7(b)), wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction, the second direction, the first surface, and the second surface(Fig. 7(b)), ...
However, Misawa remains silent on the image sensor further including:
… a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap,
the side surface defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, and
a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm; …
wherein the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tu teaches an image sensor packaging structure including a light-transmissive cover (Fig. 1B; examiner is considering the combined structure of the supporting frame 122, the encapsulant 300, and the transparent lid 120 together to be a light-transmissive cover) bonded to an edge region of the chip structure (Fig. 1B) by an adhesive (Fig. 1B; adhesive 302), wherein the light-transmissive cover comprises a recess portion (Fig. 1B; air cavity 121). Further, Tu shows a gap between the sensing region 111 and an inner wall of the light-transmissive cover in Fig. 1B; wherein a portion of the adhesive is disposed in the gap. Further, Tu shows an electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114 (Fig. 1B), under the bonded light-transmissive cover; such that Tu teaches the adhesive is disposed on an electrode pad of the substrate. Examiner understands this structure to be applicable to Misawa’s packaging structure for an image sensor, and thus may be used to modify the adherence of structures and electrical connectivity of components within the image device, e.g., Misawa’s light-transmissive cover and conductive substrate features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s an electrode pad at a peripheral region of the image device package, overlapped with the area wherein a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform is bonded to the device substrate, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s image device package as modified by Tu’s an electrode pad can yield a predictable result of helping to align the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform during bonding and to connect device circuitry external circuits since the electrode pad, i.e., conductive contacts 114, lines the boundary of the device ([0049]) and is electrically connected to inputs/outputs of the device. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Tu’s structure for adhering the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate is comparable to Misawa’s structure for adhering their transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate because they both use support platforms that minimize contact area with the device substrate and an adhesive between the transmissive cover window/layer/support platform and device substrate. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Tu’s structure for adhering a transmissive cover window/layer/support platform to a device substrate, with the predictable result of controlling optical distances for the device, stability of bonded structures, and minimizing area taken on the device substrate.
Further, in a related field of endeavor, Chen discloses a display device, a device that shares the characteristics of pixels, with the instant application. Chen teaches in Fig. 3 a display unit 104 covered with a protection film 314, considered to be analogous to applicant’s instant cover insulating layer. Further, a sealant 306, which may be considered as an adhesive, is placed into a space between the protection film 314 and an edge of a flexible plate 102; wherein the space includes a groove 308 spaced apart from an edge of the protection film 314. A side surface of Chen’s protection film 314 defines a barrier against flow of the sealant 306, such that Chen discloses a structure wherein a cover layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Examiner asserts that Chen’s teaching of a side surface of a cover layer being configured to block adhesive overflow onto a pixel area may be applied to modify Misawa’s image sensor, especially when Misawa’s image sensor package is modified further in view of Tu’s bonding of their light-transmissive cover and substrate. This yields the structure wherein Misawa’s cover insulating layer defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s image device package to include Chen’s teaching of a cover insulating layer that defines an adhesive overflow barrier configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, such that an adhesive for joining a support platform, such as that disclosed by Tu, does not disrupt the optical path of the imaging device, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the cover layer, functioning as an overflow barrier, and the adhesive disclosed by Chen is comparable to the cover layer and the adhesive of Misawa and Tu; because the cover layers are insulating layers configured for protection of the device’s pixels, and the adhesives function to seal the image sensor within a support structure and may be used to join different structural components. Further, Misawa, Tu, and Chen disclose a portion of the adhesive being in a space adjacent to the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is between the pixels and the adhesive. This structural relationship yields the feature wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s image sensor to include an adhesive for joining a support platform, as disclosed by Tu; wherein a portion of the adhesive is in a space between the cover insulating layer, wherein the cover insulating layer is configured to separate the portion of the adhesive from the pixel array, as disclosed by Chen, with the predictable result of joining a support platform to a device substrate, resulting in the adhesive not overflowing into an optical path of the device.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a buffer layer 20 made of epoxy, acrylic, siloxane or polyimide, and the like (Fig 11P and col. 7; lines 51 - 53), i.e., insulating materials; such that the examiner is interpreting buffer layer 20 to be a cover insulating layer. The buffer layer 20 is disposed on what is disclosed as “layer 7 of optical or color filter array”. Further, Lin teaches in col. 7; line 50 that the buffer layer 20 thickness may be between 0.2 – 1 µm. Also, as taught in col. 7; lines 36 – 37, layer 7 thickness may be between 0.3 and 1.5 µm. Additionally, an insulating layer 67 is disposed between layer 7 and a chip structure; wherein insulating layer 67 is taught in col. 38; lines 58 – 60 to have a thickness of 0.2 and 2 µm, between 2 and 5 µm, or between 5 and 30 µm. Thus, Lin teaches a thickness of the combined layers including the insulating layer 67, layer 7, and buffer layer 20 such that the upper surface of the buffer layer 20, i.e., the cover insulating layer, may be in a range that includes a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm. The thicknesses of the relevant layers disclosed in Lin may be used as direction in the construction of Misawa’s image sensor, who largely remains silent regarding the thicknesses of various components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify various layers of Misawa’s image sensor to include the thicknesses taught by Lin; which yields an upper surface of the cover insulating layer including a height of the adhesive overflow barrier relative to the second surface of the substrate is 3 µm to 15 µm, because such a modification is taught, suggested, or motivated by the art. More specifically, the motivation to modify the components of Misawa’s image sensor to include the thicknesses taught in Lin is implicitly provided by Lin, stating that the thicknesses used are “suitable”. Due to the Misawa remaining silent regarding layer thickness or the step difference between the upper surface of the cover insulating layer and the second surface of the substrate; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to research common practices used to determine thicknesses of layer in the art. Further, as the microlenses are to be formed on the cover insulating layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would know the step difference between the upper surface of the cover insulating layer and the second surface of the substrate needs to be considered to determine an appropriate focal length, as mentioned by Lin in col. 7; line 64; and it is obvious that a method to set the appropriate focal length would be through manipulation of the device’s layers between the microlenses and the pixels. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of modifying Misawa’s image sensor layers between the microlenses and the pixels such that an upper surface of the cover insulating layer includes a step difference of 3 µm to 15 µm with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Further, the claimed a step difference of 3 µm to 15 µm with respect to the upper surface of the substrate would have been obvious, as asserted above, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the dimensions claimed or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the claimed dimensions or variable are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 13, wherein:
the upper surface of the cover insulating layer has a planarized region and the plurality of microlenses are disposed on the planarized region.
Misawa teaches in [0069] that the micro-lenses 50 are formed on the flattening insulating layer 48, i.e., the cover insulating layer, wherein the examiner is interpreting flattening to be synonymous with planarized. Thus, Misawa teaches an upper surface of the flattening insulating layer 48, on which micro-lenses 50 are formed; such that the micro-lenses 50 are formed on a planarized region of the flattening insulating layer 48.
Regarding dependent claim 25, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
the adhesive is disposed on a substantially planar surface of the chip structure.
Chen teaches an embodiment in Fig. 5 wherein the adhesive is disposed on a substantially planar surface of a substrate; such that the bottom of the adhesive is coplanar with the bottom of the protection film 513. The consequence of using the embodiment shown in Chen’s Fig. 3 or Fig. 5 is the same, such that either embodiment would be obvious to use in the modification of Misawa’s image sensor package.
Also, see Fig. 1B of Tu wherein the adhesive is disposed on a substantially planar surface of the chip structure.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), and Lee et al. (US 20170062503 A1)
Regarding dependent claim 2, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1. However, Misawa remains silent wherein:
an extent of the gap between the side surface of the cover insulating layer and the wall of the recess portion is in a range of 5 µm to 300 µm.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches a distance D between an effective pixel region 115 (analogous to the region where the pixels are disposed which corresponds to the color filters in the image sensor of Misawa and Lin) and an adhesion part 140 (analogous to the outer boundary of the recess portion in the image sensor of Misawa and Lin). In the device disclosed by Misawa and Lin, the cover insulating layer is formed to cover the color filters; therefore, the effective pixel region 115 of Lee may be considered as a placeholder representing where the cover insulating layer is disposed. Thus, Lee teaches a distance D such that a distance D may be used to determine the location of the pixels, color filters, and, thus, cover insulating layer of Misawa and Lin. Incorporating the distance D for the relative spacing between the cover insulating layer and the outer boundary of the recess portions for the image sensor of Misawa and Lin yields the cover insulating layer having a horizontal separation distance from the outer boundary of the recess portion in a range of D. Lee teaches a value of D within the range of 5 µm to 300 µm, giving an example of 50 µm in [0057].
Therefore, the cover insulating layer having a horizontal separation distance from the outer boundary of the recess portion in a range of 5 µm to 300 µm would have been obvious, from at least [0057] of Lee, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention because absent evidence or disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d454, 105 USQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1995). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the dimensions claimed or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the claimed dimensions or variable are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 3 – 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), and Park (US 20090014760 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1; however, Misawa remain silent wherein:
the cover insulating layer further comprises a pixel array region and a dummy region;
the pixel array region is disposed on the plurality of color filters; and
the dummy region is disposed surrounding the pixel array region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches an image sensor with a layout shown in Fig. 4 which includes a main pixel region 20, which may correspond to a pixel array region of the image sensor, and a dummy pixel region 30. The dummy pixel region 30 boarders an external side of the main pixel region 20 such that the dummy pixel region 30 is surrounding the main pixel region 20. Further, Park shows the main pixel region in Fig. 2D and the dummy pixel region in Fig. 3, as discussed in [0027]. Fig. 2d shows an oxide pattern 120, analogous to the claimed pixel array region of cover insulating layer; and Fig. 3 shows that the oxide pattern 120 is replaced with the silicon oxide layer 121 ([0021]), analogous to the claimed dummy region of cover insulating layer. Thus, Park shows a cover insulating layer comprising a pixel array region and a dummy region, with the dummy region surrounding an external side of the array region. Combing Park’s teaching of a main pixel region and a dummy pixel region to the image sensor of Misawa, Tu, Chen, and Lin yields a device wherein the array region of the cover insulating layer overlaps the color filters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa and Lin’s image sensor to include Park’s main pixel region 20 and dummy pixel region 30, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s chip structure as modified by Park’s main pixel region 20 and dummy pixel region 30 can yield a predictable result of forming a peripheral region to where the pixels are located that can block and redirect light as needed since the dummy pixel region may include features to block wide angle light or redirect wide angle light to pixel through the use of dummy microlenses. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park, teach the image sensor of claim 3, further comprising
dummy microlenses disposed on the dummy region of the cover insulating layer.
Park further teaches in [0012], “Micro lenses may be formed such that the micro lenses are aligned with and correspond to photodiodes which will be formed at the main pixel region and the dummy pixel region”; such that microlenses formed in Park’s dummy pixel region, corresponding to the dummy region of the cover insulating layer, may be regarded as dummy microlenses.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Misawa, further in view of further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park, teach the image sensor of claim 4, wherein:
a thickness of the cover insulating layer is greater than a thickness of each of the dummy microlenses.
As shown in Figs. 2d and 3 of Park, there exist a thickness of the oxide pattern 120 and the silicon oxide layer 121, i.e., the cover insulating layer, that is greater than a thickness of the microlens 150 shown in Fig. 3. Thus, Park discloses a thickness of the cover insulating layer is greater than a thickness of each of the dummy microlenses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image sensor of Misawa, Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park to include Park’s teaching of the relative thickness of a cover insulating layer to the thickness of a dummy microlens, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, the combination of Park’s oxide pattern 120 and silicon oxide layer 121 is comparable to the cover insulating layer of Misawa because they are a planarized insulating layer on which the microlenses are formed. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the relative thicknesses of the cover insulating layer and each of the dummy microlens to include a thickness of the cover insulating layer is greater than a thickness of each of the dummy microlenses with the predictable result of refracting light to the appropriate pixels.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), Park (US 20090014760 A1), and Kang (US 20070053037 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Misawa, further in view of further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park, teach the image sensor of claim 4. However, Misawa remains silent wherein:
a diameter of one of the dummy microlenses is greater than a diameter of one of the microlenses.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches microlenses of varying size based of the distance to photoelectric elements. They discuss the pitch and sizes of microlenses relative to incident light, such as light incident at large angles at the periphery of the device (see Fig. 6 and [0023], [0026], and [0029]). This usefulness of larger peripheral microlenses, as disclosed by Kang, is motivation to modify the dummy microlenses of Park to be larger than the microlenses in the main pixel region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the dummy microlenses of Misawa, Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park to include a greater diameter than the microlenses, as disclosed by Kang, because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Kang’s teaching of larger diameters for microlenses as they have increased distances from pixels permits one to place microlenses further from the pixels without losing the functionality of the microlenses. This known benefit in Kang’s microlenses is applicable to the dummy microlenses of Misawa, Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to image sensors. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying the dummy microlenses of Misawa, Tu, Chen, Lin, and Park to include larger diameters than the microlenses closer to the pixels, as directed by the disclosure of Kang, would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Kang’s teachings in dummy microlenses in image sensors and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), and Krojer (US 20210066376 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1; however, Misawa remains silent wherein:
a shape of the upper surface of the cover insulating layer is defined by a perimeter having corners that are rounded.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Krojer teaches a light sensor including a passivation layer with rounded corners (Fig. 4 and [0031])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s cover insulating layer to include Krojer’s rounded corners, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Krojer’s passivation layer is comparable to Misawa’s cover insulating layer because both layers are used to form the microlenses are important for directing incident light to the appropriate pixels. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Misawa’s cover insulating layer’s shape to include Krojer’s rounded corners with the predictable result of the rounded corners providing advantageous directing of light incident at the edge of the device.
Claims 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), and Oka et al. (US 10659707 B2).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, and Lin, teach the image sensor of claim 1; however, Misawa remains silent on the image sensor further comprising:
a first chip structure comprising a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface, wherein the second chip structure is disposed on the third surface of the first chip structure;
a redistribution structure disposed on the fourth surface of the first chip structure; and
a via electrode penetrating through the first chip structure and the second chip structure to electrically connect the electrode pad and the redistribution structure, wherein the electrode pad is disposed along the second surface of the chip structure away from the cover insulating layer, and wherein the chip structure is a second chip structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oka teaches a similar imaging device 801 (Fig. 43); wherein a first structure 851 is taught to be an upper chip ([0482]; lines 5 – 7), and a second structure 852 is taught to be a lower chip ([0485]; lines 3 – 5). Examiner is considering Oka’s upper chip to be a second chip structure and Oka’s lower chip to be a first chip structure. For clarity, examiner understands Oka’s top surface and bottom surface of the first chip structure to be a third surface and a fourth surface, respectively; thus, Oka teaches the imaging device structure wherein the second chip structure is disposed on the third surface of the first chip structure. Additionally, Oka teaches imaging device structure including a redistribution structure (Fig. 43; multilevel wiring layer 922) disposed on the fourth surface of the first chip structure (Fig. 43). Further, Oka teaches a via electrode (Fig. 43; second through electrode (chip through vias) 945 taught in [0519]) penetrating through the first chip structure (Fig. 43) and the second chip structure (Fig. 43) to electrically connect the electrode pad (Fig. 43; a connection wiring line 946. See [0547] pertaining to imaging device 801) and the redistribution structure (Fig. 43), and wherein the chip structure is a second chip structure (Fig. 43; Oka’s second chip structure includes a pixel array unit 864). Oka’s disclosure may be used to supplement the features not elaborated upon in Misawa’s disclosure. Examiner asserts that Oka’s contributions to the imaging device of Misawa yield the imaging device wherein the electrode pad is disposed along the second surface of the chip structure away from the cover insulating layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Misawa’s imaging device package to include Oka’s stacked chip structure including a redistribution structure with connecting via electrode features, because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s imaging device package as modified by Oka’s stacked chip structure including a redistribution structure with connecting via electrode features can yield a predictable result of having device circuitry configured to connect the imaging device to other electrical components since the redistribution structure with connecting via electrode features has conductive pathways for connecting device components. Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, and Oka, teach image sensor of claim 11, wherein:
the electrode pad is disposed in the edge region of the second chip structure (Tu shows in Fig. 1B that the conductive contacts 114 disposed in the edge region. Also see the conductor layer 108 disclosed by Misawa, e.g., Fig. 7(a)).
Claims 15 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misawa (US 20040016983 A1), and further in view of Tu et al. (US 20110241147 A1), Chen et al. (US 20110205722 A1), Lin et al. (US 8193555 B2), and Hirano (US 9728568 B2).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, and Oka, the image sensor of claim 13; however, Misawa remains silent wherein:
the cover insulating layer further comprises a pixel array region and an outer region;
the outer region is spaced apart from the pixel array region by a gap and surrounds the pixel array region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hirano teaches an image sensor in Figs. 3 and Fig. 7 (col. 10; lines 34 - 43); wherein the image sensor includes an anchoring 452 that is similar to anchoring 402 shown in Fig. 3 (col. 10; lines 10 - 25). Hirano also teaches a first organic material layer 219 made of insulating materials (col. 6; lines 61 – 67); and thus, examiner is interpreting the first organic material layer 219 to be a cover insulating layer. The first organic material layer 219 is separated into a first cover insulating layer and a second cover insulating layer by the anchoring 452 (Figs. 3 and 7). The anchoring 452 forms a barrier that separates the first organic material layer 219 in an end portion A3 of the semiconductor package 200. Thus, Hirano discloses an image sensor with a cover insulating layer wherein the cover insulating layer comprises a first cover insulating layer and a second cover insulating layer spaced apart from the first cover insulating layer and disposed on an external side of the first cover insulating layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image sensor of Misawa and Lin to include Hirano’s anchoring because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, Misawa’s cover insulating layer as modified by Hirano’s anchoring can yield a predictable result of increasing the structural integrity of the microlenses since the anchoring provides protection from the deformation of the microlenses (col. 11; lines 58 – 67). Since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable before the effective filing date of the instant invention.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, Oka, and Hirano, teach the image sensor of claim 15, wherein:
a first section of the upper surface of the cover insulating layer is an upper surface of the pixel array region (see portion of Misawa’s cover insulating layer over the pixels);
a second section of the upper surface of the cover insulating layer is an upper surface of the outer region (Hirano); and
a height level of the upper surface of the pixel array region, along the third direction, is the same as a height level of the upper surface of the outer region (Hirano: Fig. 7).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, Oka, and Hirano, teach the image sensor of claim 15, further comprising:
dummy microlenses disposed on the outer region of the cover insulating layer.
Hirano discloses dummy microlenses, e.g., dummy lens 401, in other embodiments, such as that shown in Fig. 6, on the upper surface of the first cover insulating layer. The dummy microlenses are disposed in an effective pixel region-surrounding region A2 of the semiconductor package 200.
However, Hirano discloses that the anchoring 452 may also be discontinuous within an effective pixel region A1 and the effective pixel region-surrounding region A2 (col. 11; lines 52 – 67). Further, Hirano teaches an embodiment shown in Fig. 10 wherein the effective pixel region A1 may be modified by a connection unit 551 (col. 12; lines 6 – 36). The connection unit 551 is structurally similar to the anchoring previously discussed; such that a connection unit 551 at the boarder of the effective pixel region A1 and the effective pixel region-surrounding region A2 results in a separation of the first organic material layer 219. Thus, in this disclosed embodiment the first organic material layer 219, regarded as a cover insulating layer, may include a second cover insulating layer disposed in the effective pixel region-surrounding region A2, which may include dummy lens 401(col. 12; lines 31 – 36). This modification disclosed by Hirano results in the image sensor of claim 15, further comprising dummy microlenses disposed on the outer region of the cover insulating layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the image sensor of Misawa, Lin, and Hirano to include Hirano’s connection unit, such that dummy microlenses disposed on the outer region of the cover insulating layer, because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. More specifically, Hirano’s connection unit is comparable to Hirano’s anchoring because they both protect the structure of the microlenses (see col. 11; lines 58 – 67 and col. 12; lines 23 – 27); which allows for the microlenses to be places on a section of the cover insulating layer that is the second cover insulating layer. Therefore, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the image sensor of Misawa, Lin, and Hirano to include Hirano’s connection unit with the predictable result of having dummy microlenses disposed on an upper surface of the second cover insulating layer.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Misawa, further in view of Tu, Chen, Lin, Oka, and Hirano, teach the image sensor of claim 15, further comprising:
a plurality of color filters (Misawa: Fig. 7(b); color filter 46) disposed on the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 7(b)), wherein each of the plurality of color filters is vertically aligned in the third direction with the respective one of the pixel (Misawa: Fig. 7(b));
wherein the pixel array region of the cover insulating layer is disposed on the plurality of color filters (Yielded in combination with Hirano’s anchoring).
Hirano anchoring yields a first and a second cover insulating layer; wherein the first cover insulating layer is overlapping with color filter layer 218 in Fig. 7. This feature would be naturally yielded through the combination of Misawa, further in view of Lin and Hirano, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220093482 A1 considered for its overflow barrier structure, die dam 1601, and adhesive layers disposed in a gap between an inner wall and a sensor region 137 (Fig. 2b).
US 7675180 B1 considered for spacer 1030. The spacer is taught as a nonconductive, nonadhesive, flexible film. In one embodiment, spacer 1030 is formed of polyimide, e.g., is a polyimide film (col. 12; lines 36 – 50). Figs. 10 – 20 demonstrate similar bonding features to the instant application.
US 10692917 B2 previously relied upon.
US 6782610 B1 previously relied upon.
US 20160238836 A1 discloses correlation between sizes of microlenses and pixels.
US 20210280626 A1 teaches a light-transmissive cover window unified to the peripheral sides of an image sensor and a substrate.
US 20210175286 A1 teaches features relevant to the instant application.
US 20190259796 A1 teaches different regions with unique pixel/image sensor features relative to each other (Fig. 5).
US 20180166488 A1 teaches specifics of microlenses that may be relevant to the instant application.
US 20120267744 A1 teaches specifics of microlenses that may be relevant to the instant application.
US 20140197508 A1 teaches features relevant to the instant application.
US 20190221597 A1 teaches different regions with unique pixel/image sensor features relative to each other (Fig. 13).
US 20190088700 A1 teaches different regions with unique pixel/image sensor features relative to each other (Figs. 1 and 2).
MARIO A. AUTORE JR.
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/MARIO ANDRES AUTORE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897