DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reponses, see section “Claim Objections” on page 8 of “REMARKS”, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 6 and 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments:
Examiner’s responses: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the rear plate further comprises a driver mounting portion surrounded by the air flow portion and configured to be coupled to a driver from a rear side of the rear plate; and wherein the inner sealer is configured to, based on the inner sealer being in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, block air from the air flow portion from reaching the driver mounting portion) were not recited in the rejected independent claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, a majority of these new claim limitations are from canceled limitations of dependent claims 5 and 6. In this case, Maestrelli’s Figs. 1 & 2 show that there are a driver mounting portion comprising item 24 and a portion of rear plate or item 14 where items 24 & 26 coupled to and an air flow portion 40 disposing on the rear plate or item 14 and having an annular shape which surrounds the driver mounting portion. Therefore, Maestrelli reads on the claim limitation “wherein the rear plate further comprises a driver mounting portion surrounded by the air flow portion and configured to be coupled to a driver from a rear side of the rear plate”. Regarding applicant’s arguments about Stilwell, Jr. reference, it should be noticed that the invention of Stilwell, Jr. does not have an inner seal 26. Instead, the invention of Stilwell, Jr. has an inner seal 101, Fig. 3, which is disposed on a rear plate or item 61 and is in contact with right or rear surface of a rear plate or item 82 of drum or item 80 and blocks air from an air flow portion disposing between an outer seal or item 99 and the inner seal or item 101 from reaching a driver mounting portion which comprises a hub or item 95 and a portion of the rear plate or item 61 where the hub or item 95 coupled to. Therefore, Maestrelli reads on the claim limitation “wherein the inner sealer is configured to, based on the inner sealer being in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, block air from the air flow portion from reaching the driver mounting portion”. Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Maestrelli in view of Stilwell, Jr. still reads on the amended independent claim 1. See the updated detail rejection(s) below.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a driver” in lines 1-2. Please amend to --- the driver ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15 and 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maestrelli (FR1194591 A) in view of Stilwell, Jr. (US 2,785,557).
Regarding claim 1, Maestrelli discloses a laundry treating apparatus (figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) including a rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) at a rear surface (right or rear surface of item 10, fig. 2);
a drum (18, figs. 1, 2) rotatably disposed inside the cabinet (10, figs. 1, 2) and configured to receive laundry (clothes, [0001]), the drum (18, figs. 1, 2) including a drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) facing the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2); and
a rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) disposed between the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) and the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2),
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) provides an air flow portion (40, fig. 2) having an annular shape (as shown in figs. 1, 2) that defines a flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) configured to receive air and that includes an opening (42, fig. 2) at a front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 42, fig. 2) facing the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) to allow air in the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) to move toward the drum (18, figs. 1, 2),
wherein a rear surface (right or rear surface of item 40, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) is closed off to block airflow from a rear side (right or rear side of item 40, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) (as shown in fig. 2, right or rear surface of item 40 is closed off to block airflow from a right or rear side of item 40),
wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) extends along a circumferential direction (as shown in figs. 1, 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and
wherein the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2), the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2), and the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) define a flow channel (flow channel defines by right or rear surface of items 20, 30, item 26, outer annular sealer at item 36 and item 40 as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) that includes the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) and that is configured to move air into the drum (18, figs. 1, 2),
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) further comprises a driver mounting portion (24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, figs. 1, 2) surrounded by the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) and configured to be coupled to a driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) from a rear side (right or rear side of item 24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2).
wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) comprises:
an outer sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) that (i) has an annular shape (as shown in fig. 1, ANNOATED fig. 2, items 30 & 40 have annular shapes; thus, in order to guide a process air flowing from item 44 into item 18 via item 40 and item 30 without leaking the process air to other areas as shown in fig. 2, the outer sealer at item 36 should have an annular shape along annular shapes of items 30 & 40), (ii) surrounds an outer surface (outer surface of item 40 at item 36, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and (iii) is in contact with the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) and the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2), and
an inner sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) that (i) has an annular shape (as shown in figs. 1, 2), (ii) surrounds an inner surface (inner surface of item 40 at item 36, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2).
Maestrelli does not disclose the rear sealer comprises: an inner sealer that (iii) is in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, and
wherein the inner sealer is configured to, based on the inner sealer being in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, block air from the air flow portion from reaching the driver mounting portion.
Stilwell, Jr. teaches the rear sealer (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) comprises: an inner sealer (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) that (iii) is in contact with the drum rear surface (Stilwell, Jr., right or rear surface of item 82 of item 80, ANNOTATED fig. 3) and the rear plate (Stilwell, Jr., 61, ANNOTATED fig. 3), and
wherein the inner sealer (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) is configured to, based on the inner sealer (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) being in contact with the drum rear surface (Stilwell, Jr., right or rear surface of item 82 of item 80, ANNOTATED fig. 3) and the rear plate (Stilwell, Jr., 61, ANNOTATED fig. 3), block air from the air flow portion (Stilwell, Jr., air flow portion between item 99 and item 101, ANNOTATED fig. 3) from reaching the driver mounting portion (Stilwell, Jr., 95, portion of item 61 where item 95 coupled to, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus of Maestrelli with the rear sealer comprises: an inner sealer that (iii) is in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, and wherein the inner sealer is configured to, based on the inner sealer being in contact with the drum rear surface and the rear plate, block air from the air flow portion from reaching the driver mounting portion, as taught by Stilwell, Jr., for preventing the hot process drying air from directly contacting the driving shaft and the driver mounting portion which would result in minimizing heat transfer from the hot drying process air to the driving shaft bearing(s), the driving motor and the driving shaft. Consequently, the lifespans of the driving shaft bearing(s), the driving motor and the driving shaft are longer. Thus, the maintenance cost is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 3, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) comprises an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) configured to receive air from the flow channel (flow channel defines by right or rear surface of items 20, 30, item 26, outer annular sealer at item 36 and item 40 as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2),
wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) provides a rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) defining a space (as shown in fig. 2) and protruding rearward (as shown in fig. 2),
wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) is defined in the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2), and
wherein the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) protrudes rearward (as shown in fig. 2) from the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) and is inserted into the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) to cover the opening (42, fig. 2) at the front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 42, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) is disposed at the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) to block air from the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 5, Maestrelli as modified discloses further comprising a driver (22, drive motor means, figs. 1, 2, [0001]) coupled to the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) (coupled via items 24, 26 and bolts or screws as shown in fig. 2) and configured to provide a rotational force to the drum (18, figs. 1, 2),
wherein the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) comprises:
a rear outer circumferential surface (rear outer circumferential surface of item 14, ANOTATED fig. 2) extending rearward from a rear reference surface (rear reference surface of rear plate 14, ANNOTATED fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) and extending along a circumference of the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2), and
a rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2) provided at a rear side (right or rear side of rear reference surface of rear plate 14, ANNOTATED fig. 2) of the rear reference surface (rear reference surface of rear plate 14, ANNOTATED fig. 2), connected to the rear outer circumferential surface (rear outer circumferential surface of item 14, ANOTATED fig. 2), and providing the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) and the driver mounting portion (24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, figs. 1, 2), and
wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) is seated on the rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) comprises the inner sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) having the annular shape (as shown in figs. 1, 2) (Stilwell, Jr., annular sealing elements 99 and 101, col. 5, lines 70-75), surrounding an inner circumference (inner circumference of item 40 at item 26, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2)
wherein the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) provides a seating portion (step portion where item 26 disposed, fig. 2) of the inner sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) (i) disposed at the rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2) and (ii) extending along a circumference of the driver mounting portion (24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, figs. 1, 2) to receive the inner sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 101, fig. 3) from a front side (left or front side of portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, fig. 2),
wherein the driver mounting portion (24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, figs. 1, 2) provides a mounting side surface (side surface of item 24 of driver mount portion 24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, fig. 2) extending frontward from the rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2) and extending along the circumference of the driver mounting portion (24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, figs. 1, 2),
wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) provides a flow inner circumferential surface (inner circumferential surface of item 40, fig. 2) extending rearward (as shown in fig. 2) from the rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2) and extending along the inner circumference (inner circumference of item 40 at item 26, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and
wherein the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) provides the seating portion (step portion where item 26 disposed, fig. 2) of the inner sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) as the mounting side surface (side surface of item 24 of driver mounting portion 24, portion of item 14 where items 24, 26 coupled to, fig. 2) and the flow inner circumferential surface (inner circumferential surface of item 40, fig. 2) are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 8, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) comprises the outer sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) having the annular shape (as shown in fig. 1, ANNOATED fig. 2, items 30 & 40 have annular shapes; thus, in order to guide a process air flowing from item 44 into item 18 via item 40 and item 30 without leaking the process air to other areas as shown in fig. 2, the outer sealer at item 36 should have an annular shape along annular shapes of items 30 & 40), surrounding an outer circumference (outer circumference of item 40 at item 36, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and blocking air from the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2), and
wherein the rear protrusion (rear protrusion protruding rearward from rear reference surface as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) provides a first seating portion (36, fig. 2) of the outer sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) disposed on the rearwardly protruding surface (surface of rear protrusion, ANNOTATED fig. 2) and extending along the outer circumference (outer circumference of item 40 at item 36, fig. 2) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) to receive the outer sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the rear sealer (26, figs. 1, 2) (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) (Stilwell, Jr., 99, 101, fig. 3) comprises:
a sealer body (body of outer annular sealer at item 36, ANNOTATED fig. 2) disposed at a front side (left or front side of item 14, fig. 2) of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2), and
a drum contact portion (contact portion of body of outer annular sealer at item 36 with right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, ANNOTATED fig. 2) disposed on the sealer body (body of outer annular sealer at item 36, ANNOTATED fig. 2) and contacting the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the sealer body (body of outer annular sealer at item 36, ANNOTATED fig. 2) has elasticity (sealing gasket, page 2, lines 43-45; the sealing gasket inherently has elasticity) and is pressed toward the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) by the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the sealer body (body of outer annular sealer at item 36, ANNOTATED fig. 2) protrudes frontward from the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) and provides the drum contact portion (contact portion of body of outer annular sealer at item 36 with right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, ANNOTATED fig. 2) at a front surface (left or front surface of body of outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 2) facing the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the sealer body (body of outer annular sealer at item 36, ANNOTATED fig. 2) comprises an inclined body (as shown in fig. 2, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 is inclined from item 14 toward right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18; in other words, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 comprises an inclined body) extending from the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) toward the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2), inclining toward the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2), and pressed rearward by the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2), and
wherein the drum contact portion (contact portion of body of outer annular sealer at item 36 with right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, ANNOTATED fig. 2) is disposed at a first surface (left or front surface of body of outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 2) of the inclined body (as shown in fig. 2, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 is inclined from item 14 toward right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18; in other words, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 comprises an inclined body) facing the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the inclined body (as shown in fig. 2, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 is inclined from item 14 toward right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18; in other words, body of outer annular sealer at item 36 comprises an inclined body) extends to be inclined in a direction toward the air flow portion (40, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Maestrelli as modified discloses further comprising a sealer fixing portion (36, fig. 2) protruding from the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) toward the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) and configured to receive the rear sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) in a radial direction of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) (as shown in fig. 1, ANNOATED fig. 2, items 30 & 40 have annular shapes; thus, in order to guide a process air flowing from item 44 into item 18 via item 40 and item 30 without leaking the process air to other areas as shown in fig. 2, the outer sealer at item 36 should have an annular shape along annular shapes of items 30 & 40; and thus, item 36 should also have an annular shape in order to hold or fix the outer sealer in place; therefore, the item 36 is configured to receive the outer annular sealer at item 36 in an annular direction or a radial direction), and
wherein the rear sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) is inserted into the sealer fixing portion (36, fig. 2) in a direction toward (as shown in fig. 2) to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) along the radial direction (see explanations above) of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the drum rear surface (right or rear surface of items 20, 30 of item 18, fig. 2) comprises an air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) configured to move air flowing along the flow channel (flow channel defines by right or rear surface of items 20, 30, item 26, outer annular sealer at item 36 and item 40 as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) into the drum (18, figs. 1, 2), and
wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) protrudes rearward from the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) such that the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) is defined, and the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) is exposed toward the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2) through the opening (42, fig. 2) at the front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 42, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) defining a portion of the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) is bent or curved (as shown in fig. 2), and the opening (42, fig. 2) at the front surface (left or front surface of item 14 at item 42, fig. 2) faces the air passage (air passage at item 28, 30, figs. 1, 2).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maestrelli and Stilwell, Jr. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Whyte et al. (US 3,032,887; hereinafter Whyte).
Regarding claim 16, Maestrelli as modified discloses wherein the sealer fixing portion (36, fig. 2) comprises:
a protruding extension (curve protruding portion of item 36 extending from left or front surface of item 14, fig. 2) extending frontward from the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2), and
a fixed extension (straight protruding portion of item 36 extending from curve protruding portion of item 36, fig. 2) extending from the protruding extension (curve protruding portion of item 36 extending from left or front surface of item 14, fig. 2) in a direction toward the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) along the radial direction of the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), and
wherein the rear sealer (outer annular sealer at item 36, fig. 1, ANNOTATED fig. 2) is inserted into a space between the fixed extension (straight protruding portion of item 36 extending from curve protruding portion of item 36, fig. 2) and the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2).
Maestrelli does not disclose a fixed extension extending from the protruding extension in a direction away from the air flow portion.
Whyte teaches a fixed extension (Whyte, horizontal portion of item 58, fig. 2) extending from the protruding extension (Whyte, vertical portion of item 58, fig. 2) in a direction away (Whyte, as shown in fig. 2) from the air flow portion (Whyte, 46, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus of Maestrelli with the fixed extension extending from the protruding extension in a direction away from the air flow portion, as taught by Whyte, for preventing the outer sealer from easily decoupling from the sealer fixing portion which would result in effectively preventing the process drying air from leaking to other unwanted areas inside the cabinet. Consequently, all of the process drying air is effectively guided to flow into the drum. Thus, the laundry treating apparatus operates more efficiently and thus benefits the consumers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 6, further comprising an air supply disposed inside the cabinet and configured to supply air to the air flow portion,
wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and configured to provide air supplied from the air supply to move to the air flow portion,
wherein the flow inner circumferential surface of the air flow portion includes an inflow guide protruding toward the inlet extension and configured to guide the air supplied from the air supply, and
wherein the inner sealer and the seating portion of the inner sealer provided at the rear protrusion extend between the driver mounting portion and the inflow guide.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli as modified discloses “further comprising an air supply (fan, page 2, lines 59-70) … configured to supply air to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) further comprises an inlet extension (44, figs. 1, 2) extending from the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) … and configured to provide air … to move to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), .…”, citations added. However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and configured to provide air supplied from the air supply to move to the air flow portion, wherein the flow inner circumferential surface of the air flow portion includes an inflow guide protruding toward the inlet extension and configured to guide the air supplied from the air supply, and wherein the inner sealer and the seating portion of the inner sealer provided at the rear protrusion extend between the driver mounting portion and the inflow guide”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 7 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and configured to provide air supplied from the air supply to move to the air flow portion, wherein the flow inner circumferential surface of the air flow portion includes an inflow guide protruding toward the inlet extension and configured to guide the air supplied from the air supply, and wherein the inner sealer and the seating portion of the inner sealer provided at the rear protrusion extend between the driver mounting portion and the inflow guide” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 7.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest alone or in combination as claimed the laundry treating apparatus of claim 8, further comprising an air supply disposed inside the cabinet and configured to supply air to the air flow portion,
wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and defining an extension space extending from the flow space and having an opening at a front side,
wherein the air supply comprises a fan duct that is (i) at least partially inserted into the extension space and (ii) configured to discharge air to the flow space, and
wherein the fan duct comprises a second seating portion of the outer sealer (i) surrounding an outer circumference of the flow space together with the first seating portion of the outer sealer and (ii) configured to receive the outer sealer from a front side.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record so as to include the above limitations. Although Maestrelli discloses “further comprising an air supply (fan, page 2, lines 59-70) … configured to supply air to the air flow portion (40, fig. 2), wherein the rear plate (14, figs. 1, 2) further comprises an inlet extension (44, figs. 1, 2) extending from the air flow portion (40, fig. 2) … and defining an extension space extending from the flow space (flow space at item 42, fig. 2) and having an opening (42, fig. 2) at a front side (left or front surface of item 14 at item 42, fig. 2), …”, citations added. However, Maestrelli does not disclose the limitations of “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and defining an extension space extending from the flow space and having an opening at a front side, wherein the air supply comprises a fan duct that is (i) at least partially inserted into the extension space and (ii) configured to discharge air to the flow space, and wherein the fan duct comprises a second seating portion of the outer sealer (i) surrounding an outer circumference of the flow space together with the first seating portion of the outer sealer and (ii) configured to receive the outer sealer from a front side”.
Therefore, allowance of claim 9 is indicated because the prior art of record does not show or fairly suggest “… an air supply disposed inside the cabinet …, wherein the rear plate further comprises an inlet extension extending from the air flow portion toward the air supply and defining an extension space extending from the flow space and having an opening at a front side, wherein the air supply comprises a fan duct that is (i) at least partially inserted into the extension space and (ii) configured to discharge air to the flow space, and wherein the fan duct comprises a second seating portion of the outer sealer (i) surrounding an outer circumference of the flow space together with the first seating portion of the outer sealer and (ii) configured to receive the outer sealer from a front side” in combination with the structural elements and/or method steps recited in at least claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762