DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-13, and 16-19 are under examination.
Claims 2-3, and 14-15 are canceled.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed September 18th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, “the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction” is recited in Lines 30-31, however as asserted in the prior 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record and in MPEP 2115: "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Young, and the limitations relating to how the claimed apparatus works on the “the battery cell” (i.e., the material worked upon) do not distinguish the claims from the prior art. Therefore, the body part (i.e., of the battery cell) is an article worked upon, and since said battery cell is not a part of the apparatus but rather an article worked upon, and no specific thickness of said body part of said battery cell is defined, it is unclear as the degree of the height of the first direction, thereby failing to point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. Therefore, the examiner will interpret the claim such that said height in the first direction may be any height, lacking any further distinction thereof.
Claims 4-13, 16, and 18-19 are rejected as they depend from claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (CN111916814A as cited in IDS and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Cheng, in view of Rathmann et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0122301 A1), hereinafter Rathmann, in view of Li et al. (CN111933990 (A) and using machine translation as English version), hereinafter Li, in view of Tan et al. (CN102376982(B) using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Tan.
Regarding claims 1 and 4-7, Cheng discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery cell, the apparatus comprising: a carrier (i.e., conveying device, Fig. 1, ref. 200, [0017]) transporting a battery cell to a worktable (e.g., conveying to the trimming, double folding equipment, etc., Fig. 1, [0017]),
wherein the carrier (i.e., conveying device) includes: a first plate (i.e., first clamping plate, Fig. 4, ref. 2978) and a second plate (i.e., second clamping plate, Fig. 4, ref. 2979, [0033]). Cheng further discloses the power output direction of the second driving source (i.e., clamping member, Fig. 4, ref. 2977) is opposite to the power output direction of the first driving source (i.e., clamping member, Fig. 4, ref. 2976), so that the first clamping plate (Fig. 4, ref. 2978) and the second clamping plate (Fig. 4, ref. 2979) approach or move away from each other to loosen or clamp the battery cell ([0033], [0035]), thus reading on “pressing one surface of the battery cell” and further reading on “pressing the other surface of the battery cell opposite to the one surface” so as to clamp the battery cell. Moreover, since Cheng discloses clamping member(s) (Fig. 4, refs. 2976 and 2977, [0035]) that drive the first and second clamping plates to approach or move away from each other to loosen or clamp the battery cell ([0033], [0035]) this at least provides pressing the first plate and the second plate in a direction in which the first plate and the second plate face each other so as to clamp the battery cell.
Cheng further discloses a position alignment part (i.e., calibration assembly with scale and alignment bar, [0042]), whereby the scale is connected to the first clamping block (i.e., at least first plate) and the alignment bar is connected to the second clamping block (i.e., at least second plate) ([0041]-[0042]), which at least reads on “formed in at least one of the first plate and the second plate” such that the position alignment part is at least formed in at least one of the first clamping block (i.e., at least first plate) and/or second clamping block (i.e., second plate) so as to be connected. Cheng further discloses when the first clamping block abuts against a second clamping block, the alignment bar corresponds to the 0 scale line on the scale ([0042]), which at least reads on “aligning a position of at least one of the first plate and the second plate with respect to the worktable” such that the clamping adjust mechanism (ref. 297), the trimming device (ref. 800), the double folding device (ref. 900) and the heat sealing mechanism (ref. 110) are sequentially arranged along the extending direction of the connecting guide rail (ref. 201a), so that the battery cells can be sequentially transported to the trimming device (ref. 800), the double folding device (ref. 900) (i.e., worktable), etc., ([0044]).
Since Cheng discloses the first plate and the second plate face each other as discussed above, this at least provides the first plate and the second plate face each other in a first direction (i.e., first direction is at least clamping direction such as X-direction as discussed in [0036]-[0037], See Annotated Fig. 3).
Cheng further discloses the direction in which the clamping adjustment mechanism (Fig. 4, ref. 297) clamps the cell is the first direction, the direction in which the clamping and positioning mechanism (ref. 204) clamps the cell is the second direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the extension direction of the connecting guiding rail (Fig. 4, ref. 201a), etc. ([0033]). Cheng further discloses the direction in which the clamping adjustment mechanism (Fig. 3, ref. 297) clamps the battery cell is the X-axis direction, and the direction in which the clamping and positioning mechanism (Fig. 3, ref. 204) clamps the battery cell is the Y-axis direction ([0036]-[0037]), which at least provides that the Y-axis is at least a second direction (See Annotated Fig. 3).
Cheng further discloses in [0071] the electric core is vacuum-packaged by the vacuum packaging equipment ref. 300; and then the vacuum-encapsulated electric core is transported to the cutting mechanism ref. 400 by the conveying device ref. 20; and then, the burrs of the vacuum-encapsulated electric core are cut off by the cutting mechanism ref. 400, etc., and then the battery cell after removing the burrs is transported to the fine sealing mechanism ref. 500, etc., (also see [0007], [0020], [0033], [0044], [0061]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides said battery cell includes a casing having a body portion accommodating an electrode assembly therein (i.e., at least electric core), so as to be vacuum packaged, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Cheng further discloses when the cell slides with the clamping positioning mechanism relative to the connecting guide rail to the position corresponding to the trimming equipment, the first hemming mechanism and the second hemming mechanism can perform hemming operations on both sides of the battery cell at the same time, which improves the efficiency of the hemming processing of the battery core, and at the same time ensures accuracy of the two sides of the battery cell ([0010]), which at least provides a portion of the casing of the battery cell protrudes in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction outward of the first plate and the second plate (i.e., at least perpendicular to said first direction of clamping) so as to be able to perform a first and second hemming operation, etc., on both sides of the battery at the same time.
Cheng further teaches in [0044] the heat-sealing mechanism ref. 1100 is used for sealing and ironing the corners of the double-folded battery cells, etc., which at least provides a sealing portion extending from the body portion (i.e., at least sealed corners of said electric core, etc., as disclosed in [0071], also see [0004], [0046], [0049]), such that said sealing portion at least extend from the said body portion (i.e., at least battery core is at least a body portion, [0010], [0052], [0061]) and sealing part (i.e., at least heat sealing component, Figs. 13-15, ref. 330, [0057]), such that body and/or sealing portion(s) are broad in scope, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Cheng further discloses the first hemming mechanism (Figs. 3 and 5, ref. 950) includes a first bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 952) and a second bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 954), the first bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 952) and the second bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 954) are arranged side by side a folding device (i.e., at least bending device, refs. 952 and 954, [0022], See Annotated Fig. 5), which at least provides said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is disposed side by side with the carrier (i.e., at least conveying device, ref. 200 as discussed above in claim 1) in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 2), such that the component (ref. 952) is used to bend the first side of the cell to 90°, and the second bending component (ref. 954) is used to bend the first side of the cell to 180° to fold the first of the cell twice edge processing, etc. ([0022]), thereby providing that said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is for bending the at least portion of the casing of the battery cell (e.g., at least first side of cell) which protrudes in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction), such that the portion of the casing (i.e., at least first side of cell) at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, for example.
Since Cheng discloses that said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is for bending the at least portion of the casing of the battery cell (e.g., at least first side of cell) which protrudes in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction), such that the portion of the casing (i.e., at least first side of cell) at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, for example, as discussed above, and Cheng further discloses in [0044] the fine sealing mechanism ref. 500 is used to perform fine sealing on the battery cells with cut off burrs, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides the portion of the sealing portion protrudes in a second direction perpendicular direction, beyond edges of the first plate and the second plate (i.e., at least first side of cell), such that said portion(s)at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, cut, seal, etc., for example.
Furthermore, since Cheng discloses the folding device, which is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as configured to bend the at least portion of the sealing portion are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.), lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
However, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the position alignment part includes: a first alignment recess formed in one side surface of the first plate, and a second alignment recess formed in another side surface of the first plate that is opposite to the one surface of the first plate. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to a first alignment member having an end portion inserted into the first alignment recess; a second alignment member having an end portion inserted into the second alignment recess. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng appears silent as to the carrier is adjusted with the first alignment member. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the carrier further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction. Furthermore, with regards to claim 4, Cheng is silent as to the first alignment recess and the second alignment recess are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the first plate and the second plate face each other. Furthermore, with regards to claim 5, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the first alignment member and the end portion of the second alignment member have different shapes. Furthermore, with regards to claim 6, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the first alignment member includes two first inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form a first angle, the first alignment recess includes two second inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form the first angle, and the two first inclined surfaces are in contact with the two second inclined surfaces, respectively. Furthermore, with regards to claim 7, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the second alignment member includes a curved surface.
Rathmann teaches a clamping system for the flexible production of lithium-ion batteries (Title), whereby the clamping system includes a base plate, a pressure plate, at least two clamping elements and a receiving region for receiving the stack between the base plate and the pressure plate (Abstract, [0009]). With regards to claim 1, Rathmann further teaches a first alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) formed in one side surface of the first plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 3); and a second alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) formed in another side surface of the first plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 3) that is opposite to the one surface of the first plate (See Annotated Fig. 1, [0036]). With regards to claim 1, Rathmann further teaches in correspondence with those of the base plate, recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) are formed as U-shaped sections, whereby recesses (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) are used for affixing stack fasteners, for example, tapes ([0037], also see [0025], ), which at least provides a first alignment member having an end portion inserted into the first alignment recess; and a second alignment member having an end portion inserted into the second alignment recess, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that stack fasteners (e.g., tapes) provided in recesses (i.e., at least provided in first and/or second alignment recesses) as discussed above are at least first and second alignment member(s) having end portion(s) so as to fix said stack, lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said alignment member(s) and/or end portion(s) as claimed.
With regards to claim 4, Rathmann further teaches the first alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) and the second alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the direction (See Annotated Fig. 1) in which the first plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 3) and the second plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 4, [0035]) face each other (i.e., face each other in clamping vertical direction). Rathmann further teaches recesses (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) in edge regions of the short sides may be used as a reference and as points of application for positioning the clamping system in the manufacturing apparatuses ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Cheng with the teachings of Rathmann, whereby the position alignment part and first and second plates as disclosed by Cheng further include the first and second alignment recesses and first and second alignment members as taught by Rathmann so as to be used as a reference and as points of application for positioning the clamping system in the manufacturing apparatuses.
With regards to claim 1, Cheng appears silent as to the carrier is adjusted with the first alignment member. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the carrier further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate to prevent the folding device from colliding with the body portion. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction. Furthermore, with regards to claim 5, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the first alignment member and the end portion of the second alignment member have different shapes. Furthermore, with regards to claim 6, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the first alignment member includes two first inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form a first angle, the first alignment recess includes two second inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form the first angle, and the two first inclined surfaces are in contact with the two second inclined surfaces, respectively. Furthermore, with regards to claim 7, Cheng is silent as to the end portion of the second alignment member includes a curved surface.
Rathmann further teaches in [0035] recesses ref. 9 are formed as U-shaped sections, whereby alternatively, the recesses may also have a different shape, such as polygonal, rectangular, etc., which at least provides said recesses include, for example, V-shaped (i.e., at least polygonal) recesses, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said V-shaped (i.e., at least polygonal) recesses provide the first alignment recess includes two second inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form the first angle so as to be V-shaped.
Li teaches a square aluminum shell battery notching, covering and edge folding mechanism (Title). Li further teaches, with regards to claim 6, the end portion of the first alignment member includes two first inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form a first angle (i.e., positioning member ref. 132a at least has two first inclined surface in contact with each other to form a first angle so as to be V-shaped, as denoted in Annotated Fig. 5 and discussed in [0039], [0059]), the first alignment recess includes two second inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form the first angle (i.e., at least slide seat ref. 1314 is a first alignment recess that includes two second inclined surface in contact with each other to form the first angle so to be a V-shaped groove as denoted in Annotated Fig. 5 and discussed in [0039], [0059]). Li further teaches in [0059] the positioning member ref. 132a and the slide seat ref. 1314 are engaged with each other in a V-shaped groove, etc., which at least provides the two first inclined surfaces are in contact with the two second inclined surfaces, respectively. Li further teaches in [0059] the end of the positioning member ref. 132a is a V-shaped block, that is, inclined surface are formed on both sides thereof, and the edges where the two inclined surface intersect are used for centering to achieve a positioning effect, which at least provides the carrier is adjusted with the first alignment member, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first alignment member and/or carrier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann with the teachings of Li, whereby the apparatus including the first and second alignment member(s) and first and second alignment recesses as taught by the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann further includes the end portion of the first alignment member includes two first inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form a first angle, the first alignment recess includes two second inclined surfaces in contact with each other to form the first angle, and the two first inclined surfaces are in contact with the two second inclined surfaces as taught by Li so that where the two inclined surface intersect are used for centering to achieve a positioning effect.
With regards to claim 5, although the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li are silent as to the end portion of the first alignment member and the end portion of the second alignment member have different shapes, and with regards to claim 7, although the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li are silent as to the end portion of the second alignment member includes a curved surface, since Rathmann further teaches the recesses may also have a different shape, such as polygonal, rectangular, etc., and Li teaches alignment member(s) that contact said recess(s), the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in shape are matter of obvious engineering choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of said claimed shapes is critical and/or provides unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B.) so as to center, thereby achieving a positioning effect.
Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the carrier further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the battery cell includes an electrode assembly therein. Furthermore, with regards to claim 1, Cheng is silent as to the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction.
Tan teaches a turnover fixture, power battery assembling method and equipment (Title). Tan further teaches in [0046] referring to Figs. 1-5, a turnover fixture works with a battery cell ref. 2 includes a fixture base plate ref. 1 and an upper cover 7 connected by a connecting mechanism, whereby a buffer mechanism for positioning and protecting the battery cell ref. 2 is also provided between the fixture base plate ref. 1 and the upper cover ref. 7, whereby the buffer mechanism has telescopic properties, which can prevent the battery cell ref. 2 from being pinched by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and at the same time, the elastic force generated when its telescopics can press and position the battery cell ref. 2, such that the buffer mechanism can be a flexible material pad, etc., and for example, as disclosed in [0047] the buffer mechanism is a elastic soft pad ref. 12 disposed on the side of the upper cover ref. 7 facing the clamp base plate ref. 1, that is the soft pad ref. 12 is made of a material that is prone to compression deformation, etc., (also see [0009], [0025], [0031], [0046], [0053], Figs. 1-5), which at least provides a carrier further includes a protection member (i.e., at least elastic soft pad ref. 12 ) disposed between the first plate and the second plate (i.e., at least between upper cover ref. 7 facing the clamp base plate ref. 1) (also see Annotated Fig. 1), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Tan further teaches the protection member (i.e., at least elastic soft pad ref. 12) has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction (i.e., at least thickness of protection member ref. 12 is less than thickness of battery cell ref. 2 as shown in at least Annotated Fig. 3), which is a thickness within the claimed range, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Furthermore, as discussed above, since Tan teaches the soft pad ref. 12 is made of a material that is prone to compression deformation, the skilled artisan would appreciate that said protection member at least provides a variable thickness so as to be deform under compression, thereby preventing the battery cell from being pinched by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Furthermore, in the alternative, Tan further teaches in [0067] the incoming materials are pre-formed electrode sheets and two rolls of diaphragm, and the bags are made by heat-sealing the diaphragm and cutting the diaphragm with a cold cutter to complete the bag making process, etc., and further teaches in [0047] the battery cell ref. 2 to be machined extends outside the fixture base plate ref. 1 and the top cover ref. 7, etc., as shown in at least Fig. 2, which at least provides the battery cell includes a casing having a body portion accommodating an electrode assembly therein and a sealing portion extending from the body portion, such that at least a portion of the sealing portion protrudes in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, beyond edges of the first plate and the second plate (also see Annotated Fig. 2, [0021], [0023], [0050]-[0051], [0054]).
Tan further teaches in [0007] a buffer mechanism for positioning and protecting the battery cell is also provided between the base plate and the top cover of the clamp, whereby the buffer mechanism has telescopic properties, which can prevent the battery cell from being damaged by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and at the same time, the elastic force generated when it telescopically extends and retracts can press and position the battery cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li with the teachings of Tan, whereby the apparatus including the first and second plates as disclosed by the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate, a battery cell includes an electrode assembly therein, and the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body portion in the first direction as taught by Tan so as to prevent the battery cell from being damaged by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and at the same time, the elastic force generated when it telescopically extends and retracts can press and position the battery cell.
Since the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan disclose the apparatus with the protection member(s) that is identical and/or substantially identical to the product as claimed, the properties and/or functions such as preventing the folding device from colliding with a body portion are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
In any event, the Examiner notes MPEP 2115: "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Young, and the limitations relating to how the claimed apparatus works on the “the battery cell” (i.e., the material worked upon) do not distinguish the claims from the prior art. Therefore, the limitation “the battery cell includes a casing having a body portion accommodating an electrode assembly therein and a sealing portion extending from the body portion, at least a portion of the sealing portion protrudes, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, beyond edges of the first plate and the second plate” does not provide additional structure to the apparatus, such that material or article worked upon (i.e., battery cell) by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Annotated Figure 3 (Cheng)
Annotated Figure 5 (Cheng)
Annotated Figure 1 (Rathmann)
Annotated Figure 5 (Li)
Annotated Figure 1 (Tan)
Annotated Figure 2 (Tan)
Annotated Figure 5 (Tan)
Regarding claims 8-11, Cheng discloses the apparatus including the clamping member and first and second plates as discussed above in claim 1.
However, with regards to claim 8, Cheng is silent as to the clamping member includes: a guide shaft extending from the first plate and penetrating through the second plate; and an elastic member connected to the guide shaft and pressing the second plate toward the first plate. Furthermore, with regards to claim 9, Cheng is silent as to the clamping member further includes a friction reducing member disposed between the second plate and the guide shaft. Furthermore, with regards to claim 10, Cheng is silent as to an outer surface of the friction reducing member is coupled to the second plate, and an inner surface of the friction reducing member is in contact with the guide shaft. Furthermore, with regards to claim 11, Cheng is silent as to the clamping member further includes a stopper disposed at an end portion of the guide shaft, and the elastic member is disposed between the stopper and the second plate.
The combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 1. Rathmann further teaches a clamping system for the flexible production of lithium-ion batteries (Title), whereby the clamping system includes a base plate, a pressure plate, at least two clamping elements and a receiving region for receiving the stack between the base plate and the pressure plate (Abstract, [0009]). With regards to claim 8, Rathmann further teaches a guide shaft extending from the first plate (e.g., Fig. 5, ref. 3) and penetrating through the second plate (e.g., Fig. 5, ref. 4, [0039]-[0040]); and an elastic member (e.g., plate spring, Fig. 5, ref. 10) connected to the guide shaft and pressing the second plate toward the first plate (See Annotated Fig. 5), such that a spring is at least an elastic member so as to contract as shown in Fig. 5 (i.e., See images from left to right).
With regards to claim 9, Rathmann further teaches bushings (Fig. 4, ref. 8) that enables a guided automated insertion of the screws ([0039]), whereby the bushing (Fig. 4, ref. 8) is disposed between the second plate and the guide shaft (See Annotated Figs. 4-5), thus reading on “a friction reducing member disposed between the second plate and the guide shaft” such that a bushing is at least a friction reducing member as evidenced by the instant specification (See [0053]).
With regards to claim 10, Rathmann further teaches an outer surface of the friction reducing member (i.e., bushing, Fig. 4, ref. 8) is coupled to the second plate (Fig. 4, ref. 4), and an inner surface of the friction reducing member is in contact with the guide shaft (See Annotated Figs. 4-5).
With regards to claim 11, Rathmann further teaches in the through holes each engage screws as parts of the clamping element (Figs. 4-5, refs. 5-5a), whereby in the head region of the through holes of the pressure plate (ref. 4), a plate spring (ref. 10) is also arranged in each case ([0040], See Annotated Fig. 5), thus reading on “the clamping member further includes a stopper disposed at an end portion of the guide shaft, and the elastic member is disposed between the stopper and the second plate” such that the stopper is at least a top portion of the clamping element (Figs. 4-5, refs 5 and 5a).
Rathmann further teaches the bushings (Figs. 4-5, ref. 8) may be used to protect the stack of sensitive electrode foils to be fixed in position between the two plates (Figs. 4-5, refs. 3-4) ([0039]). Rathmann further teaches the plate spring (Fig. 5, ref. 10) can serve to avoid an excessive force acting on the electrode foils to be arranged therebetween and to observe a predefined distance between the plates (Figs. 4-5, refs. 3-4) ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further with the teachings of Rathmann, whereby the clamping member as disclosed by the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further includes the guide shaft, elastic member, friction reducing member, stopper, etc., as taught by Rathmann so as to protect the stack of sensitive electrode foils, as well as avoid an excessive force acting on the electrode foils to be arranged therebetween.
Annotated Fig. 5 (Rathmann)
Annotated Figure 4 (Rathmann)
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses the battery cell and first and second plates as discussed above claim 1. However, Cheng is silent as to a buffer pad disposed in at least one of a space between the first plate and the battery cell and between the second plate and the battery cell and a space, wherein the buffer pad is disposed to be in contact with the battery cell.
The combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 1. Cheng further discloses the pressing plate (ref. 3285) includes a pressing plate body (ref. 328d) and an elastic pad (ref. 328e), the pressing plate body (ref. 328d) is connected to the first guide post (ref. 3283), and the elastic pad (ref. 328e) is arranged on the side of the pressing plate body (ref. 328d) away from the first guiding post (ref. 3283), so that the portion where the pressing plate (ref. 3285) abuts on the battery cell has better elasticity and cushioning, which reduces the probability of the pressing plate (ref. 3285) crushing the battery cell, whereby the elastic cushion layer 328e is an elastic adhesive layer ([0053]), thus reading on “the buffer pad is disposed to be in contact with the battery cell” such that an elastic cushion layer is at least a buffer pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further with the teachings of Cheng, whereby the apparatus for manufacturing a battery cell including the first and second plates and elastic cushion layer (i.e., at least buffer pad) as disclosed by the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further include that the elastic cushion layer (i.e., at least buffer pad) as taught by Cheng is disposed in at least one of spaces between the first plate and the battery cell and between the second plate and the battery cell so that the portion where the pressing plate abuts on the battery cell has better elasticity and cushioning, which reduces the probability of the pressing plate crushing the battery cell.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng discloses the apparatus including the carrier, the first and second plates and the folding device (i.e., bending assembly(s)) as discussed above in claim 14.
However, Cheng is silent as to the protection member is disposed on at least one side of the battery cell.
The combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 14. The combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan disclose the apparatus including the protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate as discussed above in claim 1.
Tan further teaches the protection member is disposed on at least one side of the battery cell (See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1).
Tan further teaches in [0007] a buffer mechanism for positioning and protecting the battery cell is also provided between the base plate and the top cover of the clamp, whereby the buffer mechanism has telescopic properties, which can prevent the battery cell from being damaged by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and at the same time, the elastic force generated when it telescopically extends and retracts can press and position the battery cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further with the teachings of Tan, whereby the apparatus including the first and second plates as disclosed by the combined teachings of Cheng and Rathmann and Li and Tan further includes the protection member is disposed on at least one side of the battery cell as taught by Tan so as to prevent the battery cell from being damaged by the rigid connection of the turnover jig, and at the same time, the elastic force generated when it telescopically extends and retracts can press and position the battery cell.
Regarding claim 17, Cheng discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery cell having a body part (i.e., battery core, [0010], [0052], [0061]) and sealing part (i.e., at least heat sealing component, Figs. 13-15, ref. 330, [0057]).
Cheng further teaches in [0044] the heat-sealing mechanism ref. 1100 is used for sealing and ironing the corners of the double-folded battery cells, etc., which at least provides a sealing portion extending from the body portion (i.e., at least sealed corners of said electric core, etc., as disclosed in [0071], also see [0004], [0046], [0049]), such that said sealing portion at least extend from the said body portion (i.e., at least battery core is at least a body portion, [0010], [0052], [0061]) and sealing part (i.e., at least heat sealing component, Figs. 13-15, ref. 330, [0057]), such that body and/or sealing portion(s) are broad in scope, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Cheng further discloses the apparatus comprising:
a carrier (i.e., conveying device, Fig. 1, ref. 200, [0017]) for transporting a battery cell from a first worktable to a second worktable (See Annotated Fig. 1 below, for example, conveying from ref. 600 voltage measuring mechanism to clamping adjustment mechanism ref. 297, trimming device ref. 800, etc., Fig. 1, [0017], [0044]),
wherein the carrier (i.e., conveying device) includes:
a first plate (i.e., first clamping plate, Fig. 4, ref. 2978) and a second plate (i.e., second clamping plate, Fig. 4, ref. 2979, [0033]).
Cheng further discloses the power output direction of the second driving source (i.e., clamping member, Fig. 4, ref. 2977) is opposite to the power output direction of the first driving source (i.e., clamping member, Fig. 4, ref. 2976), so that the first clamping plate (Fig. 4, ref. 2978) and the second clamping plate (Fig. 4, ref. 2979) approach or move away from each other to loosen or clamp the battery cell ([0033], [0035]), thus reading on “pressing the first plate and the second plate against each other for securely fixing the battery cell inside the carrier” so as to clamp the battery cell.
Cheng further discloses a position alignment part (i.e., calibration assembly with scale and alignment bar, [0042]), whereby the scale is connected to the first clamping block (i.e., at least first plate) and the alignment bar is connected to the second clamping block (i.e., at least second plate) ([0041]-[0042]), which at least reads on “formed in at least one of the first plate and the second plate” such that the position alignment part is at least formed in at least one of the first clamping block (i.e., at least first plate) and/or second clamping block (i.e., second plate) so as to be connected.
Cheng further discloses when the first clamping block abuts against a second clamping block, the alignment bar corresponds to the 0 scale line on the scale ([0042]), which at least reads on “aligning a position of at least one of the first plate and the second plate with respect to the second worktable” such that the clamping adjust mechanism (ref. 297), the trimming device (ref. 800), the double folding device (ref. 900) and the heat sealing mechanism (ref. 110) are sequentially arranged along the extending direction of the connecting guide rail (ref. 201a), so that the battery cells can be sequentially transported to the trimming device (ref. 800), the double folding device (ref. 900) (i.e., worktable), etc., ([0044]).
Cheng further discloses the first hemming mechanism (Figs. 3 and 5, ref. 950) includes a first bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 952) and a second bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 954), the first bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 952) and the second bending assembly (Fig. 5, ref. 954) are arranged side by side a folding device (i.e., at least bending device, refs. 952 and 954, [0022], See Annotated Fig. 5), which at least provides said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is disposed side by side with the carrier (i.e., at least conveying device, ref. 200 as discussed above in claim 1) in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 2), such that the component (ref. 952) is used to bend the first side of the cell to 90°, and the second bending component (ref. 954) is used to bend the first side of the cell to 180° to fold the first of the cell twice edge processing, etc. ([0022]), thereby providing that said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is for bending the at least portion of the casing of the battery cell (e.g., at least first side of cell) which protrudes in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction), such that the portion of the casing (i.e., at least first side of cell) at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, for example.
Since Cheng discloses that said folding device (i.e., at least bending device(s)) is for bending the at least portion of the casing of the battery cell (e.g., at least first side of cell) which protrudes in the second direction (i.e., at least Y-direction), such that the portion of the casing (i.e., at least first side of cell) at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, for example, as discussed above, and Cheng further discloses in [0044] the fine sealing mechanism ref. 500 is used to perform fine sealing on the battery cells with cut off burrs, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that this at least provides the portion of the sealing portion protrudes in a second direction perpendicular direction, beyond edges of the first plate and the second plate (i.e., at least first side of cell), such that said portion(s)at least extends outward of the first and the second plates so as to bend the first side of the cell, cut, seal, etc., for example.
However, Cheng is silent as to at least one buffer pad attached to at least one of the first plate and the second plate. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the carrier with the at least one buffer pad being direct contact with the battery cell. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the position alignment part includes: a first alignment recess formed in one side surface of the first plate; and a second alignment recess formed in another side surface of the first plate that is opposite to the one surface of the first plate. Furthermore Cheng is silent as to a first alignment member having an end portion inserted into the first alignment recess; and a second alignment member having an end portion inserted into the second alignment recess. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the carrier is adjusted with the first alignment member. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the carrier further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body part in the first direction.
Cheng further discloses in [0053] the pressing plate (ref. 3285) includes a pressing plate body (ref. 328d) and an elastic pad (ref. 328e), the pressing plate body (ref. 328d) is connected to the first guide post (ref. 3283), and the elastic pad (ref. 328e) is arranged on the side of the pressing plate body (ref. 328d) away from the first guiding post (ref. 3283), so that the portion where the pressing plate (ref. 3285) abuts on the battery cell has better elasticity and cushioning, which reduces the probability of the pressing plate (ref. 3285) crushing the battery cell, whereby the elastic cushion layer 328e is an elastic adhesive layer ([0053]), thus reading on “at least one buffer pad being direct contact with the battery cell” such that an elastic cushion layer is at least a buffer pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified the apparatus for manufacturing a battery cell including the first and second plates and elastic cushion layer (i.e., at least buffer pad) as disclosed by Cheng, so that the elastic cushion layer (i.e., at least buffer pad) is attached to at least one of the first plate and the second plate so that the portion where the pressing plate abuts on the battery cell has better elasticity and cushioning, which reduces the probability of the pressing plate crushing the battery cell.
Furthermore, as discussed above, Cheng is silent as to the position alignment part includes: a first alignment recess formed in one side surface of the first plate; and a second alignment recess formed in another side surface of the first plate that is opposite to the one surface of the first plate. Furthermore Cheng is silent as to a first alignment member having an end portion inserted into the first alignment recess; and a second alignment member having an end portion inserted into the second alignment recess. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the carrier is adjusted with the first alignment member. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the carrier further includes a protection member disposed between the first plate and the second plate. Furthermore, Cheng is silent as to the protection member has a height in the first direction equal to or less than a thickness of the body part in the first direction.
Rathmann teaches a clamping system for the flexible production of lithium-ion batteries (Title), whereby the clamping system includes a base plate, a pressure plate, at least two clamping elements and a receiving region for receiving the stack between the base plate and the pressure plate (Abstract, [0009]). Rathmann further teaches a first alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) formed in one side surface of the first plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 3); and a second alignment recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) formed in another side surface of the first plate (e.g., Fig. 2, ref. 3) that is opposite to the one surface of the first plate (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1, [0036]). Rathmann further teaches in correspondence with those of the base plate, recess (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) are formed as U-shaped sections, whereby recesses (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) are used for affixing stack fasteners, for example, tapes ([0037], also see [0025], ), which at least provides a first alignment member having an end portion inserted into the first alignment recess; and a second alignment member having an end portion inserted into the second alignment recess, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that stack fasteners (e.g., tapes) provided in recesses (i.e., at least provided in first and/or second alignment recesses) as discussed above are at least first and second alignment member(s) having end portion(s) so as to fix said stack, lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said alignment member(s) as claimed. Rathmann further teaches recesses (Figs. 1-2, ref. 9) in edge regions of the short sides may be used as a reference and as points of application for positioning the clamping system in the manufacturing apparatuses ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvio