DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 31, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 31, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claim 1, 6-8, 11, 13-14, 16, and 19-20 have been entered; support for the amendments can be found in Instant Specification paragraph [0053].
Claim 21 is new; support for the new claim can be found in Instant Specification paragraph [0080].
Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are currently pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 31, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant argues (a) West, Hao, and Ito are silent to the claimed weight percentages of the buffer layers as presently claimed in the amended claims, and Kim is silent with regard to buffer layers, and further, with regard the claimed weight percentages, and for at least these reasons fails to cure the deficiencies of West, Hao, and Ito.
Regarding argument A, Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1, 11, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1), hereinafter referred to as West, in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hao, and further in view of Kang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0185768 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kang.
Regarding claim 1, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
Annotated Figure 4
West does not explicitly teach electrochemical cell, wherein the first electroactive material layer comprises a plurality of first electroactive material sub-films and a plurality of first buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of first electroactive sub-films.
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film” meeting “a plurality of first electroactive material sub-films”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer” meeting “a plurality of first buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of first electroactive sub-films”), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layer 405a of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“an electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“an ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder is included in an amount of 6 wt% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0099]) to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the amount of the ionic compound in the first anode active material layer 22 may be, for example, about 3 weight percent (wt %) to about 80 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and the amount of the second particles may be about 8 wt % to about 60 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”) in order to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to include a binder in an amount of 6 wt%, an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt%, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt%, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the combination of an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt% and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt% overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 2, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]); therefore, the first 402b electrode and the second 402c electrode would include a negative active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409, and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West teaches a first 402b electrode and a second 402c electrode may include a positive active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the current collector 409 (“a first current collector”) is disposed between the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b. West teaches the substrates 406c (“a second current collector disposed on or adjacent to the first single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) and 406b (“a third current collector disposed on or adjacent to the second single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) are made of substantially the same as substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach electrochemical cell, wherein the second electroactive material layer comprises a plurality of second electroactive material sub-films and a plurality of second buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of second electroactive sub-films.
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layer 405b of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises a polymer, an electronically conductive filler, and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“an electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“an ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder suppresses the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the inclusion of the second particles and ionic compound improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to include a binder, a ionic compound, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer”), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“an electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“an ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder is included in an amount of 6 wt% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0099]) to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the amount of the ionic compound in the first anode active material layer 22 may be, for example, about 3 weight percent (wt %) to about 80 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and the amount of the second particles may be about 8 wt % to about 60 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”) in order to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to include a binder in an amount of 6 wt%, an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt%, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt%, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the combination of an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt% and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt% overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 12, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
West teaches the current collector 409 (“a first current collector”) is disposed between the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b. West teaches the substrates 406c (“a second current collector disposed on or adjacent to the first single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) and 406b (“a third current collector disposed on or adjacent to the second single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) are made of substantially the same as substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises a polymer, an electronically conductive filler, and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“the first electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“the first ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“the polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder suppresses the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the inclusion of the second particles and ionic compound improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to include a binder, a ionic compound, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 16, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]). West teaches the MPU may have a thicknesses between 0.025 and 5 millimeters thick (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“an electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“an ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder is included in an amount of 6 wt% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0099]) to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the amount of the ionic compound in the first anode active material layer 22 may be, for example, about 3 weight percent (wt %) to about 80 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0042]), and the amount of the second particles may be about 8 wt % to about 60 wt % (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”) in order to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to include a binder in an amount of 6 wt%, an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt%, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt%, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the combination of an ionic compound in an amount about 3 wt% to about 80 wt% and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler in an amount of 8 wt% to 60 wt% overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 17, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]); therefore, the first 402b electrode and the second 402c electrode would include a negative active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409, and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West teaches a first 402b electrode and a second 402c electrode may include a positive active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 19, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly each of the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a second polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of a second electronically conductive filler and a second ionically conductive filler.
However, Kang teaches an all-solid secondary battery having improved cycle characteristics due to suppression of side reactions of a solid electrolyte between an anode layer and a solid electrolyte layer (see e.g., Abstract). Kang teaches a first anode active material layer 22 that includes an anode active material consisting of an amorphous carbon and second particles (“the first electronically conductive filler”), an ionic compound (“the first ionically conductive filler”) (see e.g., paragraph [0035]), and a binder comprising a polymer (“the polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0049]). Kang teaches the binder suppresses the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]). Kang teaches the inclusion of the second particles and ionic compound improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to include a binder, a ionic compound, and a second particle functioning as an electronically conductive filler, as taught by Kang, in order to suppress the cracking of the first anode active material layer 22 may be suppressed in spite of volume change, relative position change, or a combination thereof of the first anode active material layer 22 during charge and discharge processes (see e.g., paragraph [0050]) and to improve cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraphs [0042] and [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does each of the plurality of first electroactive material sub-films and the plurality of second electroactive material sub-films respectively has a thickness greater than or equal to about 100 µm to less than or equal to about 1,000 µm.
However, Hao teaches each of the active material layers between the current correcting layers are about 10 to 20 µm (see e.g., paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the thickness of each of the active material layers as taught by Hao as Hao teaches that, primarily, it is the placement of the current correcting layer along the X-Y plane that is correct in order to be configured to work with the first current correcting layer 18 to drive electron e− flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the X-Y plane, not the thickness of the active material layers (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers with a thickness of about 10 to 20 µm, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Claims 8-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1) in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1) Kang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0185768 A1), and further in view of Yu (WO 2020032475 A1).
Regarding claim 8, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the current collector has one or more surfaces coated with an adhesive layer having a thickness greater than or equal to about 0.05 µm to less than or equal to less than or equal to 100 µm.
However, Yu teaches an anode for a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches an adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material is introduced between an anode current collector and an anode active material in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the adhesive layer has a thickness of about 1 µm (see e.g., page 15, lines 21-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative electrode of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, with an adhesive layer with a thickness of about 1 µm disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electroactive material, as taught by Yu, in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, West, as modified by Hao, Kang, and Yu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Yu, does not explicitly teach the adhesive layer comprises a polymer and an electronically conductive filler.
Yu teaches the adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the binder may include polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), a derivative thereof, or a mixture thereof because they have a low reactivity with the anode (see e.g., page 5, lines 3-12). Yu teaches the conductive material in the adhesive layer is used to improve the conductivity of the anode, and thereby, suppress the increase in resistance under battery operation (see e.g., page 5, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the adhesive layer disposed on the positive electrode current collector of West, as modified by Hao, Kang, and Yu, to have a composition comprising a binder and a conductive material, as taught by Yu, in order to limit reactions with the anode (see e.g., page 5, lines 3-12) and to improve the conductivity of the anode, and thereby, suppress the increase in resistance under battery operation (see e.g., page 5, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 14, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches all the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the current collector has one or more surfaces coated with an adhesive layer having a thickness greater than or equal to about 0.05 µm to less than or equal to less than or equal to 100 µm.
However, Yu teaches an anode for a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches an adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material is introduced between an anode current collector and an anode active material in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the adhesive layer has a thickness of about 1 µm (see e.g., page 15, lines 21-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative electrode of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, with an adhesive layer with a thickness of about 1 µm disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electroactive material, as taught by Yu, in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1) in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1) Kang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0185768 A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20150049601 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 10, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell further comprises: a first terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the first single-sided electrode; and a second terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the second single-sided electrode.
However, Kim teaches an electrode assembly which comprises a monomer stack unit where at least one basic monomer, which has a four-layer structure as a first electrode, a first separation membrane, a second electrode, and a second separation membrane are sequentially stacked, is stacked (see e.g., Abstract). Kim teaches the cathode 111, the separator, 112, and the anode 113 are sequentially stacked on the outer side of a terminal separator 117 (“a first terminal separator” and “a second terminal separator” when the assembly is stacked) (see e.g., Figure 7) in order to precisely align the electrode assembly and simply the manufacturing process (see e.g., paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the terminal MPUs of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to include terminal separators adjacent the unit stack, as taught by Kim, in order to mechanically and electrically join the positive external tabs to form a single joined positive tab, and thereby reduce the minor amounts of deviation that can cause some mechanical vulnerability in the battery stack 100 (see e.g., paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches all the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell further comprises: a first terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the first single-sided electrode; and a second terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the second single-sided electrode.
However, Kim teaches an electrode assembly which comprises a monomer stack unit where at least one basic monomer, which has a four-layer structure as a first electrode, a first separation membrane, a second electrode, and a second separation membrane are sequentially stacked, is stacked (see e.g., Abstract). Kim teaches the cathode 111, the separator, 112, and the anode 113 are sequentially stacked on the outer side of a terminal separator 117 (“a first terminal separator” and “a second terminal separator” when the assembly is stacked) (see e.g., Figure 7) in order to precisely align the electrode assembly and simply the manufacturing process (see e.g., paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the terminal MPUs of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to include terminal separators adjacent the unit stack, as taught by, in order to mechanically and electrically join the positive external tabs to form a single joined positive tab, and thereby reduce the minor amounts of deviation that can cause some mechanical vulnerability in the battery stack 100 (see e.g., paragraph [0062]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1) in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1) Kang et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0185768 A1), and further in view of Ito et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20210104750 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ito.
Regarding claim 21, West, as modified by Hao and Kang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Kang, does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers has a polymer: electronically conductive filler: ionically conductive filler weight ratio of about 3:1:1.
However, Ito teaches a negative electrode for nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries with a lithium nonaqueous electrolytic solution. Ito teaches a negative electrode 20 (“a double-sided electrode”) with a negative electrode mixture layer 31 and a negative electrode current collector 30 (“a current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0024]). Ito teaches the negative electrode mixture layer 31 comprises a layered structure comprised of a lower layer 32 (“first buffer layers”) and an upper layer 33 (“first electroactive material sub-films”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]) comprising a binder. Ito teaches the amount of the binder is at least 20 mass %, and preferably not less than 30 mass %. Ito teaches the amount of binder suppresses the isolation of the active material particles stemming from a large volume change and can maintain good cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify amount of the binder in the current correction layers of West, as modified by Hao and Kang, to be in the amount of the binder is at least 20 mass %, and preferably not less than 30 mass %, as taught by Ito, in order to suppress the isolation of the active material particles stemming from a large volume change and maintain good cycle characteristics (see e.g., paragraph [0039]). Thus, the amount of the binder taught by Ito and the amounts of the second particle and ionic compound taught by Kang meets the claim limitation of having at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers has a polymer: electronically conductive filler: ionically conductive filler weight ratio of about 3:1:1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728