Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12 May 2023. The limitation of Claim 1 that “the six identical panels are arranged to form the inner enclosure as an enclosed six-sided trapezoidal with each side being one of the identical panels of the six identical panels” is not drawn to the elected Species 1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the six phase-change material inserts that are each received within each of the plurality of panels of claim 49 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation of claim 49 of “six phase-change material inserts that are each received within each of the plurality of panels” fails to comply with the written description requirement. Nowhere does the original disclosure provide that a phase-change material insert can be received within all of the plurality of panels, let alone that six phase-change material insert can be received within all of the plurality of panels. The original disclosure only provides that a phase-change material insert can be received within a single panel, not within six panels at once.
Claims 43 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of claim 43 of “an outer enclosure comprising a rectangular cube” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of a “rectangular cube” are. By definition a cube is a regular solid of six equal square sides. As such, the only rectangles permitted in a cube are squares. However, it is unclear why applicant would have preceded “cube” with “rectangular” if only square rectangles were covered as this would be redundant. In order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as if it read “rectangular cuboid”, however further clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the interior space" in lines 15, 17, and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 43 is led to be indefinite as it is unclear if the interior space is a newly recited structure or refers back to the interior of line 11. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitations will be interpreted as the latter.
The limitation of claim 49 of “six phase-change material inserts that are each received within each of the plurality of panels” is led to be indefinite. It is unclear if every one of the six phase-change material inserts are received and therefore within every one of the plurality of panels or if each panel receives a respective one of the six phase-change material inserts. In light of the original disclosure and in order to apply art the limitation will be interpreted as the latter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer (US 20130255306) further in view of Gano (US 20040025528).
Claim 43: Mayer discloses a shipping container 10 comprising: an outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) comprising a rectangular cube having side walls and a base, wherein the side walls and the base define a retention chamber (cavity) [P. 0013] in the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure); and a lid hingedly attached to at least one of the side walls of the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) opposite the base, to cover the retention chamber (cavity) in the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure); 6 PCM panels 40 forming an inner enclosure disposed inside the retention chamber (cavity) and configured to provide a payload area for a payload within the inner enclosure, wherein the inner enclosure comprises six panels, the six panels defining the payload area, wherein each panel of the six panels is a same shape, and wherein the same shape is a single pyramidal frustum having defined therein an interior, wherein each panel of the six panels has four edges and two parallel sides joined together by the four sides, the interior space bounded by the two parallel sides and the four edges to provide the interior space of the panel, wherein a phase-change material is received into the single interior space of the panel (see annotated fig. 1 and 2A below).
Mayer does not disclose wherein one of the four edges defines a single opening that forms a channel with constant communication into the interior space of the panel, wherein the channel is configured to receive a phase-change material into the interior space of the panel via the single opening.
Gano teaches a cooler 100 having sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336 extending upwardly from base 340 and together defining an interior storage chamber 342 that can be enclosed when a lid 344 is used to engage the sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336, wherein the sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336, base 340, and lid 344 are shaped to interlock with each other, each have four edges, and each have a chamber e.g. 352, 354, 356, 358 that retains temperature-maintaining material 350, wherein one of the edges defines an opening 376 that forms a channel with constant communication into an interior of the respective sidewall 330, 332, 334, and 336, base 340, or lid 344, and wherein the channel is configured to slidably receive a temperature-maintaining material 350 (see fig. 12-13 and P. 0063 & 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified one of the edges of each panel to define an opening that forms a channel with constant communication into the interior space of that panel and to have modified the plurality of phase-change material inserts to be slidably received through the openings, as taught by Gano, in order to permit a user to utilize different phase-change material inserts as appropriate for the contents to be held and to be able to swap out different phase-change material inserts with differing melting points as needed.
The combination results in the channel being configured to receive some phase-change material into the single interior space of the panel via the single opening.
Claim 49: Mayer discloses a shipping container 10, comprising: a layer of thermal insulation 30 (outer enclosure) having a cavity; and six identical PCM panels 40 forming an inner enclosure positioned within the cavity of the layer of thermal insulation 30 (outer enclosure) and having a plurality of panels comprising six identical panels and a plurality of phase-change material inserts comprising six phase-change material inserts that are each received within each of the plurality of panels, in as much as the claimed invention, the plurality of panels defining a payload area that is configured to hold a payload, wherein each panel of the six identical panels is a same shape, wherein each panel of the six identical panels has four edges to nest adjacently to four other panels of the six identical panels and two parallel sides joined in spaced-apart parallel relation by the edges, and wherein the six identical panels together form a box shaped enclosure when each of the four edges of the each panel is nested adjacently to the four other panels of the six identical panels, wherein each panel has an only interior cavity of an interior, wherein the only interior cavity is bounded on edges on edges by the four edges and on sides by the two parallel sides, wherein the only interior cavity is occupied by the phase-change material insert, wherein the phase-change material insert contacts both of the two parallel sides joined in spaced-apart parallel relation by the edges to conduct thermal energy therethrough (see annotated fig. 1 & 2A above).
Mayer does not disclose wherein one of the edges of each panel of the six panels defines an opening that forms a single channel with constant communication into an only interior cavity of an interior of the panel, wherein the channel is configured to slidably receive a phase-change material insert of the plurality of phase-change material inserts into the interior of the panel.
Gano teaches a cooler 100 having sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336 extending upwardly from base 340 and together defining an interior storage chamber 342 that can be enclosed when a lid 344 is used to engage the sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336, wherein the sidewalls 330, 332, 334, and 336, base 340, and lid 344 are shaped to interlock with each other, each have four edges, and each have a chamber e.g. 352, 354, 356, 358 that retains temperature-maintaining material 350, wherein one of the edges defines an opening 376 that forms a channel with constant communication into an interior of the respective sidewall 330, 332, 334, and 336, base 340, or lid 344, and wherein the channel is configured to slidably receive a temperature-maintaining material 350 (see fig. 12-13 and P. 0063 & 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified one of the edges of each panel of the six identical panels to define an opening that forms a channel with constant communication into the only interior cavity of the interior of that panel and to have modified the plurality of phase-change material inserts to be slidably received through the openings, as taught by Gano, in order to permit a user to utilize different phase-change material inserts as appropriate for the contents to be held and to be able to swap out different phase-change material inserts with differing melting points as needed.
Claim 50: The combination discloses wherein the same shape is a single pyramidal frustum (see annotated fig. 1 & 2A above).
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections in paragraphs 4-12 of office action dated 16 May 2025 are withdrawn in light of the amended claims filed 28 October 2025.
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Applicant's arguments filed 28 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument directed to claim 34, the Examiner notes that claim 34 is currently withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s assumed argument that the prior art combination does not disclose an outer enclosure comprising an outer enclosure comprising a rectangular cube having side walls and a base, wherein the side walls and the base define a cavity in the outer enclosure of claim 43, the Examiner replies that Mayer discloses an outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) comprising a rectangular cube having side walls and a base, wherein the side walls and the base define a retention chamber (cavity) [P. 0013] in the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) and a lid hingedly attached to at least one of the side walls of the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) opposite the base, to cover the retention chamber (cavity) in the outer shell 20 (outer enclosure) (see annotated fig. 1 & 2A above).
In response to applicant’s assumed argument that the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the channel is configured to slidably receive a phase-change material insert of the of the plurality of phase-change material inserts into the interior of the panel, wherein the only interior cavity is bounded on edges by the four edges and on sides by the two parallel sides, wherein the only interior cavity is occupied by the phase-change material insert, wherein the phase-change material insert contacts both of the two parallel sides joined in spaced-apart parallel relation by the edges to conduct thermal energy therethrough of claim 49, the Examiner responds that the combination discloses each panel having an opening defining a single channel which is configured to slidably receive a phase-change material insert of the of the plurality of phase-change material inserts into the interior of the panel, wherein the only interior cavity is bounded on edges by the four edges and on sides by the two parallel sides, wherein the only interior cavity is occupied by the phase-change material insert, wherein the phase-change material insert contacts both of the two parallel sides joined in spaced-apart parallel relation by the edges to conduct thermal energy therethrough (see annotated fig. 2A above and fig. 12-13 ‘528). Examiner notes that the dual immiscible phase change materials 51 & 52 together form a phase-change material insert in light of the teaching of Gano which was relied upon to modify the phase-change material inserts to be slidably received.
Conclusion
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736