DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues, “Applicant's respectfully submit that Lin is not actually "silent" on this subject, but rather teaches a POSITA not to eliminate recognizing an AR marker or bar code if Lin's objectives are to be achieved.” “Applicant's respectfully submit that Lin is not actually "silent" on this subject, but rather teaches a POSITA not to eliminate recognizing an AR marker or bar code if Lin's objectives are to be achieved. In particular, Lin teaches using such a marker to convey dynamic or static machine or machine sensor values to the display device: As disclosed above, active machine-readable indicia can encode a plurality of machine-readable values. In particular, this can be useful when a sensor for the associated machine detects a fault. In such a circumstance, the machine-readable indicia can activate (from displaying nothing to displaying a value) or change from displaying an "operating correctly" value to displaying a "fault condition" value. Alternatively (or in addition), active machine- readable indicia can continuously update to display dat received from one or more sensors for the associated machine. [0030] By contrast, an active machine readable indicium can display a plurality of encoded values. For example, an electrophoretic (such as e-ink) can be used to display an arbitrary image such as a machine-readable indicium. [0029] Furthermore, even in embodiments where the machine sensor data is communicated in other ways, the machine readable indicia is used to determine which machine's sensors to associate sensor data with: Once the set of machine-readable indicia present in the scene has been identified, processing can proceed to step 406, where data from the sensors associated with each identified machine-readable indicium is retrieved and processed. [0043] As shown in Figure 3, the three machines could be identical; and without the marker or bar code, Lin's system would be unable to know which sensor output to display near which machine, which would defeat the entire point of Lin's machine labelling:”. (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 7, )
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier is recognizing printed indicia using markerless tracking. Recognizing the printed indicia would allow for the system to determine where to place the overlays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Lin in view of Border with the markerless tracking techniques of Letellier such that the augmentation could occur without materially altering printed material and disturbing the layout and design.
The applicant argues, “The office action provides no explanation of why a POSITA would have declined to implement the key machine indicia feature of Lin’s system with resulting functionality loss”.(See Applicant’s Remarks, page 8)
The examiner respectfully disagrees that there would be functionality loss as detailed above. The combination of Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier is recognizing printed indicia using markerless tracking. Recognizing the printed indicia would allow for the system to determine where to place the overlays.
The applicant argues, “However, this contention does not explain how Letellier's "markerless tracking" technology could be used to distinguish between the three identical three-dimensional machines Lin shows in Figure 3.” (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 9)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier is recognizing printed indicia using markerless tracking. Recognizing the printed indicia would allow for the system to determine where to place the overlays.
The applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits a POSITA would not have looked to Border to modify Lin, but would instead have implemented Lin as-is without using Border's "visual cue" technique. The Office Action apparently agrees: Lin in view of Border is silent to recognizing without recognizing any AR marker or bar code but relies on Letellier for the missing teaching.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Lin in view of Border teaches a flat label object with printed indicia. Lin and Border are analogous since both of them are dealing with viewing object in the augmented reality environment. Lin provided a way of identify and superimposing portion of object based on the identified indicia. Border provided an augmented reality with restricted region of object based on user permission and overlay onto user field of view in the environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made combine the system of Lin with the security checking and measurement techniques of Border such that when using the augmented reality device, system will be able to use identified security feature and dynamically adjust the display content accordingly. The combination of Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier is recognizing printed indicia using markerless tracking. Recognizing the printed indicia would allow for the system to determine where to place the overlays.
The applicant argues “applicant still respectfully points out that this leads away from combining Lin with Letellier since the resulting system would not be suitable for Lin's goal of distinguishing between different manufacturing machines on a factory floor.” (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 10)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier is recognizing printed indicia using markerless tracking. Recognizing the printed indicia would allow for the system to determine where to place the overlays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Lin in view of Border with the markerless tracking techniques of Letellier such that the augmentation could occur without materially altering printed material and disturbing the layout and design.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2018/0253876)(Hereinafter referred to as Lin) in view of Border et al. (US 2013/0278631)(Hereinafter referred to as Border) in view of Letellier et al. (“PROVIDING ADITTIONAL COTENT TO PRINT MEDIA USING AUGMENTED REALITY”, IEEE, 2017)(Hereinafter referred to as Letellier).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches A method of presenting information to a user wearing eyeglass frames (Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400), the method comprising:
enabling capture by a portable camera carried by eyeglass frames (Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4)( Accordingly, technician 202 may be equipped with a head-mounted display (HMD) 220. In some embodiments, head-mounted display may be an optical HMD (also known as an optical see-through HMD) which overlays projected imagery on a partially transparent lens. See paragraph [0025]),
of a captured image of an object having indicia disposed thereon (see Lin, fig. 4 step 402);
recognizing, with a processor carried by the eyeglass frames (see Lin, fig. 4 step 404)( Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4),
matching the recognized indicia from the captured image with a record in a database (see Lin, fig. 4 step 406)( In other embodiments, all sensors communicate their data to a central controller and the data from the relevant sensors is retrieved from the central controller. See paragraph [0043]);
selecting a media item in response to the matching (see Lin, fig. 4 step 408); and
automatically superimposing a selected interactive media item onto an electronic display by the eyeglass frames of the captured image or an image derived therefrom such that the selected interactive media item appears to a user looking through the eyeglass frames to be anchored to the flat label object from different eyeglass frame viewpoints relative to the object (As user moves had or position slightly overlay is still positioned in proximity to the object)(See Lin, fig. 4 step 410)( Processing then proceeds to step 410 where the generated display for each recognized machine-readable indicium is overlain on the display in proximity to the associated indicium or sensor. See paragraph [0046]), but is silent to a flat label object with printed indicia and recognizing without requiring recognition of an AR marker, bar code or other identification marker.
However, Border teaches a flat label object with printed indicia at ([0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.)
Lin and Border are analogous since both of them are dealing with viewing object in the augmented reality environment. Lin provided a way of identify and superimposing portion of object based on the identified indicia. Border provided an augmented reality with restricted region of object based on user permission and overlay onto user field of view in the environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made combine the system of Lin with the security checking and measurement techniques of Border such that when using the augmented reality device, system will be able to use identified security feature and dynamically adjust the display content accordingly.
Lin in view of Border is silent to recognizing without requiring recognition of an AR marker, bar code or other identification marker.
Letellier teaches a markerless tracking augmented reality technique for print media (Our approach is to provide a variety of additional content to users of the seasonal magazine for the Konzerthaus Berlin. In order to not disturb the layout and design of the magazine, markerless tracking was used. See page 180, right col., first paragraph).
Lin in view of Border and Letellier teach of augmented reality presentation of material and Letellier teaches that by utilizing markerless tracking the system can avoid disturbing the layout and design of the magazine, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Lin in view of Border with the markerless tracking techniques of Letellier such that the augmentation could occur without materially altering printed material and disturbing the layout and design.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the superimposing comprises using at least one of augmented reality, mixed reality and virtual reality (Lin; See [0003] discloses a system for providing an augmented reality interface for sensor applications.) (Letellier; Our approach is to provide a variety of additional content to users of the seasonal magazine for the Konzerthaus Berlin. In order to not disturb the layout and design of the magazine, markerless tracking was used. See page 180, right col., first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the recognizing comprises recognizing a two-dimensional label object with print on it (Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the label object has indicia printed thereon, and the recognizing comprises recognizing at least some of the printed indicia ( Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 4 wherein the recognizing includes recognizing characters printed on the label object ( Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 5 wherein the label object comprises a patch of printed material attached to an associated item (Border; See [0692] discloses the viewed text is on a sign, a printed document, book, a road sign, a billboard, a menu, and the like.).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 6 wherein the selected media item comprises a digital overlay that leads to specific action selected from the group consisting of providing specific information; a video, tutorial, or any kind of displayable content (Lin; For example, HMD 220 could be a smartphone configured to capture imagery from a camera on one side and display augmented imagery on the display on the opposite side. See paragraph [0025]) (Border; See [0771] discloses the user may designate a feature for holding the overlay content by interacting with a user interface of the eyepiece. In embodiments, the overlay may present the content on or in proximity to the recognized feature, and further embodiments, the recognized feature may be at least one of an item for purchase, an item on sale, a sign, an advertisement, an aisle, a location in a store, a kiosk, a service counter, a cash register, a television, a screen, shipping cart, and the like.)( Border; The elements described and depicted herein, including in flow charts and block diagrams throughout the figures, imply logical boundaries between the elements. However, according to software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementations may be within the scope of the present disclosure. Examples of such machines may include, but may not be limited to, personal digital assistants, laptops, personal computers, mobile phones, other handheld computing devices, medical equipment, wired or wireless communication devices, transducers, chips, calculators, satellites, tablet PCs, electronic books, gadgets, electronic devices, devices having artificial intelligence, computing devices, networking equipment, servers, routers and the like. Furthermore, the elements depicted in the flow chart and block diagrams or any other logical component may be implemented on a machine capable of executing program instructions. Thus, while the foregoing drawings and descriptions set forth functional aspects of the disclosed systems, no particular arrangement of software for implementing these functional aspects should be inferred from these descriptions unless explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. Similarly, it will be appreciated that the various steps identified and described above may be varied, and that the order of steps may be adapted to particular applications of the techniques disclosed herein. All such variations and modifications are intended to fall within the scope of this disclosure. As such, the depiction and/or description of an order for various steps should not be understood to require a particular order of execution for those steps, unless required by a particular application, or explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. See paragraph [01292]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the superimposing is performed on a handheld display device (Lin; For example, HMD 220 could be a smartphone configured to capture imagery from a camera on one side and display augmented imagery on the display on the opposite side. See paragraph [0025]) ( Border; The elements described and depicted herein, including in flow charts and block diagrams throughout the figures, imply logical boundaries between the elements. However, according to software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementations may be within the scope of the present disclosure. Examples of such machines may include, but may not be limited to, personal digital assistants, laptops, personal computers, mobile phones, other handheld computing devices, medical equipment, wired or wireless communication devices, transducers, chips, calculators, satellites, tablet PCs, electronic books, gadgets, electronic devices, devices having artificial intelligence, computing devices, networking equipment, servers, routers and the like. Furthermore, the elements depicted in the flow chart and block diagrams or any other logical component may be implemented on a machine capable of executing program instructions. Thus, while the foregoing drawings and descriptions set forth functional aspects of the disclosed systems, no particular arrangement of software for implementing these functional aspects should be inferred from these descriptions unless explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. Similarly, it will be appreciated that the various steps identified and described above may be varied, and that the order of steps may be adapted to particular applications of the techniques disclosed herein. All such variations and modifications are intended to fall within the scope of this disclosure. As such, the depiction and/or description of an order for various steps should not be understood to require a particular order of execution for those steps, unless required by a particular application, or explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. See paragraph [01292]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the selected media item comprises a call button (Border; See [0699] discloses the screen of the augmented reality glasses may display a list of options for making the call and the user may gesture using a pointing control device or use any other control technique described herein to select the video calling option on the screen of the augmented reality glasses.).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The method of claim 1 further including displaying any or all of the following action buttons in any combination or subcombination: Price Tag, Photo Gallery, Videos, Description, Call, Mail, Shop link, Explanation, Intro, Social Media links, Map, Discount Codes, Reviews, Tutorials, Directions, Test drives, Booking opportunities (Border; See [0723] discloses the eyepiece may provide for an interface to accept wireless streaming media (e.g. video, audio, text messaging, phone call and calendar alerts) from an external facility, such as a smart phone, a tablet, a personal computer, an entertainment device, a portable music and video device, a home theater system, a home entertainment system, another eyepiece, and the like.).
Regarding claim 11, Lin teaches A system for presenting information to a user wearing eyeglass frames (Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4)( Accordingly, technician 202 may be equipped with a head-mounted display (HMD) 220. In some embodiments, head-mounted display may be an optical HMD (also known as an optical see-through HMD) which overlays projected imagery on a partially transparent lens. See paragraph [0025]), comprising:
a portable camera disposed on the eyeglass frames and configured to capture an image (Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4)( Accordingly, technician 202 may be equipped with a head-mounted display (HMD) 220. In some embodiments, head-mounted display may be an optical HMD (also known as an optical see-through HMD) which overlays projected imagery on a partially transparent lens. See paragraph [0025]) of an object having indicia disposed thereon (see Lin, fig. 4 step 402); and at least one processor connected to the portable camera, disposed on the eyeglass frames and configured to perform operations ( Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4) (see Lin, fig. 4 step 406)( In other embodiments, all sensors communicate their data to a central controller and the data from the relevant sensors is retrieved from the central controller. See paragraph [0043]);comprising:
recognizing the indicia from the captured image (see Lin, fig. 4 step 404) ( Turning now to FIG. 4, a flowchart illustrating the operation of a method in accordance with embodiments of the invention is depicted and referred to generally by reference numeral 400. The method begins at a step 402 where raw imagery from one or more cameras on HMD 220 for technician 202 is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments where multiple cameras are present, imagery from only a single camera is retrieved for processing. In some embodiments, camera imagery is processed on a processor of HMD 220. In other embodiments, HMD 220 transmits the imagery from the camera(s) to another computer (such as, for example, central controller 210) for processing. See paragraph [0036] figure 4);
matching the recognized object with a record in a database in response to the recognizing (see Lin, fig. 4 step 406)( In other embodiments, all sensors communicate their data to a central controller and the data from the relevant sensors is retrieved from the central controller. See paragraph [0043]); selecting a media item in response to the matching (see Lin, fig. 4 step 408); and
automatically superimposing a selected interactive media item onto an electronic display of the captured image or an image derived therefrom such that the selected interactive media item appears to a user looking through the eyeglass frames to be anchored to the object from different eyeglass frame viewpoints relative to the object, (As user moves had or position slightly overlay is still positioned in proximity to the object)(See Lin, fig. 4 step 410)( Processing then proceeds to step 410 where the generated display for each recognized machine-readable indicium is overlain on the display in proximity to the associated indicium or sensor. See paragraph [0046]), but is silent to a flat label object with printed indicia and recognizing without requiring recognition of an AR marker, bar code or other identification marker.
However, Border teaches a flat label object with printed indicia at ([0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.)
Lin and Border are analogous since both of them are dealing with viewing object in the augmented reality environment. Lin provided a way of identify and superimposing portion of object based on the identified indicia. Border provided an augmented reality with restricted region of object based on user permission and overlay onto user field of view in the environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made combine the system of Lin with the security checking and measurement techniques of Border such that when using the augmented reality device, system will be able to use identified security feature and dynamically adjust the display content accordingly.
Lin in view of Border is silent to recognizing without requiring recognition of an AR marker, bar code or other identification marker.
Letellier teaches a markerless tracking augmented reality technique for print media (Our approach is to provide a variety of additional content to users of the seasonal magazine for the Konzerthaus Berlin. In order to not disturb the layout and design of the magazine, markerless tracking was used. See page 180, right col., first paragraph).
Lin in view of Border and Letellier teach of augmented reality presentation of material and Letellier teaches that by utilizing markerless tracking the system can avoid disturbing the layout and design of the magazine, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system of Lin in view of Border with the markerless tracking techniques of Letellier such that the augmentation could occur without materially altering printed material and disturbing the layout and design.
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the superimposing comprises using at least one of augmented reality, mixed reality and virtual reality (Lin; See [0003] discloses a system for providing an augmented reality interface for sensor applications.) (Letellier; Our approach is to provide a variety of additional content to users of the seasonal magazine for the Konzerthaus Berlin. In order to not disturb the layout and design of the magazine, markerless tracking was used. See page 180, right col., first paragraph).
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the recognition recognizing comprises recognizing a two-dimensional label object with print on it ( Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the label object has indicia printed thereon, and the recognizing comprises recognizing at least some of the printed indicia ( Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 14 wherein the recognizing includes recognizing characters printed on the label object ( Border; [0691-0692] specify the eyepiece may be commanded to display certain content based upon sensing a predetermined external visual cue. The visual cue may be an image, an icon, a picture, face recognition, a hand configuration, a body configuration, and the like. The eyepiece may include a visual recognition language translation facility for providing translations for visually presented content, such as for road signs, menus, billboards, store signs, books, magazines, and the like. The visual recognition language translation facility may utilize optical character recognition to identify letters from the content, match the strings of letters to words and phrases through a database of translations.).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 15 wherein the label object comprises a patch of printed material attached to an associated item (Border; See [0692] discloses the viewed text is on a sign, a printed document, book, a road sign, a billboard, a menu, and the like.).
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 16 wherein the selected media item comprises a digital overlay that leads to specific action selected from the group consisting of providing specific information; a video, tutorial, or any kind of displayable content (Lin; For example, HMD 220 could be a smartphone configured to capture imagery from a camera on one side and display augmented imagery on the display on the opposite side. See paragraph [0025]) (Border; See [0771] discloses the user may designate a feature for holding the overlay content by interacting with a user interface of the eyepiece. In embodiments, the overlay may present the content on or in proximity to the recognized feature, and further embodiments, the recognized feature may be at least one of an item for purchase, an item on sale, a sign, an advertisement, an aisle, a location in a store, a kiosk, a service counter, a cash register, a television, a screen, shipping cart, and the like.)( Border; The elements described and depicted herein, including in flow charts and block diagrams throughout the figures, imply logical boundaries between the elements. However, according to software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementations may be within the scope of the present disclosure. Examples of such machines may include, but may not be limited to, personal digital assistants, laptops, personal computers, mobile phones, other handheld computing devices, medical equipment, wired or wireless communication devices, transducers, chips, calculators, satellites, tablet PCs, electronic books, gadgets, electronic devices, devices having artificial intelligence, computing devices, networking equipment, servers, routers and the like. Furthermore, the elements depicted in the flow chart and block diagrams or any other logical component may be implemented on a machine capable of executing program instructions. Thus, while the foregoing drawings and descriptions set forth functional aspects of the disclosed systems, no particular arrangement of software for implementing these functional aspects should be inferred from these descriptions unless explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. Similarly, it will be appreciated that the various steps identified and described above may be varied, and that the order of steps may be adapted to particular applications of the techniques disclosed herein. All such variations and modifications are intended to fall within the scope of this disclosure. As such, the depiction and/or description of an order for various steps should not be understood to require a particular order of execution for those steps, unless required by a particular application, or explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. See paragraph [01292]).
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the superimposing is performed on a handheld display device (Lin; For example, HMD 220 could be a smartphone configured to capture imagery from a camera on one side and display augmented imagery on the display on the opposite side. See paragraph [0025]) ( Border; The elements described and depicted herein, including in flow charts and block diagrams throughout the figures, imply logical boundaries between the elements. However, according to software or hardware engineering practices, the depicted elements and the functions thereof may be implemented on machines through computer executable media having a processor capable of executing program instructions stored thereon as a monolithic software structure, as standalone software modules, or as modules that employ external routines, code, services, and so forth, or any combination of these, and all such implementations may be within the scope of the present disclosure. Examples of such machines may include, but may not be limited to, personal digital assistants, laptops, personal computers, mobile phones, other handheld computing devices, medical equipment, wired or wireless communication devices, transducers, chips, calculators, satellites, tablet PCs, electronic books, gadgets, electronic devices, devices having artificial intelligence, computing devices, networking equipment, servers, routers and the like. Furthermore, the elements depicted in the flow chart and block diagrams or any other logical component may be implemented on a machine capable of executing program instructions. Thus, while the foregoing drawings and descriptions set forth functional aspects of the disclosed systems, no particular arrangement of software for implementing these functional aspects should be inferred from these descriptions unless explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. Similarly, it will be appreciated that the various steps identified and described above may be varied, and that the order of steps may be adapted to particular applications of the techniques disclosed herein. All such variations and modifications are intended to fall within the scope of this disclosure. As such, the depiction and/or description of an order for various steps should not be understood to require a particular order of execution for those steps, unless required by a particular application, or explicitly stated or otherwise clear from the context. See paragraph [01292]).
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 wherein the selected media item comprises a call button (Border; See [0699] discloses the screen of the augmented reality glasses may display a list of options for making the call and the user may gesture using a pointing control device or use any other control technique described herein to select the video calling option on the screen of the augmented reality glasses.).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Border in view of Letellier teaches The system of claim 11 further including displaying any or all of the following action buttons in any combination or subcombination: Price Tag, Photo Gallery, Videos, Description, Call, Mail, Shop link, Explanation, Intro, Social Media links, Map, Discount Codes, Reviews, Tutorials, Directions, Test drives, Booking opportunities (Border; See [0723] discloses the eyepiece may provide for an interface to accept wireless streaming media (e.g. video, audio, text messaging, phone call and calendar alerts) from an external facility, such as a smart phone, a tablet, a personal computer, an entertainment device, a portable music and video device, a home theater system, a home entertainment system, another eyepiece, and the like.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (“Augmented Reality Instruction for Object Assembly based on Markerless Tracking”, IEEE, 2016), generally relates to instructions for assembly based on markerless tracking of objects, see figure 1.
Maidi et al. (“Markerless Tracking for Mobile Augmented Reality”, IEEE, 2011.), A method based local invariant descriptors is implemented to extract image feature points for natural fiducial identification. See abstract
/NICHOLAS R WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611