DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s responses, see section “Drawings” on page 10 of “REMARKS”, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to Drawings Objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s responses, see section “Claim Objections” on page 10 of “REMARKS”, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 1 and 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s responses, see section “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)”, filed 01/26/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments:
Examiner’s responses: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the driver is directly connected to the driver mounting portion) were not recited in the rejected independent claims 1 and 20. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, in this case, Maestrelli recites “This drum 18 has a bottom wall 20 to which is suitably fixed a shaft 22 whose support 24 is fixed to the cover 14 with the interposition of a ring 26 made of elastic material, as described in another patent of the same applicant. The bottom wall 20 of the drum 18 has, near its central part, openings delimited by spokes 28. These openings are also closed by perforated sheets 30 allowing the passage of air in the manner which will be indicated below. The cover 20 and the spokes 28 constitute a single element which is suitably fixed to a hub 32, keyed on the shaft 22, which is itself connected to drive motor means.”, page 2, lines 36-43, UNDERLINE emphasis added. Indeed, the driver 400 of the instant application, see figs. 12 and 13 of the instant application, comprises a driving shaft 430 and driving parts 410, 420 which is the same as the driver of Maestrelli comprising a shaft or driving shaft 22 and drive motor means. Furthermore, Fig. 2 of Maestrelli shows that the shaft or driving shaft 22 of the driver is directly supported by the support 24 which is fixed to the cover 14 or supported by the cover 14. Therefore, Maestrelli still read on the new claim limitation “wherein the driver is directly connected to the driver mounting portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maestrelli (FR1194591 A).
Regarding claim 1, Maestrelli shows a laundry treating apparatus (figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) including a rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) at a rear surface (right or rear surface of item 10, fig. 2);
a drum (18, figs. 1, 2) rotatably disposed inside the cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) and configured to receive laundry (clothes, [0001]), the drum (18, figs. 1, 2) including a drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) facing the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2); and
a driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) coupled to the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) (coupled via items 24, 26 and bolts or screws as shown in fig. 2) and connected to the drum (18, figs. 1, 2) (connected via item 32, fig. 2),
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) comprises:
a driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2) coupled to the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]), and
an air flow portion (40, fig. 2) surrounding the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2), providing a flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) configured to receive air, and configured to move the air in the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) toward the drum (18, figs. 1, 2), and
wherein the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) is defined at a front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 36, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2), and the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) is coupled to a rear surface (right or rear surface of item 14, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) (item 22, drive motor means are coupled to right or rear surface of item 14 via items 24, 26 and bolts or screws as shown in fig. 2),
wherein the rear and front surfaces (right or rear surface of item 14, fig. 2) (left or front surface of item 14 at item 36, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) are isolated from each other to block air from passing through the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) at solid wall thickness portions of the rear plate (as shown in fig. 2 of Maestrelli, the right or rear surface and the left or front surface of the item 14 are isolated from each other, by wall thickness portions of the item 14, to block air from passing through the rear plate 14 at the solid wall thickness portions of the rear plate 14), and
wherein the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) is directly connected to the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 2, Maestrelli shows wherein the front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 36, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) is recessed rearward (recessed rearward at item 42 to form item 40, fig. 2) to define the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2), and the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) defines an opening (42, fig. 2) at a front side (left or front side of item 14, fig. 2) and is covered by an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) provided in the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) from the front side (left or front side of item 14, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Maestrelli shows wherein a curved portion (curved portion at item 34 of item 14, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) provides the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and
wherein a front surface (left or front surface of item 40, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) facing the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) defines an opening (42, fig. 2) that faces the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Maestrelli shows wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) protrudes rearward (as shown in fig. 2) from the rear surface (right or rear surface of item 14, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) and has an annular shape (as shown in figs. 1, 2, “… a collecting channel 40 of annular shape …”, page 2, lines 45-47) to surround the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]).
Regarding claim 5, Maestrelli shows wherein the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) comprises:
a driver connection portion (32, fig. 2) facing the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2) and connected to the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]), and
an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) facing the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) and configured to receive air,
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) includes a rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) protruding rearward from a rear reference surface (rear reference surface of rear plate 14, ANNOTATED fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) to define a space therein (as shown in fig. 2), the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) protrudes rearward from the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2), and the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2) protrudes frontward from the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2), and
wherein the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) protrudes rearward from the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2), is inserted into the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2), and faces an opening (42, fig. 2) defined at a front surface (left or front surface of item 40, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Maestrelli shows a laundry treating apparatus (figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) including a rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) at a rear surface (right or rear surface of item 10, fig. 2);
a drum (18, figs. 1, 2) rotatably disposed inside the cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) and configured to receive laundry (clothes, [0001]), the drum (18, figs. 1, 2) including a drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) facing the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2); and
a driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) coupled to the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) and connected to the drum (18, figs. 1, 2),
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) comprises:
a driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2) coupled to the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]), and
an air flow portion (40, fig. 2) surrounding the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2) and configured to move air to the drum (18, figs. 1, 2),
wherein a curved portion (curved portion at item 34 of item 14, fig. 2) of rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) defines the air flow portion (40, fig. 2),
wherein a front surface (left or front surface of item 40, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) facing the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) defines an opening (42, fig. 2) to provide air while facing an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) provided in the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2),
wherein the rear and front surfaces (right or rear surface of item 14, fig. 2) (left or front surface of item 14 at item 36, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) are isolated from each other to block air from passing through the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) at solid wall thickness portions of the rear plate (as shown in fig. 2 of Maestrelli, the right or rear surface and the left or front surface of the item 14 are isolated from each other, by wall thickness portions of the item 14, to block air from passing through the rear plate 14 at the solid wall thickness portions of the rear plate 14), and
wherein the driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) is directly connected to the driver mounting portion (24, 26, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 mounted to, figs. 1, 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 5, wherein the rear protrusion comprises a rear circumference region extending by a reference distance outwardly of the air flow portion along a radial direction of the air flow portion,
wherein an expanded circumference region expanding by a distance greater than the reference distance is defined in at least a portion of the rear circumference region, and
wherein the expanded circumference region defines an extension hole configured to receive an extension member from an interior of the cabinet.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli discloses “wherein the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) comprises a rear circumference region extending by a reference distance outwardly of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) along a radial direction of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), .…” However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “… wherein an expanded circumference region expanding by a distance greater than the reference distance is defined in at least a portion of the rear circumference region, and wherein the expanded circumference region defines an extension hole configured to receive an extension member from an interior of the cabinet”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 6 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “… wherein an expanded circumference region expanding by a distance greater than the reference distance is defined in at least a portion of the rear circumference region, and wherein the expanded circumference region defines an extension hole configured to receive an extension member from an interior of the cabinet” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 6.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 5, further comprising a rear cover coupled to the rear plate at a rear side of the rear plate and covering the rear protrusion and the air flow portion,
wherein the rear cover comprises a protruding cover outer circumferential surface extending along a circumference of the rear protrusion,
wherein the rear plate comprises:
side surface coupling portions respectively disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the rear plate and protruding rearwardly of the rear reference surface, side plates disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the cabinet being coupled to the side surface coupling portions from the front, respectively, and
a cover seating portion disposed between the side surface coupling portion and the rear protrusion on the rear reference surface, at least a portion of the protruding cover outer circumferential surface being seated in the cover seating portion.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli discloses “The laundry treating apparatus of claim 5”. However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “further comprising a rear cover coupled to the rear plate at a rear side of the rear plate and covering the rear protrusion and the air flow portion, wherein the rear cover comprises a protruding cover outer circumferential surface extending along a circumference of the rear protrusion, wherein the rear plate comprises: side surface coupling portions respectively disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the rear plate and protruding rearwardly of the rear reference surface, side plates disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the cabinet being coupled to the side surface coupling portions from the front, respectively, and a cover seating portion disposed between the side surface coupling portion and the rear protrusion on the rear reference surface, at least a portion of the protruding cover outer circumferential surface being seated in the cover seating portion”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 7-12 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “further comprising a rear cover coupled to the rear plate at a rear side of the rear plate and covering the rear protrusion and the air flow portion, wherein the rear cover comprises a protruding cover outer circumferential surface extending along a circumference of the rear protrusion, wherein the rear plate comprises: side surface coupling portions respectively disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the rear plate and protruding rearwardly of the rear reference surface, side plates disposed on both sides in a lateral direction of the cabinet being coupled to the side surface coupling portions from the front, respectively, and a cover seating portion disposed between the side surface coupling portion and the rear protrusion on the rear reference surface, at least a portion of the protruding cover outer circumferential surface being seated in the cover seating portion” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 7-12.
As to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an air supply disposed inside the cabinet and configured to receive the air discharged from the drum and move the air to the air flow portion,
wherein the rear plate includes an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and connected to the air supply,
wherein the air supply is disposed below the drum and located on one side in a lateral direction of the cabinet, and
wherein the inlet extension extends downward from a portion of the air flow portion positioned above the air supply to be connected to the air supply.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli discloses “further comprising an air supply (fan, page 2, lines 59-70) … configured to receive the air discharged from the drum (18, figs. 1, 2) and move the air to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), …”. However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate includes an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and connected to the air supply, wherein the air supply is disposed below the drum and located on one side in a lateral direction of the cabinet, and wherein the inlet extension extends downward from a portion of the air flow portion positioned above the air supply to be connected to the air supply”.
Therefore, allowance of claims 13-18 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate includes an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and connected to the air supply, wherein the air supply is disposed below the drum and located on one side in a lateral direction of the cabinet, and wherein the inlet extension extends downward from a portion of the air flow portion positioned above the air supply to be connected to the air supply” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claims 13-18.
As to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the drum rear surface provides an air passage facing the air flow portion and configured to receive air, and
wherein the air flow portion comprises:
a flow recessed surface having an annular shape and covering the flow space from a rear side of the flow space, and
an outflow guide protruding from the flow recessed surface toward the air passage and configured to move the air toward the air passage,
wherein the laundry treating apparatus further comprises an air supply disposed inside the cabinet and configured to receive the air discharged from the drum, and move the air to the air flow portion,
wherein the outflow guide comprises: a first outflow guide (i) positioned on a side opposite to the air supply with respect to a center of the air flow portion and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface equal to or greater than a depth of the flow space, and
a second outflow guide (i) positioned between the first outflow guide and the air supply along a circumference of the flow space and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface less than the depth of the flow space.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli discloses “wherein the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of item 20 of item 18, fig. 2) provides an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) facing the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) and configured to receive air, and wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) comprises: a flow recessed surface (flow recessed surface of item 40, fig. 2) having an annular shape (as shown in figs. 1, 2) and covering the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) from a rear side of the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2), and an outflow guide (outflow guide at item 36, fig. 2) protruding from the flow recessed surface toward the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) and configured to move the air toward the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2), wherein the laundry treating apparatus (figs. 1, 2) further comprises an air supply (fan, page 2, lines 59-70) … configured to receive the air discharged from the drum (18, figs. 1, 2), and move the air to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), …”. However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “… wherein the laundry treating apparatus further comprises an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the outflow guide comprises: a first outflow guide (i) positioned on a side opposite to the air supply with respect to a center of the air flow portion and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface equal to or greater than a depth of the flow space, and a second outflow guide (i) positioned between the first outflow guide and the air supply along a circumference of the flow space and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface less than the depth of the flow space”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 19 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “… wherein the laundry treating apparatus further comprises an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the outflow guide comprises: a first outflow guide (i) positioned on a side opposite to the air supply with respect to a center of the air flow portion and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface equal to or greater than a depth of the flow space, and a second outflow guide (i) positioned between the first outflow guide and the air supply along a circumference of the flow space and (ii) having a maximum protrusion height from the flow recessed surface less than the depth of the flow space” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 19.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762