DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/15/2025 has been entered. Claim 11 has been cancelled. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 8/13/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 15 recites “an external chamber comprising a fan and configured to provide a vented enclosure for electronics of the residential power supply system” in lines 4-5. While the “electronics of the residential power supply system” do not necessarily lack antecedent basis, since the electronics are not positively recited, the antecedent basis for the electronics is slightly unclear. It is respectfully suggested to add a limitation that positively recites the electronics to claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla et al. (US 2019/0006650, hereinafter “Bryla”) in view of Hermann et al. (US 2016/0218336, hereinafter “Hermann”) are withdrawn because Applicant amended claims 1, 15, and 17.
The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann, and further in view of Miler (US 2019/0157636, hereinafter “Miler”) is withdrawn because Applicant amended claim 1, upon which claim 4 depends.
The rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2014/0134470, hereinafter “Suzuki”) is withdrawn because Applicant amended claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends.
The rejection of claims 13 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann, and further in view of Itoi et al. (US 2012/0164490, hereinafter “Itoi”) is withdrawn because Applicant amended claim 1, upon which claims 13 and 14 depend.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann and Kim et al. (US 2022/0149449, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Bryla teaches an electrochemical cell housing (“apparatus”) comprising an interior chamber (“battery cell compartment”) [0015, “an electrochemical cell housing includes an enclosure with an interior chamber that is constructed and arranged to receive one or more electrochemical cells”]. Bryla teaches that when gases (“heat flow”) from the interior chamber escape the interior chamber, the gases go through a flow restriction and then out of the housing [0015, “the gas may flow from the interior chamber of the enclosure through at least one or more flow restrictions prior to flowing out of an outlet formed in the enclosure”]. Bryla further teaches that when gas is emitted from the electrochemical cells in the interior chamber it is directed through a first flow path (10a) and flow restriction [0043, Fig. 2]. Bryla teaches that the flow restriction can be located at any point in the first flow path [0031]. The first flow path is also directed towards a safety vent (20a) [0044, Fig. 2]. Bryla also teaches a battery chamber wall with a vent, separating the interior chamber (6) and a first flow path (10a) from a second flow path (10b) (“external chamber”) [Fig. 2, structure located between 10a and 10b with vent 20a]. Bryla does not specifically teach a quenching chamber configured to direct the heat flow from the interior chamber to a vent or a fan housed in the second flow path, nor does Bryla specifically teach an aperture arranged at a side of the interior chamber.
Hermann teaches analogous art of a battery pack comprising a flow channel (“quenching chamber”) that directs venting material (“heat flow”) from a battery cell experiencing a fault condition in such a way where the venting material can expand before exiting the battery pack [Abstract]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel is configured to direct the venting material from the battery cells to a housing port (“vent”) [Fig.4, 0024, “Gasses and other materials that get vented out of the battery cells 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 in the event of a fault expand into the vent and flow channels 418, 420, 422, 424, and can exit out of housing ports 448, 450”]. The flow channel is configured to extinguish a flame present in the vented material before the vented material reaches the vent [0019, “The volume of the flow channel allows expansion of the vented material, thereby cooling the vented material”]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel can extend along the side of the battery cells [Fig. 3, 0021, “the vent channels 313, 315 and flow channels 318, 320 form a contiguous volume around three sides of the battery cells 308”]. Furthermore, Hermann teaches that the vented material escapes from the battery cells through a pressure vent (“aperture”) arranged on the battery cells [0019, “Upon a battery cell 202, 204 experiencing a fault condition and venting, the hot material will escape through the pressure vent 206 or 208 into a respective vent channel 207, 213, and continue along the respective contiguous flow channel 218, 220”].
Hermann discloses that by directing the vented material through a flow channel which allows the vented material to expand, therefore reducing the temperature, the risk of damage to objects or people near the battery is reduced [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses, therefore reduce the risk damage to nearby objects or injury to users”]. Hermann further teaches that the pressure vent on the battery cells is designed to open at pressures much higher than ordinary use [0016, “The pressure threshold at which the pressure vent 102 is designed to open is selected to be higher than typical pressures experienced by ordinary use”]. The use of a pressure vent to direct the vented material into the flow channel prevents the battery cells from continuously giving off gases into the housing and its surroundings, thereby improving the safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of Bryla to include the flow channel taught by Hermann along the side of the interior chamber, in order to allow the gases to expand and reduce their temperature thereby reducing the risk of damage to people or objects nearby. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of Bryla to include a pressure vent, as taught by Hermann, on the side of the interior chamber in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Kim teaches analogous art of an energy storage system comprising a battery rack and a cooling device configured to cool battery cells in the battery rack [0016, “ an energy storage system including: a battery rack; a cooling device configured to cool battery cells included in the battery rack”]. Kim teaches cooling passages (510) and flame passages (610) that allow for a cooling fluid and for the flames or gas generated by the battery cells, respectively, to flow through the battery rack to the outside [0075, Figs. 5-6]. Kim further teaches that the battery rack may include cooling fans (440) on the upper side of the battery modules stacked in the battery rack [0082, “the cooling fans 440 may be located on an upper side of the plurality of stacked battery modules”]. Fig. 4 shows the cooling fans disposed in an area above the battery modules.
Kim teaches that the cooling fans may be used to radiate heat from the battery modules to the outside of the battery rack [0083]. Bryla teaches that it is desirable to reduce the heat or high temperatures inside an assembly of electrochemical cells to prevent thermal runaway [0013, “In applications where multiple assemblies of electrochemical cells are used, these gases and/or flames may cause heating and subsequent thermal runaway of the other electrochemical cells”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second flow path, or external chamber, taught by Bryla to include cooling fans as taught by Kim, in order to radiate the heat from the interior chamber, or battery cell compartment, to the outside of the housing. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the cooling fans to be located in the area of the housing closest to the outlet in order to ensure the desired cooling (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Bryla is silent regarding the inclusion of baffles. Hermann teaches that the flow channels may further include baffle walls [Fig. 4, “a battery pack 400 having baffle walls in a flow channel”].
Hermann teaches that the baffle walls act to slow the escape of gases out of the battery pack and prevent any solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024, “The baffle walls 438 act to slow the escape of gasses out of the battery pack 400, and block solid material ejected from a venting battery cell so as to prevent solid matter from leaving the battery pack or potentially block a housing port”], which would improve the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to include baffle walls in the flow channel in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 3, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as described in the rejection for instant claim 2. Hermann teaches that the baffle walls are placed on alternating sides of the flow channel and extend part-way across the channel [0024, “The baffle walls 438 alternate sides of the flow channels 418, 420 along the lengths of the flow channels 418, 420, and extend part-way across the flow channels”]. Although Hermann does not specifically state that the baffle walls define an undulating flow path through the flow channel, the alternating placement of the baffle walls would necessitate an undulating path around the walls, rather than a straight one.
As mentioned previously, Hermann teaches that the baffle walls slow the escaping gases and prevent solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024], which improves the safety of the battery pack. Having an undulating flow path in the flow channel would slow the gases down even more, further improving the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to include an undulating flow path in the flow channel, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 5, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 2, as described in the rejection for instant claim 2. Hermann teaches that the flow channels may include a plurality of baffle walls (“plurality of obstructions”) [Fig. 4, 0024, “The housing is further configured to include a plurality of baffle walls”].
As mentioned previously, Hermann teaches that the baffle walls slow the escaping gases and prevent solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024], which improves the safety of the battery pack. Having a plurality of baffle walls would slow the gases down even more, further improving the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to include a plurality of baffle walls in the flow channel, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Hermann teaches that the housing port to which the flow channel leads is a pressure relief valve comprising a mechanical sealed vent mechanism (“movable valve member”) configured to move in response to an internal pressure of the quenching chamber exceeding a threshold pressure [0019, “the housing vents … can be mechanical sealed vent mechanisms that open upon pressure in the respective flow channel 218, 220 exceeding a pressure threshold”]. The terms “housing vents” and “housing ports” are taken to be interchangeable [0025, “housing vents 506, 508”, “housing ports 506, 508”].
Hermann that the pressure threshold of the housing ports may be lower than the pressure threshold of the battery cells [0019, “The housing vents can simply be openings in the housing wall 216, or they can be mechanical sealed vent mechanisms that open upon pressure in the respective flow channel 218, 220 exceeding a pressure threshold (which is lower than the pressure threshold of the battery cell pressure vents 206, 208)”]. If the gases expelled by the battery cells cool down enough through the expansion provided by the flow channels, thereby reducing the pressure, the housing ports may not need to open, which prevents unwanted gases and other vented material from continuously being expelled onto nearby objects or people, improving the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to include a pressure relief valve which the flow channel directs gases to, as taught by Hermann, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Hermann teaches that the flow channel is configured to dissipate the temperature of the gases as the gases travel to the housing ports [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses”].
Hermann discloses that by directing the vented material through a flow channel which allows the vented material to expand, therefore reducing the temperature, the risk of damage to objects or people near the battery is reduced [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses, therefore reduce the risk damage to nearby objects or injury to users”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of modified Bryla to include the flow channel configured to allow the gases to expand and reduce their temperature as taught by Hermann, in order to reduce the risk of damage to people or objects nearby.
Regarding claim 9, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Hermann teaches that the flow channel defines an enclosed volume configured to allow expansion of the gases [0019, “The volume of the flow channel allows expansion of the vented material, thereby cooling the vented material”].
Hermann discloses that by directing the vented material through a flow channel with an enclosed volume which allows the vented material to expand, the temperature of the vented material is reduced, thereby reducing the risk of damage to objects or people near the battery [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses, therefore reduce the risk damage to nearby objects or injury to users”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of modified Bryla to include the flow channel defining an enclosed volume configured to allow the gases to expand and reduce their temperature as taught by Hermann, in order to reduce the risk of damage to people or objects nearby.
Regarding claim 10, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Hermann teaches that there may be a plurality of flow paths from a corresponding plurality of battery cell pressure vents into a flow channel [0019, “Upon a battery cell 202, 204 experiencing a fault condition and venting, the hot material will escape through the pressure vent 206 or 208 into a respective vent channel 207, 213, and continue along the respective contiguous flow channel, 0021, “in some embodiments the battery cells 202, 204 can share a common flow”].
Hermann teaches that by having multiple paths into the flow channel, the expansion volume of the gases is maximized [0020], which can improve the temperature dissipation effect of the flow channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of modified Bryla to include a plurality of flow paths from a corresponding plurality of pressure vents in the flow channel in order to maximize the expansion volume of the gases to provide a better temperature reduction effect.
Regarding claim 12, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Bryla does not specifically teach the apparatus being a residential battery module. While Hermann does not specifically teach a residential battery module, Hermann does teach that the battery packs can be electrically connected for larger applications such as electric vehicles and industrial applications [0026, “the battery pack 600 is intended to include a large number of battery cells electrically connected together for larger applications, such as electric vehicles and industrial applications”].
According to guidance issues by Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), the selection of a known material based on its suitability for an intended use is prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.07).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrochemical cell housing of modified Bryla a residential battery module, since the purpose of the apparatus of Bryla is to provide electrical power.
Regarding claim 17, Bryla teaches a method comprising directing gases (“heat flow”) from an interior chamber (“battery cell compartment”) with a plurality of electrochemical cells (“battery cells”) to the outside of the electrochemical cell enclosure [0015]. Bryla further teaches that when the gas is emitted from the electrochemical cells in the interior chamber it is goes through a first flow path (10a) and flow restriction [0043, Fig. 2]. The gas flows through the first flow path and is then directed towards a safety vent (20a) [0044, Fig. 2]. Bryla also teaches that the vent is in located on a battery chamber wall separating the interior chamber (6) and first flow path (10a) from a second flow path (10b) (“external chamber”) [Fig. 2, structure located between 10a and 10b with vent 20a]. Bryla does not specifically teach a quenching chamber configured to direct the heat flow from the interior chamber to a vent or exhausting the heat flow from the second flow path using a fan, nor does Bryla specifically teach an aperture arranged at a side of the interior chamber through which the heat flow is directed.
Hermann teaches analogous art of a method for directing venting material from a battery cell experiencing a fault condition into a flow channel (“quenching chamber”) in such a way that the material can expand before exiting the battery pack [Abstract]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel is configured to direct the venting material from the battery cells to a housing port (“vent”) [Fig.4, 0024, “Gasses and other materials that get vented out of the battery cells 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 in the event of a fault expand into the vent and flow channels 418, 420, 422, 424, and can exit out of housing ports 448, 450”]. The flow channel is configured to extinguish a flame present in the vented material before the vented material reaches the vent [0019, “The volume of the flow channel allows expansion of the vented material, thereby cooling the vented material”]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel can extend along the side of the battery cells [Fig. 3, 0021, “the vent channels 313, 315 and flow channels 318, 320 form a contiguous volume around three sides of the battery cells 308”]. Furthermore, Hermann teaches that the vented material escapes from the battery cells through a pressure vent (“aperture”) arranged on the battery cells [0019, “Upon a battery cell 202, 204 experiencing a fault condition and venting, the hot material will escape through the pressure vent 206 or 208 into a respective vent channel 207, 213, and continue along the respective contiguous flow channel 218, 220”].
Hermann discloses that by directing the vented material through a flow channel which allows the vented material to expand, therefore reducing the temperature, the risk of damage to objects or people near the battery is reduced [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses, therefore reduce the risk damage to nearby objects or injury to users”]. Hermann further teaches that the pressure vent on the battery cells is designed to open at pressures much higher than ordinary use [0016, “The pressure threshold at which the pressure vent 102 is designed to open is selected to be higher than typical pressures experienced by ordinary use”]. The use of a pressure vent to direct the vented material into the flow channel prevents the battery cells from continuously giving off gases into the housing and its surroundings, thereby improving the safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bryla to include the flow channel taught by Hermann along the side of the interior chamber, in order to allow the gases to expand and reduce their temperature thereby reducing the risk of damage to people or objects nearby. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bryla to include a pressure vent, as taught by Hermann, on the side of the interior chamber in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Kim teaches analogous art of a method for cooling battery cells in an energy storage system comprising a battery rack and a cooling device configured to cool battery cells in the battery rack [0016, “ an energy storage system including: a battery rack; a cooling device configured to cool battery cells included in the battery rack”]. Kim teaches cooling passages (510) and flame passages (610) that allow for a cooling fluid and for the flames or gas generated by the battery cells, respectively, to flow through the battery rack to the outside [0075, Figs. 5-6]. Kim further teaches that the battery rack may include cooling fans (440) on the upper side of the battery modules stacked in the battery rack [0082, “the cooling fans 440 may be located on an upper side of the plurality of stacked battery modules”]. Fig. 4 shows the cooling fans disposed in an area above the battery modules.
Kim teaches that the cooling fans may be used to radiate heat from the battery modules to the outside of the battery rack [0083]. Bryla teaches that it is desirable to reduce the heat or high temperatures inside an assembly of electrochemical cells to prevent thermal runaway [0013, “In applications where multiple assemblies of electrochemical cells are used, these gases and/or flames may cause heating and subsequent thermal runaway of the other electrochemical cells”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Bryla to include cooling fans as taught by Kim, in the second flow path, or external chamber, in order to radiate the heat from the interior chamber, or battery cell compartment, to the outside of the housing. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the cooling fans to be located in the area of the housing closest to the outlet in order to ensure the desired cooling (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 18, modified Bryla teaches the method of claim 17, as described in the rejection for instant claim 17. Bryla is silent regarding the inclusion of baffles. Hermann teaches that the flow channels may include a plurality of baffle walls (“plurality of obstructions”) [Fig. 4, 0024, “The housing is further configured to include a plurality of baffle walls”].
Hermann teaches that the baffle walls act to slow the escape of gases out of the battery pack and prevent any solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024, “The baffle walls 438 act to slow the escape of gasses out of the battery pack 400, and block solid material ejected from a venting battery cell so as to prevent solid matter from leaving the battery pack or potentially block a housing port”], which would improve the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by modified Bryla to include baffle walls in the flow channel in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 19, modified Bryla teaches the method of claim 17, as described in the rejection for instant claim 17. Hermann teaches that the baffle walls are placed on alternating sides of the flow channel and extend part-way across the channel [0024, “The baffle walls 438 alternate sides of the flow channels 418, 420 along the lengths of the flow channels 418, 420, and extend part-way across the flow channels”]. Although Hermann does not specifically state that the baffle walls define an undulating flow path through the flow channel, the alternating placement of the baffle walls would necessitate an undulating path around the walls, rather than a straight one.
As mentioned previously, Hermann teaches that the baffle walls slow the escaping gases and prevent solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024], which improves the safety of the battery pack. Having an undulating flow path in the flow channel would slow the gases down even more, further improving the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by modified Bryla to include an undulating flow path in the flow channel, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 20, modified Bryla teaches the method of claim 17, as described in the rejection for instant claim 17. Hermann teaches that the housing port to which the flow channel leads is a pressure relief valve comprising a mechanical sealed vent mechanism (“movable valve member”) configured to move in response to an internal pressure of the quenching chamber exceeding a threshold pressure [0019, “the housing vents … can be mechanical sealed vent mechanisms that open upon pressure in the respective flow channel 218, 220 exceeding a pressure threshold”]. The terms “housing vents” and “housing ports” are taken to be interchangeable [0025, “housing vents 506, 508”, “housing ports 506, 508”].
Hermann that the pressure threshold of the housing ports may be lower than the pressure threshold of the battery cells [0019, “The housing vents can simply be openings in the housing wall 216, or they can be mechanical sealed vent mechanisms that open upon pressure in the respective flow channel 218, 220 exceeding a pressure threshold (which is lower than the pressure threshold of the battery cell pressure vents 206, 208)”]. If the gases expelled by the battery cells cool down enough through the expansion provided by the flow channels, thereby reducing the pressure, the housing ports may not need to open, which prevents unwanted gases and other vented material from continuously being expelled onto nearby objects or people, improving the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by modified Bryla to include a pressure relief valve which the flow channel directs gases to, as taught by Hermann, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann and Kim as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Miler.
Regarding claim 4, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 3, as described in the rejection for instant claim 3. Modified Bryla does not specifically teach that the undulating flow path defined by the baffle walls defines a path length exceeding the distance from the battery cell compartment to the vent, the path length being at least twice as great as the distance.
Miler teaches a battery pack comprising a structure to guide the discharge of a battery, or cell block (210), from a thermal runaway event [0008]. Miler teaches that once the battery cell(s) in the cell block experience a failure event, the discharged matter is directed into a quenching chamber, or plenum chamber, comprising a plurality of obstructions, or lateral members (202) that define a tortuous, or undulating, pathway [0072, Fig. 2A].
Hermann teaches that the obstructions in the baffle which define an undulating pathway can slow down the flow out of the battery cell. Miler teaches that the undulating pathway lengthens the distance through which the flow must go to exit the battery pack, thereby reducing the temperature of the flow [0072, “The tortuous pathway also lengthens the distance through which discharged matter must propagate before exiting battery pack 200, which can reduce the temperature of any discharged matter that exits battery pack 200”].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of modified Bryla to define a path length in the flow channel being at least twice as great as the distance as claimed in order to provide a suitable amount of cooling, where it is known that increasing the distance provides a longer path for heat transfer as taught by Miler. According to guidance issued by In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (See MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann and Kim as applied to claims 1,2, and 5 above, and further in view of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 6, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 5, as described in the rejections for instant claims 1, 2, and 5 above. Modified Bryla does not teach the plurality of obstructions, or baffle walls, defining an oblique angle with the wall member of the obstruction.
Suzuki teaches a battery pack with spaces between the battery modules for a heat carrier. The spaces are defined by two wall members, or opposing surfaces with a plurality of obstructions, or protrusions, within the space [0043]. Suzuki teaches that in one embodiment, the protrusions arranged on the surfaces are inclined, therefore defining an oblique angle with the surface [0068, Fig. 6c].
Hermann teaches that the obstructions in the baffle which define an undulating pathway can slow down the flow out of the battery cell. Suzuki teaches that the shape of the protrusions can change the size, viscosity, and flowrate of the flow. Suzuki also teaches that when the protrusions are at an angle, or inclined, movement of the heat carrier can be strongly added, and the disturbances in the flow make heat transfer more efficient.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the inclined obstructions taught by Suzuki to the baffle walls taught by modified Bryla in order to achieve a slower flow and better heat transfer properties to reduce the temperature of the flow. Although the heat carrier path taught by Suzuki is used to cool the battery rather than direct a discharge from the battery as in modified Bryla, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the heat transfer techniques of Suzuki to the apparatus taught by modified Bryla in order to achieve the desired outcome of reduced temperature.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Itoi.
Regarding claim 13, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as described in the rejection for instant claim 1. Bryla teaches that when gas is emitted from the electrochemical cells in the interior chamber it is directed through a first flow path (10a) and flow restriction [0043, Fig. 2]. Bryla teaches that the flow restriction can be located at any point in the first flow path [0031]. The first flow path is separated from a second flow path (10b) (“external chamber”) by a battery chamber wall [Fig. 2, structure located between 10a and 10b with vent 20a]. The second flow path directs the flow out of the apparatus through an outlet (12) [0044, Fig. 2]. The spatial orientation of the apparatus of Bryla is not specified, therefore the external chamber of Bryla may be positioned at one end of the battery cell compartment and quenching chamber as the various orientations of the apparatus are obvious variants of each other.
Bryla is silent regarding the electrochemical cells in the interior chamber being cylindrical battery cells arranged in a layer.
Itoi teaches analogous art of a housing for battery cells with an exhaust duct for releasing gases vented from the cells [Abstract]. Itoi teaches an embodiment wherein a plurality of cylindrical cells are arranged in a layer with their respective axes parallel to each other and gas from the cells is released into a second exhaust space (61c) extending along the side of the layer [Fig. 21, 0113 “A gas from the vents 8a of the cells 100 is released to the first exhaust space 61c through the openings 30a formed in the flat plate 30, is guided to the second exhaust space 62c”].
The interior chamber of Bryla teaches a plurality of electrochemical cells meant to supply power. The battery housing comprising a plurality of cylindrical cells taught by Itoi is also meant to supply power to a device [0002, “ Battery packs in each of which a plurality of batteries are housed in a case so as to output a predetermined voltage and have a predetermined capacity are widely used as power sources for various equipment and vehicles”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the known configuration of battery cells of Itoi for that of modified Bryla and the results of the substitution, providing power to a device, would have been predictable (see MPEP 2143 I B). Furthermore, changes in the shape of the battery cells would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date since the shape of the batteries does not alter their purpose of providing power (see MPEP 2144 04 IV B).
Regarding claim 14, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 13 as described in the rejection for instant claim 13. Bryla further teaches that the first flow path is also directed towards a safety vent (20a), which is located on the battery chamber wall separating the first flow path from the second flow path ”) [Fig. 2, structure located between 10a and 10b with vent 20a]. The vent leads to the second flow path (10b) (“external chamber”) that directs the flow out of the apparatus through an outlet (12) [0044, Fig. 2].
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryla in view of Hermann, Kim, and O'Hora et al. (US 2017/0279170, hereinafter "O'Hora").
Regarding claim 15, Bryla teaches an electrochemical cell housing comprising an interior chamber (“battery cell compartment”) [0015, “an electrochemical cell housing includes an enclosure with an interior chamber that is constructed and arranged to receive one or more electrochemical cells”]. Bryla teaches that when gases (“heat flow”) from the interior chamber escape the interior chamber, the gases go through a flow restriction and then out of the housing [0015, “the gas may flow from the interior chamber of the enclosure through at least one or more flow restrictions prior to flowing out of an outlet formed in the enclosure”]. Bryla also teaches a battery chamber wall with a vent, separating the interior chamber (6) and a first flow path (10a) from a second flow path (10b) (“external chamber”) [Fig. 2, structure located between 10a and 10b with vent 20a]. The second flow path leads to an outlet for the gas to flow through once it has cooled down [0015, “The gas may then flow out of the outlet at the second lower temperature”]. Bryla does not specifically teach a quenching chamber configured to direct the heat flow from the interior chamber to the vent or a fan housed in the second flow path and configured to provide a vented enclosure for electronics, nor does Bryla specifically teach an aperture arranged at a side of the interior chamber.
Hermann teaches analogous art of a battery pack comprising a flow channel (“quenching chamber”) that directs venting material (“heat flow”) from a battery cell experiencing a fault condition in such a way where the venting material can expand before exiting the battery pack [Abstract]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel is configured to direct the venting material from the battery cells to a housing port (“vent”) [Fig.4, 0024, “Gasses and other materials that get vented out of the battery cells 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, 412 in the event of a fault expand into the vent and flow channels 418, 420, 422, 424, and can exit out of housing ports 448, 450”]. The flow channel is configured to extinguish a flame present in the vented material before the vented material reaches the vent [0019, “The volume of the flow channel allows expansion of the vented material, thereby cooling the vented material”]. Hermann teaches that the flow channel can extend along the side of the battery cells [Fig. 3, 0021, “the vent channels 313, 315 and flow channels 318, 320 form a contiguous volume around three sides of the battery cells 308”]. Furthermore, Hermann teaches that the vented material escapes from the battery cells through a pressure vent (“aperture”) arranged on the battery cells [0019, “Upon a battery cell 202, 204 experiencing a fault condition and venting, the hot material will escape through the pressure vent 206 or 208 into a respective vent channel 207, 213, and continue along the respective contiguous flow channel 218, 220”].
Hermann discloses that by directing the vented material through a flow channel which allows the vented material to expand, therefore reducing the temperature, the risk of damage to objects or people near the battery is reduced [0027, “the use of a flow channel to allow expansion of venting gasses before they exit the battery pack in a directed manner can reduce the temperature of the venting gasses, therefore reduce the risk damage to nearby objects or injury to users”]. Hermann further teaches that the pressure vent on the battery cells is designed to open at pressures much higher than ordinary use [0016, “The pressure threshold at which the pressure vent 102 is designed to open is selected to be higher than typical pressures experienced by ordinary use”]. The use of a pressure vent to direct the vented material into the flow channel prevents the battery cells from continuously giving off gases into the housing and its surroundings, thereby improving the safety.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of Bryla to include the flow channel taught by Hermann along the side of the interior chamber, in order to allow the gases to expand and reduce their temperature thereby reducing the risk of damage to people or objects nearby. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing of Bryla to include a pressure vent, as taught by Hermann, on the side of the interior chamber on the battery chamber wall, in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Kim teaches analogous art of an energy storage system comprising a battery rack and a cooling device configured to cool battery cells in the battery rack [0016, “ an energy storage system including: a battery rack; a cooling device configured to cool battery cells included in the battery rack”]. Kim teaches cooling passages (510) and flame passages (610) that allow for a cooling fluid and for the flames or gas generated by the battery cells, respectively, to flow through the battery rack to the outside [0075, Figs. 5-6]. Kim further teaches that the battery rack may include cooling fans (440) on the upper side of the battery modules stacked in the battery rack [0082, “the cooling fans 440 may be located on an upper side of the plurality of stacked battery modules”]. Fig. 4 shows the cooling fans disposed in an area above the battery modules.
Kim teaches that the cooling fans may be used to radiate heat from the battery modules to the outside of the battery rack [0083]. Bryla teaches that it is desirable to reduce the heat or high temperatures inside an assembly of electrochemical cells to prevent thermal runaway [0013, “In applications where multiple assemblies of electrochemical cells are used, these gases and/or flames may cause heating and subsequent thermal runaway of the other electrochemical cells”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second flow path, or external chamber, taught by Bryla to include cooling fans as taught by Kim, in order to radiate the heat from the interior chamber, or battery cell compartment, to the outside of the housing. Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the cooling fans to be located in the area of the housing closest to the outlet in order to ensure the desired cooling (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
O’Hora teaches analogous art of a modular energy pack (“battery module”) in a first housing that may be received by a second housing, the second housing comprising a material to transfer heat away from the energy cells (“battery cells”) in the modular energy pack [0004, 0054, “the battery subsystem 102 may include an integrated cooling system that is configured to extract heat from the battery cells 214 and transfer the heat to the smart enclosure (second housing) of the power system”]. O’Hora teaches that the second enclosure may be a home charging and storage system (HCSS), which stores the energy cells, or smart energy cells (SECs) and a smart power system (“electronics”) [0084, “The size of the HCSS can vary, but will typically support at least six SECs and one smart power system”]. O’Hora teaches that the HCSS may also include a fan for air cooling [0084, “the HCSS can include fan-assisted air cooling systems”]. The HCSS further may be able to provide power to a home’s electrical power system (“residential power supply system”) and thus the HCSS may incorporate other electronics such as electrical switchgear [0085].
O’Hora teaches that including a fan for an air-cooling system would be too bulky for the SECs themselves [0084, “the HCSS can include fan-assisted air cooling systems and additional heat sinks that would be too bulky for the smart enclosure”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla with the HCSS, or residential power supply system, comprising electronics as taught by O’Hora, in order to yield the predictable result of providing power to a system. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to have the fan and electronics located in the same enclosure external to the electrochemical cells, as taught by O’Hora, in order to prevent reduce the bulkiness of the electrochemical cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the parts of modified Bryla to provide the desired cooling (see MPEP 2144.04 VI C). The person of ordinary skill in the art is a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, therefore it would have been obvious to try the claimed configuration from a finite number of predictable solutions for cooling (see MPEP 2143 I E).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bryla teaches the apparatus of claim 15, as described in the rejection for instant claim 15. Bryla is silent regarding the inclusion of baffles. Hermann teaches that the flow channels may include a plurality of baffle walls (“plurality of obstructions”) [Fig. 4, 0024, “The housing is further configured to include a plurality of baffle walls”].
Hermann teaches that the baffle walls act to slow the escape of gases out of the battery pack and prevent any solids from being ejected from the battery pack or potentially blocking the housing port [0024, “The baffle walls 438 act to slow the escape of gasses out of the battery pack 400, and block solid material ejected from a venting battery cell so as to prevent solid matter from leaving the battery pack or potentially block a housing port”], which would improve the safety of the battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell housing taught by modified Bryla to include baffle walls in the flow channel in order to further improve the safety of the apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion