DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed September 3, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 11, 16, and 17 have been amended. Claim 22 is new. Support for the amendments and new claim can be found at least in paragraph [0080] in the Instant Specification. Claim 18 is cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-22 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 3, 2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1, 11, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the claim limitation “wherein the at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers has a polymer: electronically conductive filler: ionically conductive filler weight ratio of about 3:1:1,” while the independent claim 1 recites the limitation of “each of the plurality of first buffer layers being free from an electroactive material and comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.” It is unclear how the at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers can have the ratio claimed if free from an electroactive material as recited in claim 1. The Instant Specification does not provide any further details as to what may be contained within the plurality of first buffer layers to achieve the claimed ratio and claimed weight ranges. Therefore, claim 21 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-13, 17, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1), hereinafter referred to as West, in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hao, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 112652815 A), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
Regarding claim 1, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
Annotated Figure 4
West does not explicitly teach electrochemical cell, wherein the first electroactive material layer comprises a plurality of first electroactive material sub-films and a plurality of first buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of first electroactive sub-films.
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”) that is a highly conductive, porous material that is not electrochemically active (“each of the plurality of first buffer layers being free from an electroactive material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0004]), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film” meeting “a plurality of first electroactive material sub-films”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer” meeting “a plurality of first buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of first electroactive sub-films”), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layer 405a of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches a battery comprising a composite negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode layer and a buffer layer (see e.g., Abstract). Liu teaches the buffer layer is composed of hard carbon (“an electronically conductive filler”) and a conductive polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the mass percentage of hard carbon is 47-53%(“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”), and the mass percentage of the conductive polymer is 47-53% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0014]). Liu teaches this buffer layer suppresses the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to comprise hard carbon and a conductive polymer at a mass percentage of 47-53% and 47-53%, respectively, as taught by Liu, in order to suppress the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the mass percentages overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 2, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]); therefore, the first 402b electrode and the second 402c electrode would include a negative active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409, and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West teaches a first 402b electrode and a second 402c electrode may include a positive active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West teaches the current collector 409 (“a first current collector”) is disposed between the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b. West teaches the substrates 406c (“a second current collector disposed on or adjacent to the first single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) and 406b (“a third current collector disposed on or adjacent to the second single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) are made of substantially the same as substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach electrochemical cell, wherein the second electroactive material layer comprises a plurality of second electroactive material sub-films and a plurality of second buffer layers disposed between adjacent electroactive sub-films of the plurality of second electroactive sub-films.
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layer 405b of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 7, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Modified West teaches the plurality of second buffer layers each comprise a polymer and an electronically conductive filler (see e.g., Liu, paragraph [0020]).
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises an ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches the buffer layer is immersed in a lithium salt solution (“an ionically conductive filler”) to improve the ionic conductivity, which further improves the rate capability and cycle performance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, to soak in a lithium salt solution to include an ionically conductive material, as taught by Liu, in order to improve the ionic conductivity, which further improves the rate capability and cycle performance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]).
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer”), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches a battery comprising a composite negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode layer and a buffer layer (see e.g., Abstract). Liu teaches the buffer layer is composed of hard carbon (“an electronically conductive filler”) and a conductive polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the mass percentage of hard carbon is 47-53%(“ greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”), and the mass percentage of the conductive polymer is 47-53% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0014]). Liu teaches this buffer layer suppresses the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to comprise hard carbon and a conductive polymer at a mass percentage of 47-53% and 47-53%, respectively, as taught by Liu, in order to suppress the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the mass percentages overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 12, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
West teaches the current collector 409 (“a first current collector”) is disposed between the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b. West teaches the substrates 406c (“a second current collector disposed on or adjacent to the first single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) and 406b (“a third current collector disposed on or adjacent to the second single-sided electrode”) (see e.g., annotated Figure 4) are made of substantially the same as substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Modified West teaches the plurality of second buffer layers each comprise a polymer and an electronically conductive filler (see e.g., Liu, paragraph [0020]).
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises an ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches the buffer layer is immersed in a lithium salt solution (“an ionically conductive filler”) to improve the ionic conductivity, which further improves the rate capability and cycle performance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, to soak in a lithium salt solution to include an ionically conductive material, as taught by Liu, in order to improve the ionic conductivity, which further improves the rate capability and cycle performance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, West teaches energy storage devices (ESDs) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]) that may include lithium or lithium-ion elements (“an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions”) (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). West teaches a sub-terminal MPU 401 within stack 420 of a battery 450 (see e.g., paragraph [0030] and annotated Figure 4). West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“a double-sided electrode”) may include a negative active material electrode layer 405a (“a first electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on a first side of an impermeable conductive substrate or current collector 409 (“a current collector disposed between the first and second electroactive material layers”), and a negative active material electrode layer 405b (“a second electroactive material layer”) that may be provided on the other side of impermeable conductive substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0030]). West also teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). West teaches a first 402b electrode (“a first single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the first electroactive material layer”) and a second 402c electrode (“a second single-sided electrode substantially aligned with the second electroactive material layer”) that is substantially aligned with the first and second electroactive material layers, respectively (see e.g., annotated Figure 4). West teaches solid-state electrolyte layers 410c (“a second separator physically separating the second single-sided electrode and the second electroactive material layer”) and 410d (“a first separator physically separating the first single-sided electrode and the first electroactive material layer”) that function as separators as the separator of each electrolyte layer of the ESD of the invention may be formed of any suitable material that electrically isolates its two adjacent electrode units while allowing ionic transfer between those electrode units (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). West teaches the battery 450 may include a plurality of cell segments (e.g., cell segments 422a-f) formed by terminal MPUs 412a and 412b, and the sub-stacks of one or more BPUs 402a-d having sub-terminal MPU 401 therebetween (see e.g., paragraph [0073]). West teaches the MPU may have a thicknesses between 0.025 and 5 millimeters thick (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
However, Hao teaches an electrode having at least a current collector, a first active material layer coated on the current collector, a first current correcting layer on the first active material layer opposite the current collector and a second active material layer on the first current correcting layer opposite the first active material layer (see e.g., Abstract). Hao teaches an electrode with a first active material layer 16 coated on the current collector 12 (“a first electroactive material sub-film”), a first current correcting layer 18 is adjacent to the first active material layer 16 (“a first buffer layer”), a second active material layer 20 adjacent to the current correcting layer (another “first electroactive material sub-film”), and a second current correcting layer 22 on the second active material layer (another “first buffer layer), etc. (see e.g., paragraph [0020] and Figure 2). Hao teaches an electrode can include any plurality of active material layers, with one of the plurality of active material layers being adjacent a current collector and another of the plurality of active material layers facing a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0021]) in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
West, as modified by Hao, does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches a battery comprising a composite negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode layer and a buffer layer (see e.g., Abstract). Liu teaches the buffer layer is composed of hard carbon (“an electronically conductive filler”) and a conductive polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the mass percentage of hard carbon is 47-53%(“ greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”), and the mass percentage of the conductive polymer is 47-53% (“at least one of the plurality of first buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0014]). Liu teaches this buffer layer suppresses the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to comprise hard carbon and a conductive polymer at a mass percentage of 47-53% and 47-53%, respectively, as taught by Liu, in order to suppress the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the mass percentages overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 17, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West teaches the sub-terminal MPU 401 (“the double-sided electrode”) may have positive electrode layers on either or both sides of substrate 409 (see e.g., paragraph [0031]); therefore, the first 402b electrode and the second 402c electrode would include a negative active material layer (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 19, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly each of the plurality of second buffer layers each comprises greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a second polymer and greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of a second electronically conductive filler and a second ionically conductive filler.
However, Liu teaches a battery comprising a composite negative electrode layer comprising a negative electrode layer and a buffer layer (see e.g., Abstract). Liu teaches the buffer layer is composed of hard carbon (“an electronically conductive filler”) and a conductive polymer (“a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the mass percentage of hard carbon is 47-53%(“ greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a combination of an electronically conductive filler and an ionically conductive filler”), and the mass percentage of the conductive polymer is 47-53% (“at least one of the plurality of second buffer layers comprising greater than or equal to about 0.1 weight percent to less than or equal to about 50 weight percent of a polymer”) (see e.g., paragraph [0014]). Liu teaches this buffer layer suppresses the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao, to comprise hard carbon and a conductive polymer at a mass percentage of 47-53% and 47-53%, respectively, as taught by Liu, in order to suppress the problem of electrode expansion during the charging and discharging process of the electrode (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the mass percentages overlap with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 20, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 16, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does each of the plurality of first electroactive material sub-films and the plurality of second electroactive material sub-films respectively has a thickness greater than or equal to about 100 µm to less than or equal to about 1,000 µm.
However, Hao teaches each of the active material layers between the current correcting layers are about 10 to 20 µm (see e.g., paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the thickness of each of the active material layers as taught by Hao as Hao teaches that, primarily, it is the placement of the current correcting layer along the X-Y plane that is correct in order to be configured to work with the first current correcting layer 18 to drive electron e− flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the X-Y plane, not the thickness of the active material layers (see e.g., paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative active material electrode layers 405a and 405b of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, with the layered structure comprising a plurality of active material layers and a plurality of current correcting layers with a thickness of about 10 to 20 µm, as taught by Hao, in order to improve the efficiency of the electrode by correcting current direction, i.e., increasing electron flow in the direction Z perpendicular to the current collector 12 and decreasing current flow in the X-Y direction (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 22, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of first buffer layers has a porosity greater than or equal to about 0.2 vol.% to less than or equal to about 0.7 vol.%.
However, Hao teaches the current correcting layer is a porous material (see e.g., paragraph [0004]). Hao teaches the porous material of the current correcting layer improve the current distribution in the electrode, improve the potential distribution in the electrode, and result in higher coulombic efficiency (see e.g., paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the porous material of the current correcting layers of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, to have a porosity greater than or equal to about 0.2 vol.% to less than or equal to about 0.7 vol.% in order to improve the potential distribution in the electrode, and result in higher coulombic efficiency (see e.g., Hao paragraph [0018]).
Claims 8-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1) in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1) and Liu et al. (CN 112652815 A), and further in view of Yu (WO 2020032475 A1).
Regarding claim 8, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the current collector has one or more surfaces coated with an adhesive layer having a thickness greater than or equal to about 0.05 µm to less than or equal to less than or equal to 100 µm.
However, Yu teaches an anode for a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches an adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material is introduced between an anode current collector and an anode active material in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the adhesive layer has a thickness of about 1 µm (see e.g., page 15, lines 21-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative electrode of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, with an adhesive layer with a thickness of about 1 µm disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electroactive material, as taught by Yu, in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, West, as modified by Hao, Liu, and Yu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Hao, Liu, and Yu, does not explicitly teach the adhesive layer comprises a polymer and an electronically conductive filler.
Yu teaches the adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the binder may include polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), a derivative thereof, or a mixture thereof because they have a low reactivity with the anode (see e.g., page 5, lines 3-12). Yu teaches the conductive material in the adhesive layer is used to improve the conductivity of the anode, and thereby, suppress the increase in resistance under battery operation (see e.g., page 5, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the adhesive layer disposed on the positive electrode current collector of West, as modified by Hao, Liu, and Yu, to have a composition comprising a binder and a conductive material, as taught by Yu, in order to limit reactions with the anode (see e.g., page 5, lines 3-12) and to improve the conductivity of the anode, and thereby, suppress the increase in resistance under battery operation (see e.g., page 5, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 14, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches all the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
However, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the current collector has one or more surfaces coated with an adhesive layer having a thickness greater than or equal to about 0.05 µm to less than or equal to less than or equal to 100 µm.
However, Yu teaches an anode for a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches an adhesive layer comprising a binder and a conductive material is introduced between an anode current collector and an anode active material in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract). Yu teaches the adhesive layer has a thickness of about 1 µm (see e.g., page 15, lines 21-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the negative electrode of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, with an adhesive layer with a thickness of about 1 µm disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electroactive material, as taught by Yu, in order to improve conductivity while enhancing adhesion between an anode current collector and an anode active material of a lithium metal battery (see e.g., Abstract).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over West et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2010/0304191 A1) in view of Hao et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2017/0125799 A1) and Liu et al. (CN 112652815 A), and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20150049601 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 10, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell further comprises: a first terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the first single-sided electrode; and a second terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the second single-sided electrode.
However, Kim teaches an electrode assembly which comprises a monomer stack unit where at least one basic monomer, which has a four-layer structure as a first electrode, a first separation membrane, a second electrode, and a second separation membrane are sequentially stacked, is stacked (see e.g., Abstract). Kim teaches the cathode 111, the separator, 112, and the anode 113 are sequentially stacked on the outer side of a terminal separator 117 (“a first terminal separator” and “a second terminal separator” when the assembly is stacked) (see e.g., Figure 7) in order to precisely align the electrode assembly and simply the manufacturing process (see e.g., paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the terminal MPUs of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, to include terminal separators adjacent the unit stack, as taught by Kim, in order to mechanically and electrically join the positive external tabs to form a single joined positive tab, and thereby reduce the minor amounts of deviation that can cause some mechanical vulnerability in the battery stack 100 (see e.g., paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, West, as modified by Hao and Liu, teaches all the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
West, as modified by Hao and Liu, does not explicitly teach the electrochemical cell further comprises: a first terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the first single-sided electrode; and a second terminal separator disposed on or adjacent to an exposed surface of the second single-sided electrode.
However, Kim teaches an electrode assembly which comprises a monomer stack unit where at least one basic monomer, which has a four-layer structure as a first electrode, a first separation membrane, a second electrode, and a second separation membrane are sequentially stacked, is stacked (see e.g., Abstract). Kim teaches the cathode 111, the separator, 112, and the anode 113 are sequentially stacked on the outer side of a terminal separator 117 (“a first terminal separator” and “a second terminal separator” when the assembly is stacked) (see e.g., Figure 7) in order to precisely align the electrode assembly and simply the manufacturing process (see e.g., paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the terminal MPUs of West, as modified by Hao and Liu, to include terminal separators adjacent the unit stack, as taught by, in order to mechanically and electrically join the positive external tabs to form a single joined positive tab, and thereby reduce the minor amounts of deviation that can cause some mechanical vulnerability in the battery stack 100 (see e.g., paragraph [0062]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728