DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filing of 10-15-2025. Claims 1-13 are pending and have been considered below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-13 represent method and system type claims. Therefore claims 1-13 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Regarding claim 1:
2A Prong 1:
a feed-forward network configured to learn parameters, based on the input, that result in best function approximation that defines a second output;
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion-a user can determine parameters).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
a processor; and a non-transitory memory having stored thereon modules executed by the processor, the modules comprising (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component):
an encoder comprising: a multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of an input, so as to generate a first output;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel with each other to generate the first output and the second output at the same time as each other, the first output and the second output combined to produce a summed output; and an ordinary differential equation (ODE) solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the summed output from the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
a processor; and a non-transitory memory having stored thereon modules executed by the processor, the modules comprising (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component):
an encoder comprising: a multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of an input, so as to generate a first output;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel with each other to generate the first output and the second output at the same time as each other, the first output and the second output combined to produce a summed output; and an ordinary differential equation (ODE) solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the summed output from the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 2:
2A Prong 1:
No Additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses an adjoint sensitivity method to run back propagation through black-box ODE solvers.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses an adjoint sensitivity method to run back propagation through black-box ODE solvers.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 3:
2A Prong 1:
No Additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses a time-invariant differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses a time-invariant differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 4:
2A Prong 1:
No Additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses a time-varying differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the ODE solver uses a time-varying differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 5:
2A Prong 1:
No Additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein a tunable parameter determines the number of time steps over which integration is performed.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein a tunable parameter determines the number of time steps over which integration is performed.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 6:
2A Prong 1:
No Additional abstract ideas
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
wherein a Runge-Kutta (RK4) numerical integrator uses fourth order formula for obtaining numerical solutions of differential equations. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein a Runge-Kutta (RK4) numerical integrator uses fourth order formula for obtaining numerical solutions of differential equations. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claim 7:
2A Prong 1:
a second feed-forward network configured to learn parameters that result in best function approximation;
As drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion-a user can determine parameters).
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
a decoder comprising: a first multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of encoder outputs;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a second multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of decoder outputs shifted right;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the first multi-head attention block, the second multi-head attention block, and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel to produce a second summed output;
and an ODE solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the second summed output. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
a decoder comprising: a first multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of encoder outputs;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a second multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of decoder outputs shifted right;
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the first multi-head attention block, the second multi-head attention block, and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel to produce a second summed output;
and an ODE solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the second summed output. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claims 8-13 are similar in scope to claims 1-6, and are analyzed and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite “best function approximation”, however the term best has not been quantitively established and is therefore indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalli et al. (“Dalli” 20220198254 A1) in view of Li et al. (“Li” 20220138536 A1), Pu et al. (“Pu” 20210390873 A1) and Neural Ordinary Differential Equations, 12-14-2019, pages 1-18, Chen et al. (“Chen”).
Claim 1: Dalli discloses a system for performing natural language processing, comprising:
a processor (Paragraph 61; processor); and a non-transitory memory having stored thereon modules executed by the processor, the modules (Paragraph 229; memory and processing) comprising:
an encoder (Paragraph 6) comprising: a multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of an input, so as to generate a first output (Figures 2 and 7:215/240, Paragraphs 6, 124 (multi-head block) 76, 150 (model can perform non-linear) and provides a first output);
a feed-forward network configured to learn parameters, based on the input, that result in best function approximation that defines a second output (Figure 2:275 and Figure 7:230/250, Paragraphs 117, 123-125; feed forward model);
Dalli discloses parallelization (Figure 7 Paragraphs 123-125; embodiment with parallel methods for output); however to further disclose wherein the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel with each other to generate the first output and the second output at the same time as each other, the first output and second output combined to produce a summed output, Li is disclosed.
Li is provided because it discloses a transformer encoder module including a multi-head attention block and feed forward layer, the system further discloses that each module can be executed in parallel (Paragraphs 84-85). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate the parallel module configuration with the parallelization of Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality because this method provides speed optimization.
Pu also discloses a transformer block which can include a multi-head attention block and/or a feed forward layer. Further the configuration can be provided in parallel (Paragraph 84). The parallel capability can be applied to the transformers containing multi-head attention blocks and feed forward layer of the modified Dalla. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate a configuration of parallelization for the components found in Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the parallel structure for maximized computation efficiency, enhanced training speed and better gradient flow.
Dalli discloses the capability to use an ordinary differential equation (ODE) solver (Paragraph 247; ODE utilized) and a summed output of a multi-head attention block with a feed forward network (Figure 7 and Paragraph 167). However may not explicitly disclose an ODE solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the summed output from the multi-head attention block and the feed-forward network.
Chen is provided because it discloses an ODE solver functionality, and further discloses that these models utilize depth integration (abstract, Page 2, Section 2, Paragraphs 1-2), it is understood that Neural ODE functionality includes continuous depth integration. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate the continuous depth models (integration) within the ODE models of Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality because this method reduces computation/memory utilization which minimizes cost (Chen: abstract).
Claim 2: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose a system of claim 1, wherein the ODE solver uses an adjoint sensitivity method to run back propagation (Dalla: Paragraphs 78, 87, 119) through black-box (Dalla: Paragraphs 118, 166 (black box)) ODE solvers (Dalla: Paragraph 247). Dalla XTT model uses gradient descent as a back-propagation method along with the ODE solvers. (Chen: Page 2, Section 2, Paragraph 2; compute as a black box and through adjoint sensitivity).
Claim 5: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose system of claim 1, wherein a tunable parameter determines the number of time steps over which integration is performed (Dalla: Paragraph 181, 253, 258; parameters modifiable, Chen: Page 5, Section 4: Time-dependent dynamics; parameters can be specified, in order to learn normalizing flow (determines how to incorporate)).
Claim 7: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose a system of claim 1, further comprising: a decoder comprising: a first multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of encoder outputs; a second multi-head attention block configured to perform nonlinear transformation of decoder outputs shifted right; a second feed-forward network configured to learn parameters that result in best function approximation (Dalla: Figures 2 and 6-7; added with explanation to produced summed output);
wherein the first multi-head attention block, the second multi-head attention block, and the feed-forward network are connected in parallel to produce a second summed output;
Li discloses transformer encoder module includes a multi-head attention block and feed forward layer; the system further discloses that multiple modules can be executed in parallel (Paragraphs 84-85);
and another ODE solver configured to perform continuous depth integration of the second summed output
Chen discloses an ODE solver functionality, and further discloses that these models utilize depth integration (abstract, Page 2, Section 2, Paragraphs 1-2).
Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 2 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 5 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalli et al. (“Dalli” 20220198254 A1), Li et al. (“Li” 20220138536 A1), Pu et al. (“Pu” 20210390873 A1) and Neural Ordinary Differential Equations, 12-14-2019, pages 1-18, Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view further of Han et al. (“Han” 8935137 B1).
Claim 3: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose a system of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the ODE solver uses a time-invariant differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network.
Han is provided because it discloses a processing method, and further the system utilizes an ODE solver with a time varying system and a time invariant method (Column 16, Lines 5-35). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate the different time methods with the ODE solver of Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality because this method expands computation capabilities providing a more robust system.
Claim 4: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose a system of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the ODE solver uses a time-varying differential equation to learn values of the multi-headed attention block and feed forward network.
Han is provided because it discloses a processing method, and further the system utilizes an ODE solver with a time varying system and a time invariant method (Column 16, Lines 5-35). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate the different time methods with the ODE solver of Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality because this method expands computation capabilities providing a more robust system.
Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 3 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalli et al. (“Dalli” 20220198254 A1) , Li et al. (“Li” 20220138536 A1), Pu et al. (“Pu” 20210390873 A1) and Neural Ordinary Differential Equations, 12-14-2019, pages 1-18, Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view further of Kanderian et al. (“Kanderian” 20160019324 A1).
Claim 6: Dalla, Li, Pu and Chen disclose a system of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein a Runge-Kutta(RK4) numerical integrator uses fourth order formula for obtaining numerical solutions of differential equations.
Kanderian is provided because it discloses a processing method, and further the system utilizes an ODE Runge Katta integrator (Paragraphs 112 and 377). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement and incorporate the numerical analysis with the ODE solver of Dalla. One would have been motivated to provide the functionality because this method expands computation capabilities providing a more robust system.
Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 6 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 101, the functionality of learning parameters and further non-linear transformations are still seen as a form of evaluation and the “transformation” could also be interpreted as a mathematical concept.
Further these features can be implemented with generic computer components. The claims only recite components and processing with no further integration. If applicant intends to link the processes to the NLP, there should be some detail how this functionality is integrated to affect the outcome of NLP capabilities. The claim merely recites the NLP in the preamble.
Regarding the 103 rejection, Li and Pu provide transformers found within an encoder. Each transformer can include a multi-head attention block and/or a feed forward layer, the system further discloses that the transformers (which would include the modules) can be built out and executed in parallel (Li: Paragraphs 84-85 and Pu: Paragraph 84). Each transformer containing modules with these layers being connected in parallel would read on the claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
20220028139 A1 Mitra et al. [0105]
Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
In the interests of compact prosecution, Applicant is invited to contact the examiner via electronic media pursuant to USPTO policy outlined MPEP § 502.03. All electronic communication must be authorized in writing. Applicant may wish to file an Internet Communications Authorization Form PTO/SB/439. Applicant may wish to request an interview using the Interview Practice website: http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/interview-practice.
Applicant is reminded Internet e-mail may not be used for communication for matters under 35 U.S.C. § 132 or which otherwise require a signature. A reply to an Office action may NOT be communicated by Applicant to the USPTO via Internet e-mail. If such a reply is submitted by Applicant via Internet e-mail, a paper copy will be placed in the appropriate patent application file with an indication that the reply is NOT ENTERED. See MPEP § 502.03(II).
/SHERROD L KEATON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2148
2-6-2026