CTNF 17/690,884 CTNF 86366 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-05 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after allowance or after an Office action under Ex Parte Quayle , 25 USPQ 74, 453 O.G. 213 (Comm'r Pat. 1935). Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/22/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 9, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (USPN 20180014327) in view of Wang et al (USPN 20170070962) . Regarding claim 7, Park discloses a radio communication apparatus, comprising: (device, FIG. 30, comprising [0010, 0309] receiving circuitry configured to receive a first frame (receive function of transceiver to receive a frame/PPDU [0309, 0007] transmitting circuitry configured to transmit a second frame (transmit function of transceiver to transmit a frame/PPDU [0309] the receiving circuitry receives, from a base station apparatus, the first frame including first information, second information, and fourth information (receives frame/PPDU [0007, 0181, 0118, 0121], Table 1 the first information indicates a basic service set (BSS) color of the base station apparatus (BSS Color field as identifier of BSS [0060], Table 1 the second information indicates a first duration (TXOP duration [0060, 0122], Table 1 the second frame includes third information which indicates a second duration (second PPDU contains second duration field [0007, 0061] the second duration is based on the second information (second duration field based on first duration field of the first PPDU [0007, 0188] transmit power for the second frame is limited according to the fourth information (device’s transmit power is equal to or less than SR_maximum_transmit_power [0232-0234, 0289], Table 1 Park does not expressly disclose the transmitting circuitry transmits the second frame to a terminal apparatus, other than the base station apparatus, as a spatial reuse (SR) transmission Wang discloses the transmitting circuitry transmits the second frame to a terminal apparatus, other than the base station apparatus, as a spatial reuse (SR) transmission (STA, FIG. 1 #113 initiates a frame exchange with STA, FIG. 1 #111, during spatial reuse TXOP [0021, 0030, 0055], FIGs. 1, 7 Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “ the transmitting circuitry transmits the second frame to a terminal apparatus, other than the base station apparatus, as a spatial reuse (SR) transmission” as taught by Wang into Park’s system with the motivation to improve dense deployment throughput via opportunistic spatial reuse (Wang, paragraph [0003, 0006, 0023, 0024], FIGs. 1, 7) Claim 10 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 7. Regarding claim 9, Park discloses “ the first frame further includes fifth information, the fifth information indicates a destination of the first frame ” trigger frame RA field, FIG. 11 #112, address of the recipient STA, user info field, FIG. 11 #115, address recipient STAs by AID [0123-0125] Park does not expressly disclose “ the destination is not the radio communication apparatus ” Wang discloses STA, FIG. 1 #113, is in BSS2 but trigger frame is from BSS1’s AP and addresses BSS1 STAs [0021-0026] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “ the destination is not the radio communication apparatus” as taught by Wang into Park’s system with the motivation to improve dense deployment throughput via opportunistic spatial reuse (Wang, paragraph [0003, 0006, 0023, 0024], FIGs. 1, 7) Regarding claim 11, Park does not expressly disclose “ wherein the second duration is less than, or equal to, the first duration ” Wang discloses spatial reuse TXOP is restricted to OBSS PPDU duration between STA1 and STA2, SR transmission during the uplink PPDU duration [0030, 0039] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “ wherein the second duration is less than, or equal to, the first duration” as taught by Wang into Park’s system with the motivation to improve dense deployment throughput via opportunistic spatial reuse (Wang, paragraph [0003, 0006, 0023, 0024], FIGs. 1, 7) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seok et al (USPN 20190124695) FIG. 1 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THAI NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7632. The examiner can normally be reached M-F campus 10:30-5pm, telework 6pm-8pm| Telework count days. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian N Moore can be reached at (571)272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 17/690,884 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 17/690,884 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 17/690,884 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 17/690,884 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469