DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1-12 are being examined. Claims 13-30 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the coated fiber composition". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakimoto (JP 2020043247 A).
Considering claims 1 and 7, Kakimoto teaches a composition comprising an electrically non-conductive fiber having a surface and piezoelectric particles adhered to the surface of said electrically non-conductive fiber by a piezoelectric element containing piezoelectric ceramic particles attached to polymeric fibers without being included in the fibers (i.e., particles are on the surface of the fibers) wherein the polymer is PVDF (Kakimoto, middle of page 2 of English translation, Fig. 1, top of page 4 of English translation).
Considering claim 10, Kakimoto teaches the piezoelectric particles have a perovskite composition (Kakimoto, bottom of page 3 of English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto (JP 2020043247 A) in view of Borchers et al. (US 6761831 B2).
Considering claims 2-3, all of the limitations are met by the prior art referenced in meeting claim 1 limitations except for the fiber composition is embedded within a matrix to form a composite material.
Kakimoto does not explicitly teach the fiber composition is embedded within a matrix to form a composite material.
However, Borchers teaches embedding of piezoelectric particles in a polymer matrix wherein the polymer matrix acts as a binder (Borchers, abstract, Col. 3 lines 7-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to embed the coated fibers of Kakimoto into a polymeric matrix. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to bind the fibers within a matrix with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 4, Kakimoto teaches the polymer nonwoven fabric (i.e., fibers) contain 30 to 60% by volume of piezoelectric ceramic particles; the amount is a result effective variable relative to piezoelectricity improvement and mechanical strength (Kakimoto, top of page 4 of English translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to vary the amount of piezoelectric particles in the composition material including to within the claimed range of 0.1-10 wt.%. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired piezoelectricity improvement and mechanical strength with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakimoto (JP 2020043247 A).
Considering claim 9, Kakimoto teaches the piezoelectric ceramic particles have a particle size of D50 of 1.5 to 6 µm and D90 of 2 to 10 µm (Kakimoto, middle of page 3 of English translation).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed range of at least 100 nm (0.1 µm) overlaps the range taught by Kakimoto (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Considering claim 11-12, Kakimoto teaches piezoelectric ceramic particles containing at least one element of niobium, lead, titanium, zinc, barium, bismuth, zirconium, lanthanum, potassium, sodium, calcium, and magnesium (Kakimoto, bottom of page 3 of English translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the piezoelectric particles to have one of the claimed compositions and/or zinc oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so because such compositions are known to be suitable piezoelectric particles for the composition of Kakimoto.
Conclusion
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734