DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment on 09/02/2026. Claims 21-23 are pending. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is 03/08/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2009/0114041 to Harish (“Harish”)1, in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0091859 to Rosenberg et al. (“Rosenberg”), in further view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0153466 to Harish (“Harish2”).
With regard to claim 21 (and similarly claims 22-23), Harish discloses the claimed system including:
a plurality of sensors . . .2 (e.g. Harish Figs. 2-4, [0072] multiple sensor system to monitor inventory)
a first conductive surface and a second conductive surface . . . (e.g. Harish Fig. 6A, 604B 608B, etc.)
wherein . . . upper and lower surface (e.g. Harish, Fig. 6A, 604B 608B)
wherein the sensor includes a housing . . . groove . . . variable capacitor (e.g. Harish [0080-81] Fig. 6A groove 620B)
. . . comprises a contact zone . . . (e.g. Harish Fig. 5, [0073-75])
Wherein each of the sensors . . . (e.g. Harish [0022])
Wherein a deflection . . . (e.g. Harish [0013] [0024] [0078] etc.)
. . . are substantially parallel . . . (e.g. Harish [0026] [0084]
A sensor output circuit . . . (e.g. Harish [0090] [0122] [0157] etc.)
. . . a digitizer . . . (e.g. Harish [0090] [0122] [0157] etc.)
. . . to convert the digital value into a measurement of force . . . (e.g. Harish [0090] [0122] [0157] etc.)
Wherein the sensor output circuit further comprises . . . (e.g. Harish [0088-90] and [0120-122]; Harish does not disclose the claim language relating to the mathematical concept of, “including by subtracting a baseline waveform count corresponding to a no-load condition; Rosenberg teaches this mathematical concept. See Rosenberg at e.g. [0391-393] [0511] teaches that it would have been obvious to POSITA to include such subtracting a baseline value corresponding to a no-load condition. [0511] Software algorithms similar to those described for interpolating force-sensing sensors can be used to detect the baseline level for interpolating capacitive sensors to baseline away (subtract) the signal level when no touches are detected. This is a common mathematical concept that is used to form a no-weight condition, no pressure, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the sensor art before the effective filing date to modify Harish’s sensor system to include such baseline mathematical concept, as shown in Rosenberg, for the following reasons explicitly stated in Rosenberg: The advantage of the baseline subtraction, as shown in Rosenberg [0392] “The purpose of the baseline subtraction step is to eliminate areas of non-zero pressure which may be caused by imperfections in the sensor, imperfections in device assembly, or persistent pressure points, such as if an object were resting on the sensor.” Rosenberg at [0393] further advantages of such mathematical concept.)
A data processing device . . . (e.g. Harish [0056])
Receiving . . . the output signal . . . (e.g. Harish [0063], [0107-110])
Determining a level . . . (e.g Harish [0134] etc.)
. . . to execute drift correction and tilt correction . . . (Harish does not disclose this limitation. Harish2 teaches this limitation at e.g. [0012] [0042] [0060] published claims 16-17. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the inventory management art before the effective filing date to modify Harish’s inventory system to include such tilt/drift corrections, as shown in Harish2, as this provides the added benefit of “enabl[ing] the sensor unit to generate accurate signals based on weight of the inventory item.” Harish2, [0012])
Wherein each sensor comprises a communication interface . . . (e.g. Harish [0056] [0066] [0069])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the effective filing date. Applicant argues that a substantially portion of the claimed subject matter was disclosed prior to the CIP, so therefore the data should be the earlier date. The examiner respectfully disagrees. See Harish above, where it does not disclose/teach everything in the claimed subject matter.
Applicant argues that the position on Rosenberg needs reconsideration. The examiner has reconsidered the combination and maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as indicated above.
Based on the amendments, the examiner has withdrawn the previously-made rejections under 35 USC 112.
Conclusion
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
1 This reference applies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1). See Publication date of May 7, 2009. The effective filing date of the claimed invention is at least 03/08/2022.
2 The examiner notes that the whole claim and all claim limitations have been taken into account.